Customer Reviews for

Styxx (Dark-Hunter Series #17)

Average Rating 4.5
( 392 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(307)

4 Star

(36)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(23)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

32 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

Utterly Brilliant. I waited eagerly for this book to show up o

Utterly Brilliant.

I waited eagerly for this book to show up on my kindle at midnight and started reading it immediately. Given that it is eight-hundred and forty-eight pages long and completely engrossing from page one, I did not get any sleep. I wondered how in the ...
Utterly Brilliant.

I waited eagerly for this book to show up on my kindle at midnight and started reading it immediately. Given that it is eight-hundred and forty-eight pages long and completely engrossing from page one, I did not get any sleep. I wondered how in the world Ms. Kenyon could possibly turn Styxx into a hero, given all the awful things he did in previous novels, but I knew from experience that with her fantastic imagination it would certainly be something to see. Complete. Understatement.

I started to love Styxx as the protagonist immediately; that sad little boy who was neglected and abused just as badly as Acheron, maybe even worse, because he didn't have Ryssa and his father continuously vacillated between hating and loving him. It was easy to pity him at first, then admire and cheer him on.

The majority of Styxx takes place during the same time as the first half of Acheron; every moment, every conversation takes on new meaning from Styxx's point of view. It was utterly fascinating and oh-so very painful. There were times I wanted to kill Acheron and I didn't think anything could do that. The worst of Styxx's torment may have started when he was a older than his twin, but it was just as bad. Sherrilyn Kenyon sure likes her tortured heroes. Emphasis on the tortured.
The romance surprised me in that it started so early. Styxx was such a sweet, innocent young lover. His ever-enduring faithfulness was one of my favorite parts of the whole novel. Beth, however, I wanted to smack upside the head. How could she...do something I can't say because of spoilers? She's a goddess and she was with him for years and yet all the while...grr. Not saying anything more. Despite how much she annoyed me at times, I did like her for the most part, except...I find I really can't say much about her without spoilers. Suffice it to say she is not my favorite of Ms. Kenyon's heroines. She seemed a little lacking in the 'heroics' department. However, she did have a good sense of humor and once she...bother. I liked her more in the second half of the book.

The relationship between Ash and Styxx was brilliantly handled. Their interactions were limited, but when they met...oh, boy. Sparks flew in all directions, sometimes literally. It was so easy to see how alike they are, no matter how much they would like to deny it.

I loved, loved, loved how hints and foreshadowing and characters from the previous novels were worked into this book. I won't say what they were, but I am very interested in what will happen next in the series. I have new questions by the bucket load, especially those stemming from a delightfully shocking little revelation. It's going to drive me mad waiting for answers.

Overall, I loved this book. The fact that I got annoyed with characters just made me enjoy it all the more; that made them more human (figuratively speaking). Plus, who doesn't love to yell at fictional characters? I highly recommend Styxx to anyone who likes the rest of the Dark-Hunter series. I would not recommend reading it out of order. It gives away the ending to Acheron, Night Embrace and Devil May Cry as well as other things. Make sure you have a few to several hours (depending on your reading speed) before opening this book. You won't want to stop.

posted by LiederMadchen on September 3, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

31 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

Honestly I don't know how to react to this book. I was excited a

Honestly I don't know how to react to this book. I was excited about Styxx. And I must say this book made me love the character. There are people who say they had pitty for Styxx. I didn't. The hell he went through he still remained loving. This book made me also dislik...
Honestly I don't know how to react to this book. I was excited about Styxx. And I must say this book made me love the character. There are people who say they had pitty for Styxx. I didn't. The hell he went through he still remained loving. This book made me also dislike the sister, dislike Ash, hate Este and his Father and so on. What deeply disturbed me was the brutality of the first 600 pages of this 895 page book. Between the Emotional abuse, the physical abuse, sexual abuse, the incest, the pedophilia an the down right meanness and bulling my stomach stayed in a knot and I had nightmares (sounds like an exaggeration). People have nightmares over horror stories but to me this was a horror story. So yeah I had them. I think I will be taking a break from this author and others that write like her because there is already to much ugly in the world. I like to feel good at after reading a book and although there is an HEA I cannot seem to enjoy it because I cannot seem to get the images out of my head.

posted by Sahrenity on September 5, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 307 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 16
  • Posted September 3, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Utterly Brilliant. I waited eagerly for this book to show up o

    Utterly Brilliant.

    I waited eagerly for this book to show up on my kindle at midnight and started reading it immediately. Given that it is eight-hundred and forty-eight pages long and completely engrossing from page one, I did not get any sleep. I wondered how in the world Ms. Kenyon could possibly turn Styxx into a hero, given all the awful things he did in previous novels, but I knew from experience that with her fantastic imagination it would certainly be something to see. Complete. Understatement.

    I started to love Styxx as the protagonist immediately; that sad little boy who was neglected and abused just as badly as Acheron, maybe even worse, because he didn't have Ryssa and his father continuously vacillated between hating and loving him. It was easy to pity him at first, then admire and cheer him on.

    The majority of Styxx takes place during the same time as the first half of Acheron; every moment, every conversation takes on new meaning from Styxx's point of view. It was utterly fascinating and oh-so very painful. There were times I wanted to kill Acheron and I didn't think anything could do that. The worst of Styxx's torment may have started when he was a older than his twin, but it was just as bad. Sherrilyn Kenyon sure likes her tortured heroes. Emphasis on the tortured.
    The romance surprised me in that it started so early. Styxx was such a sweet, innocent young lover. His ever-enduring faithfulness was one of my favorite parts of the whole novel. Beth, however, I wanted to smack upside the head. How could she...do something I can't say because of spoilers? She's a goddess and she was with him for years and yet all the while...grr. Not saying anything more. Despite how much she annoyed me at times, I did like her for the most part, except...I find I really can't say much about her without spoilers. Suffice it to say she is not my favorite of Ms. Kenyon's heroines. She seemed a little lacking in the 'heroics' department. However, she did have a good sense of humor and once she...bother. I liked her more in the second half of the book.

    The relationship between Ash and Styxx was brilliantly handled. Their interactions were limited, but when they met...oh, boy. Sparks flew in all directions, sometimes literally. It was so easy to see how alike they are, no matter how much they would like to deny it.

    I loved, loved, loved how hints and foreshadowing and characters from the previous novels were worked into this book. I won't say what they were, but I am very interested in what will happen next in the series. I have new questions by the bucket load, especially those stemming from a delightfully shocking little revelation. It's going to drive me mad waiting for answers.

    Overall, I loved this book. The fact that I got annoyed with characters just made me enjoy it all the more; that made them more human (figuratively speaking). Plus, who doesn't love to yell at fictional characters? I highly recommend Styxx to anyone who likes the rest of the Dark-Hunter series. I would not recommend reading it out of order. It gives away the ending to Acheron, Night Embrace and Devil May Cry as well as other things. Make sure you have a few to several hours (depending on your reading speed) before opening this book. You won't want to stop.

    32 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2013

    KENYON IS BACK WITH ALL THAT IS DARK HUNTER!!!!!!

    Best Dark Hunter book since Acheron!!

    They say there are at least two sides to every story. Ms. Kenyon has done a wonderful job of showing us just that.

    When I pre-ordered this book, I went back to Acheron to remind myself of all I knew about Styxx. I came away, as most all have after reading Acheron, with a complete and utter disgust for Styxx.

    Then, I read Styxx. I didn't think it was possible to cry that much from just reading a story, or for any book to make me cry harder then I did while reading Acheron. Boy was I mistaken.

    If you cannot take stories of abuse, this story is ABSOLUTELY not for you. What was done to these brothers while they were such young boys was atrocious and the wost of horrors, and Ms. Kenyon pulls no punches in her descriptions. I found myself with a mountain of used tissues next to me every I sat down to read some more; however, as no other author can do quite like Kenyon, in the middle of all the horrors, a true love story emerges with all the mushy-gushy hotness that Kenyon also does sooooooooo well.

    Loved this one, and cannot wait for the next! Thank you Ms Kenyon for another great book!

    -- SPeeD

    11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2013

    its really sad that most ppl that are giving this book 1 or 2 st

    its really sad that most ppl that are giving this book 1 or 2 stars can't see past the abuse mentioned and see the story for what it really it is. So instead of bashing this author and saying the nastiest things you can think of, you need to take a look at yourselves and wonder why YOU can't get past the abuse mentioned in the book. And besides, its not like the author or the publisher did not mention this before YOU brought it. I mean seriously did you buy just so you can say  mean things about the book & its author? because if you did...then you are truly the pathetic ones. And I finish by saying that this was an amazing book written by an amazing author.

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2013

    A must read!!

    I have read every single book in this series and have loved them all, but Styxx is by far my absolute favorite. You will cry, get angry, laugh, and cry tears of joy. Styxx makes you fall in love with him and I saw a totally different side of Ash that I was surprised to see, but in the end, Ash is awesome still. Urian, you rock! And Simi is still a joy. Thanks for creating a world that is fun and exciting. This book and all the others will suck you in and not let go.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2013

    I hated Styxx after Acheron...

    After reading this book i was more than a little annoyed at Ash and struck by the man Styxx is.

    Deep, rich, characters and engaging plot

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    Cried my eyes out

    I had to do most of my reading alone because Styxx's story kept bringing me to tears. I think we all hated him after reading "Acheron". Ash hated him because he had it so bad but that didn't mean Styxx had it good. I loved the way she made me love this man who none of us really knew before. It just goes to show you may have it bad but there is always someone who has it worse. I loved this book, my favorite Dark Hunter book so far!

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2013

    I, for one, absolutely LOVED this book one of my favorites along

    I, for one, absolutely LOVED this book one of my favorites along with Acheron. However, I'm highly disappointed by the readers giving it a rating of anything below the value it truly deserves. Anyone who read Acheron had to expect this. It's his twin! But we will ignore the cognitive abilities of some people, and go with the book is well written, and while graphic in its portrayal of Styxx's suffering, did anyone really expect her to phone it in?! Especially after reading the Acheron. Honestly... if anyone has read the dark-hunter books (any of them) and could look past the gooey love and sex they would realize that !!ALL OF THEM!!, had they gone back to the beginning of the character they would have had horrible amounts of suffering as well. *talking to a kindergartener tone* "That's kinda one of the reasons they are chosen as dark hunters..." As an after note though... People that are of a weak constitution or they just can't handle violence and abuse (you name it... it has it in there.) Shouldn't read Acheron or Styxx. Any of the others... yeah... mostly because while there is violence there is more than enough fluff in there to make them forget ALL about their stomachs turning at people being turned to dust, and OTHER OTHER Side note.... If you can get past the abuse it also give a health incite to what was happening on the other side of the spectrum in Talon and Acheron's books.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2013

    Wonderful

    Before i bought this book i read the reviews. That being said it made me angry seeing all the one star reviews. If you were moved by this story you should appreciate how much passion the author puts into her writing. Great read that made me cry and laugh.
    Thank you for writing this book about Styxx!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2013

    Loved it!!!!!!!

    Styxx omada!!!!!!!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2013

    Brutally tragic story of a prince misunderstood and abused by all, who still looks for love and acceptance and finds it in his true soul mate.

    This is by far one of my favorites in the series, yet at the same time it is the most disturbing and horrific in the series. The extent of Styxx's abuse is mind-blowing and his simple desire through it all, is just to be loved by one person. He finds that in Bethany. Bethany is a beautiful woman that initially makes a tragic decision that leads to Styxx being abused more. But, this also cements for her that it is Styxx who is the most important thing in her life. Styxx doesn't get a break until the very end. He does get his happy ending and he does finally reconcile with the brother he never stopped loving, but the road he takes to that ending is one that you will cry over. Wonderful writing, and a dynamic group of characters and circumstances that makes this one of the best in the DH world.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2013

    Great book...just as I'd hoped, couldn't put it down

    Styxx's story is heart wrenching, beautifully told and definitely a story I was dieing to read. There have been people who have said they didn't like it because it took away from or made Archoen's story less somehow...but I say they're just stupid. The experiences of a second victim doesn't make the first victim's experiences any less valid or real.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2013

    Oh My F-ing GODS this book is amazing!!!

    From the moment you pick up this gigantic book the popular phrase, Looks can be deceiving, rings true and is repeated over and over again, chapter after chapter. I spent the last couple years hating Prince Styxx of Didymos and the last couple of weeks falling in love with Prince Styxx the war hero, husband, father, and brother. At times I wanted to carve my name right next to Acherons in the pits of Tartarus for my perfectly seeded misconceptions. Acheron and Styxx... A brilliant two part series that complement each other but most definitely can stand alone. How will you top this Sherrylon?

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2013

    WOW... TOTALLY BLEW MY MIND!

    I'm sure I'm not the only Dark Hunter world fan who couldn't stand Styxx! This story will totally blow your mind as we finally go back to the beginning and see his life unfold. I haven't been too impressed with the last couple of Dark Hunter books and started to feel that Ms. Kenyon was just losing interest in continuing the series, or even worse, that she wasn't the one who actually wrote the last two or three. Whatever the situation is or was, she's back on top with this one! Really great read! If you're a Dark Hunter fan... you'll be really happy to see their world is back where it should be, at the top :)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2013

    It is heartbreaking book, but I liked it. It is not like Kenyon'

    It is heartbreaking book, but I liked it. It is not like Kenyon's other books in the series, especially Acheron. Styxx suffers the entire book, instead of him meeting his woman and everything turns to roses. This book is more realistic in the in happily ever after is not meet and girl, kill the villian and live. Styxx suffers long after he meets Bethany. But love is worth it and it lasts 11 millennium. BEWARE: This book is bnot for the faint of heart. Styxx is even more shocking than Acheron. IF this is your first Sherrilyn Kenyon novel, book the book down. You will hate her if this is the first book of hers you read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2013

    Wow

    I did not buy this on my Nook, but I rented it from the local library. I had a very difficult time putting it down.

    I was very upset in Acheron with Styxx. I did not like him. At all.

    I cried through almost this entire book. It was so sad to see everything Styxx went through with noone there to love him or help him through. I was very pleased when he did find peace with the few he let close to him.

    Needless to say, I was very unhappy with Acheron in this book for almost the entire thing. I was ready to murder a fictional character!

    I loved this book. Just finished reading it. Now I will reread all the others and hope it's not too long before Sherrilyn comes out with the next one!

    Fyi... as others have warned, this book is not for the faint of heart. It is a heartbreaking story, but it is with the read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2013

    2nd best in this series!!

    I have read this whole series and only 2 books have actually made me cry... Styxx and Acheron. I can't wait to see what's next!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2013

    Highly recommend! Fabulous story!

    This is by far one of the best in the series! Love the detail. Never saw Styxx's story as quite as compelling as it turned out to be, from what I had read of him in others' stories. I had always seen his vile behavior, never any mention of him otherwise. Getting to see his viewpoint, his life, his experiences, has been an exhilarating thrill ride! The ending was never obvious, and I love the whole book!! Had to read it twice!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I struggled with Acheron's Story and I have to say, I still bore

    I struggled with Acheron's Story and I have to say, I still bore my way through...I found Styxx's story even difficult.  Styxx's life was a life filled with even more torture, hatred, a vivid and brutal degradation...truly  not  my cup of tea in reading material.  That being said, Sherrilyn Kenyon created a brilliantly written story that I quickly developed a love/hate relationship.  The proverbial train wreck waiting to happen, you know its coming but you can't look away. 

    Not only was this story utter heart wrenching but my perspective on Acheron was totally thrown upside down.  I am amazed how Sherrilyn Kenyon's imagination works.  I am blown away by her ability to alter our prospective on so many characters by simply giving us a different point of view.

    Kenyon <i>Styxx's</i>
     had a devastating, lasting effect on the Dark Hunter world.  She wrote a story that will be forever burned in my mind.  I am having a difficult time rating this story because it is a book that I will not ever want to revisit but could not continue reading this series without.  I'm going with 5 stars, if Kenyon can shake me up so thoroughly and rock this series so absolutely it deserves a top rating.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2013

    I Didn¿t Want to Do It I didn¿t want to like Styxx. I promised m

    I Didn’t Want to Do It
    I didn’t want to like Styxx. I promised myself that no matter what I read I was going to hate Styxx because of what he had done to Acheron. But… I had no choice but to soften towards Styxx after I read this story. It actually hurt me to read of how his sister loved one brother and shunned the other. Reading the scenes of sexual abuse was extremely difficult but as a lover of history I know that unfortunately the story did not stray far from the truth of that time period.
    It was difficult not to be angry with Acheron during this book as well. But both of these characters were only pawns in the games played by the gods and it destroyed them both. ACHERON IS STILL MY FAVORITE but Styxx is moving in and trying to steal the #2 spot from Kyrian of Thrace.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2013

    Our Review, by LITERAL ADDICTION's Pack Alpha - Chelle: *Audible

    Our Review, by LITERAL ADDICTION's Pack Alpha - Chelle:
    *Audible Audio book

    I just finished listening and am in utter and complete awe. Fred's narration was impeccable, but the story that Sherrilyn Kenyon laid out
    with this novel is truly one for the ages. Stellar, epic, and mind blowing are just a few of my first impressions.

    I went into this book incredibly hesitant. I love Acheron, and therefore had a deep seated hatred for Styxx, even though his appearances
    in past installments was very limited and splotchy at best. Now we know why... Though instead of magically transforming a villain into a
    lovable hero, Sherrilyn told a well known tale from another perspective and proved how perception and degrees of separation can
    seriously twist the truth. 

    In the telling of this tale, Sherrilyn made me feel things I didn't think a book could make me feel - stomach turning revulsion (this book is
    VERY dark and incredibly violent in many parts!), seething hatred, breath catching anticipation, gut clenching agony from sorrow, loss, &amp;
     loneliness, the weight lifting rush of relief, the heart clenching press of love, and over and over, the rush of anxiety, drama, anticipation,
    and surprise. It was almost exhausting, but utterly wonderful.

    She turned what I THOUGHT I knew about Acheron, Styxx and several others on its ear, and made me rebuild my perception of almost
    the entire primary cast and crew of the DH world. I can only shake my head at the wonder of it all, and feel giddy for what's to come now
    that the record's been set straight. 

    A lot of fans were upset that Styxx's book was slotted here before others', but after having enjoyed it, I can't imagine anybody else's being
     here, and the heightened anticipation for future novels of the DH universe is greater than ever (and that is saying a lot), and I hadn't
    thought it possible - no, I would have said that it was utterly IMpossible for me to love a character more than I love Ash - but I stand
    corrected, as Styxx has claimed my heart like no other character has before; in any series.

    Every single DH fan must read or listen to this book. It's a catalyst, and I'm assuming only just the beginning of SO much more as
    Sherrilyn merges the Chronicles of Nick with the Dark-Hunter/Were-Hunter/Dream-Hunter timelines. Highly recommended!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 307 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 16