Customer Reviews for

Strong Fathers, Strong Daughters: 10 Secrets Every Father Should Know

Average Rating 4.5
( 46 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(33)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2008

    A must-read for any father of a little girl

    As a new father to an 8-month old girl, I felt confident on how to be a good dad. But after reading 'Strong Fathers, Strong Daughters, I didn't realize how much poison our culture contains for little girls to face. This book a a thought-provoking and inspiring work that gives all fathers the tools and courage to fight for their daughters. A father will learn that he plays a huge role in his daughter's development into adulthood. He will learn that he is the most important man in his daughter's life. And he will walk away from this book knowing that he must be the hero his daughter deserves. As for myself, I know that in this ridiculous MTV culture that promotes drugs, sex, greed, and other deplorable morals tilted heavily against this new generation of girls, I am willing to take on this challenge to fight this poison and raise a happy, well-rounded daughter. It will be the hardest thing I've ever done, but she's worth it. Isn't yours? If so, then this book must be in your collection. Thank you, Dr. Meeker.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2011

    If you have daughter (s) a must

    Great book ! I read the book when my daughter hit 13. The beginning starts off with some hard facts showing how a young woman growing without the direction of a Dad can fall off the track. Society at times likes to minimize the importance of a Dad in a family. After you read the book, you willl see just how important you are . I enjoyed the real cases that the author placed in the chapters to bring the point home. I give this book friends of mine who become new Dads.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2008

    Its never too late to change

    My older daughter is 13, and I have been experiencing this distance between us [Many well meaning conversations went awry with her saying 'You don't understand or know anything, stop trying to control me']. I glanced at this book and ended up reading it right there in the book store and buying it. It gave me confidence to go with my instinct and protect my little girl, while striving to be an excellent example of what a father 'and her future mate' should be. I'm in the process of getting to know all her friends, boys and girls beyond the cursory level. Everyone in her life needs to know that she has a father who cares for her, loves her, and will not let anyone mess with her :-) We now play tennis and cook together more frequently, and recently, she has actually asked for my advice 'Thank God I was sitting when this happened' Thanks a million Meg M.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2007

    A MUST Read for ALL Fathers, Grandfathers, or ANYONE that cares about our girls

    Times have changed rapidly. The experiences of our children are vastly different from that which we experienced not too long ago. You cannot take what you deem to be reality and project it into your parenting without the education that this book provides. Doing so may be the costliest blunder you can make in your life and the stakes are too big for you to make that mistake. If you are a Father, Grandfather, Mom, Uncle... anyone¿, you should read this book. I read it after my childless brother-in-law 'uncle to my 4 daughters' read it in 2 days and insisted I do the same. I did and it has permanently changed my outlook, approach and conviction towards the raising of my daughters. I have insisted that my wife and all of the Father and parents we know read the book 'including the entire Soccer team I coach'. Meg Meeker does an outstanding job of appealing to your intellect with well-researched/fact-based/articulate/compelling/hair-raising points throughout the book. The book will stir something within you. Personally, I had difficulty reading the book while traveling on business as I needed to hug my kids.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2011

    Highly recommended - a must-read for today's fathers.

    Reading it from cover to cover reinforced my thoughts of how important my father had been to me. I purchased the books to send to my sons to let them realize that fact and give them tools to be a great father. The content is relevant to today's world and a good relationship between fathers and daughters. Easy to read and comprehend.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    All Parents should read this book, not just dads

    I heard about this book from my husband's friend. I decided to buy it as a gift for my husband, from our 4 year old daughter for Father's Day. Wanting to also read it myself, I checked a copy out of our local library and finished the book in no time....while my husband is STILL on page 7! I gave this book to my personally "adopted" dad, my brother in law who will soon be the father of a daughter, and a friend of ours who has 2 daughters. Everyone that I know that has read this book has loved it.

    Having had a strained relationship with my own father all of my life, until recently, I found this book to be surprisingly therapeutic in healing my relationship with my real father. It was a nice and welcomed surprise, ending with a newfound amazing relationship with him that was LONG overdue.

    I have since started reading Meg Meeker's other book Boys Should be Boys and so far I am equally impressed.

    Though I don't agree completely with everything Dr. Meeker says in her book, and at times it seems a little on the "preachy" side with beating the same points into the book.....I take it for the good points and things I agree with and put the rest in my back pocket for future pondering.

    A great read and highly recommended!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2008

    Absolutely fantastic read

    Just echoing what has already been stated in other reviews. This is a Bible for us Fathers of girls. Though I have only read a few passages so far, it has already struck a chord in me so powerfully, beautifully and truly that I lack words to describe the feeling and revelation adequately. Outstanding work. God bless all Fathers and Daughters!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2012

    If you are or will be a father this is a MUST READ!!!

    I am a father of two young girls. I'd heard a lot of good reports about this book, so I decided to give it a try as I believe we always should try to be better at whatever we want to do or become. After reading this I learned not only how girls think, but things that I need to do to be a the kind of father I want to be for my girls. I cannot say enough how important it is to know the information Dr Meeker shares to help my girls grow up to be strong, confident ladies! If you have a daughter, this is a Must Read! Simple, straight-forward information. Most important, don't try to be your child's best friend or buddy - she has classmates for that. You are her father, act like one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2012

    Insightful for father's who are serious about their role.

    As a Dad concerned that my daughter doens't become another unfortunate statistic - who wants his daughter to have the best that life has to offer, this book reinforced many of my thoughts on raising children. But it also offered insight into how a young girl thinks and feels that I'm just not going to understand on my own. This book has good information and suggestions that dad's need to know.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    Must Read

    This is a must read for any father or father-to-be. I am reading it for my husband (because he doesn't like to read), but will be highly suggesting he pick it up because it really does have a lot of VERY valuable information and insight. Definitely read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2010

    My husband was amazed

    He felt empowered about being a father to a girl and it gave him insight about the world we live in and how it affects our kids.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The role of dad

    Dr. Meeker really brings home the point that daughters need and look up to their fathers. The role a father plays can affect so many different aspects of his daughter's life. Men have played a big part in minimizing their role in the family unit by focusing on other aspects like work and play. This has allowed society to put fatherhood in a lesser light and suggest that our input to the family unit causes more damage than help. Strong Fathers, Strong Daughter shows you the proof that fathers have significants in their daughters life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2007

    magnificent

    the day i went into the book store , i notice the cover at a glance ., pictured myself as if it were me in the cover ., i read a couple of pages and found myself drawn in ..i bought book ...it is a blessing to have such knowledge and to share it with the world , thank-u..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2007

    A reviewer

    Thank you for such an enlightening book for parents with girls!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2007

    A must buy for all fathers with daughters!

    A must-buy for all father's anguishing about all the issues we will have to confront in raising daughters. I am buying a copy for my brother and all my friends raising daughters. If you come from a male-dominated background like I did, and are scarred about the challenges of raising good daughters in a scary world, this book provides a good road map and great recommendations. I highly recommend it. Great job and thanks Dr. Meeker.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2006

    Every parent should read this book

    Meg Meeker hit a home run with this book. Real stories from different people flesh out the concepts she discusses and solidify the advice she gives. Her straight forward style is just what the doctor ordered. A must have for every father.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3