Customer Reviews for

A Streetcar Named Desire

Average Rating 4.5
( 71 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 71 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2008

    Streetcar Review

    A Streetcar Named Desire is a book about a woman named Blanche DuBois. She unexpectedly shows up at her sister Stella's house on Elysian Fields Ave. To get there, Blanche has to take a streetcar called Desire, which was like the scum of the earth to her becuase she always grew up rich. Stella was extatic to see her but her husband Stanley was just a little less than thrilled. Throughout her stay with Stella, Blanche and Stanley constantly fight and Blanche starts dating one of Stanley's friends. Stanley knows that there is something that is not quite right because she keeps going after younger men. Stanley later finds out that Blanche lost Belle Reve, which is the plantation that Stella and Blanche grew up on. He also finds out that Blanche doesn't have a home back in Laurel because she was fired from her teaching job for having an affair with a seventeen year old student. Many more things go on in this book but I guess you will have to read it to find out!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2008

    Excellant !!

    I just read this play for AP Lit and was blown away by intensity and complexity of the characters, especially Blanche. I went from not being able to stand her to completely sympathizing with her. All the characters are real with faults and virtues intermingled. No one comes out superior to the others because real people are not definable heroes or villians. I absolutely loved this play.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2005

    A Classic Street Car

    'Streetcar' tells the story of a woman's fall from grace after living on her charm and sexuality for most of her life. Much in the same way 'Death of a Salesman' shows the slow and painful death of a family man, 'Streetcar' shows a Blanche being unable to accept that time has passed her by and a reputation of being fast has destroyed her. When Blanche comes to visit her sister Stella and her husband, only Stanley senses something peculiar about Blanche. It is only when Stanley begins to research into Blanche's past that he begins to see through her web of lies. Confronted with her lies, the only thing she has left to hold on to, Blanche's sanity escapes her. In a sad reality, women who live their lives dependent on their looks and exploiting men will eventually find that their game will eventually exhaust its momentum. Readers who sympathize with Blanche's demise may have trouble identifying with a gruff character like Stanley. It is difficult to identify with a man who beats his wife as a hero. Despite his flaws, Stanley is the hero in this sad story. Much like reality, few heroes are as perfect as say, Superman. 'Streetcar' is an honest story that ranks high on the totem pole of American theater. In terms of its reach, no well read American can call themselves 'well-read' without 'Streetcar' on their 'to read list'.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2008

    Streetcar Named Desire is a worthy read

    A Streetcar Named Desire was a fascinating book to read: I loved reading about the complicated fragility that is Blanche DuBois's psyche. Tennessee Williams shows his talent and ability to express complex themes in this play. The book is interesting and well-written. I would suggest it to anyone who enjoys Williams's works.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2005

    Great!

    A true classic. Ten times better than the movie. It reads like a memoir, which I loved. Read it all in a weekend. A+

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2003

    Got to Love It

    I really loved the play... I could not put the book down.. I had to read it for a class and now, it is a part of my book collection. The movie is also a part of my video collection.. I would have like to known what happened to Blanche.. Did they put her in an institute, where she needed to be?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2003

    Too good to put down

    I also couldn't put this book down. I had to read this book for my English Literature class and I stayed awake during the night to finish reading it. I hate what Stanley does to Blanche but that's a discussion I am going to leave for my English class.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2013

    In the play ¿A Streetcar Named Desire¿ the relationship betw

    In the play “A Streetcar Named Desire” the relationship between two of the main characters Blanche and Stanley set the pace for the play and films structure and conflict. These are the main players that set the tone for all the other characters to follow. Blanche who comes to live with her sister and husband Stanley, brings a lot of baggage and secrets that gives readers insight into her life before arriving from Mississippi. As Blanche and Stanley dislike for each other grows, their love for Stella causes escalating conflicts between them in their efforts to rescue Stella from the other person.
    The apartment where Stanley and Stella live is in a poor working class section of New Orleans, they have the lower apartment a two story building. The apartment has only one bedroom and a kitchen. Blanche will have to give up some of the comfort and amenities she’s accustomed too while staying with her sister Stella. The structure of some the conflicts are due to the close quarters and lack of privacy for the characters. Blanche thinks that Stella can do much better than Stanley, and she constantly tries to get Stella to leave Stanley.
    Blanche thinks Stanley is too barbaric for her sister and can’t understand the passion that they have. Stanley thinks that Blanche has been nothing but problems since arriving and that everything will be fine when she leaves. Although there was some attraction between Blanche and Stanley first met, they both love and want the best for Stella.
    Blanche arrives to Stanley and Stella’s apartment from the bus station on a Street car named Desire. Blanche is rather shocked by the simplicity and small apartment in which she’ll have very little privacy. Blanche finds a liquor bottle and has drink before the arrival of her sister and later is misleading regarding her consumption of the liquor. This gives slight clues to the mental stability of Blanche and the story moves along. When Stanley finds out that Belle Reve, the family home of Blanche and Stella, was lost due to poor management, he believes that she’s cheated Stella and him out of money that she may have receive. This incident help ignite follow-on conflicts between Blanche and Stanley.
    In scene two while Blanche is talking to Stanley she says some very negative things about him, “You’re simple, straightforward and honest, a little bit on the primitive side I should think.” (pg. 39, Williams, 2004). And the incident in which Stanley overhears the conversation between Blanche and Stella unknown to them, in which Blanche say’s “He acts like an animal, has animal habits!…….something—ape-like about him.” (pg. 83, Williams, 2004). Both of these incidents not only build tension between the characters but also set up some the conflicts and builds the plot.
    Stanley has been checking on Blanche and getting info from one of his friends who been to her hometown of Laurel, Mississippi. Blanche has been seeing one of Stanley’s close friend Mitch and they began to develop a close relationship. He finds out what actually led to her leaving Laurel, circumstances Blanche doesn’t want following her. Stanley Shares this info with people that Blanche cares for the most, Stella and Mitch. Stanley buys Blanche a one way bus ticket back to Laurel for her birthday. All of these events and Blanches inability to escape her past starts her decline to having a breakdown.

    The technique used in A Streetcar Named Desire, uses conflict between the two main characters to develop and move the plot along. This conflict between the two characters is somewhat of a fight for Stella. This conflict between main characters Blanche and Stanley, helps develop plot and ending for A Streetcar Named Desire in both the play and also in the film version.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    Streetcar

    When I picked up "Streetcar", I was reading it purely because I had to--I had no idea how many times I'd revisit it!! The characters and setting are engrossing and enchanting. This is my very favorite play, and I'd recommend it to any lover of literature. You won't regret your time spent with Stella, Stanley, Blanche, and the rest of the characters from "A Streetcar Named Desire"!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2013

    Wonderful Play

    I really liked this play. We read it and watched the movie version in my dramatic literature class and I thought it was very interesting. I found it hard to tell if ot was Blanche or Stanley that was the main bad guy until the very last scene and that was very captivating for me. Also, in New Orleans, at the end of the Tennessee Wiliams destival, they have a Stella shouting contest, where any man who wants to can act as Stanley does and scream Stella's name up to a balcony. I really do like this play and I also recommend watching the film version because it really puts the whole thing together and helps it make a little more sense. They chose fantastic actors, including Marlon Brandow and Vivien Leigh, and the entire cast of the movie, except for Blanche (Vivien Leigh replaced Jessica Tandy), was the same cast as in the original Broadway production. Overall, I love this play. It's very intricate, captivating, and interesting. I hope you enjoy it as much as I did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2012

    At first this book lost me in what was going on. Because it is w

    At first this book lost me in what was going on. Because it is written in all third person and hardly any of the text is narrated. I felt like this made the read have to pay way more attention to what the characters had to say. I did not get the attached feeling to this book until late in the book when conflict started to begin between characters.

    Some pros i found in A Street Car Named Desire were that it was an easy and exciting read once i got into it. The author did a good job forshadowing what was going to happen. It holds you in suprise until the actual scene is played out in the end. I would probably not be interested in the second book of this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    My thoughts on "A Streetcar Named Desire"

    "A Streetcar Named Desire" is an interesting story, with great character development and plot twists. The story takes place in Louisiana (Possibly) New Orleans (I cannot remember) in the 1950's. The Main characters are Stella and Stanley Kowalski a middle aged couple. Who are in the lower middle class, Stanley works at a factory with his best friend Mick. Sella's cousin Blanche moves into their home. Because of the family home in the country has been seized by the bank. Stanley not being very pleased with either of these events. As seen by his Napoleonic Code lecture and a consistent mocking of Blanche. Tennessee Williams begins to create an interesting love affair between Blanche and Mitch that greatly upsets Stan.

    Well, enough with the plot time for what I thought(the most important thing of all). I thought a lot of mid-book dialogue was overly sappy and kinda pointless. Many characters also came off as boring such as Stella,Steve, and Eunice. Other then that I enjoyed the book that's about it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2008

    A Streetcar Named Desire

    A Streetcar Named Desire is a wonderfully written play by Tennessee Williams. The play starts by introducing Blanch Dubois as Stella Kowalski¿s sister. Blanch can not comprehend the new living styles of her sister because they are by no means rich. Blanch tells her sister that she is taking a break from work and came to visit, and doesn¿t know how long she will be staying. She confesses to Stella that she had to sell the family ranch, which Stanley, Stella¿s husband, does not handle well. From the beginning Stanley believes Blanch to be unstable. We soon find out there is other things about Blanch we did not know. This is a fast moving play that is a great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2007

    Required Reading

    I was assigned this play for my AP English class summer assignments. Though it was interesting, and the characters were well developed, I found the overarching theme difficult to discern. I felt that there was a message there that I couldn't really grasp--whether it was my particular analysis, or just the play itself, I don't know. It's worth reading, and is a quick read, but I wasn't entirely impressed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2006

    a great book

    this was a great book to read because you can compare your life to theres and also this book makes you think about how your life is. it makes ytou realize that life is life

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2006

    wonderful play!!

    i thought this play really puts you into the characters' lives and situations, mostly for Blanche. Compared to the Glass Menagerie, to me they are both on the same level of reading, both were interesting and dealed with various issues like 'age' in the 1900's for women. i reccomend this book for anyone who is interested in society's view of what is young and beautiful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2006

    Good

    I thought the play was interesting and was definitely an easy read. You got the summary already in a few reviews below this one... I sympathized for Blanche and I thought her treatment at the end was harsh. Her outlook on life was quite childish and fantastical (fantasy-like). I wasn't sure of how to classify her, but she's definitely a unique character. Read the play!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2004

    one of the first plays i read

    I am now a huge fan of Mr. Williams and have read this play many, many times in adddition to several of his other works. Please read this play--I was transfixed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2004

    Outstanding

    I was in my English 3 class in high school when I read the play.I'm glad I had that teacher and that class at the time because we enjoyed the play so much at the end of the year she aloud us to view the movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2002

    good play stupid ending

    I really enjoyed this play. I could not hardly put this book down. I am usualy not an active reader but I really enjoed this play. However, the ending I thought was real dumb. To me it seemed like there should be more. I wanted to know what happened to Blanche. But over all I enjoyed the play.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 71 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4