Customer Reviews for

Stuck in the Doldrums: A Lesson in Sharing- A Captain No Beard Story

Average Rating 5
( 9 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 2, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This children's book has a pirate theme and teaches young ones v

    This children's book has a pirate theme and teaches young ones valuable lessons.  While the title says the book focuses on sharing, there is really more to it than that.  Ideas such as cooperation, friendship, altruism, and kindness in the face of adversity are also covered.  I also thought it was cute that there was the title "a captain no-beard story" throughout.  The story will hold readers' attention, and the end is quite surprising.  Even though it is a children's book and not a suspense novel, I was pleasantly surprised to get to the last page of the story and read something I was not expecting.  The illustrations are lovely in this book, and they resemble vibrant watercolor artwork.  I also liked how the text pages had illustrations and graphic designs on them and were not just plain white (as some children's books are).  The font was also fun and appropriate for this pirate story.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    STUCK IN THE DOLDRUMS: A LESSON IN SHARING,A CAPTAIN NO BEARD ST

    STUCK IN THE DOLDRUMS: A LESSON IN SHARING,A CAPTAIN NO BEARD STORY by Carole P. Roman is an absolute delight. What's not to enjoy with a Captain No Beard story. Filled with adventure,silliness,sharing,and compromising. Captain No Beard and his crew of merrymakers are sure to delight your youngster. A children's adventure is as full as their minds can dream. A children's book with a pirate them that is full of lessons to be learned and adventure. A delightful children's series,with vivid illustrations. Highly recommended. Received for an honest review from the author.
    RATING: 4.5
    HEAT RATING: NONE(CHILDREN'S)
    REVIEWED BY: AprilR, Review courtesy of My Book Addiction and More

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Captain No Beard decides that since there is no wind for the sai

    Captain No Beard decides that since there is no wind for the sails they should  spend the day on the beach..  His ship mates love this idea.  Mongo the Monkey climbs a coconut tree and checks out puffy clouds with the spyglass but does not want to share it with Captain No Beard.  So Captain No Beard pronounces he is the captain and to hand over the spyglass.  This made Mongo sad.  Then Linus the Lion and Fribett the frog were building a sand castle and the Captain told them they were doing it all wrong and took over their sandcastle.   All of the mates let the Captain know he was not being fair and they did not want to play with him.  This made Captain No Beard get an even bigger attitude and he returned to the ship alone.  Something happened while he was on the ship all alone and he starting calling for help.  At first his mates did not want to help him but Hallie changed their mind.  They solved the problem on the ship as a team and they realized they worked very well together.  

    Do you think Captain No Beard owes them an apology?  After all being Captain is a very hard job.  Do you share with others? 

    The author has done it again she has written a wonderful story teaching the importance of sharing and teamwork.  Also the need to respect each other at all times.  Captain No Beard and his mates teach sharing through their adventure which will keep young readers out of the doldrums.   This is a fun adventurous outing that finds the captain in a dangerous situation that bring his shipmates to his rescue and working together as a team.

    I highly recommend this book.

    Disclosure:  I received a free book from the Bostick Communications/Author for review.  I was in no way compensated for this review.  This review is my honest opinion.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Once again we find Captain No Beard and his crew in their travel

    Once again we find Captain No Beard and his crew in their travels and learn another valuable lesson. This time the Captain finds himself frustrated as he thinks his crew isn't following directions. With her writings and the colorful illustrations, Carole brings forth her message in a nice, gentle way and reminds us that we need to learn how to compromise, share and be aware of the feelings of others.




    This review is based on a complimentary copy from the author which was provided for an honest review.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2013

    Carole Roman teaches some strong lessons to young children in a

    Carole Roman teaches some strong lessons to young children in a way that is easy for them to understand and process.  This book is about the importance of sharing.  Every child needs to understand how to share and why it is important to share.  It is a skill they will need for their entire lives and Stuck In The Doldrums is an excellent tool to include in the learning process.  This is another book in the Captain No Beard series and the illustrations add perfect dimension and assist in the message for children.  I give this book 5 stars! 
    I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The Captain No Beard Series by Carole P Roman are vibrantly ill

    The Captain No Beard Series by Carole P Roman are vibrantly illustrated children's books based on the popular pirate theme. Stuck In the Doldrums is an inviting new book in the series. The word "Doldrums" has two commonly accepted meanings as it can refer to a physical location- an unspecified place in the middle of the ocean with squalls and winds. The doldrums can also refer to a state or period of inactivity and stagnation. Roman cleverly integrates both meanings and weaves them into a lesson about sharing that all children will enjoy. I can imagine this will allow a lively after story discussion between children and parents about the ethics of sharing as well as a science and geography lesson about the vastness of the ocean. Two popular topics are incorporated into a story about an ethical theme of sharing.
    The first book in the series ended with a surprise twist in which the "pirates" and their pirate adventure was actually the imaginary game of a few imaginative children at play. This new edition does not hint at the surprise ending on its cover, allowing the readers more of a surprise at the end. Only with the last scene, on the last page features the children in pirate costumes playing in a messy bed with their stuffed toys. I feel this will encourage children to role play and use their imaginations which is very important especially in this modern day where so many kids spend endless hours passively watching TV or playing video games. This book will show that all it takes is an imagination and maybe a few stuffed toys to enter into an entirely new world.

    Roman's new series introduces children to the friendly pirate named Captain No Beard, and his frigate as well as the host of friendly talking animals. Basically these books are the perfect introduction to children's pirate literature - like pirate literature 101 complete with the typical pirate talk and pirate cliches with explanations as well. Each story can be enjoyed independently as well. The richly colored artwork is inviting for parents to read as well as children. The talent of the artist is well reflected in contrast to simple cartoonish drawing that you see in so many kids' books these days. As a blogger I received this book from the author for the purpose of writing this review.
    Posted by Patricia at 6:58 AM Email ThisBlogThis!Share to TwitterShare to Facebook
    Reactions:
    No comments:

    Post a Comment


    Links to this post
    Create a Link

    Older Post Home
    Subscribe to: Post Comments (Atom)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2014

    We received this book to give an honest review. This is our seco

    We received this book to give an honest review.
    This is our second book to read with Captain No Beard and it is a great story. This time we are learning about Sharing which is great for every child to learn. Captain No Beard isn't being nice to his crew members, and he learns a lesson that he should be nice to everyone. You also learn about being bossy and that it isn't good to be bossy. People don't like to be around those that are not nice, not sharing or being bossy. Which I think is great for the younger children to learn, this was perfect for K being as he isn't bossy but at times he doesn't like to share and this book may help him learn how to. 
    K's favorite part was the octopus messing with the ship and his friends even though they were upset with Captain No Beard they still came to help him out. 
    Great bedtime story for us and we will be reading more about Captain No Beard and his crew. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Again we visited Alexander (Captain No Beard), his cousin Hallie

    Again we visited Alexander (Captain No Beard), his cousin Hallie and his trove of stuffed animals who in the world of pretend are all shipmates of Captain No Beard.  Through each of the Captain No Beard books is a lesson.  This third installment is about sharing and disadvantage of being too bossy.




    Alexander tries to take over every step of the ship and tell each member they are doing things wrong and that he can do their jobs better.  He realizes once he wants the ship to sail that he may need help.




    The story is sweet and the art of the watercolor pictures are glorious.  It is a great series that both girls and boys would enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Goodness, Mrs. Carole has done it again! I can NOT express how m

    Goodness, Mrs. Carole has done it again! I can NOT express how much I love her books! My daughter’s face, to see her smile, as she reads through a book is such a joy to watch.
    “Stuck in the Doldrums” is a perfect read and teaches children the importance of sharing, respect and teamwork. Captain No Beard teaches children the value of everyday life, and how to help: sharing, respect, etc. it keeps young ones in-tuned to learning, even when they don’t know it.
    The illustrations in the book are amazing, and go well with the story. Of course I will continue to read Carole P. Roman’s books to my children. With that being said, I would recommend this book to you and your family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1