BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Submerged (Alaskan Courage Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 143 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(65)

4 Star

(42)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Calling all Dee Henderson Fans

I picked this book to review because of the description, and because it was the first book in a series. This was a plus for me because I keep choosing books that are middle or end books in series, which usually ends up costing me money. :-)


When I got the book, I ...
I picked this book to review because of the description, and because it was the first book in a series. This was a plus for me because I keep choosing books that are middle or end books in series, which usually ends up costing me money. :-)


When I got the book, I saw the endorsement from Dee Henderson on the front cover and was intrigued.


After I read the book I was hooked.


For most people, when you read this book, I think you will see a little similarity to Dee's style of writing. Maybe it's just the same type of genre, mystery, action, fiction, and solid Christian faith. It could also be because Dani Pettrey has been mentored by Dee Henderson. (She is mentioned in the acknowledgements at the end.)


There were some parts of this book that were a little predictable, but I think that is something she will work out in time. There were also quite a few times that I actually got a little caught up in the secondary characters and wondering where their stories would go. I have ideas in my mind, and I can't wait to see if Ms. Pettrey will go in the same direction.


The book had a solid plot and good detail. I loved the historical story woven throughout. I felt for the character as she dealt with the past and her the after-effects of her choices. The underlying theme of God's grace and redemption woven throughout the story show how it's not God who can't forgive, it's we as people who can't forgive ourselves.


All in all, I think this is a good solid book and definitely recommend that you put it on your TBR list.


This book was provided to me free of charge by Bethany House Book Reviews.

posted by KCPryzr on August 23, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

I think I would have enjoyed this book a lot better if, say, I w

I think I would have enjoyed this book a lot better if, say, I was about....oh....15. It does have mystery and romance, but it just wasn't my cup of tea. First off, the main character always seemed like she was ready to burst out into tears. I wanted her drink a big cup...
I think I would have enjoyed this book a lot better if, say, I was about....oh....15. It does have mystery and romance, but it just wasn't my cup of tea. First off, the main character always seemed like she was ready to burst out into tears. I wanted her drink a big cup of happiness, and found myself rolling my eyes at her after a while. Please, get a grip! It did have a great message and really good values woven into it. I just think that this is more for YA readers who do not yet have a lot of experience with love and are looking for a book to get lost in that isn't filled with sex and violence. Like I said, good book, just not for the stage I am in my life.

posted by UnderthePink on August 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted August 23, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Calling all Dee Henderson Fans

    I picked this book to review because of the description, and because it was the first book in a series. This was a plus for me because I keep choosing books that are middle or end books in series, which usually ends up costing me money. :-)


    When I got the book, I saw the endorsement from Dee Henderson on the front cover and was intrigued.


    After I read the book I was hooked.


    For most people, when you read this book, I think you will see a little similarity to Dee's style of writing. Maybe it's just the same type of genre, mystery, action, fiction, and solid Christian faith. It could also be because Dani Pettrey has been mentored by Dee Henderson. (She is mentioned in the acknowledgements at the end.)


    There were some parts of this book that were a little predictable, but I think that is something she will work out in time. There were also quite a few times that I actually got a little caught up in the secondary characters and wondering where their stories would go. I have ideas in my mind, and I can't wait to see if Ms. Pettrey will go in the same direction.


    The book had a solid plot and good detail. I loved the historical story woven throughout. I felt for the character as she dealt with the past and her the after-effects of her choices. The underlying theme of God's grace and redemption woven throughout the story show how it's not God who can't forgive, it's we as people who can't forgive ourselves.


    All in all, I think this is a good solid book and definitely recommend that you put it on your TBR list.


    This book was provided to me free of charge by Bethany House Book Reviews.

    17 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2014

    Mystery

    Family and relationships
    Pasts no one forgets
    New life with forgiveness
    Romance

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Strong new Christian mystery writer A prologue opens the novel

    Strong new Christian mystery writer
    A prologue opens the novel Submerged and thrusts readers right into a mystery - who sabotaged the plane ending in crash that causes several deaths and why? Frequent Christian fiction readers will find a style similar to Dee Henderson. Book one in the Alaskan Courage series features Bailey who returns to the Alaskan village of her teen years to attend her aunt's funeral, fearful that residents will remember her as a wild, reckless girl and will not be able to see the stable, grounded woman she has become. Her plan is to take care of family business and quickly leave town. When a stolen old Russian diary, two more dead bodies, and rumors of an island village that sank years ago in an earthquake seem to be all connected, Bailey's expertise in Russian history is needed. Resuce diver Cole and his family are also thrust into solving the mystery. Despite the danger, Cole is thankful for each day Bailey must spend in Alaska. How can he convince her that he's long ago forgiven her for the mistakes she made ten years ago? And if she decides to leave, how will his heart mend a second time?


    This romantic mystery illustrates that when given new chances and new lives, we too often continue to punish ourselves and refuse to truly accept that the past is over. For Bailey, returning to Yancey means facing once again a past she thought she had left behind. Author Pettrey excels in creating exciting beginnings. Both the prologue and the first chapters demanded that I continue reading. At times I felt Bailey fears about her past were a little heavy handed, but then Pettrey included a very realistic scene in which some of the girl's "past so-called partying friends" treated her as they had ten years earlier, making her fears seem plausible.



    The violence and crime is not "whitewashed' as it sometimes is in "quiet mysteries," but it is not raw and horrific like many contemporary thrillers. Balanced with the romance and the story's positive lesson about second chances through the Lord, Submerged is a title I could recommend for readers age 13 and up. Older readers like myself, who have read hundreds upon hundreds of books, the style and story will not stand out as unique, but it is still an enjoyable read. Like Dee Henderson's mystery series, this book provides plenty of opportunity for further books set in Yancey, Alaska and featuring more members of the extended McKenna. Check out Dani Pettrey's website to read about her, listen to an interview about Submerged, her first book, and get a preview of her next book Shattered.


    I received this title from Bethany House for review purposes. I am not required to write a positive review and all opinions are my own.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2013

    Nice read

    Great story plot! I loved the secondary character lines and the history woven throughout. Looking forward to reading more by this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2013

    I read the second book, Shattered, before this one and I althoug

    I read the second book, Shattered, before this one and I although I still enjoyed it I would recommend starting with Submerged first. There was a lot of history with the characters that I had previously missed out on. This is Dani's first book, I believe, and what a start to her career! She is right up there in my opinion with well known suspense authors such as Irene Hannon and Lynette Eason.  And she's extra cool because she's a fellow homeschooling mom.




    I was immediately sucked into the story and didn't want to come up for air until I was done, but of course I had to a couple of times. I loved that it was set in Alaska, and that the McKenna's owned a dive shop - not something you would expect in Alaska! They use dry suits but even so that water must be awfully cold.




    I saw today that the next book in the series, Stranded, is coming out this fall and I can't wait to read it. I like it when a series follows different people each book, but the characters are somehow known or related in some way to the ones you've already read about in previous books. This series follows the McKenna siblings.




    This book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. Available at your favourite bookseller from Bethany House, a division of Baker Publishing Group.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2013

    I'm not sure why I put off reading this book for so long. I supp

    I'm not sure why I put off reading this book for so long. I suppose I just didn't make the time for it. Shame on me, because it was simply fantastic! It's nearly impossible to believe that this is Dani Pettrey's debut novel. The plot was so tight and the suspense was incredibly well-written! I was intrigued from the very beginning and enjoyed the roller coaster to the end.

    I love, love, LOVED Bailey and Cole and thoroughly enjoyed watching their relationship develop. Plus, Cole's family (clan may be more appropriate) was a lot of fun too. I look forward to getting to know them in future books. My only complaint was that things wrapped up a little quickly at the end. Minor complaint, though!

    I wholeheartedly recommend Submerged and can't wait to see where Dani takes readers from here! [4.5 stars]

    I was not asked to review this book. I offer my review freely. All opinions expressed are my own.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2014

    Great read. Not up to the intense criminology of Sherlock or Ste

    Great read. Not up to the intense criminology of Sherlock or Steven James, but a darn good read. Much better than Dee Henderson, IMHO. The plot can be a bit predictable, but she crafts her characters so well you don't really care. And watch out for those secondary characters, they will have you buying the rest of the series before you can blink.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2014

    Great read!

    I have a new favorite author! I enjoyed this book very much! After I read it I had to read the sequel, Shattered. Then there are two more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2014

    Great book

    This was such a good read that I have already purchased another on

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2013

    good

    good read, enjoyed very much ,can't wait too read 2nd book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2013

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It contains a good balance of su

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It contains a good balance of suspense, romance, and Christian views. I only wonder why many of the character's names are the same as those in Karen Kingsbury's books. Cole, Landon, Bailey....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2013

    Best book!!

    Great book,keeps you at the edge of your seat!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    Reader

    Great book nice to read a good story with meaning and content. Ready to start the second one!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2013

    A good read

    It has everything. A little romance, a little mystery and a good ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    I chose this book because it came up on my Nook pick of the day.

    I chose this book because it came up on my Nook pick of the day. I enjoyed it so much I'll be reading the next book, Shattered. This has adventure, mystery, just enough romance and something new for me, faith. Thoroughly enjoyed this book and looking forward to more from Dani Pettrey!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    Great book, highly recommend!

    Loved this book! Can't wait for book #2. Must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2013

    Loved it!

    A great story with a touch of history, with a great twist, who wouldn't love that??? Definitely recommend. Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2013

    This book had suspense and clean romance and was easy to read.

    This book had suspense and clean romance and was easy to read. I am ready to read the second book (it should be out February 1) since this one left some open ends for a couple of characters. :-)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Submerged

    Sounds like an extrem suspence. I look forward to reading more soon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    Recommended - just enough romance and suspense

    Enjoyed the book. Read it for a Ladies Book Club. Good discussion topics.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3