Customer Reviews for

Stupid History: Tales of Stupidity, Strangeness, and Mythconceptions Through

Average Rating 3.5
( 1287 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(304)

4 Star

(313)

3 Star

(322)

2 Star

(184)

1 Star

(164)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Question

How+do+you+find+free+Friday+on+the+Nook+color.+I+have+the+old+and+new+Nook+and+I+always+have+to+use+the+old+one+to+view+free+Friday+books.

posted by 4837951 on June 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

22 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

Ok I guess

Silly and informative but the spelling errors are driving me crazy!

posted by Hushpadwitch on June 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 313 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 16
  • Posted June 10, 2011

    Question

    How+do+you+find+free+Friday+on+the+Nook+color.+I+have+the+old+and+new+Nook+and+I+always+have+to+use+the+old+one+to+view+free+Friday+books.

    4 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2011

    I++like++it%21

    What+a+++good+book+makes+you+wonder+what+other+historical+facts+are+infact+fiction.

    3 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    history has never been so funny

    Ironic, funny but all true.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2012

    It's OK

    I like the facts, but the typos make it seem unprofessional, like it's fake. I like the fact that it was free, because if it wasn't, I'd want my money back.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Funny :D

    Unexpected! A humorous look at some of jistory's greatest myths and legends! Guaranteed you'll learn something new by reading this!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2011

    A fun and easy read with a few "laugh-out-loud" pages.

    I didn't take the time to check these "truths" for accuracy, but it was an enjoyable trip through time.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2011

    recommend

    was fun easy reading, could pick up and lay down quickly when busy.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2011

    Be the smartest guy in the room.

    Stupid history is a fun little book. One of those you can set down and come back to at any old time. Every fact is interesting and sure to make you feel like the smartest person in the room later. Was Napoleon really short? Was Lincoln's voice really deep? Why is Hollywood actually in California? (I guarantee, the reason isn't what you think.) All of those questions are answered in this book. And many more!

    As other reviewers have noted, there are some typos here, but it didn't detract from the fun for me. It was usually obvious what the intent was. The only thing that surprises me is that--with as many complaints as there are, and with how easy it is to update a new digital version--these typos haven't been addressed yet. Seems like an easy thing to do.

    Regardless, I enjoyed the book. Lots of fun!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2014

    Stuped History

    Super funny book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    I love the facts but he may have been having a laggier time than in video games

    I love the facts but he may have been having a laggier time than in video games. Cause he screwed up the dates for the nuclear detonations on hiromisha and nagasaki. Here is what its quoting.....august 8th 1915..... Two days after the nuclear..[me]~?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2012

    Fun!

    I enjoyed sharing the information in this book with friends and relatives. It sparked laughter, commentary, and debate. So what if there are no references sighted. A book that causes a conversation worth having is a book worthy of having been read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This book was free today for my nook. It sounded pretty interest

    This book was free today for my nook. It sounded pretty interesting and since I just finished a book, I figured this would be an entertaining one to read. The facts are little snippets which makes the book quite easy to finish quickly. Since history is my favorite subject to teach, I found this book to be fun and I actually knew quite a few of the facts.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Grammar

    Although the stories are amusing to read, the spelling and grammatical errors are horrendous. Worth it for sure, but be wary of fhe mistakes.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2011

    Very Good

    Great little book when you just need something to read while you wait. Good for the one who likes having a head full of tiny bits of info.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2011

    Facts you almost knew

    Very short pieces about a HUGE number of things that urban legend has all wrong - and some things that are not well know but still hilarious. I actually went to other sources to verify some of these tidbits, and was amazed my beliefs had been so wrong for so long.
    Best to read on a trip - you can read a bit, put it down, pick it up at random, and still completely enjoy the book. Sorry - it seems almost sure you will learn the truth about some things in spite of just trying to have fun reading. But you do need to pick this one up and read it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Recommend

    A light read that you can go back to whenever you have only a few minutes. Interesting!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2011

    Pretty good

    Some interesting facts....

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fun to read

    This book was entertaining and fun to read, I even learned or "relearned" a thing or two!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2011

    Good book - lousy editor

    A lot of little known historical anecdotes written in a very entertaining style. One huge drawback, however. The ebook edition appears to have been scanned from the original text and then converted to text without any oversight by a human editor - or at least not anyone with third grade or higher education. Almost every page has at least one serious typographic error. I'm glad I didn't pay anything for this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2011

    I enjoyed the random tidbits of information in this book. There are a lot of spelling mistakes though.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 313 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 16