BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Struggle (Vampire Diaries Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 425 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(255)

4 Star

(77)

3 Star

(52)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(25)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Much better than the first!

Well this would be the extremely rare case of the second book in the series was better than the first. I could actually feel the pull towards Damon in this book. Yes, he's dark and dangerous. But, there's something else there as well. You don't know what it is, you ...
Well this would be the extremely rare case of the second book in the series was better than the first. I could actually feel the pull towards Damon in this book. Yes, he's dark and dangerous. But, there's something else there as well. You don't know what it is, you can just feel it. Stefan is the brooding vampire. He's the right choice (if a vampire can be a "right" choice). And Elena loves him, but can't stay away from Damon. And she was much more likeable in this on. Funny what love can do (even to people in stories). The ending wasn't what I was expecting. I can't wait to get my hands on the next one to see where this story goes!

posted by pagese on December 5, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes! And yes

I finished the first book in one day!

posted by 15191548 on January 21, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 432 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 22
  • Posted June 6, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Very great story line. This is the second book I read in this se

    Very great story line. This is the second book I read in this series. Really enjoyed it!

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Much better than the first!

    Well this would be the extremely rare case of the second book in the series was better than the first. I could actually feel the pull towards Damon in this book. Yes, he's dark and dangerous. But, there's something else there as well. You don't know what it is, you can just feel it. Stefan is the brooding vampire. He's the right choice (if a vampire can be a "right" choice). And Elena loves him, but can't stay away from Damon. And she was much more likeable in this on. Funny what love can do (even to people in stories). The ending wasn't what I was expecting. I can't wait to get my hands on the next one to see where this story goes!

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2010

    You just can't stop!

    This book just kept you going. As soon as it got slow, something would happen and you couldn't put it down.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2005

    my favorite author

    I read these books more than 4 times since i bought them- one day i lent them to a friend in college and i never saw the books again- i felt i lost something very valuable and i did- but im pleased to know that she will enjoy them as much as i did- i plan to buy the whole series again and i already have the forbidden games trilogy and some of the NightWorld series- anyways im just trying to say that if you want to escape and be relaxed read these books read any of LJSmith's books and you wont be able to put them down- i was always reading late at night till i fell asleep-i thank LJSmith for introducing me to reading and to escape- thankx a bunch

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    Awesome book

    I could not put this book down it was great this book was so worth the money!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved it!

    the whole series is really good, glad they made a tv series out of it. I get to have my Vampire fix every week and I hate to say it and dont get me wrong I love me some Rob but Paul would have made a very nice Edward, but there is always Jace if they ever make it a movie(mortal instruments)

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2008

    #1 BOOK EVER!!!!!

    This book is great i loved it more than new moon and that's a great book! But this book is perfect I read them all in two days! And now i am dieing for more.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    Love

    Love

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2012

    Awesome book

    Such a good book i am now officaly finshed with the 2 book of the vampire diaries can't wait to read #3 of the vampire diares the fury sound sacry right i am tottaly team domcan he is so cool btw the first book of the vampire series(the awakeing) was one of the best books i have ever read it is worth every single penny BUY THE SERIES right now:D

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2013

    No no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no! And no

    This seares is readickulos. It is just a bunch of boy toys fiting over a girl. Hello ever herd of twilight! Same consept diffrent seting.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Awesome

    Love this series even before the tv show

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2012

    N

    O.ubx

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2012

    Read the # under this

    It is so good

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2012

    VAMPIRES ROCK MY WORLD

    Vampires rule the world i live in th that's why i give it a 2 star rating and i haven't read it yet

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2012

    Not what I expected

    When I first started reading the first book I knew it was going to be different from the show but I didnt know it would be like a totally different story. I love the tv show but i dont like the book and im only reading it now because im curious to see what happens.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2012

    I was not fond of this book

    I was not fond of this book

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2012

    Mrs. Dam Mrs. Salvatore

    Damon is mine!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2012

    To die for

    This book is really good i realled injoyed it honestly rhis book is for teens bascally but if you are into this crap like me hit me up on the goggle acount thing

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2012

    My favorie book

    This is a really, I've watch the show a few times, but the book is better.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2012

    Awesome

    Just got done reading the first book and it was really good. Steffan sounds mystical and mysterious and Damon sound passionate but controling so if it were me i would go for Steffan but thats just my opinion so.........

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 432 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 22