Customer Reviews for

Stupid White Men: And Other Sorry Excuses for the State of the Nation!

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 126 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2010

    Nathan R McIntyre 3

    Stupid White Men is a book full of very interesting facts that involves Moore's entertaining sense of humor. He discusses many stupid white men from those behind the 2000 election of the "thief in chief" George Bush, to those involved with the mad cow disease outbreak. Moore is very serious about all that he advocates for which makes it hard to tell when he's joking. Such as when he encourages you to write letters to your elected officials, and soon there after advises you to save gas by hitch hiking. Some of his ideas seem some what over the top, such as blacks should put inflatable white dolls in their cars so racist cops will think they're chauffeurs. All in all, Stupid White Men is a good read that makes you look at the world a little differently.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2009

    Very interesting and informing.

    This book caught my just by the title, Stupid White Men. I have always believed that there were a lot of stupid people out there, but I never put it into consideration that most of these people were white males. I agreed with just about everything that Michael Moore said in this book and it gave me a better understanding of how corrupt the government can be. I especially liked the letter he sent George Bush asking him if he was illiterate. I would definitely recommend this book, whether your democrat or republican.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2008

    You must read Stupid White Men

    I enjoyed reading Michael Moore's book, and I admire him for his sarcastic and witty style of writing. He wasn't afraid of speaking out his mind regarding those politicians 'Bush and Cheney' and CEO's who are running the country as they are responsible for polluting the environment and cutting funding for health and education, he also discusses other topics that deal with race, human rights and foreign policy. It's a good book full of shocking facts and statistics.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2007

    Read for the Contrary

    If you can See, then this book is for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2007

    A crazy, engaging and at times funny book that doesn't pull any punches.

    Stupid White Men is an aoutstanding acheivement by Michael Moore. I have watched Bowling for Columbine and I thought it was interesting and very truthful. Having seen Bowling for Columbine I dove right into this book and any doubts about this book that I had were thrown out the window when I started reading the first few pages. This book is politically intense throughout and it definitely will stimulate anyone's mind. A major factor that makes this book so brilliant is the tone that Michael Moore uses. Michael Moore is not a serious tone type of author. He is quite the sarcastic writer making his writing even more enjoyable and funny. One of the most memorable parts of the book for me was when Moore lists off all of the actions and laws that George W. Bush passed in his first few months of office. I'm not a Bush enthusiast whatsoever but I couldn't believe it when I read that Bush cut funding for programs dealing with child abuse and neglect by $15.7 million dollars. This is not the only shocking moment in the book. The whole book is astounding and it will leave you thinking in one way or another. So before you go calling Michael Moore a radical or extremist go read this book, you just might be intrigued.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2004

    sick of conspiracy theories

    This book is not one of Mr Moore's best. OK, we get the point...he hates conservatives, but do we democrats really want to have this guy as our 'mascot'? I would rather he be more focused on things that ACTUALLY happen, instead of all of his conspiracy theories. And dare I ask, what about all of the sordid things were going on in the White House before dubya? One (though it may be the only) thing he has on Clinton is that he's never LIED under oath while holding the office of Commander-in-chief because he was cheating on his wife! For shame! Moore is an embarassment...I want to read a book with truth, Mr. Moore. I guess that means reading no more of yours.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2004

    Great Stuff Michael

    If Moore were running for President I'm sure he'd have a lot of followers. Although I must admit some details can be a tad exaggerated, I stand up for this man who stood up to the world's 'most powerful' government and showed the nation how unperfect and dirty it really is. Thanks to Moore, the U.S. government has been revealed as the third-world banana republic it really is. (Weren't the 2000 elections enough?) I think this book crosses the boundaries that Democrats and Republicans alike have put up and presents another way of viewing this pathetic excuse of a democracy (or should I say bureaucracy). This certainly is a book I can relate to. A+

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2004

    A witty critique of American politics and society

    Before you blindly believe all the criticisms of Moore, you should at least read one of his books. This is a pretty good one. Sure, he goes overboard at time, but his criticism of Bush and his agenda is right on. Lost in the shuffle of most bush bashing is the fact that Americans bear some responsibility for the shameful decisions made by Bush. Moore points out that we are the ones who were duped by Bush's empty lip service to 'compassionate conservatism'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2004

    ral

    i felt this book was a great book for the type of person that enjoys the true facts about things. I personally enjoyed it because it taught me all diferent types of new things concerning our country and world.this book touched all different areas of controveries while giving complete details giving something to go from when getting in an argument with others about these topics. its great for debates and maybee even to better yourselves mentaly, physically, and personably.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2004

    AWESOME! YOU CAN LEARN ALOT!

    It's BIAS. But If you are still trying to figure out an opinion on any number of issues; THIS book can HELP! I RECOMMEND FOR ANYONE GRADUATING FROM HIGH SCHOOL OR TURNING 18 OR ARE OLD ENOUGH TO VOTE! THE BOOK CAN HELP YOU CHOSE YOUTR OPINION ON ISSUES, IF YOUR TRYING TO DECIDE TO GO THRID PARTY, REPUBLICAN, DEMOCRAT, ETC.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2004

    Let the truth be known...

    Michael Moore is very honest in this must have book. This piece of literature is one of the most eye-opening books I have read. Moore takes his work very serious and yet makes modern politics (by modern I mean the Bush Administration), by stating the facts, seem like a real life Saturday Night Live skit! Michael Moore shows the honest ways of which 'president' Bush has conqured the constitution during the so called 'election'. This book is a must read for every American who is PATRIOTIC enough to question the whats-if's and future of our nation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2004

    The Usual Liberal-Sided Exaggeration

    A lot of facts and things Americans should know, but obviously strongly biased by his political agenda.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2004

    People forget, these books are long editorials...

    Someone complained that Moore had a selective take on history, the books by stossel, o'reilly and hannity are no different (oh yeah, don't forget rush). Yeah, that's reality folks, people just cannot agree and there are enough facts that go either way. I must say, I enjoyed the book though and I highly recommend this book. Moore comes across as patriotic as Hannity, ironic isn't it?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2004

    Humorous Yet Bold

    ¿Stupid White Men¿¿ is spewing with facts about all of the disgusting things that we might or might not know that our government is doing or has done since Bush was elected. Although the things Moore talks about are all of things that are wrong with this nation, he presents the facts in a very humorous way. He is trying to create awareness of our rights so they will not be taken away and he does so in a very bold way. In the book, there are wallet sized amendment cutouts. This is an example of how Moore is pushing people to practice their rights in real life. He wants people to make a stand in what they believe in, and this book gives several examples of how they can make a difference or just be heard. This book is a very good example of domacracy and it gives a lot of information. This book is recommended to anyone who likes humorous yet bold facts about the state of the nation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2004

    Good Book

    A+, Great book, well thought out and researched. Nothing more to say.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2004

    Earth to Moore, come in Moore...aw, never mind...

    This book was just like the rest of Mr. Moore's efforts; funny because he takes it so seriously. With his selective take on history and jaundiced eye toward anything remotely conservative, he simply shows the hysteria of the left and his own lack of touch with 'real' Americans. Get out of the penthouse there, big boy. 2 stars simply because it got me laughing so hard. What? It wasn't a comedy? Pity.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2004

    Paranoia reigns supreme!

    This is an interesting book, highlighting the paranoia of the extreme left. Mr. Moore apparently believes in the 'vast, right-wing conspiracy', against which he views himself as a bastion of truth. The hypocrisy, paranoia, and sometimes sheer idiocy of his statements make this a great book if it was meant to be humorous... but scary as a indicator of the modern liberal mind.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2003

    brilliant

    Easily one of the best political satires in recent years, Michael Moore presents an ironclad case against the Bush Administration. Perhaps even better than books by contemporaries like Al Franken, Moore examines every aspect of Bush, Clinton, and America and tears them to hilarious shreds. A definite read for anyone left or right wing, or who is at all interested in politicals. Viva la Mike!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2003

    Hypocrisy

    This books serves as an interesting window into the mind of a liberal. It's hard not to agree with some of Mr. Moore's views however his over the top style is discouraging. He proudly displays the faults of our government, but is short on solutions. Out-of-context statistics run awry in this book. Another example of someone enjoying the privilages of this country while slandering it's integrity.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2003

    Moore the bore

    Same rehash as the left usually spreads around. They remind me of a manure spreader.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 126 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7