Customer Reviews for

Street Magic (Black London Series #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 125 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(42)

3 Star

(34)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Street Magic.

I really enjoyed this book, so much so I was not able to put it down until I was through the whole thing. I really enjoyed the banter between the two main characters, Pete & Jack. They really have one heck of a love/hate relationship. The British slang was a great touch...
I really enjoyed this book, so much so I was not able to put it down until I was through the whole thing. I really enjoyed the banter between the two main characters, Pete & Jack. They really have one heck of a love/hate relationship. The British slang was a great touch as well. It took me a little bit to get what they ment, but when I caught on to the meanings I absolutely loved it. I got such a kick out of the slang even when it was in anger.

There where a few moments I got slightly confused with the flashes to the dreams that Pete was having then to reality. It took me a moment to catch on to what was going on, then to switch my thinking. But, it didn't take me long as I went through the book to catch on and know what to look for, and in learning the authors writting style it became easier for me to pick the dreams out.

I really liked Jack's character more from the beginning. To me there seemed to be more layers to him than appeared to the others in the story. To me I thought he out shined Pete through most of the book, but by the end of the book Pete had taken her place right up there by/with Jack. In the end of the book I realized how much Pete had grown as a character through the book, and loved her for it. Jack's character grew as well but not by the leaps and bounds that Pete did.

I know there is a short story of Jack in the book Huntress, which hold a few short stories by four different authors. I have this book on my shelf in my to be read pile. But, the second book in the Black London Novel series is Demon Bound. Based on the preview at the back of the book, Street Magic, it looks as it is to be released December 2009. I will be watching the shelves for this on in December.

posted by Melhay on November 4, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

I would not recommend this book

I really didn't like this book. I kept reading it because I thought it would get better -- but it never did. The characters were not well developed. I read alot of books like this and the plot was boring and thoroughly unbelieveable.

posted by 1656404 on July 27, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 125 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted November 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Street Magic.

    I really enjoyed this book, so much so I was not able to put it down until I was through the whole thing. I really enjoyed the banter between the two main characters, Pete & Jack. They really have one heck of a love/hate relationship. The British slang was a great touch as well. It took me a little bit to get what they ment, but when I caught on to the meanings I absolutely loved it. I got such a kick out of the slang even when it was in anger.

    There where a few moments I got slightly confused with the flashes to the dreams that Pete was having then to reality. It took me a moment to catch on to what was going on, then to switch my thinking. But, it didn't take me long as I went through the book to catch on and know what to look for, and in learning the authors writting style it became easier for me to pick the dreams out.

    I really liked Jack's character more from the beginning. To me there seemed to be more layers to him than appeared to the others in the story. To me I thought he out shined Pete through most of the book, but by the end of the book Pete had taken her place right up there by/with Jack. In the end of the book I realized how much Pete had grown as a character through the book, and loved her for it. Jack's character grew as well but not by the leaps and bounds that Pete did.

    I know there is a short story of Jack in the book Huntress, which hold a few short stories by four different authors. I have this book on my shelf in my to be read pile. But, the second book in the Black London Novel series is Demon Bound. Based on the preview at the back of the book, Street Magic, it looks as it is to be released December 2009. I will be watching the shelves for this on in December.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Promising Start to a New Dark Urban Fantasy Series

    I enjoyed really this story. Pete Caldecott is a tough cop on the hunt for a sadistic killer who kidnaps children. This story is dark and gritty and set in a seedy dark London, where magic exists but is hidden. Twelve years prior, Pete as a young girl and Jack Winters, a young mage, experience a trauma so deep Jack turns to heroine to escape. Going cold turkey and getting clean, Jack assists Pete with her investigation and inadvertently submerges her into the dangerous shadow realm. Pete is a strong heroine and reminds me a lot of Luna's character from Caitlin's Nocturne City. Thankfully Pete isn't as reckless and self-destructive as Luna. I highly recommend this new series to dark urban fantasy readers and look forward to the next book in the series, Demon Bound due out 12/1/09.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2009

    I would not recommend this book

    I really didn't like this book. I kept reading it because I thought it would get better -- but it never did. The characters were not well developed. I read alot of books like this and the plot was boring and thoroughly unbelieveable.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Urban Fantasy, London Style

    A Blurb:

    Pete Caldecott has a dark past, a past that she has vowed to keep buried in the darkest depths of her memories, but her nightmares are getting worse making it difficult to sleep. Pete is a detective and her current case is finding children that are disappearing. When she receives a request from an informant to meet him, alone, she is shocked to find out that it's Jack Winter, a huge part of that dark past that she thought was dead and gone. The once punk rocker who mesmerized her when she was 16 is there in the flesh and strung out on heroin. He might be screwed up, but his tip leads her directly to the missing girl. When more children go missing, she finds herself going back to Jack for help. They will have to face some dark powers that may very well get them both killed, but Pete knows that working with Jack is the only way to save the kids (and themselve) before it's too late.

    The Review:

    Pete Caldecott, our heroine, is tough as nails, but not in an overly done annoying way. She can stick up for herself, and isn't the type that needs rescuing, nor does she want it. Jack Winter, the hero, is rough around the edges and extremely powerful. The two have great chemistry and the tension between them could bring grown men to their knees. Fans will love this new duo, and will be left sitting on the edge of their seats waiting for more. Street Magic is a gritty, dark, and thrilling addition to the Urban Fantasy genre. Being based in London gives the book a gloomy feel with it's foggy streets and shadows lurking in every corner. Kittredge not only has a way with words, but a way with worlds. She's a master at creating new and edgy places for her characters to dwell in. Making both of her series a pleasure to read. For Street Magic , she does a terrific job of using British slang without overdoing it, and this makes the book even more enjoyable. You'll probably have learned a few new words for daily use after reading
    this one!

    So how about it? Get your sodding arses out to the bookstore and pick this one up! :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Leaving Nocturne City for now, Caitlin Kittredge proves she has STREET MAGIC with the super first Black London urban fantasy

    In London, sixteen year old Pete Caldecott met handsome mage Jack Winter. The punk rocker showed off his magical skills trying to impress the teen. However, Pete witnessed more than she wanted to see when a spirit he summoned killed Jack. Over time Pete assumed Jack used an illusion to fool her as magic is not physics since it does not exist.-----------

    A dozen years layer Detective Inspector Pete receives a tip about a kidnapped girl Bridget. The tip proves reliable, but the informant shocks the DI to her DNA core; somehow Jack is back or at least a heroin addicted version of him. He insists there is a parallel realm the Black. With several more abductions of children, Jack convinces Pete to cross over to fight against an evil kidnapper with paranormal power. She agrees to travel to the shadow realm and learn how to use spells if he detoxes ----------

    Leaving Nocturne City for now, Caitlin Kittredge proves she has STREET MAGIC with the super first Black London urban fantasy. Inspector Pete is a terrific center of gravity as a police detective who holds the eerie exciting story line together, but it is the dark gritty streets of London that she works enhanced by shadowy Jack that owns the tale. A sort of cross between Simon Green's Nightside and Jim Butcher's Dresden, sub-genre fans will appreciate Ms. Kittredge's view of a gloomy paranormal London.----

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2013

    Not my cup of tea...

    Though I loved Caitlin Kittredge's Nocturne City series, I couldn't get into this one. The characters tried to be gritty, tough, and conflicted but came across as pathetic and unfocused. For a police officer, Pete seemed to float from one situation to another with very little purpose and direction. The author introduced characters with no explanations and unrelated events popped into the plot - maybe a
    setup for the next book? British slang and profanity overwhelmed the dialog. Maybe the second book gets better but I doubt that I will read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2011

    Dark Fantacy at it's best

    If you enjoy a bit of lightness and/or humor with dark paranormal tale this book/series is not gor you. However, if you enjoy stark reality mixed with the paranormal then this is some of the best offered. Charactors are sketched in complex layers. The world of those who can see and mingle with the Black is highly complex, dysfunctional and harsh. The Black coexists side by side with the "normal" world while humans with psycic abilities and denzens of the Black cross in and out of both realms with ease or difficuty dependent upon their level of psycic power. While there are facinating and imaginative paranormal elements which make up this world the true tale is of Pete and Jack and their relationship. Unalike as two individuals can possibly be they are committed to each other and will go to great lengths to see the other safe. Jack has a great many charactor flaws but he values the basic decency and strength of Pete. The one person who means the world to him is also the one he endangers the most even as he attemts to protect her. Pete knows Jack is no prize but she recognizes the decency within him and her recognition enables Jack to attempt to be decent even as an old evil rides his back and another claims his soul.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2011

    Fun and Entertaining with a Dark Edge

    I haven't found a book I could get into for a while. This is a problem. LOL. But I had no problem getting into this book. I loved Pete and especially Jack. Can't wait to see what is in store for the two of them!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2011

    Intresting

    Not nearly as bad as I thought it would be. Quite a few twists and turns but I comes full circle in a spectaculsar way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Street Magic

    Good Book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2010

    Not Up To Snuff

    What happened with this book? Caitlin's normal gritty writing took a real nose dive. Sure she got the slang and the brogue right but that isn't enough to paint the picture of the magical underworld of greater London. What was Pete's magical ability beyond funny feelings? What was the real connection between her and the mage? All that pent up kiddie frustration and no where to go. I admit I read the whole thing expecting it to get better but it didn't. I had high hopes but they were dashed. What a let down after her great Were books. I will purchase the second book out of loyalty to the author and hope that she works the kinks out but sheesh!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2009

    Interesting new series

    I started this book thinking that it was going to be a paranormal romance book, and while I was disappointed with the lack of actual romance in the book, the plot intrigued me. The characters have a complicated back history that leaves them often at odds with each other, but they still try to work together to catch "the bad guy". It had a pretty good ending, and I will probably pick up the next book when it comes out to see what happens next. Not the best book I've read, but not the worst either, worth picking up if you are waiting on your fav authors to put out their next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Somewhat Dissapointed

    Concept was terrific, but execution left me disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Street magic

    When Pete Caldecott met the irresistible Jack Winter when she was 16 years old, she knew her life would never be the same again. Older and wiser with magic at his fingertips, Jack seemed to charge the very space his lived in. That is until Pete watched him get killed by a shadowy form he tried to summon from a graveyard. Flash forward 10 years and Pete is now a London detective with a string of cases involving missing children. After receiving a mysterious tip about their location, Pete discovers Jack strung-out on heroin with precise information about the kidnappings. Unwilling to let Jack fade back into obscurity, Pete forces him to not only sober up but to help her find the other children - although she doesn't believe in the possibility that magic is involved for a second. As the mystery begins to unfold, Pete is forced to confront her own past and the existence of sorcerers, demons and faeries.

    I found this to be a fun, fast-paced ride, albeit sometimes a little dark. Pete and Jack's relationship is full of angst arising from some huge misunderstandings those ten years ago and both are sure the other is lying about something. What I liked about Pete was how loyal she can be: to the missing kids, to Jack. It really made me like her even more. My only problem was how quickly Pete went from a no-nonsense detective to fist-throwing brawler ready to defend Jack. It really didn't seem in keeping with her 'toe the line of the law' persona. Other than that, the descriptions of a magical London underworld centered in Whitechapel were more than a little fun.
    seemichelleread.blogspot.com

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Wanted to like it

    I picked it up wanting to like it...but I just didn't. The characters didn't feel to me like they had a spark with each other and I felt like the heroine wasn't quite up to the challenge of what they faced. I did kinda like Jack Winter but...I felt like she couldn't keep up with him so it kind of tainted my opinion of him too. He was "too strong" of a character to throw in with her type of personality. He was too...dark and she either wasn't enough "light" or wasn't enough "grey" to make the balance.
    I felt the plot was ok. Interesting but I felt it was a bit off-beat between some of the scenes. I don't like to trash books, it *was* interesting, but it wasn't a keeper for me and not something I'm really interested in reading more of, even though I tend to like the genre that the book is actually in.

    If you liked this book, you might also like Blue Diablo.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Entertaining Dark World, Disjointed Plot

    This novel employs delightful English slang and creates an engaging 'Dark London' populated by mages, sorcerers, the fey, summoned demons, shades, malevolent ghosts and various entities including the occasional old god. Unfortunately, the plot is somewhat disjointed, and the pace is erratic. The story just doesn't seem to flow naturally or gain momentum as it proceeds. The main focus of the story changes well past its mid-point and reaches a rather drawn-out climax. Also, the conclusion is vague and slightly unsatisfying. The lead characters, Pete (aka Petunia) Caldecott and Jack Winter are also a bit undefined and display mercurial changeability. Further, Pete's credibility as an official Detective Investigator is shot to hell by her unbelievable absence from duty while pursuing an active missing child case. Despite these flaws, I was entertained by the London slant and will probably read the second book in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Shades of Hell Blazer

    To some extent, almost all supernatural detective stories have a touch of John Constantine to them. This is perfectly natural, since the Hellblazer comic more or less founded the sub-genre. However, Jack Winter (male protagonist extordinare) is 80% heroine addicted era Hellblazer, 20% other stricken heros. He however is a marvel of cohesiveness and solidity compared to Pete, his female companion, who appears to be a bundle of needy, high strung, violent, angsty swear words. The writing style is like watching 24, full of rapid jump cuts, often confusing the reader. However, despite all of this, I rather liked Street Magic. The underdeveloped characters have the potential to be great and by the end, I was used to the choppy writing style and no longer baffled by it. Clearly things are going somewhere, and I want to know where.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Caution: addictive and thrilling

    Kittredge is awesome. This is the best book that I have read for quite some time. Jack is the bad boy every girl wants and Pete is the kick ass chick that every girl wants to be. I am eagerly awaiting her follow up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 125 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7