Customer Reviews for

Styxx (Dark-Hunter Series #17)

Average Rating 4.5
( 380 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(299)

4 Star

(36)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(22)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

32 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

Utterly Brilliant. I waited eagerly for this book to show up o

Utterly Brilliant.

I waited eagerly for this book to show up on my kindle at midnight and started reading it immediately. Given that it is eight-hundred and forty-eight pages long and completely engrossing from page one, I did not get any sleep. I wondered how in the ...
Utterly Brilliant.

I waited eagerly for this book to show up on my kindle at midnight and started reading it immediately. Given that it is eight-hundred and forty-eight pages long and completely engrossing from page one, I did not get any sleep. I wondered how in the world Ms. Kenyon could possibly turn Styxx into a hero, given all the awful things he did in previous novels, but I knew from experience that with her fantastic imagination it would certainly be something to see. Complete. Understatement.

I started to love Styxx as the protagonist immediately; that sad little boy who was neglected and abused just as badly as Acheron, maybe even worse, because he didn't have Ryssa and his father continuously vacillated between hating and loving him. It was easy to pity him at first, then admire and cheer him on.

The majority of Styxx takes place during the same time as the first half of Acheron; every moment, every conversation takes on new meaning from Styxx's point of view. It was utterly fascinating and oh-so very painful. There were times I wanted to kill Acheron and I didn't think anything could do that. The worst of Styxx's torment may have started when he was a older than his twin, but it was just as bad. Sherrilyn Kenyon sure likes her tortured heroes. Emphasis on the tortured.
The romance surprised me in that it started so early. Styxx was such a sweet, innocent young lover. His ever-enduring faithfulness was one of my favorite parts of the whole novel. Beth, however, I wanted to smack upside the head. How could she...do something I can't say because of spoilers? She's a goddess and she was with him for years and yet all the while...grr. Not saying anything more. Despite how much she annoyed me at times, I did like her for the most part, except...I find I really can't say much about her without spoilers. Suffice it to say she is not my favorite of Ms. Kenyon's heroines. She seemed a little lacking in the 'heroics' department. However, she did have a good sense of humor and once she...bother. I liked her more in the second half of the book.

The relationship between Ash and Styxx was brilliantly handled. Their interactions were limited, but when they met...oh, boy. Sparks flew in all directions, sometimes literally. It was so easy to see how alike they are, no matter how much they would like to deny it.

I loved, loved, loved how hints and foreshadowing and characters from the previous novels were worked into this book. I won't say what they were, but I am very interested in what will happen next in the series. I have new questions by the bucket load, especially those stemming from a delightfully shocking little revelation. It's going to drive me mad waiting for answers.

Overall, I loved this book. The fact that I got annoyed with characters just made me enjoy it all the more; that made them more human (figuratively speaking). Plus, who doesn't love to yell at fictional characters? I highly recommend Styxx to anyone who likes the rest of the Dark-Hunter series. I would not recommend reading it out of order. It gives away the ending to Acheron, Night Embrace and Devil May Cry as well as other things. Make sure you have a few to several hours (depending on your reading speed) before opening this book. You won't want to stop.

posted by LiederMadchen on September 3, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

29 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

Honestly I don't know how to react to this book. I was excited a

Honestly I don't know how to react to this book. I was excited about Styxx. And I must say this book made me love the character. There are people who say they had pitty for Styxx. I didn't. The hell he went through he still remained loving. This book made me also dislik...
Honestly I don't know how to react to this book. I was excited about Styxx. And I must say this book made me love the character. There are people who say they had pitty for Styxx. I didn't. The hell he went through he still remained loving. This book made me also dislike the sister, dislike Ash, hate Este and his Father and so on. What deeply disturbed me was the brutality of the first 600 pages of this 895 page book. Between the Emotional abuse, the physical abuse, sexual abuse, the incest, the pedophilia an the down right meanness and bulling my stomach stayed in a knot and I had nightmares (sounds like an exaggeration). People have nightmares over horror stories but to me this was a horror story. So yeah I had them. I think I will be taking a break from this author and others that write like her because there is already to much ugly in the world. I like to feel good at after reading a book and although there is an HEA I cannot seem to enjoy it because I cannot seem to get the images out of my head.

posted by Sahrenity on September 5, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 21, 2013

    Oh my goodness! I did not expect Styxx's story to be such a tear

    Oh my goodness! I did not expect Styxx's story to be such a tear jerker but the saying is true, "there are three sides to a story: yours, mine and the truth". Now I'm going to say that this book turned me against Acheron because they both have been through so much in their 11,000+ years of life but I am so glad for the ending of this book. I can't wait to see how this will change things in the Dark Hunter books to come because this was an epic shift in their world and in their personal lives. From a prince (not pampered though) to thousands of years of solitude for something he could not control, Styxx definitely lived a life of suffering that he did not ask for. I'm sure that Acheron could say the same. Even though I was intimidated by the thickness of the book (just as thick or bigger than Acheron was) I dove in and had some emotional moments indeed. Love the characters in this series even more now!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2013

    Highly enjoyed

    This was one of this best by kenyon you got to some of the history of why things that had happened in other books. You also get to see Acheron have doubts and see him in another light. Also you get to learn to how Styxx loves but gets nothing in return.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    Wow

    I wiped have given it 5 stars but I felt like the second 1/2 of the story fell flat. So much focus on the past but not in present time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2014

    Awesome read!  Totally gutted...between this and Taking Chances,

    Awesome read!  Totally gutted...between this and Taking Chances, I'm going to need a moment...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2013

    Dark and painful

    This book is hard to define its good but painful to read. I think i cried through most of it. I thought styx brother archreon (can't rememer correct spelling) book was dark and emotional this book was doublely so

    But then styx was cursed to go through double what his brother went through

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 5, 2013

    First, the only reason I am not giving it 5 stars is because I w

    First, the only reason I am not giving it 5 stars is because I would have liked to have had Styxx and Bethany's reunion be more a part of the book than was given.  He had such a hard life and spending 10,000 years mourning her loss, it would have been nice if the latter part of the book was dealing more with their reunion than with another Acheron apocalypse.

    Now having said that, I did read the reviews and agree, it was very hard to stomach his abuse, but I thought Sherrilyn did an awesome job writing about it.  She was not gruesome in her details, she did not go into detail.  She inferred, which made it so much worse to read in my opinion.  I still cry when I think of what both Styxx and Acheron faced as boys and young men.  While I would have preferred not to have read so much about the past, I understand why it had to be written the way it was.  

    Kudos to Ms Kenyon for another wonderful book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2013

    Highly recommended!

    What a great addition to the Dark Hunter Series! What an eye opener about Styxx, I feel bad now that I hated him so much in the earlier books.
    He's just simply an awesome person! Thanks Sherrilyn for another exceptional book. PS longest book I have EVER read!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2013

    First of all... I am a fan and enjoy this series. This book is c

    First of all... I am a fan and enjoy this series. This book is complicated and in the beginning, I thought was possibly to dark. I was tempted to put it down at one point (and I NEVER do that). However, the end of the story was worth the effort. It is a lovely story and I am glad to knw the charactors. I highly recommend the author and the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2013

    Excellent - Sherrilyn Kenyon you out did yourself this time!

    Dark Hunter series is great but I think this is definitely one of her best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2013

    Good Story

    This story is a complicated one, you feel very sad for Styxx and what he goes through.
    But you can not stop reading until you find out what happens. Hard to put the book down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2013

    A Must Read for any Kenyon fan!!!

    This changed my whole outlook on more than a couple of characters. I see Lyssa, Styxx and Acheron all in new lights. Those who were in a less favorable light are now my new favorites and the others may still be a favorite but not so high up. This is a MUST READ for any Kenyon fan - it made me go back and re-re-read Acheron's book several times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2013

    Not what I expected.

    I love Sherrilyn Kenyon but I think that this book was overkill. Much of this story could have been told in 5 chapters of a regular Dark Hunter book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2013

    Rae

    (Here? Uh dont want to intrude)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2013

    I understand why some people would be uneasy about this book, bu

    I understand why some people would be uneasy about this book, but I really enjoyed it! Even thought Styxx went through hell, he still came out a good person.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2013

    Very good read

    Let me say that I enjoyed Styxx but it was a long multiple day wallow in misery, pain, and finally redemption and love. As many reviewers pointed out, the first three-quarters of this tome were brutal. But I think the brutality was necessary, in this case, so that the beautiful soul that was Styxx could be revealed.

    During the ordeal that was his life, he was beat down, misunderstood, hated, beaten, unmercifully used, tortured, and unloved. Yet he remained a good person at his core. That took some serious story telling chops.

    My only disappoint with this book and with many others is the small amount of time spent on the resolution-what a let down.

    *****Spoiler Alert *******

    After all the pain and heartache Apollo caused he is merely handed over to Polly? Really...not one rape scene, not one beating....what??? Total let down. I wanted some blood.Bethany meets the son she thought was dead and we get...about two sentences.

    At least this book was better than the last one and I sincerely hope that the next one is not as dark and heavy as this one. But I'm not going hold my breath.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2013

    Have a box of tissues nearby!! This book is so well written but

    Have a box of tissues nearby!! This book is so well written but absolutely gut wrenching. The book was less about the romance between Styxx and Beth, and more about Styxx and his relationship with his family, especially Acheron. Still the romance was there, even if not the main focus. I think the romance was that much sweeter because it was so opposite of everything else that was going on. If you have a weak stomach this is not the book for you. However, if you like a well written page turner that ties up all the little loose ends for Ash and Styxx, this is the book for you!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2013

      Wow! I am all for stories that have a tormented hero, but this

      Wow! I am all for stories that have a tormented hero, but this book takes it to a new level. I feel like Sherrilyn Kenyon is trying to up the personal tragedy experienced by each male lead. And kudos to Styxx,; he is now ranked #1 as S.K.'s all time hero of tragedy, debasement,  abuse, and humiliation. I never thought that Acheron’s suffering could be topped, but I was wrong!!! This book was difficult to stomach, and that is why I give it only 4 stars. The love story was possibly one of the most bittersweet I have ever read- it spanned 14 thousand years and several lifetimes; one of my favorite plots for any romance. Cried my eyes out and still can't see straight. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2013

    Great book

    I really enjoyed the story about Styxx. Some of the story in the beginning was a little to much, I know she wasnted to paint a picture of his pain, but some of it could have been left out, because we knew had more than lo of understanding of his pain. I still loved this moving story. It makes you laugh, cry, and become angry, this book is moving. Simi is awesome!


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2