Customer Reviews for

Stuff Christians Like

Average Rating 4.5
( 61 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(40)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Hilarious!

I am a preacher's kid (now a pastor myself) who has always laughed at these same kinds of things growing up in church. I picked this book up while killing time at Barnes & Noble one day waiting for some people to join me for dinner. I laughed so hard just flipping throu...
I am a preacher's kid (now a pastor myself) who has always laughed at these same kinds of things growing up in church. I picked this book up while killing time at Barnes & Noble one day waiting for some people to join me for dinner. I laughed so hard just flipping through it that I had to buy it on the spot. Since then I've shared with numerous church friends and it's provided many good belly laughs.

If you believe God has a sense of humor, this book is for you!

posted by skycase on May 13, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Review of What Christians Like

Humorous sarcasm laced every page. I liked how he tackled every aspect of the Christian life. I liked how he made fun of it. Sarcasm is wonderful, but I would have liked to see some sort of declaration of beliefs in the introduction or as an epilogue-something a new bel...
Humorous sarcasm laced every page. I liked how he tackled every aspect of the Christian life. I liked how he made fun of it. Sarcasm is wonderful, but I would have liked to see some sort of declaration of beliefs in the introduction or as an epilogue-something a new believer or searching soul could rest his eyes upon and drink in minus the sarcasm. Sarcastic humor is hard to interrpret and with churches nowadays that pick scripture to fit their theology an explanation would have been a nice addition to Stuff Christians Like. For the most part, his words rang true-hilariously so-and while I liked his book, a couple of entries caused some disquiet like his thoughts on the Old Testament. Let's start with what I liked about the book:

"He didn't come to take just the good people with him on a bus, and say it was okay if the sick folks like me clung to the side or rode on the roof. He came for us, the broken, the beaten, the severely messed up. Like me. Like you. In Mark 2:17 Jesus says, 'It is not the healthy who need a doctor, but the sick. I have not come to call the righteous, but sinners.' When I bumped into the truth, it changed the way I saw my ruined bowl of ice cream. It was no longer something I needed to stir and try to make perfect. It was no longer something I imagined Jesus and God being disguised by. My wasted years and broken promises were no longer something I needed to hide." (From "Trying Harder," pg. 200)

My own weary and distrusting heart, bruised and battered by those who have compromised the Bible and its teachings, may have examined certain entries too closely and too seriously. I posted a question on his Facebook to get a clear answer, but I have not heard a response. Maybe the interview will clear the fog and turn on some lights. I will post those questionable entries later this week in my book excerpt and discussion time. I would love to hear your take on it. After I read the Old Testament post to to my husband, he felt confused. There were many entries I could relate to, have experienced myself and with other Christians, and my laughter nearly brought down the rafters.

"I'm a professional copywriter. I am, in theory, supposed to be a highly honed, detail-dedicated arbiter of punctuation and grammar. That's why I look for typos in the worship songs at church. What's your excuse?" (Pg. 97, Finding Typos In The Worship Music)

To read more....
www.thehahnhuntinglodge.com
or http://thewritelife2.wordpress.com (under book reviews)
Book provided by Zondervan To Review

posted by NikoleHahn on June 23, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted May 13, 2010

    Hilarious!

    I am a preacher's kid (now a pastor myself) who has always laughed at these same kinds of things growing up in church. I picked this book up while killing time at Barnes & Noble one day waiting for some people to join me for dinner. I laughed so hard just flipping through it that I had to buy it on the spot. Since then I've shared with numerous church friends and it's provided many good belly laughs.

    If you believe God has a sense of humor, this book is for you!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2011

    Warning: Wear a pair of Depends when reading. It's that funny.

    Each chapter is as good as the next. If you are a Christian and you can't see yourself in this book, you must not be doing it right. For you, this is an instruction book, not a satire. Jon Acuff's observations of the silly things that Christians do and say is right on. From the cover that depicts the churchy "side hug" to the special language that Christians have adopted ("travel mercies") is pointedly honest, but not mean spirited. His corresponding blog is a must read, as well. I'm not so sure that it will be a book club selection for your next women's group, but if it is, call me. You are my people and I've been looking for you.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Read this if you ever grew up in church or around Christianity!

    I first borrowed this book from a friend who was staying at our house. It was the paperback version, and while I had a Nook and prefer to read on there, it looked interesting enough to set my Nook aside.

    I read it in about 2 days, laughing the whole time. I liked it so much that I bought it for my Nook and read it again, and then had to go to the website/blog to read more. This is what my life was about! I can relate to so much of what's in here, so many things I've thought myself but not in the same hilarious way they are presented in the book, of course.

    When I started reading, I was hurting from the actions of Christians around me. Through this, I started to lighten up and see that I'm probably not the only one hurting, and it's helped me to see things differently. I highly recommend this book for laughs and also some great things to ponder.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2011

    Hilarious

    Very funny book, I hope that B&N brings out his other books on Nook soon.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Review of What Christians Like

    Humorous sarcasm laced every page. I liked how he tackled every aspect of the Christian life. I liked how he made fun of it. Sarcasm is wonderful, but I would have liked to see some sort of declaration of beliefs in the introduction or as an epilogue-something a new believer or searching soul could rest his eyes upon and drink in minus the sarcasm. Sarcastic humor is hard to interrpret and with churches nowadays that pick scripture to fit their theology an explanation would have been a nice addition to Stuff Christians Like. For the most part, his words rang true-hilariously so-and while I liked his book, a couple of entries caused some disquiet like his thoughts on the Old Testament. Let's start with what I liked about the book:

    "He didn't come to take just the good people with him on a bus, and say it was okay if the sick folks like me clung to the side or rode on the roof. He came for us, the broken, the beaten, the severely messed up. Like me. Like you. In Mark 2:17 Jesus says, 'It is not the healthy who need a doctor, but the sick. I have not come to call the righteous, but sinners.' When I bumped into the truth, it changed the way I saw my ruined bowl of ice cream. It was no longer something I needed to stir and try to make perfect. It was no longer something I imagined Jesus and God being disguised by. My wasted years and broken promises were no longer something I needed to hide." (From "Trying Harder," pg. 200)

    My own weary and distrusting heart, bruised and battered by those who have compromised the Bible and its teachings, may have examined certain entries too closely and too seriously. I posted a question on his Facebook to get a clear answer, but I have not heard a response. Maybe the interview will clear the fog and turn on some lights. I will post those questionable entries later this week in my book excerpt and discussion time. I would love to hear your take on it. After I read the Old Testament post to to my husband, he felt confused. There were many entries I could relate to, have experienced myself and with other Christians, and my laughter nearly brought down the rafters.

    "I'm a professional copywriter. I am, in theory, supposed to be a highly honed, detail-dedicated arbiter of punctuation and grammar. That's why I look for typos in the worship songs at church. What's your excuse?" (Pg. 97, Finding Typos In The Worship Music)

    To read more....
    www.thehahnhuntinglodge.com
    or http://thewritelife2.wordpress.com (under book reviews)
    Book provided by Zondervan To Review

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2014

    Dang good stuff

    This book is both eye-opening and inspiring. It makes me laugh and makes me ponder how this man knows me way too well to be spilling all my secrets.
    It's good. Get it and read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2013

    Best facial workout ever...prepare to laugh.

    This book was my night time read. I actually had to bury my face in my pillow to keep from waking my husband up with my laughter! But tucked away in all that satire is the mind blowing truth that God loves us more than we could dream of understanding. This lighthearted read will open your eyes to how quirky you are if you're a Christian, or give you "So THAT'S why they're like that!" epiphanies if you're not. Don't think about getting this book. Just do it. Take that, Nike.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2012

    Refreshingly Funny

    I usually don't take the time to write reviews, but this book is amazing. I love that Acuff can be both acutely sarcastic and touching at the same time. While the first have of the book will have you in stitches on the train, the latter will have you silently thanking God for faithfulness and realizing how much He loves us. If you think Christians can't be funny, think again. This book is wonderful and I wish for another Jonathan Acuff work of art in the near future!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2012

    Hilarious and true

    Loved reading this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2012

    Humor and truth...

    ...not necessarily in that order. Made me laugh, but more importantly drove me toward real discipleship. I even had to pretend I wasn't crying a few times. Nicely played Mr. Acuff.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2012

    Hilarious

    I laughed until I literally cried. I would buy anything this man writes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Laugh-out-Loud-Funny!

    Sometimes Christianity can be funny- all of our little habits and ways of speaking. This book is filled with the humor found in faith- including topics such as the culinary magic of the crock-pot, finding typos in worship music, secretly Christian bands, and holding hands.

    Need some help in your spiritual walk? Jonathan Acuff has got you covered. There are go-to lists for which meals to pray before, which position to go for in a prayer circle, and the likely story behind how you came to own 14 copies of the Bible.

    As a first note, I would only recommend this book to those who have been Christians for several years. It's basically about the little habits we can pick up over the years.

    This book is flat-out hilarious. I was laughing out loud during a good quantity of the book. I showed the book to a few of my friends, and they were laughing out loud too. The humor is simply excellent.

    A lot of the sections were great because I found out how many other people do the same things I do. It is a peculiar language we speak, and this book translates it. On a more serious note it pointed out some of the things we as as Christians need to change.

    I will, however, say that a few of the essays seemed a bit over-the-top. The humor is sarcasm, but I think a couple of the things went a bit too far. Though, as I previously stated, this is as much of an eye-opener of what we need to stop doing as it is to get some laughs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2011

    Longtime (or new) Christians must buy!!

    When I realized I was laughing out loud in B&N, I knew I had to buy this book. I laughed until I cried in some sections and might have cried a little for real in the "Saturday night cryfest" section. Acuff is reverent toward God and the church, but he is also satirical (and hilarious) when writing about the things that we do that just need to be seen in good humor. An all-around winner for anyone who grew up going to church.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2011

    A lot of fun

    As a life-long evangelical, this book was a blast to read. Just about everything hits home. Very entertaining!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2011

    Laugh-Out-Loud Hilarious

    Simply put, I loved this book. As Christians, we tend to take ourselves too seriously, and Acuff's list leaves the Christian reader no choice but to laugh at themselves. Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2010

    Stuff Christians Like by Jon Acuff

    I purchased the book today as a gift for my son-in-law, who is also my Pastor. This is one of the funniest books I have read. I was at the point of embarrassment as I skimmed through the book in the bookstore. I was laughing so hard, I had to hide my face behind a tissue, afraid that the other customers looking on would be frightened by my bizarre behavior. I could identify with many of the scenarios in this book as I am sure thousands of American Christians could, also.

    I would highly recommend this book. If you are a Christian and need a laugh, this book is for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    This Book is Ridiculous*!

    (*and that's not a verbal canary - I mean ridiculous: fabulous, laugh-out-loud funny)

    I've been a reader of Acuff's blog for a little while, and while this book doesn't begin to cover the wide variety of satire that can be found there, it does make for a nice little appetizer. If you're a Christian and you happen to pick up this book unaware of just what "Stuff Christians Like" is all about, be prepared to be a little uncomfortable in places. We have our own lingo and our own way of doing things and at times it can get a little ridiculous (read: traditional definition of "ridiculous"). I haven't been a Christian for terribly long, but there are times when the culture sucks me in, and when I see myself through the "Stuff Christians Like" lens I have to step back from the "Christian-eze" and "Religiosity" of the game and ask myself what it's really all about. And that's what makes this book good. It helps me to be able to laugh at the things I do that are a little silly and think a little harder about the things I'm doing that I might need to change because they're so silly they're stupid.

    Apart from the conviction, be prepared to just laugh out loud. You'll never be able to participate in a prayer circle the same way again - you'll always be listening for those seven people. And the next time you need to make a quick getaway, don't forget to carry that handful of silver glitter in your pocket. It'll make the whole operation go down a whole lot more smoothly.

    I'm tellin' you - this book is just worth it. It's been on the common room in my dorm since I bought it, and I hear constant chuckles coming from out there all the time. Buy it to share - we all need to learn to laugh at ourselves a little better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    Truly LOL funny!

    I have the audio version of this book and I highly recommend it. I love the Stuff Christians Like blog and when the book came out, I was all over it. Listening to an author read his own book is, in my opinion, the closest you will ever get to what they want to say. Inflection, pronunciation, and emphasis all play a huge part of the audio experience.
    I enjoyed every minute of the book. My laughing out loud while washing dishes or making dinner drew many dubious looks from my children, but I just said "Razzle Dazzle" and shooed them out of the kitchen.
    If you're unlucky enough to only have the hard copy of the book, that's ok too. We really don't believe in luck, anyway.
    Whatever form you can get of this book, do it. Your ab workout of laughter will thank you.
    I don't want to make you believe that it's all side hugs and worship eagles. There is serious matter dealt with in the pages(or mp3 file) of this work. Jonathan's desire to love on the reader comes across.
    A thoroughly enjoyable read with encouragement and love thrown in.
    There's something for all. "This book's for you."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Don't Judge a Book by Chapter Titles

    If you read Jon Acuff's blog (I do) and have nosed around it (I did) you will find this statement on the "About" page:

    "Does the stuff we like, ever get in the way of the God we love?
    That's the question Stuff Christians Like is all about."

    Jon has leveraged his humor to be used to impact and challenge others for the glory of God. If you read the article he wrote last year on Catalyst's Catablog...you could "hear" his heart. Jon writes as a recovering-preacher's-kid who has come full-circle to call himself and everyone one of us to the flying-carpet about the traditions, legalism, and other nonsense that we add to our faith.

    "Stuff Christians Like" succeeds where the blog leaves off. It is a compressed view of what he writes everyday at 4:30 a.m. after his morning devotional and before he leaves for his I.T. job in the cubicle-farm.

    I had to pause after reading some of the chapters, because I was still laughing and then at the same time I had to go back and re-read it and found that I was laughing and learning. That's what strikes me about this author-blogger-father-husband is that while he is sarcastic, he is also painfully transparent with us about what some of the struggles look like. Take for instance,

    "My friend had broken some sort of church employee, 'Never see the movie Desperado starring Latin sensation Antonio Banderaas covenant' so I immediately threw him under the bus and said, "It's embarrassing, really, seeing pastors behave like this."

    This book reminds to stop taking ourselves so seriously, let go of the stuff that we tack-on the our faith, and be real with the God who saves us.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Hilarious satire from gifted writer

    "If you buy this book, God will make you rich."

    And so begins a wild, satirical ride through the world of all things Christian. In "Stuff Christians Like", popular blogger and first-time author Jon Acuff explores the oft-unspoken funny side of faith, navigating the treacherous waters of church life, prayer circle etiquette, and proper side-hug technique (see book cover), among other things. Through a collection of over 100 short essays and a handful of amusing illustrations, Jon pokes fun at many of the odd things that Christians like to think, say, and do.

    In the book, Jon recognizes that among the many labels Christians get branded with today, one of the rarest is "funny", noting that Christians are rarely associated with "an abundance of humor or wit or satire." Psalm 126 reveals that ancient nations recognized the goodness of God through the laughter of His people. Today, however, many non-believers see Christians as sufferers of what Jon calls SCS (Somber Christian Syndrome). SCS sufferers believe that truly being Christian means being serious and reverent all the time, never finding the humor latent within so many of our spiritual situations.

    So, Jon wrote this book to be part of the cure.

    Continuing in the tradition of his blog, Jon pokes fun at himself more than anyone else by finding humor in his own prideful tendencies. He jokes about his desire for literary success by offering alternate subtitles for the book ("Stuff Christians Like: 100% Funnier Than 'The Shack'") or by comparing himself to famous Christian authors ("Stuff Christians Like: The Book C.S. Lewis Would Have Written If He Had Been 40% More Sarcastic or 100% Less Dead").

    As a long-time reader of Jon's blog, one thing I missed from the book was Jon's more serious tone. On the "Stuff Christians Like" blog, Jon uses every Wednesday to write seriously about a particular issue of faith, most of the time dwelling on the reality of God's unbelievable love. The last chapter of the book is titled "Saturday Night Cryfest", which alludes to the mountain-top, emotional peak of typical Christian weekend retreats. This chapter does lean towards the serious side, but its small tastes of seriousness seem like an afterthought to the silliness of the rest of the book.

    Jon is one of the funniest writers I know, but he is also one of the best communicators of God's love. So, while it is difficult to balance snarky, sarcastic humor with serious, honest writing, I would have loved more of Jon's serious side sprinkled amidst the fun (but hopefully that means a second book!).

    Like the "Stuff Christians Like" blog, the book's satirical look at Christian culture clears away the silly clutter of faith, revealing a wondrously loving God underneath it all. If you find Jon's humorous blog postings to be too irreverent, you'll probably find the book to be the same. But if Jon's talent to "see things as they really are" helps you move beyond the awkwardness of being Christian and closer to the uncluttered heart of God, then check out the "Stuff Christians Like" book.

    At the very least, buying a copy may make you rich.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4