Customer Reviews for

String in the Harp

Average Rating 4.5
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2013

    Good

    This book started out a little slow but then became more and more interesting. I like how it is about a family who isnt very close to one another but gets closer as the book goes on. The nook experience was great. A few miss spellings but overall was great. A great first read on the nook. I recommend it to ages 10- 50. Everyone will love this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2013

    Summer

    Len?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2008

    a string in the harp

    The worst book I have ever read!!!!! I have read hundreds of books and this by far is the worst. I fell asleep while reading it once.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2007

    Time Travel

    I'm amazed at the way fate and fiction seem to work together. I read this book many years ago - I loved the story as a child and it inspired me to read the Mabinogion and other Welsh tales. When I went to college, I had the chance to study in Wales...at the University of Aberystwyth...but it wasn't until v. recently that I realized that I'd been there before - in the pages of this book. Rediscovering the story now, after so many years, was a bit like the magic and fantasy of the story itself - I realize now why I felt so v. much at home in Aber.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2006

    It was good but had a few problems

    This book is about a girl named Jen who goes to Wales to visit her family (dad, sister, and brother) for Christmas vacation. However, her sister and brother are miserable living without Jen so she decides to stay with them for a year. Peter, the brother, finds a mysterious and magical key on the beach of Wales and is enchanted by it, for it 'sings songs' to him and shows him Taliesin, a bard from the ancient Welsh myths. However this key gets known to the outer world and Peter has to decide whether he wants to keep it or do something else with it. I will not tell you what he did with the Key, or else that will spoil it. But in the next few sentences I will tell you what I thought about the book. This book was very good. It had a solid beginning, middle, and end like all books should have. I liked how Ms. Bond combined realistic fiction, fantasy, and historical fiction to make this book. It felt like I was really with Jen, on the train going to Wales, or with Becky (the sister), walking up the emerald green hills. However, what I didn't like about this book was that it was kind of slow in action. Sometimes I became really bored when I was reading this book! I didn't understand why Peter did what he did to the Key at the end - it was very confusing! However, this book was good, and I recommend it to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2005

    An Overlooked Classic

    Published in 1976, A String in the Harp tells the story of Jen, Peter, Becky, and David Morgan. The Morgan family has been separated by their mother¿s death and their father¿s decision to take a university teaching job in Wales, taking his two youngest children along. The book opens with Jen traveling to visit her family for the first time since the move. During her visit, her brother, Peter, finds a harp tuning key. This key, and the visions that it brings, will lead the family down an unexpected road in the months to come. This book is set in the same area, and to some extent concerned with the same mythology, as the last two books in Susan Cooper¿s The Dark is Rising Sequence. In its address of both family issues and Welsh mythology, A String in the Harp is an accurate and insightful work. Nancy Bond has painted the landscape of her tale with vibrant, true to life detail.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2005

    A Fascinating Novel!

    This book was very fascinating and filled with facts. It was an enjoyment to finish it. I would totally recommend this book because following the story of the harp key was really interesting and kept the book alive.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2004

    A Good Book

    #1

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2003

    Totally magical!

    The book is so interesting. I love how it brings realism and fantasy together. You really get caught up in the story. It's a great read for teenagers and young adults. It's the perfect book to read during the winter near a warm fire. It'll keep you intriqued for hours.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2001

    One of My Favorites

    This book is great whether you are 12 or 22! It really brings out the magic in everything, and is a great book for people interested in legends. I recommend it to young adults or adults.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2000

    An All Around Good Book

    I found this to be a very good book. It was suspenseful and exciting. I started reading it one evening and read through the night until I finished around 4am. It is not too high of a reading level and is was a lot of fun to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2000

    Magic and Family Values

    This is a great book and full of insight into family life in a good, but not sacharine way. A mother dies and the rest of the family moves to Wales except for the daughter who is a senior in high shool. She had been left to finish school and get into a good US college. We first meet her as she travels to Wales to spend Christmas vacation with her father, sister, and teen brother. We share with her and the rest of them the strangness of a new land, the adjustment to a place that doesn't have a shop on every corner, the pain and reactions of her family members to the loss of their mother, and her brother's increasing involvement in a magical quest. Worth reading for the family relationships alone, but if you like magic and don't mind thinking a little, it is a great choice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1