Customer Reviews for

Stuff White People Like: The Definitive Guide to the Unique Taste of Millions

Average Rating 4
( 95 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(47)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Hilarious, honest, great conversation piece

Great gift for that liberal in your life! As a graduate of a private liberal arts college in NJ, this book is a strikingly accurate and entertaining satire of "white culture." You will be hard-pressed to find a white person in your life who does not fit many, if not all...
Great gift for that liberal in your life! As a graduate of a private liberal arts college in NJ, this book is a strikingly accurate and entertaining satire of "white culture." You will be hard-pressed to find a white person in your life who does not fit many, if not all, of these attributes. I found myself nodding and laughing out loud with each turn of the page. Erring more on the side of the far-left Caucasian, it will probably be coming soon to a Whole Foods near you...

posted by 646153 on March 10, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

not what they like but what they can afford...

This book while funny on a superficial level if you pause for a second and actually take it in it isn't so much stuff white people like but what white people can afford unfortunately. I am disgusted at how much this is actually about class issues than about race issues,...
This book while funny on a superficial level if you pause for a second and actually take it in it isn't so much stuff white people like but what white people can afford unfortunately. I am disgusted at how much this is actually about class issues than about race issues, although don't get me wrong, they are somewhat in there. This book should be offensive to anyone reading it. All the book does is make it okay to perpetuate inequality.

posted by chelsikd on April 11, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 95 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2009

    Hilarious, honest, great conversation piece

    Great gift for that liberal in your life! As a graduate of a private liberal arts college in NJ, this book is a strikingly accurate and entertaining satire of "white culture." You will be hard-pressed to find a white person in your life who does not fit many, if not all, of these attributes. I found myself nodding and laughing out loud with each turn of the page. Erring more on the side of the far-left Caucasian, it will probably be coming soon to a Whole Foods near you...

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2009

    Great Gift!

    I bought this for my sister in college as a gift and she loved it. Hilarious and so true it's uncanny!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    30%

    After reading this book and taking the quiz at the end I'm a concentrated 30% white. Even though I'm first generation American born to Jamaican parents...and a yoga-practicing, outdoor-running, designer sweatpants-wearing, Whole Foods and organic-lving, tea-drinking, following my dreams cyclist. If you can't laugh at yourself and/or others around you then please don't read this book. Otherwise you will be laughing out loud through its entirety.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2011

    If it was "horrible" why was it on tyra?

    You white people are taking this book to god damned serious!! Like chill the hell up. It was on the tyra banks show and it didnt seem any white people were affended... so shut the hell up..the president is black.... live with it

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2011

    Wrong.

    Stereotypical, oppressive, and lying. I could write the same saying black people like chicken, watermelons, etc. Or one saying Asians eat puppys, and beat their wives. This whole book is based off of one group of people, but yet you still address it as white people as a whole.

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2011

    awesome

    white people be trippin

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2009

    Fabulous, so much fun and accurate.

    Loved it~ fun read

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2009

    not what they like but what they can afford...

    This book while funny on a superficial level if you pause for a second and actually take it in it isn't so much stuff white people like but what white people can afford unfortunately. I am disgusted at how much this is actually about class issues than about race issues, although don't get me wrong, they are somewhat in there. This book should be offensive to anyone reading it. All the book does is make it okay to perpetuate inequality.

    2 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2008

    A Laugh Out Loud (or Secretly Snicker) Book About Human Foibles

    Christian Lander - with some photographic help from his wife Jessica Lander - has succeeded in transforming into book form his blog site STUFF WHITE PEOPLE LIKE and the result is a compendium of 150 idiosyncrasies that mark white people as a groupie well worth 'mocking'. Lander writes so well that his zingers remain on target while providing entertainment for the reader instead of producing a mockery or lambast too personal to continue. The first clue to his universal approach is the subtitle of the book, 'A Definitive Guide to the Unique Taste of Millions', and if you don't catch the humor in that then much of the book will be lost on you! After reading some of the 'Stuff' Lander lists we begin to feel the artifice of Lander's thinking the long list of everyday items, as defined or described by Lander, spreads in comic relief the pretentiousness, the shallow desire to be 'with it', the countless fads we indulge while denying the commonality of those items, and the way 'white people' are perceived by the world at large - both at home and abroad. It has been said that nothing is funnier than reality and this book proves that statement 150 times - with many more thoughts initiated by the book that extend the depth of comedy in the 'unique tastes' we claim. For instance, one favorite thing to discuss is public transportation, heralded as a big city luxury worth expanding into the little cities, but stopping short when the word 'bus' enters the conversation. 'When it comes to the subject it's best to understand that white people do not recognize public transit as a viable option until a subway line is built that runs directly from their house to their work. Until that time, public transportation is a luxury only for New Yorkers and Europeans, sort of like opera.' Other topics addressed range from Netflix, Veganism/Vegetarianism, Microbreweries, Yoga, Tea, Black Friends/Gay Friends, Portland, Oregon to San Francisco prejudices, Bakeries, Hardwood Floors, Integrity (versus 'selling out'), Natural Medicine, Plays, Cheese, Therapy - the list seems endless. From Following Their Dreams, to where to visit/vacation (Third World Countries for all the wrong reasons) to the importance of knowing how to give 'the good dinner party', Lander finds truths that cause us to ache a bit in acknowledging but force us to relax and really laugh at how each of these item is so very true. To continue on another thing ('stuff') that Lander addresses, Awareness of just how each of these traits define us in the brush with reality that will perhaps not only entertain us while reading this wisely humorous book, but will also turn on the light to the acceptance that 'white people' have become as marginalized as other social groups who have long since found audiences who delight in the 'truth confessionals' that fill our computer YouTube and TVs - oh, but then real white people don't own TVs.... Christian Lander has a major hit on his hands. Read this and share this. It is hilariously entertaining! Grady Harp

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    NOT horrible NOT horriblr

    Its funny! Anyone who says that its steriotypical garbage doesnt get the trueness of it! Like 90 percent of its true and its nice to have a llaugh from a story like this. Its absolutely not horrible and should stay on the shelves for a long time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Funny!

    I dont know why people are taking this book too seriously! Its a great book fore people that know how to take jokes.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2011

    Looking for funny stuff...

    Just not sure about this one. Going by the description, book is not about white people but about Liberal New Yorkers. Yeah. Right?

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2011

    If you can take a joke...

    As a white person from a metropolitan area, I can greatly relate to this book. Personally, I found this book hilarious and mostly true. I can't help laughing at many of the nonsensical white people taste and activities. As the book says, " the unique taste of millions". Many of his points are simply voicing the unmentionable and often silly reasoning behind these white ideology. I would encourage anyone to read this book with an open mind. Don't be uptight and serious when reading this book, instead take the ego hits and just laugh at yourself if it applies. This book does not apply to every white demographic, but it is still very funny. I hope you give this book a shot, because it is nit intended to be rude or belittling. It is just good fun...insightful and educational. Enjoy! :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2010

    Genteel and Bleached

    Beware white people. Be prepared to laugh at yourself and, of course, to think of all of the things in this book that apply to other people. Other white people. Really, really white people between the ages of 20 and 40 or so.
    At times patronizing, at times sarcastic, yet at all times clean and good-humored, Stuff White People Like is an anthropological journey. Do you like sushi? You must be white. Do you hate your parents? You must be white. Do you like Japan? You must be white. Do you strive for cultural and intellectual superiority? And even to achieve these with (white) lies? You must be white. The book is spot-on but polite, and with its many photographs often shows the author participating in wholehearted whiteness.
    There is a fair amount of social, economic, and political commentary.
    At the very least Stuff White People Like can turn into a handbook for hipness, self-conscious at that.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2010

    Terribly Funny!

    What makes this book so funny is that you will see aspects of someone you know in almost every chapter (if not several)! A useful guide for folks who have never spent much time in urban centers where white people live in concentration, like in the Pacific Northwest.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2014

    Lets set something straight

    Yes i might like indie music but does tjat make me below people who lisren to sexist trash with the f bomb in every other sentence i think not and dont say im rasist the frikin title of this book is rasist ... and second of all were did this white people black people thing come from im more yellow or tan then white and african americans are brown why dont they call us yellow and brown people it would make more sense lastly i only like barack obama because mitt romey wanted to get rid of the laws alowing gay marrige booooooooooo ok im done

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2013

    To 3 below

    About 200 years ago,we thought of african amercans as less. Now its payback time. I personally dont mind it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2013

    Seems to have confused 'white' with 'hipster'.

    And we are not at all pleased.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    If a book was written "You might be a "N" if...&

    If a book was written "You might be a "N" if..." If you like fried chicken and mac& Cheese you might be a ...

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2012

    100% true....I'm white so I know

    Great gift for my coworkers who constantly talk smack to each other about their non white ethinicty!! Now they can talk smack to me and feel comfortable! I allowed them to be racist.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 95 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5