Customer Reviews for

Stretching: 30th Anniversary Edition

Average Rating 4.5
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 18 of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    A very flexible book.

    I liked this book on stretching for several reasons. The first is its simplicity. The pictures and instructions are very straightforward, making it quite easy to do basic stretches. Stretches are given for just about every muscle and limb you'd ever want to stretch and the author has even included some suggested stretching routines for various sports. Whether you're a competetive athlete, business person or housewife, I feel that this is book will have something to offer everyone making it a very handy and "flexible" book. Also recommend Treat Your Own Rotator Cuff for anyone looking for more specific rotator cuff and shoulder stretches.

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2005

    A great book- and I'm not stretching the truth!

    It's greatness as a user friendly book lies in its simplicity. I can't really see anyone having trouble following the stretches that are shown through great pictures. Likely the only book on stretching you'll ever need.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2004

    Exceptional Book on Stretching. A Classic.

    This is the book on stretching. It is easy to read and filled with various important stretches for people who do or do not perform sports. If you have to buy one book on stretching this should be it. Something many people do not know about stretching is that you need to RELAX your muscles which allows them to be more flexible. Many people simultaneously tighten muscles as they stretch and that is counterproductive. See EFFORTLESS WELLBEING by Evan Finer to help with getting supple in mind and body, a great compliment to this classic book.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2003

    A very flexible book.

    I liked this book on stretching for several reasons. The first is its simplicity. The pictures and instructions are very straightforward making it quite easy to do basic stretches. Stretches are given for just about every muscle and limb you'd ever want to stretch and the author has even included some suggested stretching routines for various sports. Whether you're a competetive athlete, businessperson or housewife, I feel that this is book will have something to offer everyone making it a very handy and "flexible" book.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2012

    Wonderful addition to your workout routine

    I have had trouble with my back through the years and then my Dr. recommended this book/dvd for everyday use. I have integrated it into my workout and find that the stretching eases my tightness and therefore strain and pain. Additionally, the 80's look and feel makes me smile :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2011

    Recommend

    Great instruction and visuals.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2010

    Permanent Library

    Useful, Easy,and Educational for everyone who wants to improve their health and feel a sense of well-being.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2010

    Stretching is good for you.

    This is a great book on stretching exercises for anyone, of any age. Young and old and everywhere in between, you will find the perfect exercise for you. I initially borrowed it from a co-worker to find some new stretching exercises to do before my workout, but I found it so useful that I bought a copy for myself. Even my daughter in college finds it helpful, showing her new stretching exercises she can do before her workout.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2009

    Excellent Book

    This is my 3rd copy of this book because the others grew legs and walked. But this book is very informative, and has actually helped and inspired me to want to start stretching again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2009

    great tool

    stretches for anything and everything you can think of...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Stretching made easy

    From the introduction of this informative book to the very end, this book truly gives the anyone not just beginners the 101 on stretching. Tells the reader how to stretch while keeping the opposing muscle in mind. Highly recommended for anyone looking for a better, limber life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    If you are NOT stretching you will be Sorry.

    Maximize your performance and eliminate down time caused by injuries. Be consistent and your rewards will be worthwhile. This book makes it easy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2000

    Stretching made easy.

    Streatching is a wounderful book. It teaches one how to streatch properly, and without pain. I also like the great illustration, which enables individuals to easily learn how to do many types of stretches. This book also covers streatches for many different activities. I highly reccomend this book for people who would like to learn about all aspects of stretching.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2013

    Highly recommend

    It is a book you will keep for a lifetime, helping you to understand how to stretch various parts of your body. It is the kind of the thing physical therapists count on to develop the right stretching for their clients

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2000

    Everything in this book is wrong. Check out Beyond Stretching to find out why.

    This book is about relaxed stretching. Americans have been using this method of stretching for years,but there is a better way. Check out Beyond Stretching by Pavel Tsatsouline, a much more knowledgeable man. Your muscles already have enough length to do the splits, your body just doesn't know it yet. You must reeducate your nervous system into believing that it's safe to move into a new range of motion. Pavel's book explains how relaxed stretching messes with the stretch reflex and how dynamic, plyometric, and shutdown threshold isometric flexibility training is much safer.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 18 of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1