Customer Reviews for

Successful Women Think Differently: 9 Habits to Make You Happier, Healthier, and More Resilient

Average Rating 4.5
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted February 15, 2012

    Her Best Book Yet!

    Valorie Burton has been my go-to guru for personal growth for years. I'm so excited to put her 9 habits into practice as I take my career in a new direction and make the time to nurture those relationships that energize my life. Recently I sailed through a week jammed with challenges and commitments by harnessing the "power of the pen" as discussed in her final chapter. Every goal I'd set down on paper manifested beautifully--and people from whom I'd faced resistance in the past actually became my greatest allies in getting things done! I'm a better parent, partner and professional when I "Think Differently." Tonight I'll use Valorie's "three blessings" technique to get a better night's sleep. If you're looking for a tool to help erase the blockages and allow your inner brilliance to break through, this book is the one.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2012

    Remarkable Read

    This book is well organized and the content remarkable! I found the topics to be applicable to not only my professional experience but, my personal life as well. The tools and exercises embedded in the chapters, help to reinforce the overarching theme of the book. Anyone desiring more out of life must read this book!!!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    Wow, SUCCESSFUL WOMEN THINK DIFFERENTLY is a life changer. I rea

    Wow, SUCCESSFUL WOMEN THINK DIFFERENTLY is a life changer. I read this book in two days, couldn't put it down and just gave to my husband. Thank you, Valorie, for helping me start to change perceptions about myself and to getting on a road that helps me make better decisions, be more focused, and to take charge of my life again. Will read this many more times, I know, and am looking forward to your next book as well!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2012

    As a certified personal and executive coach, Valorie Burton actu

    As a certified personal and executive coach, Valorie Burton actually works herself out of her job. You see, her most meaningful goal is to teach her clients to coach themselves. I’ve not ever utilized a personal coach, so I found Valorie’s book, Successful Women Think Differently, a dynamic tool to help yourself help yourself through God’s power.

    The questions Valorie proposes make you dig deep into yourself to really find out who you are and what makes you tick. It’s not a haphazard trip, but a methodical journey in changing the way you think so you can succeed in whatever area you need help. Valorie uses typical, personal accounts of real people and how they accomplished this task. They help to convey her message succinctly. “Be transformed by the renewing of your mind.”

    Valorie encompasses seven key decisions:

    Believe You Can Do It–How do you explain your successes and failures?
    Get off the Hedonic Treadmill–We are poor predictors of our own happiness
    Stop Trying to Fix Your Weaknesses–Start building on what’s right
    Build Your Muscle of Self-Control–Talent isn’t enough
    Cultivate Positive Emotion–Saving your relationships and transforming your life
    Be Prepare for Battle–Expect obstacles and have a proven plan to overcome
    Don’t Be a “Maximizer”–Overabundance can rob your satisfaction; make you ineffective
    Don’t Go It Alone–Cultivate authentic connections/relationships
    Write It Down–The power of the pen reveals your inner reasoning

    Within each chapter are various decisions outlined, key lessons that are explained in that specific chapter, ‘what every woman should know’ section, a personal coaching toolkit, and a ‘think differently’ section. You will be personally confronted in your thinking, as that is where the problems begin; “As a man thinks, so is he.”

    I read this book in order to provide my review, but it’s a book I will need to go back to and answer the questions to glean new insights for myself. In other words, this is a hands-on book. It’s a powerful tool if you are willing to invest your time working it through. I highly recommend this book for personal study or even use in a discreet Bible study (“What’s said in this room stays in this room” type).

    Special thanks to Karri | Marketing Assistant | Harvest House Publishers for sending me a review copy in exchange for my honest review. No monetary compensation was exchanged.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    Great book for all especially newbies or cost conscious

    Great book for all especially newbies or cost conscious

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2014

    Highly Recommended

    This book is very encouraging.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    Awesome book

    This book is thoughtfully written and is made complete with questions created to encourage growth.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2013

    Up-lifting

    This a must read if you feel like you are just a worker-bee type person in life. It is well informing and helps you see your career in a new light.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2013

    Loved this book!!! It's inspiring and encourages you to move for

    Loved this book!!! It's inspiring and encourages you to move forward with your project. Valorie helps you to face your excuses/roadblocks head on and she shows you how to move forward. Great writing!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1