Customer Reviews for

Subliminal: How Your Unconscious Mind Rules Your Behavior

Average Rating 4
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

A Readable and Fascinating Scientific Guide to the Unconscious

A fascinating look at the relationship between the unconscious and conscious mind written in understandable scientific terms. The author leaves Freud behind (where he belongs) and looks to the work of William James as the seminal authority on the modern view of the rel...
A fascinating look at the relationship between the unconscious and conscious mind written in understandable scientific terms. The author leaves Freud behind (where he belongs) and looks to the work of William James as the seminal authority on the modern view of the relationship between the conscious and the unconscious. The material on memory gaps and the role of the unconscious in producing "filler" is found in other works, but the treatment here is particularly clear and readable. The author demonstrates how our unconscious plays a positive role in shaping our conscious views and why none of us, no matter what we believe, are truly unbiased because the unconscious protects and defends our view of ourselves. I highly recommend this book.

posted by Deborah03 on May 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Very heavy reading

I couldn't follow along, too lengthy and seemed repetative.

posted by louieML on May 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2012

    A Readable and Fascinating Scientific Guide to the Unconscious

    A fascinating look at the relationship between the unconscious and conscious mind written in understandable scientific terms. The author leaves Freud behind (where he belongs) and looks to the work of William James as the seminal authority on the modern view of the relationship between the conscious and the unconscious. The material on memory gaps and the role of the unconscious in producing "filler" is found in other works, but the treatment here is particularly clear and readable. The author demonstrates how our unconscious plays a positive role in shaping our conscious views and why none of us, no matter what we believe, are truly unbiased because the unconscious protects and defends our view of ourselves. I highly recommend this book.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2012

    Great book

    I'm 13 and I found this very fascinating, and easy to follow along with only a seventh grade understanding of the brain.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2013

    Wonderful insight and easy to read!

    I was a bit unsure about getting this book, at first, seeing as how I'm not a scientist – nor do I have a degree equivalent of – but am glad I purchased it. This book breaks down how your unconscious (along with how it affects your conscious) mind works and relates it to everyday situations so that you may easily understand and grasp the concepts. Think of it as the book version of the show, Bill Nye the Science Guy (for those of you who are young/old enough to have watched it as a kid) – it’s funny and laid-back all while being EXTREMELY informative.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2012

    Very heavy reading

    I couldn't follow along, too lengthy and seemed repetative.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2012

    This book draws attention to the ever watching third eye that h


    This book draws attention to the ever watching third eye that has been "subliminally" guiding us, the conscious living generations after generations with an over view of the past we are not yet privy to consciously.
    This is the Personal Relationship available to us all who seriously respect and take note of "his" presence.

    The Unconscious mind is an experientally based source of Truth that has grown, developed, and matured over the 150,000 years of modrn man's existence and surely even further back in our phylogenetic roots. Taken too lightly even now, after this book has at least scratched the surface of our conscious awareness of this secret friend inside our head, who time and again has whispered great insights and bubbled up in our mind thoughts we ourselves know were not original within the boundaries of our own conscious intellect.

    "In 1920 when Neils Bohr was getting on a bus and thinking intently only of his daughter, the entire structure of quantum mechanics came to him in a flash (as he describes it). Where that flash or intelligence came from, and the timing of it, this is the Pure Intelligence I'm speaking about."

    (This experience revealed the inner immanent God to which Christians refer when they speak of a personal relationship with God). .
    Revelation 21:4-5 And God, (blessing them with Total Phylogenetic Consciousness: [Carl Jung]), shall wipe away, (in their awakened Unconscious Mind: [Freudian Hypothesis]), all tears from their eyes, (for life is a genetically remember able continuum from one generation to the next living generation); (in genetic memories of prior existences held in our Unconscious Mind) there shall be no more death... (For we shall not all "sleep:" [1Co15:51], but total phylogenetic Consciousness will have evolved), neither sorrow... (for we, individually, are part of a living continuum of our own past(s), flowers upon our genetic vine), nor crying,.. (for we are happy in these revelations of reconstitution from our human gene pool), neither shall there be any more pain...) for the former things (in Modern Homo sapiens paradigm of the life experience) are passed away.
    And “He,” (the ancient, phylogenetic, Collective Unconscious Mind), that sat upon the throne (within the kingdom of the evolving Homoiousian sapiens' brain: [Luke 17:21]) said, Behold, (in this way, through evolution: [Gen 9:11-18]), I make all things (in human experience) new. And he said unto me, Write: for these words are true, (rational, and scientifically feasible), and (worthy of) faithful (belief).

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2012

    An interesting study on the subject matter. Filled with example

    An interesting study on the subject matter. Filled with examples of studies of the conscious and subconscious, and the histories of men who pioneered these studies. Perhaps to many examples--but how else to present this type of information? If you have any interest in this subject I recommend this book, otherwise it bogs down with all these studies that are interesting, but are a little over done.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Recommended Book on the Subconscious/Conscious

    This is a good book. I felt that the author could have talked more about the subconscious and conscious parts of the mind at a more technical level. Since this is the second book I have read on the topic partially including "Thinking Fast and Slow," I have reason to calculate this reasoning and generate an inference.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2012

    What the hell? Does this mean I might still have a half a mind?

    What the hell? Does this mean I might still have a half a mind?
    Too bad it's unconscious....

    1 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2012

    This is not the real nicki minaj its me mariah angle or mimi

    But the book is good i luved it so much

    1 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2013

    RD

    Ok will do.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2013

    To deerkeap

    Am i a judge silverfur

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2013

    Deerleap

    Yep. And also please go to the sun trail and tap on the post that says TAP HERE.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1