Customer Reviews for

The Street of a Thousand Blossoms

Average Rating 4
( 34 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2012

    This is one of my favorites!!

    I loved everything about this story! The attention to detail was amazing and all of the characters were very well intertwined, which I loved. I found myself very emotional throughout the entire book--you can really connect with all of the characters. I would recommend this book to anyone who is looking for a thoughtful, emotional, and well-detailed story. This book is too good to pass up!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2012

    I loved the Japanese names and terms scattered through this book

    I loved the Japanese names and terms scattered through this book. I wnated to say them all! I have a tendency to predict (correctly) the outcome of most books, but this one was a bit different than I thought. I loved all the characters, I could see the "movie" in my head as they performed the writer's words. And once again, it gave me some insight of historical events from a non-American point of view. I hated for this book to end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2012

    Highly recommended

    Ms. Tsukiyama is a masterful storyteller. A beautiful story of a family's love, loss and devotion through World War 2 and into the 1960's set in Japan. I didn't want the story to end!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2011

    Another amazing feat

    Tsukiyama has a talent for creating an amazing and beautiful world in her books. As always, the heart wrenching tragedies are wrought wth graceful and delicate moments of love, faith, and hope. She is so talented, and this book is no exception.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2011

    Terrific read. Compelling history and story

    A long journey through tough times with one family but many other interesting characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2010

    Enjoyed the book, but...

    I very much enjoyed this story. The descriptions were such that you could picture the characters and their situations in your mind quite clearly. It was easy to feel their joys and sorrows. I became so engrossed in the story that I really was sad to see it come to an end; I wanted it to go on! I would love to read more from this author.

    The biggest disappointment and drawback for me, and the reason that I gave only 4 stars, had nothing to do with the story itself but rather the presentation. The first half of the book is so riddled with typos that I almost stopped reading it. There aren't quite as many typos in the second half but still enough to be annoying. The typos really did detract from the overall reading experience for me. Hopefully this is not a common ebook experience because I found it to be very frustrating.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Family, loss, tradition, art and sport. A timeless story of Japanese history, family, and culture.

    I found this book at the airport not having previously heard of the author. I'm looking forward to trying all her others now! This poignant book starts with orphan brothers. We follow them through war and loss marriage, family and their careers which encompasses their history, their culture, and their future all as powerful Sumo Wrestle loved by the brought up by the trainer, and the brother the mask maker holder of tradition. A book i ever wanted to end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Beautifully written

    This book was filled with tragedy but it was also very beautiful. It taught me that no matter what happens in your life to never lose hope.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Gail Tsukiyama's novel, "A Street of a Thousand Blossoms" offers a realistic portrayal of family life in Japan during the time period of the Second World War and after. The plot is poignant, touching, and focuses on identity.

    The book cover design depicting Cherry Blossom branches is a metaphor of the importance of family life in Japan, of relationships, and most importantly, of filial piety and deep-seated cultural values. The plot tells the story of a middle-class Japanese family who have suffered both personal loss and the side-effects of the devastating atomic bomb. The author explores family and romantic relationships through the lenses of sumo training and noh mask making.

    The resilience of love and the human spirit, despite tragedy, triumph in Gail Tsukiyama's novel. She transcends the reader into the daily discipline and routine of Japanese life through the well-loved sumo sport, the training demanded of sumo wrestlers, and the perfection of noh masks, both being symbolic of identity and love.

    The characters grow through the story that spans three decades, and their triumphs and losses leave a lasting impression on the mind of the reader. For those who want to learn more about Japan, this novel offers an excellent understanding of the cultural value system, of social expectations, and of filial duty.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2009

    An education in two ancient arts

    Again, Tsukiyama's unique manner of storytelling about a culture and society, while foreign to the average reader, allows the reader to emphasize with a family who must endure tragedy, defeat during war and survival of the human spirit.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2009

    I could not get through this book

    I was SO disappointed in this book.
    I read Woman of the Silk by this author & loved it.
    Unfortunately, I didn't feel the same about this book. There were so many characters, I felt lost & I had a hard time following the story.
    I suffered through about 200 pages before I put this down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2007

    beautifully written

    As always, Gail Tsukiyama has shared with her readers a beautiful story in her signature style that enraptures the audience. The setting is in pre World War II and follows the life of a Japanese family throughout the war and changing times. Having this heritage myself, I was intrigued as to how this book would compare with so many others that have been dissapointing. I found the depictions to be accurate and meaningful. As with all her books, I devoured it within a few days. Im only sorry its over now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2