Customer Reviews for

The Subtle Knife (His Dark Materials Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 451 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(275)

4 Star

(109)

3 Star

(44)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

The continuation of a great adventure

A continuation of The Golden Compass. Pullman does well continuing the story with some new characters. Very good series. Highly recommended.

posted by AnnieBM on November 2, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Still, very, very, very confused.

Much like my review for The Golden Compass, this book was very confusing, and I am still having a hard time truly understanding what is going on. At this point the only reason I am going to read the final book is in hopes that some of this is explained in full detail. W...
Much like my review for The Golden Compass, this book was very confusing, and I am still having a hard time truly understanding what is going on. At this point the only reason I am going to read the final book is in hopes that some of this is explained in full detail. Which I highly doubt. I still don't understand how this series of books was meant/directed towards children, much less adults as I have found myself pushing my way thru them, re-reading things as I go as these stories are not fluid and truly do not flow.

posted by danBOOKe on October 18, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Still, very, very, very confused.

    Much like my review for The Golden Compass, this book was very confusing, and I am still having a hard time truly understanding what is going on. At this point the only reason I am going to read the final book is in hopes that some of this is explained in full detail. Which I highly doubt. I still don't understand how this series of books was meant/directed towards children, much less adults as I have found myself pushing my way thru them, re-reading things as I go as these stories are not fluid and truly do not flow.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2002

    So Much Good, But Falls So Short

    I respect Phillip Pullman. I read the first of his Dark Materials trilogy and was impressed by several stylistic elements. First, his plot is excellent. It iw well considered, organized, well thought out and invigorating. The same can be said for The Subtle Knife. The second thing I must still commend him for is his recognization of the audience. At times Pullman writes to his audience as if they are a member of the society he is describing, and in course he lets the audience in on secrets of that society, as if they had been born in to it. It is the way he writes of Lyra's home world. This style, while commendable, also raises a problem. By assuming the reader is a knowledgable audience member, he never describes some elements of the society until they are uncovered by the plot. Fortunatly the plot is good enough to buoy the books along. But plot isn't everything, and by the time I reached The Subtle Knife, I noticed something was lacking. What I truly longed for was a three-dimensional character. One I could empathize with and follow as they moved through thier exploits. I was hoping Pullman would expand upon Lyra, or her new companion, Will would have some emotion attached to them that would connect these characters to the readers. Yet they continue to stumble through this marvelous plot like half broken mannequins, drunk with thier own blandness. I found the wonderful twists and turns of the plot meant less and less as the book wore on. I didn't care if Lyra and Will were attacked, because Pullman hadn't given me enough reason to care about them in the first place. The fantastic plot of the Golden Compass was enough to make me go out and buy The Subtle Knife. The lack of substantial characters in The Subtle Knife has made me throw it across the room upon completion where it lays, unable to prod me to read this series anymmore.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2014

    Highly dissapointing

    After watching the movie "The Golden Compass" I was very excited to read the books and find out what happens to all the wonderful characters. The first book was good and I can see why they made the movie, but the next two books felt more like an agenda by the author and held no real magic of their own. Very unworthy of the ideas set forth in the first book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2013

    His Dark Materials

    SPOILER ALERT:

    The first book is good until the very end, Lyra goes all that way to save her friend just to have her dad kill him.

    The second book wasn't as good. Putting it lightly Will gets 7 fingers and a wound that never seems to heal, all of this in great detail, where as in the begining of the book he had 10 fingers and no serious wounds. He finally finds his father only for his father to die seconds later.

    The third book was the worst in my opinion. Lyra's parents fall into the abyss taking a bad angel with them to give Lyra more time. The bad guys are good guys its so sweet it really really bothers you why did they have to do it, it makes you feel very bad about their death. Then when they free every one from the underworld and thats sweet but, they had to leave Pan and Java behind. Then they fall in love but, they have to close all the portals and if they stay in worlds other than there own the will eventually sicken and die. So they can never see each other again. Also Lyra was able to read the golden compass by grace and the grace ended so she cant read it any more unless she goes through years of training, though she will never master it as she had done, from then on she would always have to consult the books.

    All in all a very bad book series. :( absolutly horrid.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    Froststripe

    I am originally from thunderclan. Im interrested in a new clan. I can hunt mice , voles and other things. I here about all these new clans untill now ive only heard of thunder river wind shadow and sky clans.

    PLEASE HELP!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2007

    Not A Kid Book

    As the middle book it is messy and long. It continues with Lyra attempting to find her friend whom her father sacrificed to meet his own goals. Now we meet Will a youth who has murdered a man to save his mother and is now running from the law. After a fight in which he murders another man he is given the knife which he uses without understanding it's power. Later in the book Lyra's mother seduces a man and kills him. These are really not kid books. This books should be for 16 and 17 year olds and older not for the 11 to 13 year old crowd.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2005

    sorry didn't like this book

    This is a book for people who like to read long mystierious books. In my opinion it wasn't that great, The fist book I really liked it was wasn't as slow going and easier to read I thought at least. I guess it wasn't that bad but I didn't like it so I do not recomend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1