Customer Reviews for

The Street Lawyer

Average Rating 4
( 362 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(153)

4 Star

(107)

3 Star

(61)

2 Star

(22)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Legal Thrill ride, a must read

In the book, The Street Lawyer, John Grisham pulls us threw the wild adventure that was the main character Michael Brock's last year at the prestigious law-firm of Drake & Sweeny. Michael was a hot shot lawyer in a huge D.C. firm. The money was good, and getting bette...
In the book, The Street Lawyer, John Grisham pulls us threw the wild adventure that was the main character Michael Brock's last year at the prestigious law-firm of Drake & Sweeny. Michael was a hot shot lawyer in a huge D.C. firm. The money was good, and getting better due to the fact of a coming partnership opportunity.

But when a mysterious, and homeless, individual calling himself Mister, enters the firm and start to follow Michael up to the Drake & Sweeny floors, things start to go south for the new lawyer. After cornering many of the managing partners and Michael in a upstairs office, he pulls a gun and tells begins to grill each of them about the greed and lack of donations to the poor by them. After a SWAT team takes down Mister, Michael starts to lose it.

After a large downward spiral and a lot of life changing items, Michael falls upon 14th Street Legal Clinic. The Clinic was established as a free lawyer operation serving the poor. Hard ball lawyer Mordecai Green was Michael's new mentor in the art of Street Law.

The book was amazing, and one of the best Grisham books I've ever read. He expertly portrays the hard and fast life of a lawyer already stretched thin. The best part of the storyline is how he incorporates the normal aspects into the already crazy aspects of life.

Already involved with the near death involving Mister, Michael loses his wife, his car, his apartment and the love of his family. Many of people ask him why did he do it? Why give up all the money and power of a big shot lawyer. Michael ends up with a new life and new love, and most importantly, happiness.

The book was great and is a fabulous read. I highly recommend it.

posted by Johnkeegan93 on October 27, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Waste of time

Totally unrealistic , nothing clever about this book. A 2 on a 10 scale , don't waste your money

posted by 7127252 on July 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted October 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Somehow Captivating, But It Lacked The Thrilling Effect

    John Grisham's , The Street Lawyer delivers a subtle approach to homelessness and life on the streets. The book promises a great plot, and a good story, however; as the author unfolds the different events and outcomes around the main character, the books loses its potential and tends to fade in the end.

    Grisham's "The Street Lawyer" is about Michael Brock finding his true calling after being held hostage by DeVon Hardy, a homeless looking for revenge after he was unjustly evicted from where he lived. In the aftermath of Hardy's death by a SWAT team, Michael goes on the search of Hardy's true motive, and unveils a dark link between Hardy and Drake & Sweeney, the law firm Michael works for.
    As Michael immerses himself in the search of "justice for all," his private and professional life stumble, his wife has left, and he has been forced to quit a prosperous career with Drake & Sweeney. And when a homeless woman die along with all her children, in that instance, Michael Brock becomes The Street Lawyer, the voice of those who don't have one.

    Grisham is very good, he has written a book, taking a look at society, and those that are less privileged, than others. His research on the subject and merging that on fiction is very good. The book lost its magic somewhere on the way to the end. It would have been better if Grisham would have chosen someone else to be the main character, he probably picked the wrong one, However, The Street Lawyer still qualifies for a good read, even though the author forgot to include a few twists and turns in the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2010

    Love this book!

    From previous readers, John Grisham books are usually described to be very enjoyable and interesting. For the first time I decided to read one of his fiction books, The Street Lawyer, and can now agree that his way of writing is very interesting. The Main Character in the book is, Michael Brock, who is a wealthy corporate lawyer working for one of the richest and largest firms in D.C, Drake and Sweeny. The money for Michael is about to get even better because he is close to obtaining a partnership with the company. He was becoming a busy man with only work on his mind and his fast paced life kept him going not realizing how much he is missing out on. Until the day he was held as a hostage at the firm with eight of his coworkers by a homeless guy, not knowing what he wanted or what would happen. This is what really got Michael Brock to not only take interest in the homeless but even rethink his whole life. He decided to change his profession and while doing some research he found out an incriminating secret involving the firm Drake and Sweeny. After filing many law suits with his new partner, Michael Brock fights for justice. In this book the author uses such great descriptions that while reading you feel what the characters are feeling. My favorite character was definitely Michael because instead of thinking about the money he thought about his happiness, something that people don't really do in reality. Even though this book is fiction, the Character Michael really did change my outlook on life, and helped me realize some things. I also really liked how John Grisham made it feel like I was reading something very realistic. The Street Lawyer was an excellent book and definitely recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2007

    Only read this if you read alot

    This is a very enertaining novel from John Grisham and for the most part it is a good novel. My problem with this book is that he makes no effort to look at the other perspective of the argument he is trying to make here. I think it is perfectly fine to write a liberal base book, if that is what you choose to do, my problem is that he paints republicans and this government as purely being villans. Mr. Grisham makes a very black and white world in this novel. Also another problem is that the end of the book is by far to optimistic and tied together. The last problem I will mention is the duration of time with this novel. I don't want to give anything away but I think in real life the situation created here would of taken longer then what it did. Regardless of the problems with this book I give credit to Mr. Grisham for attempting to write a thought provoking novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2001

    Great Plot, Dumb Politics

    This was a good book with an interesting plot and I did enjoy it. But I have to say that Grisham has certainly ordered up a tidy world for himself in which every Republican is bad and wrong and every other person (the words 'Democrat' or 'liberal' didn't appear in this book, which I found interesting) is an absolute model of unselfishness, integrity and warm-hearted generosity AND willing either to work for a pittance or volunteer their time. That motif rang extremely false for me. Grisham needs to get a clue and read a newspaper. Every Republican isn't bad and wrong and every Democrat isn't embodied with every moral virtue. There are good and bad in both parties and it would have been nice to see them portrayed that way in this book. To do anything else is false.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4