BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Struck

Average Rating 4.5
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

* This is rated as 3.5 stars on my blog. It wasn't quite a 4 sta

* This is rated as 3.5 stars on my blog. It wasn't quite a 4 star book for me, but it deserved more than 3.

When I first heard about this book I was super excited to red it. It just sounded so unique and creative. Being someone who has in fact been struck by lightning...
* This is rated as 3.5 stars on my blog. It wasn't quite a 4 star book for me, but it deserved more than 3.

When I first heard about this book I was super excited to red it. It just sounded so unique and creative. Being someone who has in fact been struck by lightning, (thought indirectly) it sounded extra appealing to me. (If you want to know more about that feel free to tweet me or email me about it.) It was definitely an interesting book. I liked Mia and some of the other characters. There was a lot of religion in it, and being someone who is not religious I can say it didn't bother me. It wasn't annoyingly preachy, it was just a main part of the story. It was done very well to be honest.


Mia has a special gift though she feels like it's a curse. She doesn't really know the extent of the power she carries from the countless lightning strikes. She has different people telling her who she can and can't trust on opposing sides and she has no clue what to do. I feel like in the situation she is stuck in she really does pretty well. Yes, she makes some bad decisions, but who doesn't. She's confused and trying to take care of her mother who has basically shut down completely after the earthquake.


Jeremy is kind of stalkerish, but it's okay. He's totally hot! Really though, he is a great character. He is a bit creepy, but there is a lot of creepy weird people in this book. When you have the end of the world looking you in the face there are going to be some crazies! He has secrets that he wants to tell, but can't. Well, more he is afraid to than he can't I guess. Anyways, I can't really say much about him except I like him, and I liked him with Mia. He was always there for her when she needed him, even when she didn't know whether to trust him or not.


There is a little romance in this book, but it is really isn't a big in your face, take over the story romance. It was there, it does play a part in the book, but it's not annoying and over the top. I actually thought it was great. A little fast, but hey, the end of the world is coming. Things tend to move a little faster when you only have days left.

This book was fast paced, and kept my interest from beginning to end. There was nothing that stood out as shocking or any big twists, and no major cliffhanger ending, though there is a little bit of something implied. Overall I would have to say this was a well written book that I really enjoyed. It may not have blown me away, but it was a great book. I am undecided between 3 and 4 stars. I think if we knew a little more about these powers the lightning gives and how people came to know about it and start these groups. I would give it 4, but I still feel like there is a little lack of information on why things happen. I am a bit picky with stuff like that. I need a reason for things, even if it's not a very good one.

posted by Amabe421 on May 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

original concept,interesting characters

Mia is a lightening addict or maybe lightening is addicted to her. Either way, she has the scars to prove it. She has survived countless strikes, and is drawn to storms, like bees to honey. Her family moved to LA, after a horrific lightening event. The recent disasters ...
Mia is a lightening addict or maybe lightening is addicted to her. Either way, she has the scars to prove it. She has survived countless strikes, and is drawn to storms, like bees to honey. Her family moved to LA, after a horrific lightening event. The recent disasters have left atmospheric hints of a storm to come. Mia can sense it and feels drawn to it. I easily connected with Mia and wanted to know more about her. Since the earthquake, she has really had to hold it together and I was impressed by her stiff upper lip. She is brave and protective. She doesn’t seek out conflict, but will fight when necessary. At times, I was annoyed with the character's inability to communicate…since a lot of crap could have been avoided with a straightforward conversation. Jeremy appears in one of Mia's classes. She has never met him, but is immediately aware of his presence and feels as if she knows him. She finds him to be gorgeous and mysterious. Oddly he makes her feel calm. He doesn’t appear to belong to either cult and tries to warn her. Jeremy’s true identity wasn’t revealed until almost the end. Bosworth did leave clues throughout the novel and I managed to figure it out but I was never really sure if he was helping her or had a secret agenda. All of which made this tale suspenseful. The romance between them was sweet and downright complicated. The energy I felt when the two of them were together made me swoon. Other characters added to the suspense and mystery. I loved some of them and loathed others. Bosworth’s world-building enthralled me. She did a wonderful job of depicting the city and its people after the quake. Her descriptions of the city of tents, the chaos and fear made the world very real. The Prophet and his followers were believable. He has predicted the end is near and urges people to join him and repent. Throughout the novel you get a sense that he is evil. The Seekers are an old and secret society. They appear to be trying to stop a cataclysmic event from occurring. It has been foretold and they are looking for others to make their psychic connections stronger. Bosworth’s tale of their origin and purposes was fascinating. She weaves tarot cards and paranormal ability into the tale creating mystery. Mia is the catalyst for an event yet to come and is sought by both sides. Not knowing the true purpose of each cult and why they wanted Mia made the ride suspenseful.

posted by kimba88 on June 15, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 24, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    * This is rated as 3.5 stars on my blog. It wasn't quite a 4 sta

    * This is rated as 3.5 stars on my blog. It wasn't quite a 4 star book for me, but it deserved more than 3.

    When I first heard about this book I was super excited to red it. It just sounded so unique and creative. Being someone who has in fact been struck by lightning, (thought indirectly) it sounded extra appealing to me. (If you want to know more about that feel free to tweet me or email me about it.) It was definitely an interesting book. I liked Mia and some of the other characters. There was a lot of religion in it, and being someone who is not religious I can say it didn't bother me. It wasn't annoyingly preachy, it was just a main part of the story. It was done very well to be honest.


    Mia has a special gift though she feels like it's a curse. She doesn't really know the extent of the power she carries from the countless lightning strikes. She has different people telling her who she can and can't trust on opposing sides and she has no clue what to do. I feel like in the situation she is stuck in she really does pretty well. Yes, she makes some bad decisions, but who doesn't. She's confused and trying to take care of her mother who has basically shut down completely after the earthquake.


    Jeremy is kind of stalkerish, but it's okay. He's totally hot! Really though, he is a great character. He is a bit creepy, but there is a lot of creepy weird people in this book. When you have the end of the world looking you in the face there are going to be some crazies! He has secrets that he wants to tell, but can't. Well, more he is afraid to than he can't I guess. Anyways, I can't really say much about him except I like him, and I liked him with Mia. He was always there for her when she needed him, even when she didn't know whether to trust him or not.


    There is a little romance in this book, but it is really isn't a big in your face, take over the story romance. It was there, it does play a part in the book, but it's not annoying and over the top. I actually thought it was great. A little fast, but hey, the end of the world is coming. Things tend to move a little faster when you only have days left.

    This book was fast paced, and kept my interest from beginning to end. There was nothing that stood out as shocking or any big twists, and no major cliffhanger ending, though there is a little bit of something implied. Overall I would have to say this was a well written book that I really enjoyed. It may not have blown me away, but it was a great book. I am undecided between 3 and 4 stars. I think if we knew a little more about these powers the lightning gives and how people came to know about it and start these groups. I would give it 4, but I still feel like there is a little lack of information on why things happen. I am a bit picky with stuff like that. I need a reason for things, even if it's not a very good one.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    original concept,interesting characters

    Mia is a lightening addict or maybe lightening is addicted to her. Either way, she has the scars to prove it. She has survived countless strikes, and is drawn to storms, like bees to honey. Her family moved to LA, after a horrific lightening event. The recent disasters have left atmospheric hints of a storm to come. Mia can sense it and feels drawn to it. I easily connected with Mia and wanted to know more about her. Since the earthquake, she has really had to hold it together and I was impressed by her stiff upper lip. She is brave and protective. She doesn’t seek out conflict, but will fight when necessary. At times, I was annoyed with the character's inability to communicate…since a lot of crap could have been avoided with a straightforward conversation. Jeremy appears in one of Mia's classes. She has never met him, but is immediately aware of his presence and feels as if she knows him. She finds him to be gorgeous and mysterious. Oddly he makes her feel calm. He doesn’t appear to belong to either cult and tries to warn her. Jeremy’s true identity wasn’t revealed until almost the end. Bosworth did leave clues throughout the novel and I managed to figure it out but I was never really sure if he was helping her or had a secret agenda. All of which made this tale suspenseful. The romance between them was sweet and downright complicated. The energy I felt when the two of them were together made me swoon. Other characters added to the suspense and mystery. I loved some of them and loathed others. Bosworth’s world-building enthralled me. She did a wonderful job of depicting the city and its people after the quake. Her descriptions of the city of tents, the chaos and fear made the world very real. The Prophet and his followers were believable. He has predicted the end is near and urges people to join him and repent. Throughout the novel you get a sense that he is evil. The Seekers are an old and secret society. They appear to be trying to stop a cataclysmic event from occurring. It has been foretold and they are looking for others to make their psychic connections stronger. Bosworth’s tale of their origin and purposes was fascinating. She weaves tarot cards and paranormal ability into the tale creating mystery. Mia is the catalyst for an event yet to come and is sought by both sides. Not knowing the true purpose of each cult and why they wanted Mia made the ride suspenseful.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2012

    I received an ARC of this book from the publisher in exchange fo

    I received an ARC of this book from the publisher in exchange for reading and reviewing it.

    For the first two thirds of this book, I was pretty sure I didn’t like it, yet I couldn’t figure out why. The initial premise seemed exciting and original – Mia has been struck by lightning hundreds of times, and has a love/hate relationship with the feelings it producers in her. Additionally, she can channel the energy of the storm, but isn’t sure whether this is a curse or a blessing.

    The setting is Los Angeles shortly after a storm (complete with lightning) triggers an earthquake that ravages the city. Mia struggles to hold her family together, as her mother was injured during the quake and is recovering plus there’s also a younger brother to care for. Many of the expected dystopian themes make an appearance, including the disparity between those who have and those who are destitute, along with the struggle to get things ‘back to normal’. There is also the rise of religious fervor, symptoms of stress disorder and the partial breakdown of law and order.

    In the end, I think that was the source of my problems with the book – too many varying issues competing for my attention. The religious and anti-religious factions both believe Mia is central to their future plans and try their hardest to recruit her to their side. Then there’s the boy who’s either trying to kill her or save her – Mia isn’t sure which – but who she can’t seem to stay away from. Not knowing who to trust can make things very difficult, but in the first two thirds of the book, I don’t think Mia made a single decision that didn’t irritate me in some way.

    Then I came to the last part of the story, and suddenly it seemed like I was reading a different book altogether! The pacing was much better, the action moved along and Mia became a heroine I started to like a little. It helped that the story didn’t quite take the expected route to the conclusion, and I began to find myself devouring the pages to see how things were going to turn out. Also good was that, while this is intended to be a series, the book had a satisfying conclusion with hints that there was more to come.

    Generally, this was a good YA read, but not a fantastic one. Still, I would at least try the next book in the series when it comes out, and if it’s written like the last third of this one, I’ll be very happy about that.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2012

    Amazing

    I absolutely loved this story and I really think that it should be turned into a series or at least a trilogy... this was one of my favorite books ever...I JUST COULDN'T PUT IT DOWN

    Thank you XD

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2014

    STRUCK is an amazing and exciting story. Mia is a strong man cha

    STRUCK is an amazing and exciting story. Mia is a strong man character who will do anything to keep her family safe . The concept of Mia being a lightning addict is brilliant and fresh!  

    Mia's love interest with Jeremy worked very well throughout the story and I really enjoyed it.

    I look forward to more novels from Jennifer Bosworth. She is very talented! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    STRUCK is set in future LA. A city destroyed by a terrible earth

    STRUCK is set in future LA. A city destroyed by a terrible earthquake. Imagining Los Angeles like that was pretty scary. Although it could have been an ace dytopian story, STRUCK wasn't primarily about a disaster scenario and the impacts natural catastrophes could have on people's lives. It was mostly about Mia dealing with her lightning addiction. Yes, you've read correctly. She is like a life-size lightning rod. She has the power to absorb lightning but also to destroy with its energy. She has the predisposition to be an attractive character protagonist-wise, but surprisingly she just didn't grow on me.
    Grave disappointment struck me after only the first few chapters of Jennifer Bosworth's debut novel. A huge amount of the story felt just wrong to me and I didn't find a way to connect with our protagonist or unterstand the love story. Don't get me wrong, her love interest, Jeremy was a pretty decent guy. Just not that sexy and incredibly defiant guy I wanted him to be.
    There's also a religious, or better cult-like, aspect that felt kind of like a foreign substance to the story itself. And it really started to bother me after some time, because it became too dominant and held to much of the story's attention. A Prophet gathering people around him and trying to control an entire city with his nonsense, even involving parts of Mia's family. The cult component struck me as really odd and that's what turned the story into something that just couldn't work for me.
    I was rather sceptical about reading STRUCK in the first place, but somehow found myself reading it after a few weeks anyways. Should've listened to my intuition from the beginning. I'm not happy to say that I didn't enjoy this read, but that's how it is. And for that I hope even more readers find a favourite in it and will give it the love any story deserves.


    2/5 ** STRUCK - Promising premise, no electrifying content in the end!

    This story could have been big, but there was never any tension at all and the action simply fell flat for me. Weak characters and a trivial romance and I was desperate to finish STRUCK to just be done with it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Imagine having two cults fighting it out to control one person.

    Imagine having two cults fighting it out to control one person.  Both, who want use that person in their own way.  Even prepared to use your family to do it.  That's what Mia faces in this book. 

    Mia is a girl who is addicted to lightning - the same way a druggie is fixated on their next shot of heroin.  She knows when storms are coming and has to fight the urge to race towards it.  She lives in post-apocalyptic world where the city she lives in has virtually been destroyed after a horrendous Earthquake and there is more trouble coming.  She fights to keep her family together in a time where the homeless live in tents and the simple things are hard to get.  She has to go to school to get the food she needs.  And, to make her life even more difficult, along comes Jeremy...

    The thing that struck me the most about this book was the cult element.  I wouldn't call it religion per se because it wasn't a known religion fighting against another.  It was two different sects - one who believed the world was going to end - the other trying to make sure it didn't happen.  There was a sense of good and evil, but not in the usual way that I've been used to.  No angels or demons in this book!

    The world-building side of it disappointed me.  I didn't know anything about how the world worked apart from what was going on between the two sects.  I know there were militiamen who patrolled the area, but who looked after them?  Where was the government or mayor in all this?  There's always someone who takes charge. 

    I also couldn't understand why Mia made it so easy to allow Jeremy into her life when he was going to do something to horrible to her (can't say what -spoiler).  There was one scene where she showed her fear and outrage and then she folded as easily as a towel is.  I guess he was the better of two evils.

    That being said though I did like the characters.  I thought Mia and Jeremy were sweet together.  There was definitely no love at first sight here, but more the situations that were going on in their lives that made them connect.  I think Mia was actually quite a strong character except towards the end.  Even though it was part of the story line, I didn't really like what happened towards the end of the book.  I think it took something away from Mia and left me frustrated with her.  Mind you, that did give her some flaws so I guess it comes down to the way the reader interprets it.

    The secondary characters really didn't leave me with much of an impression.  I guess it's because I didn't really know that much about them.  They felt empty - like they had been put in the book to make it flow the way it should.  I think the only two who made much of a impression on me were Katrina and Mr Kale.

    I don't really have much to say about Jeremy.  He was alright, but I can't say I fan-girled over him. 

    Despite all my 'meh' feelings about the book as a whole, I can't deny that there was something about this book that appealed to me.  I think it was the unique plot of the book.  I haven't read a book quite like it before.  And, I did like the climax of the book and the way it ended.  I think it was that and Mia that saved it from being rated any lower.  If there ever is a sequel to this book, I will read it.

    I would recommend this book to anyone who likes elemental books.  

    Book review done by Sandy@Magical Manuscripts

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2013

    Sci fi fan

    I read this book last summer and found it very unique, i have never read anything like it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Chapter by Chapter's review of Struck by Jennifer Bosworth

    I have no idea where to start when it comes to Struck and I mean that in the most positive of ways! This story had everything I would ever want in a story: Action. A pre-apocalyptic setting. A spunky female main character and romance. From the opening sentence, I knew that Struck would become one of my favorite stories and that I would eat it right up. I literally could not put it down. Struck takes place in L.A. after a storm and earthquake and other major natural disasters wreak havoc on the planet. Main character Mia is stuck in the aftermath of the quake and storm—the one thing that sets her apart from all the other survivors is that Mia is a lightening addict and has been struck repeatedly.

    As the story unfolds we enter the world Mia is living in. We get to learn a fair bit about her past before the quake/storm and how her life is after the quake/storm. The one thing that definitely pulled on my heartstrings was how disconnected Mia’s mother was from her children. Her mother, having been a survivor after being crushed by a falling building, was portrayed as a lifeless doll throughout the first two “parts” of the novel. By parts, I mean that the story was cut into four different parts. Each part focusing on the four days before the actual “apocalypse” that is predicted by Rance Ridley Prophet, the main antagonist in the story.

    In the story, we are introduced to the two warring groups, the Followers (who believe everything that Prophet says) and the Seekers (who basically do the exact opposite and want to find people to rise against Prophet). Both groups, through all four parts of the story, fight to get Mia on one of their sides because Mia is the Tower. Which pretty much means that Mia is the bringer of the apocalypse. Personally, I found myself leaning more towards the Seekers in the story. Mostly because throughout the story we are watching Mia and her younger brother Parker interact more with Seekers than Followers. That and the Followers were portrayed as bad guys. Are they really the bad guys in the story? That’s for the reader to decide.

    As for the romance portion of the novel… my heart literally melted each time I saw (or…erm… read?) Jeremy and Mia together. The two of them together were not only so sweet and secretive with each other, but at the end of the day, there’s no point in denying that Jeremy has an aura of mystery that forces any reader to fall in love with him (And he was described as Clark Kent because of his glasses and being the comic nerd that I am, I imagined him as Superman *la swoon*).

    I would recommend this to fans of dystopia (regardless of it being pre-apocalyptic), action and of course romance. Struck has a little bit of everything–something that all readers will love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2012

    Loved it!

    Im not really a fan of doomsday books. But having said that, there was just something that drew me in with this book immediately. After watching the book trailer, I just had to read the book. In a market driven by the paranormals-which I love, by the way-this book just stood out to me. Mark my words, this going to be the big, new book series.

    Mia is a strong protag, in that she is conflicted by her feelings and responsibilities and power, but in the end she always chooses the right path.

    And Jeremy is the perfect love interest, because he's always there for Mia, even when he can't see a future for them together, quite literally

    The battle between good and evil blurs at times. Who's good? Who's evil? The conflict was awesome!

    And in the end, the author set the story of brilliantly for a sequel! I can't wait to see what happens in the post apocolyptic futures for the lovers and the seekers.

    My only negatives: 1. Somewhat predictable in parts, but not too many. For example, I saw the 12th apostle comin' from a mile away. That's the only reason I gave this a 4 and not a 5. 2. The fact about storms was incorrect. For every five seconds between lightning and thunder is 1 mile. So when the author had Mia count to six mississippi and say the storm was 6 miles away or less, it was actually a little over a mile away, factually speaking.

    Overall, LOVED the book. Can't wait for the sequel and hopeful movie-if the book trailer doesn't scream MOVIE,I don't know what does.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2012

    What a book!!! For any fan of apocalypse novels, Struck was a wh

    What a book!!! For any fan of apocalypse novels, Struck was a whirlwind adventure like nothing I;d ever read. Usually, I am a bit standoffish about end-of-the-world-but-I'm-in-love books, but Bosworth's masterpeice had me flipping pages as fast as I could! It's charchters weren't very detailed, but the fast and easy plotline kept the story going.
    OVERALL: Great apocalyptic romance for fans of Maximum Ride and quick reads.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Once I started reading this book, I couldn't stop. The story suc

    Once I started reading this book, I couldn't stop. The story sucked me right in and wouldn't let go. The idea of a person being struck hundreds of times by lightning - and living to tell about it? So cool. That she's addicted to being struck by lightning? A bit weird, but I'm not judging.

    The story is set in an apocalyptic world - just as the end of the world is about to happen. There are lots of references to the Bible and to religious theories about the end of the world. I grew up going to church, so these references were normal to me - something I was familiar with. I think that connection made it a bit more exciting and real for me too. Just thinking about the stuff they talk about gives me chills. Anyways, this story is so interesting! Most novels are dystopian or post-apocalyptic. I haven't really came into contact with many that dealt with the apocalypse.

    The characters are well rounded and believable. You feel connected to Mia because she's struggling with a lot of the issues that teens deal with - on top of having to deal with her "problem." There's some romance in the book, but it wasn't overly sappy or cheesy. I thought it went well with the story - it didn't overshadow the main plot line. The setting and story building was great. It's told with such realistic detail and great description that I had no problem putting myself into the story with the characters. All in all, this was a wild ride of a book and I loved every minute of it. It's not like anything I've read in a long time and is one of the best books that I've read so far this year. Highly recommended!

    Disclosure: I received a copy of the book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    Awesome sample

    I loved the book sample i want to find out who the night mare boy is can anyone tell me.i only got the sample GET THIS BOOK A MUST TEAD READ IT NOW AWEAOME READ

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Melissa's Eclectic Bookshelf Reviews

    I've been on a great roll lately with fresh and original YA reads and this book was no different.

    I loved the fact that in amid a flood of dystopian novels...this one dares to set it's plot during the actual disaster time...and right on the cusp of an apocalypse. We're thrown right into the story weeks after a massive lightening storm and resulting earthquake have made Los Angeles a frightening ghost of what it once was. Thousands are displaced..homeless and wandering the streets or living in "tent city."

    As typically does happen during times of trouble...the worst of mankind finds it's way out of the darkness and into the light of day...preying upon people's fears and weaknesses and fighting for it's own agenda. Mia finds herself caught between family loyalties, staying true to herself, and looking to the larger picture and her part in it.

    The Prophet is an immensely troubling and intriguing character. Psychotic and disturbed enough to put his plan into motion and powerful enough to make it happen. The seekers, with their long history, and mysterious rites fascinated me and I hope to learn more about them in the sequel. And I loved the character development of Mia and her mother and brother. They all, especially Mia, grow immensely-between the simple struggle to survive as a family and then the larger struggle to prevent The Prophet and his followers from succeeding.

    The only character that I felt to be lacking was Jeremy...for the life of me I still don't understand why he kept so many secrets when speaking the truth would have made their insurmountable problems a lot more easily tackled.

    All in all, though, I found this to be a compelling and unique read and can't wait for the next in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Great Writing, Shaky details

    I wanted to love Struck because of the incredible story line. Mia has been struck numerous times by lightning and has become an addict. But we are never given a reason as to how that happens, why or if she even questions it. She never says "Why me?" A catastrophic earthquake had hit LA caused by a lightning bolt hitting a fault line. I have no idea if that can happen but it's one of the many things you are supposed to believe is true. Along with internet service, electricity, running water in Venice beach despite the total destruction of Downtown LA. Only one building in LA has been left standing. Also the kids go back to school in a three story building where the second and third floor have been so damaged that they are deemed unsafe to be used, so the kids attend classes on the first floor. And the love interest, I won't even tell you about. All that aside, the writer has a unique way with words that leaves you wanting more and even though the above bothered me, I did read the whole novel in a few hours. The cults that want Mia for her power have their own agenda's and each believe in a doomsday sort of prophecy in which Mia plays a role. Mia is just trying to hold her family together. There are a lot of religious overtones and if you are offended by that you may not want to read this. I found them so over the top that I couldn't take them seriously and saw them as fanatics which is what I think the author intended. The last part of the book was so spectacular that it had me on the edge of my seat turning pages quickly to see how it would end, sure that there weren't enough pages to resolve the actions going on. But there is a conclusion of sorts. I still have many questions and will be looking forward to the next in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2