Customer Reviews for

The Stuff That Never Happened

Average Rating 4
( 66 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Loved It!

I really enjoyed this book. I did not guess the end, but I can't tell you what I thought was going to happen, without giving away a big part of the book. The entire book kept taking different turns throughout the book. I loved how Annabelle stood up for herself and w...
I really enjoyed this book. I did not guess the end, but I can't tell you what I thought was going to happen, without giving away a big part of the book. The entire book kept taking different turns throughout the book. I loved how Annabelle stood up for herself and what she wanted. I liked the different extremes of her two children and how as a mother, she was able to relate to both of them. Unlike Grant, she was able to accept them for who they were and the choices they made. The book jumps back and forth between later seventies/early eighties and 2005. As the present is unfolding, the choices Annabelle makes are explained by reading about her past. I really liked this format and thought the author did an excellent job going back and forth and interweaving the story. I recommend you read this book.

www.seasidebooknook.blogspot.com

posted by Seaside_Book_Nook on September 20, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Pretty Good!

If it hadn't been for the language in this book I would have given it four stars. I'm picky in how much profanity I will tolerate in a book and this was one had a little too much.

But putting that aside - I thought The Stuff That Never Happened was a very interesting...
If it hadn't been for the language in this book I would have given it four stars. I'm picky in how much profanity I will tolerate in a book and this was one had a little too much.

But putting that aside - I thought The Stuff That Never Happened was a very interesting look at marriage and extramarital affairs. An interesting look at what constitutes real solid love over the passionate, rip your clothes off kind of excitement. I found myself asking if the later was truly love or just an adrenaline rush. I found the portrayal of a long time marriage accurate and wonderfully portrayed. And found myself really rooting for Grant (the husband) even with his reserved understated personality (actually reminded me of my own husband).

The pacing was good and the writing well done. There were moments of laughing, shaking my head at character's stupidity and moments of emotion as characters worked at and grew through their experiences. Overall a good read. If language doesn't bother you I would recommend it!

posted by TalleyRoss on November 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 66 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted November 23, 2011

    Pretty Good!

    If it hadn't been for the language in this book I would have given it four stars. I'm picky in how much profanity I will tolerate in a book and this was one had a little too much.

    But putting that aside - I thought The Stuff That Never Happened was a very interesting look at marriage and extramarital affairs. An interesting look at what constitutes real solid love over the passionate, rip your clothes off kind of excitement. I found myself asking if the later was truly love or just an adrenaline rush. I found the portrayal of a long time marriage accurate and wonderfully portrayed. And found myself really rooting for Grant (the husband) even with his reserved understated personality (actually reminded me of my own husband).

    The pacing was good and the writing well done. There were moments of laughing, shaking my head at character's stupidity and moments of emotion as characters worked at and grew through their experiences. Overall a good read. If language doesn't bother you I would recommend it!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2010

    Loved It!

    I really enjoyed this book. I did not guess the end, but I can't tell you what I thought was going to happen, without giving away a big part of the book. The entire book kept taking different turns throughout the book. I loved how Annabelle stood up for herself and what she wanted. I liked the different extremes of her two children and how as a mother, she was able to relate to both of them. Unlike Grant, she was able to accept them for who they were and the choices they made. The book jumps back and forth between later seventies/early eighties and 2005. As the present is unfolding, the choices Annabelle makes are explained by reading about her past. I really liked this format and thought the author did an excellent job going back and forth and interweaving the story. I recommend you read this book.

    www.seasidebooknook.blogspot.com

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    If you watch BRIDGES OF MADISON COUNTY over and over again, THIS IS FOR YOU!

    The characters were very believable and loveable. It's about relationships, parenting, lost loves, and aging. This book is about being in a long relationship and looking back with regrets of what could have been. I enjoyed the format, the way the author weaved the info into the story by flashbacking appropriately to explain why the characters felt the way they did. Annabelle and Grant were married for thirty years and were feeling the empty-nest syndrome. Annabelle proves her statement, 'It is possible to love two men," to be true. The essence of a twenty-six year old affair lingers to cause much trepidation and longing. Annabelle finds herself face to face with Jeremiah in a store the two used to visit together. If you are one who watches BRIDGES OF MADISON COUNTY over and over again..this book will be just the thing for you!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    Gerat book!

    I really enjoyed reading this book. The characters were developed well, and the story kept me interested. It was a typical love story, and talked about the difficulties in marriage that most people dont talk about. I would definitely recommend this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    So Real!

    This book is wonderfully written and relatable. A must-read!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Very enjoyable!

    I liked the style of how this book was written. Was a fun, quick read, and I really liked it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Digs deep into emotions

    So many emotions…I loved this. My first reaction was only a woman who has been married for many years may be able to relate to this story. As someone who describes this, I found this an emotional read. It really isn’t a story about young love, more of a reflection of how love evolves over the years. Love doesn’t diminish, it simply evolves and becomes more complex and rich. Love becomes more than just passion and sex. If that is all a relationship is built on, it will not last…or survive. True and lasting love is what keeps bringing you home day after day.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    Enjoyed!

    I really enjoyed this book! Very easy to read and I felt like I knew the characters. Great for anyone that realizes that life is not perfect.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Great book!

    I really enjoyed this book from beginning to end. The characters are well developed, and easy to relate to. I would definitely recommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2011

    Wonderful Book!!

    I fell immediately in love with this book and have been unable to put it down. It is filled with witty humor, genuine emotion, and fully relatable characters. You won't want it to end...I'm sad to almost be finished!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2011

    Wonderful!!

    I thought this was a great book! The author did an excellent job keeping me engaged throughout the entire book!! Absolutely LOVED it!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2011

    Great read

    This would be a great book for a book club. I thought the author descibed the charactors and setting very well. Just an all around enjoyable book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Best Book I've Read in a Long Time

    I've noticed a few reviewers have referred to this book as "chick lit" but that couldn't be further from the truth. Yes, this book is geared toward women and written from a woman's point of view weaving together her present day marriage that is experiencing the empty nest syndrome and a passionate affair that nearly destroyed her marriage some 26 years earlier. However, because I associate chick lit with somewhat dim, but loveable women, whose main interests are shopping and "winning" the guy and living happily ever after, this doesn't fit that genre. The story here is much more complicated and weighty--think Anita Shreve, or better yet, Wally Lamb's "She's Come Undone"--and stresses the reality that marriage is a complex, not always fulfilling, rarely perfect endeavor, where compromises are made all the time, but which has its rewards as well. Annabelle is no Cinderella, but Maddie Dawson makes it very possible to relate to her. A very worthy read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2010

    Must read for married people!

    This is a great story about relationships: marriage, and the relationships daughters and mothers have with each other. The story is more geared towards the perspective of women, and I think it is a must-read for anyone who is married, or who has ever experienced doubt in that marriage, or even in a relationship, or thought that her mother was so flawed that you could never be like that. It's just a great story and changed my perspective on a few things!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2010

    Great Read

    I really enjoyed this book, more than I thought I would. It's a great story with great characters and I love the way it examines such a common feeling within a marriage. I loved it!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Good Read

    I enjoyed this book. It was a typical women finding out in her later years with grown kids that she maybe missed out on something that really wasn't there. Good...But not a Great read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2014

    Very real down to life story. I loved Annabelle and will miss he

    Very real down to life story. I loved Annabelle and will miss her greatly! I looked forward to reading this everyday! You won't be disappointed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2014

    There are so many lessons to be learned from this book. Life is

    There are so many lessons to be learned from this book. Life is messy, people make bad decisions and use faulty judgement. The trick is how you handle them. I love the point of view of a "woman of a certain age" with her wit, insight and life experience. Such a lovely writing style. A book I may well read again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2014

    Anonymous

    NO MORE INFIDELITY BOOKS! This was weak, just like their marrlage. When you cease to communicate your lives become separate, so many marrlages destroyed over growing apart, losing intimancy. Looking elsewhere instead of looking at each other! Have to stop reading books about this!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2014

    Good book

    Very realistic into the thoughts of a woman. This book did a great job showing the dynamics of a husband and wife as well as the dynamics of families as a whole. I love books that shiw hiw complex the mind of a woman is. Im sure i will be rereading this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 66 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4