Customer Reviews for

Street Soldier: My Life as an Enforcer for Whitey Bulger and the Boston Irish Mob

Average Rating 4
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A great read for mafia fans!

    Street Soldier is a great read for people interested in the mafia. The writing style is not for the light hearted, there are some gruesome parts, but what you read is very fascinating. Mackenzie draws you in and makes you feel like you are out on the streets with in. He does not skimp on the details, Mackenzie lets you in on the most private details of his life. After reading this book you will look at Southie in a whole different life, and you might even wish you were there to see it all.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2006

    Whoa... who said Cagney was dead

    Before I read this gritty and plain-brutal book, I thought that the Irish street tough was a dead relic, for better or for worse. The contradictions in this book is stunning, and really adds to a very realistic and not so wholesome look at the inner workings of the mob. MacKenzie tells the story of who he was: a tough and vicious pugulist, reeking of sex, womanizing, and kickboxing with a bonus of details so personal that overwhelmes you, and makes this criminal seem very human. Nobody in this book is innocent. Especially Whitey Bulger. Bulger was the last of the last great Irish mob bosses. So, inevitably, we who have Irish origin romanticized him. Once, anybody reads this, nobody that has scruples could call this man decent. At best, he was a smart, calculating individual whose outward altruism was driven by internal ruthlessness. At worst, he is a sadistic killer, destroyer of children, drug dealer, and even pedophile. Hopefully, Mr. MacKenzie told the truth, maybe for catharsis, change of heart, or just money from his other life.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2006

    Eloquent! Vivid! Shocking!

    Eloquent, Vivid, Shocking. This book is the window to a world where one either died or thrived at the mercy of one's own brutality. This is the story of a true survivor in an unfortunate world that he finds himself in. It is fantastic to know that a Tiger who kills ruthlessly has a code of honor and loyalty that many so-called civilized people lack.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2005

    Wow!

    Glad this guy didn't live in my neghborhood. Gritty, real and scairy. The scariest part is that this is true. A worthwhile read. Dives into some Irish American history also that I found extremely interesting.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2004

    Can't Put This One Down 'Til It's Done

    I don't have time to read many book, so when I do read one I hope it is worth the time I spent. This one goes well beyond my expectations. I bought it on a Saturday night recently and finished it by Sunday morning. It was that good. Although a criminal, murdered, thug, and so on, Edzo(nickname for Eddie Mackenzie) is wise beyond his years and intelligent beyond his limited schooling. He writes very well (if he actually authored the book). If he didn't, he told the stories well enough and in enough descriptive detail that it was translated into a great novel. I am Irish. I am not a thug or a killer. I did however enjoy this story and was completely intrigued from page one right through page 241. I recommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2004

    Down right mean

    When I read this book it was horrific to thimk that there are people out there who are willing to eat your finger and throw hot coffee at someone. I am glad that he exposed himself so we all know who is the bad guy. I thought the book was fantastic with all the details of beatings. I wouldn't want to mess with this fruit cake but he wrote a great story, and hopefully he has changed the way people think when they go out and do things that make someone like him come after them. say no to drugs and stay away from thugs, great book!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2003

    The best I've ever read

    This book is an excellent account of true crime in a big city.I found it very hard to put this book down and read it in a matter of hours the best true story I have ever heard.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2003

    THIS BOOK WILL MAKE YOUR HEART RACE!

    I found this book so fascinating, I've already read it twice! Eddie Mac is quite complex and I believe everyone can relate to him at some level. He shares painful details of his childhood, of how he grew up on the streets and eventually became an enforcer for Whitey Bulger. He offers readers a unique view into the Whitey Bulger days of South Boston and his own participation in the illegal activity that occurred. He names names, and is very specific about events. He shares many aspects of his personal life, such as being a husband and a father, as well as areas of life where he succeeded or failed. He makes it clear that he knew right from wrong and offers no excuses for his behavior. I hated him at times and cheered him on at other times. Despite it's serious subject matter, the book has many humorous parts and you can't help but find yourself turning the pages faster and faster! I highly recommend this book, as well as ALL SOULS by Michael Patrick MacDonald who grew up in the projects of Southie. I also recommend the well -researched, BLACK MASS by Dick Lehr and Gerard O'Neill.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2013

    Southie rules!!!!

    Awsome read. Sraight badass

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2011

    You must check this out!!

    If you are following the Whitey Bulger Story this is a must for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2007

    A reviewer

    Like Kevin Weeks' 'Brutal', Eddir MNac's story is brutal, fascinating and compelling. Fortunately, it lacks the psychodrama babble that soem reviewers like to impart. Vicious - but you can't put it down.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2007

    hey uncle eddy

    hey it is adam parker tammys son i havent seen u in a while talk to u later

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2006

    great book

    this book was great and filled with exciting event, but kevin weeks mentioned in the book as one of whiteys first men denys eddie mackenzie to be not even remotely close to the mob as he says he is.kevin weeks has his own book out 'Brutal' about whitey and the irish mob he was once apart of. in my opinion eddie mackenzie was apart of the mob, but kevin weeks is tring to hide something.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2005

    unreal

    best book ever... shocking and unreal.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2004

    Eddie Mac, Whitey Bulger & the Irish Mobb

    A real life account of an enforcer for the Irish Mobb and Whitey Bulger's rise and fall to power. One of the best books i have ever read. Page after page of intensity, you cant put it down. A must read if you have any kind of intrest in organized crime

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2003

    RAW AND INSIGHTFUL

    A must read for fans of true crime/mob books! I could not put this book down! You are left with an insider's view of the notorious Whitey Bulger gang and the days when he ruled the streets of South Boston. I did not feel that the author was asking for forgiveness or that he was romanticizing being a criminal. He tells his story matter-of-factly and that in itself is refreshing.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2003

    Redemption or Exploitation?

    This book is a sad testamony of the ongoing tale telling,but tragic for so many,of the corruption that allowed the South Boston Community to be victimized ! It is amazing that Attorney Nugent writes the intro-Eddie mac,did in fact exploit under age girls-used them and disgarded them- this was not the work of an enforcer,but the intentional disregard for vulnerable young teens--what has Eddie done to beg forgiveness? The tlae is much street gossip-I am related to a murder victim and spent numerous hours in Court,as well,in my profession I have had personal encounters with some of those named in this book. Mr.Nugent and his good friend Eddie,should hope every day that no sociopathic Eddie ever enters the lives of the young women they care about-some young lives were ruined- noone can ever undo the huge amount of human misery that was perpetrated by the corrupt partnership ,it is pathetic that more money will be made and more curious people will read and believe material that details nothing new,but the bragging of Eddie and his glee at inflicting pain and fear and his warped thinking that being complemented by the evil Whitey is a source of pride. A concerned and knowledgable advocate for all the victims.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2003

    spectactular

    this story was a moving and very off the seat book. i thought the book got down and told you the true story of went down in the boston streets.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2