Customer Reviews for

The Subtle Knife (His Dark Materials Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 451 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(275)

4 Star

(109)

3 Star

(44)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

awsome read

this book and The Golden Compass gave me a different idea of the world (or worlds?)

posted by 5691374 on February 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Still, very, very, very confused.

Much like my review for The Golden Compass, this book was very confusing, and I am still having a hard time truly understanding what is going on. At this point the only reason I am going to read the final book is in hopes that some of this is explained in full detail. W...
Much like my review for The Golden Compass, this book was very confusing, and I am still having a hard time truly understanding what is going on. At this point the only reason I am going to read the final book is in hopes that some of this is explained in full detail. Which I highly doubt. I still don't understand how this series of books was meant/directed towards children, much less adults as I have found myself pushing my way thru them, re-reading things as I go as these stories are not fluid and truly do not flow.

posted by danBOOKe on October 18, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 454 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 23
  • Posted November 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The continuation of a great adventure

    A continuation of The Golden Compass. Pullman does well continuing the story with some new characters. Very good series. Highly recommended.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2011

    awsome read

    this book and The Golden Compass gave me a different idea of the world (or worlds?)

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2010

    Fantastic

    I read The Subtle Knife for my second book in summer reading. My first book was the prequel The Golden Compass I absolutely loved it. Wanting to read more I read The Subtle Knife and It did not disappoint It was even better than the first book In The beginning you are introduced to Will and eventually Will and Lyra meet and continue on Lyra's journey on discovering her parents, her self, her demons true form, and her destiny. This book was as good as the first.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Takes Up Where The Golden Compass Leaves Off

    This isn't quite fair since I've now read the entire trilogy, but The Subtle Knife, while excellent, didn't quite grab me like the first or third parts. The addition of Will was brilliant, and his is obviously a thoroughly drawn character. He seems to be just the right combination of edgy, precocious, and yet still child-like - and a perfect foil for Lyra.

    Whatever might be said about the middle third, be sure to read this trilogy in order, or you will find the total effect greatly diminished.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2013

    A very strange change of pace, but with characters so vivid,a pl

    A very strange change of pace, but with characters so vivid,a plot so gripping, and a twist no fan saw coming, you won't care.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2013

    The Subtle Knife

    I did not like this one as much as I liked the first book. I was a little lost at the beginning, but it explained everything completely later. In all this one is less about Lyra and more about the newest main character Will. There were times I had trouble following along with the plot, but in all a great story and continuation to the Golden Compass.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    A Trilogy For All Ages

    Powerful, beautiful and emotional (it made me cry!). Still has the hypnotizing adventures that you just cant put down. It becomes more "spirit worldly" and if youre a parent maybe something you would want to read first before your child. One message rings clear "children can change the world!" The introduction of a male protagonist is great and gives the reader another perspective just as fascinating a Lyras. What a captivatingly unique story, so rich and colorful. I need more of these types of books. Thank you Mr. Pullman.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2012

    Lord Voldemort

    Great!! The saddest part is where lee dies. :(

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2011

    best book ever

    loved it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2010

    Absolutely Love It!

    In grade school I couldn't read this enough. Just finished it for the hundreth time in my life and its still mu favorite after all these years:) I definately recommend you read it!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Still, very, very, very confused.

    Much like my review for The Golden Compass, this book was very confusing, and I am still having a hard time truly understanding what is going on. At this point the only reason I am going to read the final book is in hopes that some of this is explained in full detail. Which I highly doubt. I still don't understand how this series of books was meant/directed towards children, much less adults as I have found myself pushing my way thru them, re-reading things as I go as these stories are not fluid and truly do not flow.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2010

    Awesome Book!

    This sequel to The Golden Compass was as fantastic as the first one, if not better. The author does a wonderful job of describing the world of The Subtle Knife, such as the scene in which the titular subtle knife is introduced in the city of Cittágazze. The plot keeps you guessing as new characters are introduced and twists thrown at you from every angle. It follows the continuing story of Lyra Belaqua, as it becomes intertwined with that of Will Parry, who is a boy from our world as opposed to Lyra's. They travel on a quest to find his father, who was lost while on an expedition years ago. Even though it may be somewhat slow at times, it always manages to recapture your attention with an epic scene that makes up for it all. It ends with a very suspenseful conclusion that will leave you begging for the sequel immediately. I would recommend this book to anybody who loves a good, edge-of-your-seat fantasy novel, especially if you've read the prequel, The Golden Compass.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2010

    Book was great, but ebook is incorrect.

    The eBook version I got on my nook was missing entire parts of the books including the parts about the actual sublte knife. Ridiculous.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2005

    awsomeness!!

    one of my absolute faveorite books. one of the only books that really worked my brain a great book thru and thru

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2002

    So Much Good, But Falls So Short

    I respect Phillip Pullman. I read the first of his Dark Materials trilogy and was impressed by several stylistic elements. First, his plot is excellent. It iw well considered, organized, well thought out and invigorating. The same can be said for The Subtle Knife. The second thing I must still commend him for is his recognization of the audience. At times Pullman writes to his audience as if they are a member of the society he is describing, and in course he lets the audience in on secrets of that society, as if they had been born in to it. It is the way he writes of Lyra's home world. This style, while commendable, also raises a problem. By assuming the reader is a knowledgable audience member, he never describes some elements of the society until they are uncovered by the plot. Fortunatly the plot is good enough to buoy the books along. But plot isn't everything, and by the time I reached The Subtle Knife, I noticed something was lacking. What I truly longed for was a three-dimensional character. One I could empathize with and follow as they moved through thier exploits. I was hoping Pullman would expand upon Lyra, or her new companion, Will would have some emotion attached to them that would connect these characters to the readers. Yet they continue to stumble through this marvelous plot like half broken mannequins, drunk with thier own blandness. I found the wonderful twists and turns of the plot meant less and less as the book wore on. I didn't care if Lyra and Will were attacked, because Pullman hadn't given me enough reason to care about them in the first place. The fantastic plot of the Golden Compass was enough to make me go out and buy The Subtle Knife. The lack of substantial characters in The Subtle Knife has made me throw it across the room upon completion where it lays, unable to prod me to read this series anymmore.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2001

    Breathtaking!

    This book was made out of pure genius! It is by far the best book I have ever read. Touching,suspenseful,delightfull. You name it, this book had it all!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2001

    Couldn't Be Better

    The Dark Materials Trilogy is the best Trilogy I have read. It is amazing that someone can come up with all of that stuff. I think that these are the best books in the world. When I started reading these books I fell in love with these books. The way I heard about these books is that my best friend read them and she said they were so good. Now I like them more than her.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2014

    Highly dissapointing

    After watching the movie "The Golden Compass" I was very excited to read the books and find out what happens to all the wonderful characters. The first book was good and I can see why they made the movie, but the next two books felt more like an agenda by the author and held no real magic of their own. Very unworthy of the ideas set forth in the first book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2014

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    I stongly disagree with LAME

    Phillup Pullman is not against christains he mentions all religouns so next time you post something like that you should pay attention to thr book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 454 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 23