Customer Reviews for

Subterranean

Average Rating 4.5
( 230 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(125)

4 Star

(59)

3 Star

(35)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Another addictive page turner

Although Subterranean doesn't have his normal hero, this book is one of his best. As he always does, he captivates you in the very first chapter, then holds you by the collar throughout the rest of the book. James Rollins is never one to go lightly on your emotions and...
Although Subterranean doesn't have his normal hero, this book is one of his best. As he always does, he captivates you in the very first chapter, then holds you by the collar throughout the rest of the book. James Rollins is never one to go lightly on your emotions and in Subterranean he seems to even have developed the capacity to tap into your adrenalin flow.

By Chapter three, you will enter a mode of constant reading and sleep deprivation. By the end of this fascinating novel you will need a two day recovery period at the minimum. A week would be better.

By the way, did I say I really liked this novel. OK, that's because I really loved it!

posted by RHarrisonR on May 16, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Outlandish.

Had a good initial plot and original idea, but the author lost me 3/4 way through the book with a disappointing ending. Some main characters underdeveloped and left me guessing. More suited for a made-for-TV sci-fi low budget film.

posted by 237944 on September 22, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 125 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted May 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Another addictive page turner

    Although Subterranean doesn't have his normal hero, this book is one of his best. As he always does, he captivates you in the very first chapter, then holds you by the collar throughout the rest of the book. James Rollins is never one to go lightly on your emotions and in Subterranean he seems to even have developed the capacity to tap into your adrenalin flow.

    By Chapter three, you will enter a mode of constant reading and sleep deprivation. By the end of this fascinating novel you will need a two day recovery period at the minimum. A week would be better.

    By the way, did I say I really liked this novel. OK, that's because I really loved it!

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2010

    Subterranean is an excellent archeological/supernatural/crime thriller!

    James Rollins mixes so many good elements into his stories. In one book, you get archeological fiction, supernatural doings, and crime by one, or by all. Excellent, thought-provoking story, and definitely a fun book that keeps you reading!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Incredible

    Lost civilizations and scientific finds 2 miles below the earths surface. Wow! Incredible. Rollins takes his readers on a roller coaster ride. Hard to find a place to put this book down. Subterranean is well written and very intriguing. Rollins stretches the boundaries of reality, but that is part of what makes his books so hard to put down.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2007

    Thrilling Adventure

    My first Rollins book and it is a great adventure. I was looking for a replacement author for Michael Crichton, who's last two books were very disapointing. Rollins really delivers an imaginative techno-thriller. I will be reading more of his books.I may even try some of his fantasy books under his pen name James Clemens.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2013

    STILL HIS BEST BOOK

    This was his first and I still think his best! Wish he had never started the Sigma Force books and just kept writing this kind. FUN, SUSPENCE, EXCITING, EXCELLENT!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2013

    Great book!!

    One of his best books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Below the snowy tundra of Antarctica, a team of scientists and s

    Below the snowy tundra of Antarctica, a team of scientists and soldiers make a discovering of a lifetime. But little do they know, the more they explore the system of underground tunnels, they closer they get to life threatening danger.
    James Rollins knows how to write a thrilling adventure. He is a master of mixing the possible with the fantastic. His stories whether they are stand alone or part of his Sigma series, are always a good thrill ride. He has yet to disappoint. Characters you like, adventures though fantastic seem very real. If you love Clive Cussler, you'll like James Rollins.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2011

    A must read for anyone!

    Subterranean is one of those books where you think you know what's going to happen next, but then Rollins completely shifts your train of thought. From the beginning to the end I was hooked and finished the book in days. I quite literally couldn't put it down, and when I did it was only to eat or use the bathroom. This is one of four books I have read of Rolllins and like the others I found this one magnificent. You must read this book to truly understand what an amazing author he is. Buy it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2014

    Rollins Rocks!!!

    This is the first book I read of Rollins and couldn't put it down!!! I've read every book of his up tell now. I think he is one of the best writers of or time. Once you start reading his books they are hard to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2014

    intriguing idea

    A land bridge from Australia to Antarctica, subterranean descendants of intrepid ancient explorers - read more to find out what happens in this adventure!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2014

    Rollins hit a Grand Slam-adventure, historical accuracy and action galore!

    The characters in this book are vivid, realistic and dependent on each other for knowledge and survival. Hints and clues abound for what happens next and challenge the reader to "fill in the blanks". Here is a book that flows with a descriptive elegance regarding the surroundings and arouses a visual realization in the mind of the reader. One event will raise an eyebrow and the inner question - "why didn't I think of that." This book was created for the reader that enjoys "cliff hanger" (no pun intended) entertainment. Not for speed readers, slow down and enjoy the ride. Here is a book that shifts from one scene to the next with an expert approach to stimulating imagination.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2014

    Wow

    The various life forms that have existed on this planet are truly incredible to consider. This excellent thriller does not go far astray from the fossil record or evolutionary trail. A great story, you may stay up all night trying to read it through !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2013

    Another great book!

    If you like adventure, action, romane and a little sci-fi this is a great read! I really could not put down. If you lean more on the non-fiction side this will not be your book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2013

    Excellent read!!

    I could not put this book down. Faxt paced. Action packed! I lobed it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2012

    I

    Ou ol mmuj

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2012

    Highly Recommend

    Just another great book by James Rollins. Very exciting action packed read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2012

    Great book

    Lots of adventure and suspense.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2012

    Outstanding

    James Rollins leads thr reader through a fast paced high energy adventure. This is his first novel and sets us up for the writing style that would make the Sigma series such a success.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2012

    What an amazing adventure!

    I read all the Sigma series over the last few months and was disappointed to come to the (temporary) end of the series...until I started reading Subterranean! Good character development and a story line that kept me up WAY too late at night, I couldn't put this one down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2011

    What can I say other that Awsome book

    Another great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 125 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7