Customer Reviews for

Strip Tease

Average Rating 4.5
( 74 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(50)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

It keeps you entertained all the way through

Hope to find more of this author. The book takes place in Florida and has very quirky and unusual characters. Great plot and holds your interest throughout. I think I read this one several years ago but then decided that I didn't. Very enjoyable! Pure escape st...
Hope to find more of this author. The book takes place in Florida and has very quirky and unusual characters. Great plot and holds your interest throughout. I think I read this one several years ago but then decided that I didn't. Very enjoyable! Pure escape stuff,

posted by KsDave on September 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Intereting Read - a bit ronchy

I found this book to have a lot of intereting characters that most people cannot really relate to. I did find some of them almost laughable in their lifestyle choices and quirks. I don't think I will read this author again, but it was worth a try.

posted by 3417238 on January 15, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 74 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted September 28, 2012

    It keeps you entertained all the way through

    Hope to find more of this author. The book takes place in Florida and has very quirky and unusual characters. Great plot and holds your interest throughout. I think I read this one several years ago but then decided that I didn't. Very enjoyable! Pure escape stuff,

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2009

    Hiaasen never disappoints

    This is the second of Carl Hiaasen's novels I have read and have thoroughly enjoyed them both. His offbeat characters and plot twists always keep you wondering what will happen next. Great summer vacation read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2014

    Shut up plz

    This is a book reveiw not a chat room stop talking and make some reveiws plz and lexi its just nasty to ask to have sexon a book reveiw site any ways the bookwas great i total recomend it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2013

    Good Read!

    What can I say? Another "good 'un" from Hiaasen. Fun, crazy, adventurous journey!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2013

    Victoria to chace

    I paw a the muzzl thant kyle put on as he ra.pe.d me

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    Intereting Read - a bit ronchy

    I found this book to have a lot of intereting characters that most people cannot really relate to. I did find some of them almost laughable in their lifestyle choices and quirks. I don't think I will read this author again, but it was worth a try.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Another Laughing Out Loud Story

    I love these stories and wish Carl HIassen would write more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2001

    Stripping and Teasing . . .

    are good metaphors for this book if by 'stripping' you mean sex and violence and 'teasing' you mean satire and Mr. Hiaasen's legendary caustic political wit. This just may be Hiaasen's very best novel. The pacing is nice and zippy. Its story line has all the elements in the right degree: I mentioned the humor and the savagery, and the characters are priceless, including a bouncer who 'has a high threshold' and inhales cigar smoke when he lights up, thinking that everyone else does. To an unusual degree with this frequently cynical author, the guilty suffer and the good are rewarded, though sometimes in unorthodox ways. I do agree with a previous critic who found the lady stripper too good to be true. If you can spell, turn on a computer, keep your temper and look good in pumps, a legal secretary earns just as much money, has the drop on the best day-care centers and is about eleventy-seven times more likely to get home in one piece. I just have to forgive Hiaasen his title character's chosen profession; as the folks in the English departments do, write it off as a 'convention of the genre,' which is academese for 'make believe it's so or else there ain't no story.' As a veteran reporter, Hiaasen knows where to look for sacred cows in the (shall we put it nicely?) somewhat ungenlemanly environs of Florida's political scene. In fact, if Congress ever takes meaningful action to reduce or eliminate the federal 'giveaway' sugar price-support subsidies to the big growers, the best-informed average citizens outside of the Sunshine State will undoubtedly be Hiaasen fans who read this book. Mr. H. says that the Latino-American sugar barons portrayed in this book are just a figment of his warped imagination. Well, his imagination may be warped, but it tickles me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2000

    Stripper With A Heart of Gold

    In 'Strip Tease,' the characters are, for the most part, either good people in unfortunate situations, or bad people in fortunate ones. The main character, while appealing and feisty, is still somewhat of a cliché--the whore with a heart of gold--only she's not a whore, she's a stripper, and she's her own stripper too, refusing to do table or lap dances. And, if that weren't enough, she's doing this all to pay lawyer's fees to regain custody of her daughter. Here she is, a former FBI assistant, smarter than anyone around her, she can type 70 words a minute, and only this job will pay the attorney? This is a job that will probably pay her lawyers fee¿s fairly quick, but that isn't likely to win many points in future custody battles. this makes for a fun novel, with the easy target of a sleazy strip joint, a violent (but good-hearted) bouncer, and mostly infatuated customers, but not a very possible one. <p> Readers will be pleased with the plethora of variety found in this book. The author takes us to a place of corruption, greed and murder. When he describes something, he really takes the time to explain things thoroughly from every angle and make it so the reader will understand whatever he is talking about. An example is when he talks about how the Eager Beaver is rivals with the club down the street. The owner of the Eager Beaver devises an ingenious plan to take them out. He has his bouncer, Shad, go to a rat farm and purchase a barrel full. He then tells him to go and release them in the Ling¿s club. He does and it ruins them. As Shad does this we can picture him doing it in greusome detail. For readers this adds to enjoiment of the book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2014

    Grace

    U here?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2013

    Kat

    Im back ;)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2013

    Natalie

    Anyone on? I need someone tht I can talk to and have fun with(:

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2013

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2013

    Sally

    Hi Trey shesays sitting on his lap

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2013

    To rose

    Im on

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2013

    I am ready

    Ready when you are

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2013

    Will

    Hey anyone on

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2013

    Hey guys

    Ready for srx i am jasmine

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2013

    Mariea to Nate

    "Hi Nate!!!" Says a na.k.ed girl in a corner. "Wan have some "fun"?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2013

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 74 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4