Customer Reviews for

Stress Fracture

Average Rating 4
( 62 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Best Novel I Have Ever Read!

This book is a superb book. I am a slow reader and I red the book in 11 days. I'm not much of a reader but this book is something I couldn't put down. I'm so excited for the second book of the series to come out. I'm 21 and I would recommend this book to anyone. I ...
This book is a superb book. I am a slow reader and I red the book in 11 days. I'm not much of a reader but this book is something I couldn't put down. I'm so excited for the second book of the series to come out. I'm 21 and I would recommend this book to anyone. I give this book very high praises and hope that many people read this and love it like I did.

posted by Messyman110 on May 7, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Barely okay

4 and 5 stars? The book was average at best. The main character is boring! He's not tough, or extraordinarily smart, doesn't possess any impressive skills....nothing!!! His ex wife the reporter adds nothing to the story except as a love interest. The other detective T T...
4 and 5 stars? The book was average at best. The main character is boring! He's not tough, or extraordinarily smart, doesn't possess any impressive skills....nothing!!! His ex wife the reporter adds nothing to the story except as a love interest. The other detective T Tom (why???) is just there so that Dub has someone to talk to. He doesn't compliment Dub or add anything to their relationship i.e. he's not the muscles or the brains. The bad guys don't inspire any feelings towards them at all. The book repeats the same type of crime over and over again. You would think that each new crime would further the bad guys agenda but youwould be wrong. So, ina nut shell. Terrible characters, bad story line, and a disappointing ending make this book a forgettable reading experience.
KMS

posted by 12305988 on April 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2012

    Anonymous

    This book kept me engaged throught out the story. I would recommend this book to all who love police and detective suspense books.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2010

    Best Novel I Have Ever Read!

    This book is a superb book. I am a slow reader and I red the book in 11 days. I'm not much of a reader but this book is something I couldn't put down. I'm so excited for the second book of the series to come out. I'm 21 and I would recommend this book to anyone. I give this book very high praises and hope that many people read this and love it like I did.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2010

    Ringside Seat for the Action

    If there were an award for the Best Chapter Endings, D.P. Lyle would be the hands down winner. A master in the art of tethering readers to each and every crisp, deftly written word, his bold imagery snakes through the pages of his latest action packed thriller "Stress Fracture," making it physically painful to put down.

    Dub Walker-an expert consultant in crime scene investigation-is shaken to the core by the butchery as he lingers in the home and now crime scene of his friend and former Huntsville Sheriff Mike Savage. Rage and unrelenting anger are the only clues that seep from the scene, linking the brutality to two previous murders. This senseless act upon a fellow officer and much loved member of society makes the hunt for this particular brand of killer personal for all involved.

    But it just doesn't add up as Dub receives the first of many phone calls from the killer. He is perfectly calm, intelligent and not easily goaded, which is at odds with the viciousness found onsite. As Dub continues to push, he never gives thought to the danger he may be helping to set in motion.

    If you are already a fan or are at all aware of Lyle's work, then you've probably figured out this man doesn't seem to know how to fail.
    "Stress Fracture" gives you a ringside seat for the action, making you feel like an active participant in the drama.

    Reviewed by Shannon Raab with Suspense Magazine
    www.suspensemagazine.com

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2012

    Brilliant for a free book

    This story is a real page turner. Almost hard to belive it's fictional!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2012

    Better than expexted

    A free book purchase and well worth the read. It kept met interested and guessing the who, why, how as a good mystery thriller should.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    strong police procedural medical thriller

    After retiring from homicide investigations, Dub Walker became a forensic consultant to the FBI's Behavioral Assessment Unit and a noted author on the topic. However, he returns to field work when his close friend Sheriff Mike Savage is brutally murdered in Alabama. Apparently this psychopath has viciously killed two other people.

    The annihilator kills with rage and Dub knows he will not stop. He even knows who the predator is. Iraqi veteran Brian Kurtz came home with a severe case of PTSD; the Neuropsychiatric Research Institute gave him an experimental drug that for no apparent reason failed to calm him down, but instead turned him into a sadistic vicious beast. Dub must hunt down the animal, who has residents of Huntsville in a panic.

    The key to this strong police procedural medical thriller is the killer whom ironically the audience meets at the beginning of the tale as Kurtz the monster receives empathy from readers who know he must die to end the blood rage. Dub is terrific as the hunter who feels the prey is stalking him. Expecting a High Noon showdown, fans will enjoy this entertaining cautionary tale as underneath the non-stop action, D.P. Lyle warns readers of the excessive use of drugs.

    Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2012

    a page turner

    I love this book....can hardly put it down.............can't wait to see how it ends! Can't wait to finish, I would love to read more by this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    Good free book

    Story is really great but at times little boring description or talk. Other than that really good book. Worth reading who likes criminal stories

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2012

    Good

    X

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2013

    Just finished reading. Loved this book. Page turner and keeps

    Just finished reading. Loved this book. Page turner and keeps you guessing. Didn't figure it out until the last 10 pages!!! GREAT READ!! Look forward to reading more from this author

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2013

    Fascinating read

    Excellent mystery/crime drama. Well written and enthralling. Totally enjoyed this book and will add this author to my list of favorites. The few bad reviews here make me wonder exactly what these people expect in this genre of literature and I wonder if they feel they could have written a better book. If so, go for it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    Check it out...freebie

    Love B&N freebies!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2