Customer Reviews for

Stupid History: Tales of Stupidity, Strangeness, and Mythconceptions Through

Average Rating 3.5
( 1294 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(307)

4 Star

(314)

3 Star

(323)

2 Star

(185)

1 Star

(165)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Question

How+do+you+find+free+Friday+on+the+Nook+color.+I+have+the+old+and+new+Nook+and+I+always+have+to+use+the+old+one+to+view+free+Friday+books.

posted by 4837951 on June 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

22 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

Ok I guess

Silly and informative but the spelling errors are driving me crazy!

posted by Hushpadwitch on June 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1296 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 65
  • Posted July 16, 2011

    Not bad

    Very interesting good read. Cons lots os spelling errors

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2011

    recommend

    was fun easy reading, could pick up and lay down quickly when busy.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Short buy too many errors

    Its a fun little read. But the grammer is bad

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2011

    Be the smartest guy in the room.

    Stupid history is a fun little book. One of those you can set down and come back to at any old time. Every fact is interesting and sure to make you feel like the smartest person in the room later. Was Napoleon really short? Was Lincoln's voice really deep? Why is Hollywood actually in California? (I guarantee, the reason isn't what you think.) All of those questions are answered in this book. And many more!

    As other reviewers have noted, there are some typos here, but it didn't detract from the fun for me. It was usually obvious what the intent was. The only thing that surprises me is that--with as many complaints as there are, and with how easy it is to update a new digital version--these typos haven't been addressed yet. Seems like an easy thing to do.

    Regardless, I enjoyed the book. Lots of fun!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2011

    Things that make you say hmmmm

    I had a blast reading this. Will go fact check some of this but now i am ready for jeopardy...lol

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2011

    Casual reading at its worst

    This is a bunch of trivia facts and factoids, thrown together without any underlying message, plan, or scheme. 50% of them you know from other sources anyway.

    The author does not bother to re-read his writing, especially when regarding numbers. If Napoleon's height were, indeed, measured in "French" feet (which are smaller), his measured height woold be a lerger number -- that's just one example.

    During a casual dash through the book I discovered about 30 typos (a notorious use of "too" instead "two" is one example); and some form atting errors - mostly paragraphs breaking abruptly at the end of a page, not continued on the next one.

    The most irritating is that the writer sometimes tries very hard to be funny. In a local war about a stolen bucket more than a few people "kicked the bucket". Ha ha ha. The thousands of Gypsies exterminated by the Nazis were, indeed, gypped. Just hilarious, quite close to second-grade bathroom jokes.

    It may be a free e-book, but it is still overpriced.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2014

    Best book

    I like this book cause it makes history fun also even though im not done i love it because it is Stupid History


    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2014

    Stuped History

    Super funny book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2013

    Good

    It tea

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    There are books that demand to be read: those who¿s reading brin

    There are books that demand to be read: those who’s reading bring enlightenment and new direction to life, others are read from a seeming directive of the collective unconsciousness, and those that seem to lift the mundane of life to the sublime of living.  Then there are books that are read because they are fun and remind the reader that some things are too important to be taken seriously.  This volume is of the latter group.
    History is as exciting as the ability of the historian to relate the events being presented.  Unfortunately, such ability exciting is in short supply.  Mr. Gregory’s book takes some of the familiar stories taken as historical fact and exposes them as being misrepresented at best or in error at worst.  In other instances, he shows how history has been “hidden” due to its having become familiar and therefore have made it invisible.  In still others, he cites anecdotes that flesh out some of the less interesting or remote moments of history.  Regardless of what he is doing to which moment of history it is all fun reading.
    This is a book that deals with history but it is not a history book.  If history can be defined as “stories (lies) written by the victors,” then this book is a stick used to poke certain of those victors in the eye.  The author holds no part of History as “cow scared” (i.e. Paul Revere, Magellan) that cannot be made in to hamburger and he grinds the beef with profound glee.
    The book is to be read with an eye toward humor, but that does not remove the educational moments.  Learning to differentiate myth from fact, reality from wish, what one was told from what actually happened is an important aspect of a well-rounded education and Mr. Gregory’s intent lies in the reality of that theorem.  There are few moments of questionable content in the book and even those are innuendo.  No bloodshed (except to report history) is offered and there is no “adult” language.
    Had this book been part of the syllabus for my college History course; I may have attended it with more frequency and interest.  I definitely would have been a better student of that dusty discipline.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2013

    The book definitely needs to be proof read but overall it was ve

    The book definitely needs to be proof read but overall it was very interesting. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    I love the facts but he may have been having a laggier time than in video games

    I love the facts but he may have been having a laggier time than in video games. Cause he screwed up the dates for the nuclear detonations on hiromisha and nagasaki. Here is what its quoting.....august 8th 1915..... Two days after the nuclear..[me]~?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2012

    Rife with errors

    Editing errors galore, typos everywhere, and quite a few questionable "facts." You're better off spending a few hours on Wikipedia.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2012

    Bad grammar

    The actual book was good, but many facts are inaccurate and the spelling and grammar were bad.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2012

    Fun!

    I enjoyed sharing the information in this book with friends and relatives. It sparked laughter, commentary, and debate. So what if there are no references sighted. A book that causes a conversation worth having is a book worthy of having been read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2012

    Great book

    Great facts and history

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This book was free today for my nook. It sounded pretty interest

    This book was free today for my nook. It sounded pretty interesting and since I just finished a book, I figured this would be an entertaining one to read. The facts are little snippets which makes the book quite easy to finish quickly. Since history is my favorite subject to teach, I found this book to be fun and I actually knew quite a few of the facts.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    Too many mistakes...

    This book would have been much more enjoyable if it had been edited more carefully. There is nothing more irritating than having a book confuse something as simple as "two" and "too"

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2012

    Stupid History

    Silly, but entertaining. Funny, stupid "facts." There is no backup or substantiation, so you have to determine the truth for yourself. Still it was fun to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    If you've got time on your hands with nothing else to do, give i

    If you've got time on your hands with nothing else to do, give it a shot. Otherwise, I'd pick something else.

    It was kinda fun learning some new trivia, but most of it I've already seen presented elsewhere, in more depth. Also, the formatting of the eBook version was a little annoying. Some of the "chapters"? had really large font, with a quote that wasn't as large but still pretty big. This caused my nook to put the "chapter title" and quote on one page and then the text on the following page, unless I made the font really, really small, as in almost impossible to read. There were quite a few typos and spelling errors as well, along with at least one somewhat misleading statement (re: Ivory Snow/Marilyn Chambers). There were no citations of sources, so some of the pieces that sounded like mere urban legend may, in fact, be just that.

    I'm glad I didn't pay for this as it was a free selection.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1296 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 65