Customer Reviews for

Strong Spirits (a Daisy Gumm Majesty Mystery, Book 1)

Average Rating 4
( 123 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(44)

4 Star

(35)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Clever setting-well written

Well written mystery set in southern CA 1920's• whimsical and funny with some facts of everyday life at that time thrown in! I enjoyed this book and will purchase the next in series

posted by 10058758 on October 13, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Plot spoilers and harriet klausner

Harriet klausner strikes again along with her posse of plot spoilers. Please bn, do somethimg with this poster. She has gotten away with her blatent plot spoilers for so long that now everyone thinks they can ruin a book and get away with it. I personally hate to have a...
Harriet klausner strikes again along with her posse of plot spoilers. Please bn, do somethimg with this poster. She has gotten away with her blatent plot spoilers for so long that now everyone thinks they can ruin a book and get away with it. I personally hate to have a book spoiled before i read it. Please ban these plot spoilers and delete their posts especially harriet klausner.

posted by 8888649 on October 18, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2013

    Clever setting-well written

    Well written mystery set in southern CA 1920's• whimsical and funny with some facts of everyday life at that time thrown in! I enjoyed this book and will purchase the next in series

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2013

    Surprised it was free.

    I don't expect much from free books, so this was a real treat. Love the smooth writing style. Daisy and all her family and friends are a delight.

    12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2002

    Dazzling! Very highly recommended

    At the age of ten, Daisy Gumm discovers the allure of the Ouija Board, quickly learning to use it on the gullible wealthy. During her teens, Daisy's working class family comes to depend upon her income for survival, as does her war veteran husband when he comes home crippled. Daisy's very practical philosophy summarizes her approach to the world: "It's only the rich in this world who can afford to be disenchanted and blasé. The rest of us are too busy trying to earn a living." Daisy makes her living off of people like the Kincaids, who "possessed more money than sense." Mrs. Kincaid quickly comes to rely upon Daisy to restore hope when her family seems to disintegrate around her. Her daughter is arrested for drinking in a speakeasy. Her son has his own particular proclivities. And her husband chases the maids from his wheelchair before disappearing under suspicious circumstances. Daisy finds herself caught in the midst of it all, comforting Mrs. Kincaid and guiltily fullfilling Detective Sam Rotondo's demands that she spy on the wealthy family. STRONG SPIRITS defies an easy categorization, although Kensington lists historical romance on the spine. Instead, STRONG SPIRITS possess a uniquely original tone, imaginative narrative voice, and a marvelous level of the levity. Author Alice Duncan gracefully captures the roaring twenties with its Fizgeraldian affluence and defiance of the war just finished and the one yet to come. Furthermore, Daisy Gumm Majesty is one of the most delightful heroines I have ever encountered, practical, courageous, and determined. Her youthful enthusiasm never abates even when facing daunting challenges. Indeed, Alice Duncan has outdone herself with this sparkling novel. STRONG SPIRITS comes very highly recommended.

    9 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2013

    Highly recommend !! Jmm44

    Has it ALL! Seances - servants-- police -- thieves --police-- disabled people -- very rich people who think they are entitled to put down poorer people as well as servants !! Exvellent writing! Most numbered pages have 2 pages of text!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    Ms

    Delightful mystery...if a mystery can be delightful? This one is.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2014

    Great find!

    Snappy, witty dialogue. Story is post WW l, which is a nice switch from the typical, present day cozy setting. Well written, very nice treat for a free book! Nothing graphic. Mild reference to bedroom scene, minimal language. I am happy to pay for book #2, and can't wait to see what kind of scrape Daisy finds herself in!

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2014

    I love this book!

    This book captures the era and the setting so well that I could see Colorado Blvd in 1920 as if I was there. The characters are engaging and likable. The plot fun and different. You won't be able to stop with just one Daisy Gumm mystery!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2013

    I had fun reading this!

    The characters are crazy and great with a dose of healthy reality thrown in. I loved how the book is from Daisy's perspective and is true to the decade in terms of attitudes, dress, and social interactions.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2003

    Daisy Reads Tarot Cards-fun!!

    Great story told by Ms Duncan. I love Daisy Gumm Majesty and her wonderful madcap tale of being a *caring conperson* -she only tells the client what they want to hear. Her love for Billy Majesty is so special and her love for the rest of her family too. Daisy's nemesis Pasadena Detective Sam Rotondo is a great character which she has a hard time dealing with. I'm hoping this will be a series and I'm eager for July's FINE SPIRITS I want to get to know Daisy, Billy & Sam better.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2003

    DAISY MAJESTY IS A WINNER!

    Ms. Duncan's "Strong Spirits" is a winner in every way. She is a word artist, painting a story and her character, Daisy Gumm Majesty, with vitality and verve. Daisy will charm readers and I look forward to her next adventure. "Strong Spirits" surprises and enchants with each turn of the page. Ms. Duncan just keeps getting better.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2002

    Classic Alice Duncan--with a twist

    STRONG SPIRITS is classic Alice Duncan good, but this time it is with a twist. Her usual romance is tempered with the supernatural and a very different setting¿the World Fair in Chicago. Alice always excels in breathing life into her characters, and this one is no exception. If you are looking for classic excellence, but something a bit out-of-the-ordinary, this one is definitely worth the time. While it is classified as a ¿romance¿ by the publisher, I found it to contain more intrigue and mystery than actual romance, although the undertones she is known for was certainly evident, too.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2002

    You'll love STRONG SPIRITS!!

    STRONG SPIRITS is an enchanting mix of mystery and humor set in the Roaring Twenties. Daisy Gumm Majesty is an independent and outspoken woman who, when her husband Billy comes home disabled after World War I, turns to spiritualism to make a living. Daisy's best customer is the wealthy Mrs. Kinkaid, so when Mrs. Kinkaid's daughter is arrested, irregularities turn up at her husband's bank, and her husband disappears, she turns to Daisy--with her Tarot cards and Ouija Board--for help. What follows is a delightful romp with the most charming and clever heroine since Amelia Peabody. Don't miss this one!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2015

    What a fun series!

    Ms. Duncan has written a fun/ funny series in the 1920's Pasadena, CA. Nice, clean, easy to read series with great characters. I used to live in that area and recognized many landmarks. One book lead to another, and each has a different plot, with recurring characters. Daisy Gumm Majesty is a strong, independent woman who is bound and determined to provide for her family in spite of her unorthodox method. Mid teen and older. I am now up to Book % and looking forward to more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2015

    Great read

    This book was an easy and fast read. It was interesting, light hearted and enjoyable. I would highly recommend it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2015

    Good reading

    Well written and fun

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2015

    This is a fun read! Actually, the entire series is fun. Daisy g

    This is a fun read! Actually, the entire series is fun. Daisy gets herself into predicaments that just fall into her lap without really trying. She has a kind heart and feels compelled to help anyone who requests it. With the story taking place in the 1920's, the writing will transplant you there with the descriptions given. A husband injured from the war, a family living together to survive, a woman who is so strong and independent that can take care of her family and wants to. I love the reads. I love the series. I hope if you enjoy it, you will consider the rest of the series. :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2015

    Fantastic

    Her first book was a freebie and I couldn't resist getting all of the rest of the Daisy Gumm Majesty Mysteries after reading it. I'm now waiting for her latest to come out. It's written in the era of the 1920's and it is so endearing how the characters interact with each other. At first I thought it would be to corny for me but I could barely put the book down and that goes for all the rest in the series. I highly recommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2015

    I recommend this as a good read.

    It is a very good book, a good plot, good characterization. I enjoyed reading this well-written, amusing story. I look forward to reading more books by Alice Duncan.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2014

    Is this free for a reason?

    wanted to make sure it was good before i got it and took space up on my nook tablet. I just have some questions that would mean the world if you answered them!

    Is it good?
    Is it scary?
    Is it safe and appropriate for 11-15 year olds?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2014

    highly recommend

    really enjoyed this light hearted mystery - great characters

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3