Customer Reviews for

Strings

Average Rating 4.5
( 68 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(43)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Youve been warned

Once you get used to the very different writing style its really good. Cute and f-ing rocking story. This writer is not afraid to stand out.

posted by Vera64CR on May 11, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Kendall...I won't buy your books or read them for that matter. Y

Kendall...I won't buy your books or read them for that matter. You honey are a hypocrite....You write a book...take folks money & then complain about  writing in a Genre you hate..you were "force"? huh?. Honey please! You will take my money, but look down ...
Kendall...I won't buy your books or read them for that matter. You honey are a hypocrite....You write a book...take folks money & then complain about  writing in a Genre you hate..you were "force"? huh?. Honey please! You will take my money, but look down at me for reading your "trashy" book. I read you're blog post & trust you me...you will never have to worry about this reading ready one book from or by you! #trustthat darling 


posted by MsLowmansEssentials on May 15, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2013

    Must read

    This is an incredably entertaining, unique book! Lettys vocabulary is so hilarious that it balances out the crude words. I absolutely loved this story, these characters, and the writing style!!!! I truly hope the author continues this story and tells Jinx and Tombs experience. Even though there was tension in the story line, it was very refreshing to read a well written, entertaining story without allllllll the angst. Waiting for more?!?!?!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Okay so first off, I have to say that the warning should totally

    Okay so first off, I have to say that the warning should totally be taken into consideration. This book is dirty, sexy, hilariously funny, and totally inappropriate for anyone who is even slightly offended by any of those things. Now, with that said, this book was freaking awesome!! Kendall Grey continues to make me fan girl over her books. I absolutely love her writing, and in this she holds nothing back. It was so fun to read!! With colorful language, and super fun and creative names for certain body parts and sex acts, I was so entertained.

    I instantly liked Letty, she was one super hot mess, but I loved her "don't give a sh*t" attitude. She doesn't hold back at all. She says what she is thinking and most of the time it is brash and hilarious. She is not a fluffy, girly girl. She is a hot rocker chick, who only has one goal in life. Music. She's up for a good time in the sack, or bathroom stall, or against a bus... but she doesn't want anything, especially a guy to get in the way of her making it big as a musician. She is also very level headed too. She may seem impulsive, crazy, inappropriate or any number of things, but this girl has got her head straight. I don't even know what else to say about her. She was so fun to read!!

    Now there's Shades!! OMG he is sex on a stick!! I was pretty much a puddle of goo. Even before knowing he was a rocker, he still was super sexy in my eyes. The first scene with Shades and Letty (aka Lucky to him) was super freaking hot and steamy. Like, have some ice cubes on hand steamy. And that was tame compared to some of the other sex scenes. He is a man who knows what he wants, how to get it, and get it when he wants it. He has no issues with exploring new things, and he was also kinda sweet too. Though, he hides that part pretty well most of the time. I was totally smitten with him right from the start and couldn't get enough!

    So basically, there is a story to this. Cherry Buzz Float, Letty's all girl band, goes on tour with Killer Dixon, all guy band and they hate each other. The thing is, Letty and Shades can't get enough of each other and it steams up this book. There is a lot of sex, so just know going into it, that's mostly what you are going to get. I did really love the underlying story though, and I liked most of the characters with the exception of Kate, who I kind of wanted to kick in the vag! Both bands are really intense about their music and all of them just want to make it big. They just need to learn to work together and not against each other. This was fabulous, sexy, trashy, fun, and I loved every second of it. Take it for what it is, a fun, awesome, erotic novel. I can't wait for the next book, Beats to get Jinx's story!! Bring on the smut Kendall!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2013

    Great

    Raunchy,hilarious and fun read

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2013

    Yes!

    Loved this book! Everything you want and more

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2013

    Highly original

    Loved it. I hope she writes many, many more like this. I highly recommend this book, you won't be able to put it down!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2013

    Great

    Hilarious. Raunchy. Great read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2013

    I bought the book based on the warning label alone.  If you can'

    I bought the book based on the warning label alone.  If you can't handle the warning, you will never be able to handle the book.  The characters are real - well as real as many of us imagine we could be - bold, crass, raunchy, lewd, self-indulgent, with no concept of what political correctness actually is.  There is so much in this book that made me smile and I laughed through most of the book.  So many great lines ("My boyfriend left me for Jesus", “Nah, I wanted to sodomize him”, "Holy anal mishaps, Batman", "presses his heat-seeking moisture missile against my cock holster" - I completely lost it), but there is an actual love story in there that is really touching.  All of the characters in the book play important roles in the growth and development of Letty personally.  It's written in a way that you don't even know it's happening as you read it.  The book was HOT and I absolutely LOVED it.  My friends and I laughed so hard there were tears streaming down my face.  Thanks for the fantastic ride with the rockers, and I anxiously await BEATS!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2013

    With it's kickass heroine and her raunchy romps with the sexy o


    With it's kickass heroine and her raunchy romps with the sexy opposition, Strings is a book that will surely rock your face -- and your panties-- off.





    Holy. Crap. I don't even know where to begin with this book. Well for starters, take a good look at the disclaimer at the top of the synopsis. Take those statements seriously. If you can't handle balls-to-the-wall, scandalous, reeeeaaallly descriptive and raunchy dialogue/thoughts/sex scenes, then I can almost guarantee that Strings is not the book for you. That's okay.





    Buuuuut... if you can handle all the aforementioned crude, graphic, hardcore filth, shot through with an insane amount of humor, then CONGRATULATIONS!, because Strings just may be the book you you.





    Y'all know I love a good rockstar story, but how often do we get an unapologetic, unfiltered, purely badass rockstar chick? Letty was incredible. I love how she just goes after what she wants, and that she lives her life freely. She is passionate about her band and her music. She is wild and uninhibited. And by wild I mean, she picks up and has really hot sex with a really hot guy. And by uninhibited I mean this sex was jaw-dropping, intense, and will likely set your undies on fire. Yeah.





    And who can blame her with Shades. This sexy mofo is every rockstar-loving woman's wet dream. Hot. Intense. Fun. Willing to do WHATEVER Letty wants. Now, I'm not saying that I would bow down in worship at the alter of Shades (totally lying, I would), but let's just say that I would make some really hot, really sweaty music with him any day of the week.





    I had such an awesome time reading Strings. I laughed hard. I got extremely ahem... excited, by the naughtiness that transpired, and I truly enjoyed the story. This series promises a lot of good times ahead, and I cannot wait to hang with these rockers again in Beats and Nocturnes.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2013

    Kendall pretty much said it all in the warning.  This book is co

    Kendall pretty much said it all in the warning.  This book is complete smutty trash.  There characters are not like anyone you would know, nor like anyone you would want to know in real life.  The premise is silly at best.  The language and adult activities are rampant and gratuitous.   Basically... this book is made of awesome if you want an escape from real life.  If you read this after reading the warning, then this book is probably everything you want it to be.  If you are offended by this book it is because you in no way, shape, or form paid attention to the warning and I do not feel bad for you.  Not at all.  

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    This one was different, but in a good way. It was sexy, sassy, r

    This one was different, but in a good way. It was sexy, sassy, raunchy and very funny. I'd recommend it to anyone like a no-holds-barred type of story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    First ¿ take a look at the Warning ¿ she isn¿t kidding. Then, lo

    First – take a look at the Warning – she isn’t kidding. Then, look deeper – and see the lines “potty-mouthed and perpetually horny "heroine" (the term is used loosely) of this book does not resemble a normal, well-adjusted, or remotely believable person in any way, shape, or form. The author acknowledges that the characters in this book are shallow and two-dimensional; the plot is both ridiculous and insipid.”  Those are all that you need to just sit back, read and enjoy the clever storyline, that while holding no pretention to being realistic in any manner, is strikingly accurate in some aspects.  




    I adored Letty: for as totally troubled as she was – she went full on for her passions, of the moment or in her dreams of being a full-time rock and roll star.  Her inventive use of several combinations of anatomical slang, swears and just a no-holds-barred approach to saying what she means is at first shocking, and then morphs into a surprisingly honest detailing of things that many of us may think, even if we don’t say them. 




    Her snobbish approach to music that is not “classic” rock, and the struggles of an all-female band in a very male dominated industry are well defined and detailed, and all too often truth.  The burgeoning romance between her and “Shades” is cleverly done, with that magnetic attraction that fuels some risqué sex, fans of reading of sexual acts that they would never attempt will love the variety and frequency here.   I was not looking for a literary masterpiece, but Grey writes a beautiful scene, full of humor and clear emotion that provides a compelling reason to read on. 




    Did I expect to find a book that will be considered a “classic’ in years to come? No.  But, not surprisingly, with this author’s skill, I did find a read that was inventive, unique and funny, with the ability to engage and entertain without pretension or excuse.  




    I purchased a copy of the book for my own library. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility. 

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2013

    Loved it!

    It was raunchy and great !

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2013

    If you are easily offended dont read. Love it

    I loved it. It was crude but funny kept me turning pages! Im looking forward to a jinx and toombs story for sure. And fyi people posting about things the author said...she was being sarcastic get over! U dont like her dont read her books simple. But if u pass this one u r missing out. So pull up your big girl panties get over and buy the book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2013

    LMAO

    This is the first book that I have read by this author, I'm excited about the next book in this series!!! I laughed all the way through this book. Lettie is hillarious!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2013

    Uh-fucking-mazing

    Such a fun and scandalous read! Definitely not for prudes. I thoroughly enjoyed it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    A great escape that kept me up until 2 in the morning. Loved it.

    A great escape that kept me up until 2 in the morning. Loved it.  Funny, dirty, a bad ass female character. If you've read the warning and think that sounds interesting, You will absolutely love it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    I love Kendall Grey, she rocks. This book is smut-tastic. The

    I love Kendall Grey, she rocks. This book is smut-tastic. The characters are a group that I would enjoy being around, even if it was just for the music. I will read any and every book that Kendall writes even if it is just a phone book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    4.5 Hot Rockin' Stars I'm a huge, huge fan of Kendall Grey's wr

    4.5 Hot Rockin' Stars

    I'm a huge, huge fan of Kendall Grey's writing. Did you know her Just Breathe trilogy has a HOT rock star? I already knew she can write awesome rockers. When I heard she was writing a new series with rocker chicks and dudes, I literally bounced off the wall with much anticipation!

    “Strap-on? Check. Dildo? Check. Lube? Check.”

    Did that get your attention? Sure, Strings is erotica...raunchy and lewd erotica. The warning in the summary should be taken seriously. If explicitly erotic rock star stories is your thing, then you are in for a treat!

    Meet 25 year-old Letty Dillinger. She's a force to be reckoned with. Letty represents all the poor unknowns trying to make it big in a cutthroat business. She believes wholeheartedly in her music and her band. I love her inner dialogue. The raw, roller-coaster of emotions she goes through really hits you in the guts. What I love most about her is that she's vulnerable, determined, and anyone can relate to her.

    “Much as I don't want to admit it, he's my sexual soul mate. No inhibitions. No fear. No boundaries.”

    “Are your strings ready to be plucked?”
    “By you? All day, every day. Pour some Letty on me.”

    Should I mention that Letty also has a raging libido? Oh, yes, she does! When “Shades” enters the picture, she really has no problem asking for what she wants. Shades is such a willing participant, too. Shades, good God! Hello...rocker with tats and piercings alert! I'm trying to think of what they didn't do. Well, just know they're both willing and open. All the kink, and it gets pretty kinky, in their sexual activities is icing on the cake! The heat generated by these two is why this story comes with a warning. You have been warned!

    “I want to be tied up in his strings forever and a day.”

    Deep down Strings is a humorous and passionate story of a group of rockers trying to catch a big break. It's about two like-minded, strong individuals connecting on a deep level and making beautiful music together. It's a wild ride, and it's only just getting started. I'm so looking forward to book #2, Beats!

    “Long live The Rock!”

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2013

    Wow

    Funniest book ive read all year. So hot and sexy. Definatly recommend.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2014

    Oh wow!

    This book was soooo Raunchy, Nasty, Dirty.... I loved every page of it!!!! Love me some good 'ole fashion Dirty Talk too!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3