Customer Reviews for

Struck By Lightning: The Carson Phillips Journal

Average Rating 4.5
( 72 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(59)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

I am way past my high school years but got this book for my niec

I am way past my high school years but got this book for my niece and wanted to read it before giving it to her. I laughed out loud and remembered the Carson in my class. I think every American High School had at least one! I absolutely appreciate Chris as a actor on ...
I am way past my high school years but got this book for my niece and wanted to read it before giving it to her. I laughed out loud and remembered the Carson in my class. I think every American High School had at least one! I absolutely appreciate Chris as a actor on Glee and he is now becoming one of my favorite young writers to share with the young ones in my family. Bravo Chris! BRAVO! He speaks from the heart!

posted by Anonymous on November 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

At first I liked the voice of Carson but it was too depressing.

At first I liked the voice of Carson but it was too depressing.

posted by AubreyAC on March 16, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2012

    I am way past my high school years but got this book for my niec

    I am way past my high school years but got this book for my niece and wanted to read it before giving it to her. I laughed out loud and remembered the Carson in my class. I think every American High School had at least one! I absolutely appreciate Chris as a actor on Glee and he is now becoming one of my favorite young writers to share with the young ones in my family. Bravo Chris! BRAVO! He speaks from the heart!

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2012

    Such A Wonderful Book!!

    Only one complaint....not NEARLY long enough!!

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2012

    Inspiring, Wonderful Novel

    I got this book mainly because Chris is my favorite actor on Glee, what I didnt aspect was the heartfelt journey of an aspiring journalist trying to breakfree from the ignorance of the small town of Clover. I loved every moment I spent reading this and I look forward to seeing the flim verison of this.(:

    Also I love all the witty political jokes, Clovergate! Haha

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2012

    I got this book HOPING to like it and found that I LOVED it. Th

    I got this book HOPING to like it and found that I LOVED it. The writing is full of such a biting dark humor and such drive and passion that I could not put the book down. While Carson is not a sympathetic character at first, he grows on you. He is sarcastic and full of resentment, as many teens are - and many adults, for that matter. I don't want to ruin the "read", but when I finished, all I could think was "Wow". I'd recommend this to ANYONE of ANY AGE who has had difficulties to survive, quite frankly. One caveat: this IS written at a HS teen level; the language is definitely indicative of that.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2012

    Struck By Lightning was amazing. It was comparable to a John Gre

    Struck By Lightning was amazing. It was comparable to a John Green novel.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Wow

    When I finished this book I cried because it nade me realize how life is unfair. I originally read this book because it was written by chris colfer but I did not expect it to be written so well. I like that carson is a little obssesed with his dream. I do wish the people who were black mailed had a little more development but I this a great read. I look forward to the movie.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2012

    Chris Colfer is one of my idols. I love Glee, Kurt has been my f

    Chris Colfer is one of my idols. I love Glee, Kurt has been my favorite character since the beginning, and I love reading and writing. His success at such a young age is so inspiring.
    I love this!<3

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2012

    A must read

    It was an amazing book and im sure it wont disappoint as a film. Chris Colfer has now shown me that not only is he an amazing actor and singer but an outstanding author as well.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2013

    This Book STRUCK Me!

    Averagly I read a TON of books, but never give reviews. But thos book? It deserves a 5 star review. The way Chris worded and described events... AMAZING!!! I love how Carson isn't portrayed to be likable and perfect (as many writers want to maoe it seem like thier hero/heroine is ALWAYS right and/or innocent) I also love how I can clearly see who Carson is as a person from so few pages (this book is so so short.) And might I be the first of many to comment on what an ass his mom is. (There were many moments I imagined myself slapping her upsode the head, HARD!!!)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    Awsome!!!

    This book was laugh out loud haliours and had the best characters it was definatly worth my money

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2013

    Highly recommended - a must read!!

    Awesome book! Very funny and an easy read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2013

    Is it wrong to want to marry Carson? He is literally the guy ver

    Is it wrong to want to marry Carson? He is literally the guy version of me. Needless to say, I don't have a lot of freinds. But, who cares? I have like, 3 main freinds and that's enough. Is it creepy that Carson is one of my freinds. Whatever, but with all the down right boring books and dissapointing sequeles and sereis enders that have come out this year, Struck by Lightening is a breath of fresh air. Finnaly! A book that speaks for my people! It's like the first good one since The Outsiders. Carson Phillips is the Ponyboy Curtis of this generation.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2012

    This book was really funny  and I loved it! Chris definitely por

    This book was really funny  and I loved it! Chris definitely portrays high school accurately.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    Perfect.

    Literally perfect. Thats all i can say. Its perfect, like Chris Colfer himself.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    A nice change!

    It was refreshing! Most teen books are about "getting the boy/girl". It was to read about a teen trying to reach his goals despite the hatred he recieves from his peers.
    It was inspirational,witty, and utterly heart breaking.
    A+ to Colfer! :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    1 page made me laugh,by 7th page i was cracking up

    Im buying this book. No doubt about it. I love it so far even though i got to the 7th page at the B&N store b4 it closed. Chris cofler is very funny and really good at acting.

    For those who dont know, Chris Cofler is a main character in the popular Fox tv show "GLEE" he is very amusing and u suggest u watch it on Thursdays' at 7:00pm.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2014

    amazing should read

    amazing should read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2014

    Honestly one of the best books I've ever had the pleasure to rea

    Honestly one of the best books I've ever had the pleasure to read.
    Very realistic, hilarious and absolutely gorgeusly well written.
    Be warned for crude words and sometimes (slightly) judgmental attitudes, but nobody's perfect and it makes it just that much more enjoyable.
    The overall comparison to other books of this calibre would lead me to **** out of *****, but none of them are so downtight openly imperfectly perfect, so just... read it.
    Seriously, do it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2013

    Unknown

    The movie for this is sad and amazing at the same time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2013

    Amazing work by Glee star

    I never knew Chris was such a talented and compelling writer. He sure did a fantastic job of making me laugh and keeping the book interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3