Customer Reviews for

Styxx (Dark-Hunter Series #17)

Average Rating 4.5
( 392 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(307)

4 Star

(36)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(23)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

32 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

Utterly Brilliant. I waited eagerly for this book to show up o

Utterly Brilliant.

I waited eagerly for this book to show up on my kindle at midnight and started reading it immediately. Given that it is eight-hundred and forty-eight pages long and completely engrossing from page one, I did not get any sleep. I wondered how in the ...
Utterly Brilliant.

I waited eagerly for this book to show up on my kindle at midnight and started reading it immediately. Given that it is eight-hundred and forty-eight pages long and completely engrossing from page one, I did not get any sleep. I wondered how in the world Ms. Kenyon could possibly turn Styxx into a hero, given all the awful things he did in previous novels, but I knew from experience that with her fantastic imagination it would certainly be something to see. Complete. Understatement.

I started to love Styxx as the protagonist immediately; that sad little boy who was neglected and abused just as badly as Acheron, maybe even worse, because he didn't have Ryssa and his father continuously vacillated between hating and loving him. It was easy to pity him at first, then admire and cheer him on.

The majority of Styxx takes place during the same time as the first half of Acheron; every moment, every conversation takes on new meaning from Styxx's point of view. It was utterly fascinating and oh-so very painful. There were times I wanted to kill Acheron and I didn't think anything could do that. The worst of Styxx's torment may have started when he was a older than his twin, but it was just as bad. Sherrilyn Kenyon sure likes her tortured heroes. Emphasis on the tortured.
The romance surprised me in that it started so early. Styxx was such a sweet, innocent young lover. His ever-enduring faithfulness was one of my favorite parts of the whole novel. Beth, however, I wanted to smack upside the head. How could she...do something I can't say because of spoilers? She's a goddess and she was with him for years and yet all the while...grr. Not saying anything more. Despite how much she annoyed me at times, I did like her for the most part, except...I find I really can't say much about her without spoilers. Suffice it to say she is not my favorite of Ms. Kenyon's heroines. She seemed a little lacking in the 'heroics' department. However, she did have a good sense of humor and once she...bother. I liked her more in the second half of the book.

The relationship between Ash and Styxx was brilliantly handled. Their interactions were limited, but when they met...oh, boy. Sparks flew in all directions, sometimes literally. It was so easy to see how alike they are, no matter how much they would like to deny it.

I loved, loved, loved how hints and foreshadowing and characters from the previous novels were worked into this book. I won't say what they were, but I am very interested in what will happen next in the series. I have new questions by the bucket load, especially those stemming from a delightfully shocking little revelation. It's going to drive me mad waiting for answers.

Overall, I loved this book. The fact that I got annoyed with characters just made me enjoy it all the more; that made them more human (figuratively speaking). Plus, who doesn't love to yell at fictional characters? I highly recommend Styxx to anyone who likes the rest of the Dark-Hunter series. I would not recommend reading it out of order. It gives away the ending to Acheron, Night Embrace and Devil May Cry as well as other things. Make sure you have a few to several hours (depending on your reading speed) before opening this book. You won't want to stop.

posted by LiederMadchen on September 3, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

31 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

Honestly I don't know how to react to this book. I was excited a

Honestly I don't know how to react to this book. I was excited about Styxx. And I must say this book made me love the character. There are people who say they had pitty for Styxx. I didn't. The hell he went through he still remained loving. This book made me also dislik...
Honestly I don't know how to react to this book. I was excited about Styxx. And I must say this book made me love the character. There are people who say they had pitty for Styxx. I didn't. The hell he went through he still remained loving. This book made me also dislike the sister, dislike Ash, hate Este and his Father and so on. What deeply disturbed me was the brutality of the first 600 pages of this 895 page book. Between the Emotional abuse, the physical abuse, sexual abuse, the incest, the pedophilia an the down right meanness and bulling my stomach stayed in a knot and I had nightmares (sounds like an exaggeration). People have nightmares over horror stories but to me this was a horror story. So yeah I had them. I think I will be taking a break from this author and others that write like her because there is already to much ugly in the world. I like to feel good at after reading a book and although there is an HEA I cannot seem to enjoy it because I cannot seem to get the images out of my head.

posted by Sahrenity on September 5, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Honestly I don't know how to react to this book. I was excited a

    Honestly I don't know how to react to this book. I was excited about Styxx. And I must say this book made me love the character. There are people who say they had pitty for Styxx. I didn't. The hell he went through he still remained loving. This book made me also dislike the sister, dislike Ash, hate Este and his Father and so on. What deeply disturbed me was the brutality of the first 600 pages of this 895 page book. Between the Emotional abuse, the physical abuse, sexual abuse, the incest, the pedophilia an the down right meanness and bulling my stomach stayed in a knot and I had nightmares (sounds like an exaggeration). People have nightmares over horror stories but to me this was a horror story. So yeah I had them. I think I will be taking a break from this author and others that write like her because there is already to much ugly in the world. I like to feel good at after reading a book and although there is an HEA I cannot seem to enjoy it because I cannot seem to get the images out of my head.

    31 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2013

    I really hoped we'd get out of the slump, I really did.  I just

    I really hoped we'd get out of the slump, I really did.  I just can't stomach that much torture, rape, and sadism.  I liked the first few books, felt a bit invested in the characters and wanted to find out what happened.  However, much like Christine Feehan's Carpathian novels, there seems to be a need to "up the ante" for each tortured hero.  At this point, the books are less about romance and more about a voyeuristic thrill from a characters pain.  I know this isn't real.  It's fiction.  However, I suspect that indulging in this is probably not beneficial, and I'm going to have to stop reading this series.  Which bums me out.  I know there are other true fans, or people for whom the first half (hundreds of pages) of horror, will have a different message.  Perhaps it will bring the character's motivations more to life, or make their foibles more understandable, the character more sympathetic.  I wanted to add this, however, as the other folks who put in a low review didn't bother to include a reason.  I'm not done with the book, I think I'll skim to the end, which I believe I did with one other recent novel in the series.  Sorry now I didn't wait and check this out from the library. 

    25 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    Too much abuse! I found this book exhausting to read. As with

    Too much abuse! I found this book exhausting to read. As with several of Ms. Kenyon's other books, this does contain abuse (physical, emotional, sexual) -- approximately 650 pages out of 896. I knew the story was going to be somewhat depressing, because of Ash's back story. However, I didn't realize his emotional misery was going to continue another 150 pages.
    In my opinion, it barely included a love story. Oh yes, it did have one, but it wasn’t fulfilling. Abused teenager meets girl, and since she’s the only person nice to him they fall instantly in love. So it was like “wham!” they were in love and being sickly sweet with the two cooing at each other.
    Don't get me wrong, I really wanted to like this book, but I just couldn't. I have noticed a trend with the last few books she’s written have had heavy amount of abuse. And, I have to say, I can read about it, but it doesn’t need to go on and on and on, etc. We get it! The character was abused, now move on. I think I heard somewhere that the author is a survivor of some type of abuse, and I really think she should see a therapist and stop inflicting this on her readers or write a self-help book before she alienates all her readers.
    Unfortunately, I have to say I think this is the last book I will purchase from this author. I really wish her the best, but she’s appears to continually be taking a path with her writing that I’m not interested in reading.

    20 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I love Sherrilyn Kenyon, but was so bogged down in the most depr

    I love Sherrilyn Kenyon, but was so bogged down in the most depressing, sadomasochistic, abuse relationships I just couldn't get past.
    What a disappointment. I don't understand how this happened. The book fell completely flat for me. I understand that there is a back story for every DH, but this was just too much. 3/4 of the book was based in ancient Greece. Sometimes it felt more like a history lesson than a romance. Sad to say, sorely disappointed.

    14 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2013

    Absolutely Awful

    I can't believe this was actually published. It's disturbing and shouldn't be masquerading as main stream media. The constant abuse that permeates the book was just unnecessary and made it unreadable. Unless you are interested in a boy being constantly abused and raped stay away from this.

    If I could I would have given zero stars

    12 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2013

    Wondering why I am still reading this ...

    I wouldn't read a book with this much violence towards a woman. I just don't know if I can stomach reading the rest. The graphic deatils of the rape and abuse of Styxx in this book seems to do nothing but make me sick and it doesn't even really move the story along. This may be the last book I read by Ms Kenyon.

    11 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2013

    I would have given 3-4 stars for 2nd half of book, but first hal

    I would have given 3-4 stars for 2nd half of book, but first half was too torturous for words!  I don't mind a sad & painful background to give explanation for a character's current status (eg DWTD), but this was just way too much. Enough already with the painful narrative that only a sadist could love. Oh, and the heroine needed a good boot up her a$$,

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2013

    this book sounded good so i went ahead and purchased it, BAD IDE

    this book sounded good so i went ahead and purchased it, BAD IDEA! this is a terrible book i didnt even finish the whole thing because the book mostly consisted of styxx getting gang raped every other page, i guess if your into reading about children/teens getting gang raped by their uncle and his friends then this book would be for you...SO DISGUSTED WITH THIS BOOK!!  i will never read another one of  sherrilyn kenyons books! PATHETIC!

    5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2013

    I don't understand this book. For the mere fact that Acheron was

    I don't understand this book. For the mere fact that Acheron was the first born, everything that Styx suffered suddenly didn't mean anything? I didn't understand how Styxx could come to the realization that he had everything good compared to Acheron when he found out that he was actually the second son. What were all the gang rapes he had to endure - his hallucinations?

    At least Styxx knew of the things Acheron went through, but did Acheron ever knew what Styxx had also sacrificed for Acheron? It's like each of the brother are in a competition to prove who had hurt/sacrificed more, and the mere fact that Acheron should have been the first born and heir to the throne makes him the winner? He shouldn't have even been borne to that family in the first place, so in truth, Styxx would have been the rightful heir had they not placed Acheron in the womb of Styxx's mother!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2014

    I never do. I have read all the previous books in this series,

    I never do. I have read all the previous books in this series, so while I realize the author's point is that her heroes will undergo great hardship and ultim.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2014

    Way to ruin a series

    Kenyon! You are one sick ***** (rhymes with ditch). Yes, I know it is personal but when you have spent the money to by all 17 books so far the money makes it personal.

    You have made me hate myself for reading the first 16 books and that it helped support you. But most of all I hate now that I got interested in series because of the way you wrote STYXX. I don't blame you because you have lost your talent to write, it happens.

    I do have a question, to write that way did you recently have a death in your family (I hope not), your dog or cat die (I also hope not) or, like your story line in STYXX, you just had to stick it to some innocent person for no reason and who better than to stick it to then the people who have supported your series. I just like to know what motivated your thinking. I know the characters are dark in this series but you have taken depression and lets kick and kick and kick and kick and kick and kick the hero to a whole new level.

    Oh, I wouldn't recommend this book to someone I hated.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2014

    650 pages of abuse rape and torture..what!

    Of a young boy! It was unclear if he suffered rape as a minor or not. But this is disgusting. Im a kenyon fan but i really wish i coud return this book. I understand this is why hes the badguy but come on. It could touch briefly on the abuse and stay with the romance between beth and styxx. Readers dont want to read more than half a thousand pages of sick torture. This books leaves me with a very sick feeling. I will think twice before blindly purchasing the next book in the series again. Im sorry i just want more plot and romance and less torture. I hate leaving bad reviews and all kenyons other books are fantastic. But in this one im left Disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2013

    Styxx

    I liked how the story was looking on the opposite side of the situation and I really wish that we could get their sisters view. The book was informative and entertaining. I look forward to reading the next book she puts out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2013

    I read a lot, and I have read every other Kenyon book.  In fact,

    I read a lot, and I have read every other Kenyon book.  In fact, I started with the Nick series, and jumped to the adult romance.  However, as a mom of two children, and a writer, I am sorry, this was a horror book, not a romance.  There was little romance, and the bizarre way our favorite characters flipped to being sadistic monsters just made my head ache.  A subject like child rape and torture if done must be done carefully or risk becoming just a disgusting voyage into something that should be banned.  I am most concerned that children (and yes teenagers are still children) enamoured of the Nick series will jump to this one like I did and end up reading something that I think even adults should approach with caution.  Did not like it, read at your local library if you must, I will probably not be purchasing any more, though I do end up with copies so I can review them for the library review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2013

    Horrible. Seriously 100's of pages of abuse and rape and torture

    Horrible. Seriously 100's of pages of abuse and rape and torture. I had to put the book down. I understand that this helps see where the character is coming from but this is just too brutal to keep reading. I have read the rest of her books and I keep thinking any second now Styxx will stand up for himself but honestly this is just too hard to keep reading. I honestly don't know how some can even write about it to such an extent. I was really let down by this book. I will probably stop reading her stuff for now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2013

    Fawnpaw

    Smiles and follows Mistydapple back to camp. ((I gtgtb. Bye.))

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2013

    Awful

    I have read many erotic books as well as every dark hunter. Well i have to say this one made me sick and i can no way finish it. I am never buying another of her books. I could hardly wait for this to come out. I am very worried for this authors sanity but i wont allow it to disturb mine.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2013

    I was SO excited to read this book! And then I actually read it.

    I was SO excited to read this book! And then I actually read it. It is two days of my life I will never get back. I absolutely LOVED Ash's story. I loved the peek into his history, and I liked the twists in the end. Styxx's book, however, began with abuse, morphed into torture, and ended with more abuse. The "love" part of the story was rushed and felt like a complete afterthought. After reading this, I DESPISE Ash, and Ryssa needed to be brought back to life, JUST so she could be killed again. It felt like she attempted to take the original story and force it to work around Styxx. The whole thing was one loooonnnggg torture porn. Within the first third of the book, we as readers GET that Styxx didn't live a pampered life, but it is stretched beyond the bounds of believability. I am a huge fan of Ms. Kenyon, I own all of her Dark Hunter books, and I must say, if this was the first book I had read, I would have put it down half way in and never bought another one. The insincerity if the characters in Styxx's book makes it so I don't like ANY of them. I enjoy the sarcastic wit that is typical of Ms. Kenyon, but the last few books it seems to me that she has left out all of the actual DIALOG and just threw in one sarcastic comment after another. It left me still wondering who the characters are in private, what they think, and how they feel. Because she hides their personality under the dripping sarcasm. Please, Ms. Kenyon, PLEASE stop writing 800 pages of torture, and give us more of the CHARACTER, LOVE, and HUMOR that you used to give us books full of.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2