Customer Reviews for

Succubus Blues (Georgina Kincaid Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 645 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(358)

4 Star

(164)

3 Star

(88)

2 Star

(24)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

26 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

A great series!

This series hooked me from the first chapter! I just finished the Twilight series and was looking for something else. Succubus Blues was recommended on one of the websites and I am so grateful to have found it! I feel cheated when a writer ends a series because ...
This series hooked me from the first chapter! I just finished the Twilight series and was looking for something else. Succubus Blues was recommended on one of the websites and I am so grateful to have found it! I feel cheated when a writer ends a series because you are left wondering what will happen next, especially since immortals live forever. This series does not disappoint, it has action, romance, comedy and even some well written love scenes! I cannot wait to read more books, Richelle Mead, you have made a fan out of me! I hope soon someone realizes just how good these books would translate into GREAT movies! Twilight is great for YA but for a little more mature audience... read this series!

posted by Anonymous on October 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Good, but sexually explicit

I enjoyed this book and the sequel Succubus Dreams, but I was very dissapointed in the sexual content. I felt that there could have been far less desciption of the sex scenes and you could still enjoy the book just as much. I have read the teen fiction written by this a...
I enjoyed this book and the sequel Succubus Dreams, but I was very dissapointed in the sexual content. I felt that there could have been far less desciption of the sex scenes and you could still enjoy the book just as much. I have read the teen fiction written by this author, and I loved it. I know this is not listed under teen fiction, but I did not relaize just how much more adult content would be in this book. However, this is a very interesting story line. Very campy and off beat. The characters are well developed. If you are fan of vampires, and other mystical beings and are not worried about gratuitous sex scenes, this is the book for you.

posted by leechloverqueen on March 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 651 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 33
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2008

    A great series!

    This series hooked me from the first chapter! I just finished the Twilight series and was looking for something else. Succubus Blues was recommended on one of the websites and I am so grateful to have found it! I feel cheated when a writer ends a series because you are left wondering what will happen next, especially since immortals live forever. This series does not disappoint, it has action, romance, comedy and even some well written love scenes! I cannot wait to read more books, Richelle Mead, you have made a fan out of me! I hope soon someone realizes just how good these books would translate into GREAT movies! Twilight is great for YA but for a little more mature audience... read this series!

    26 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Richelle Mead's a talented author!!

    I started off reading Richelle Mead's "The Vampire Academy" series and when i finished all 4 books i went looking for more of her work. I came across this series and decided to give it a try. I instantly became absorbed in the first book and went out and bought the rest of the succubus books. The first book "Succubus Blues" was fun and thrilling, i loved the characters and the twist, i definitely didn't see it coming. I think if you enjoyed the writings of her other books you'll love this series, and if you haven't read her other series but love paranormal stories you'll still love this!

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2009

    Sucked in on the Succubus

    the story line was never boring, funny and exciting read

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Good, but sexually explicit

    I enjoyed this book and the sequel Succubus Dreams, but I was very dissapointed in the sexual content. I felt that there could have been far less desciption of the sex scenes and you could still enjoy the book just as much. I have read the teen fiction written by this author, and I loved it. I know this is not listed under teen fiction, but I did not relaize just how much more adult content would be in this book. However, this is a very interesting story line. Very campy and off beat. The characters are well developed. If you are fan of vampires, and other mystical beings and are not worried about gratuitous sex scenes, this is the book for you.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2007

    When do I get the next one?

    Georgina, Georgina. Shape-shifting, short skirts and serial killers? What's a girl to do? Richelle Mead has created an entertaining tale, full of characters that stay sympathetic even when they're at their snarkiest. This was a fun read, with good pacing and plenty of twists and turns. I also like the idea of an anti-social love interest: it's refreshing. Highly recommended!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2012

    Highly recommend

    I started reading YA paranormal books, and I loved them, but they were a little..well, "YA". So I looked for authors I loved in YA and went looking to see if they had any paranormal books for adults. I have to say this book met every expectation I had. I was hooked on the first book, I thought it was FANTASTIC! Now, I'm a very intense reader, and I get slightly obsessed, this is mind I bought this entire series in one day, and read the entire series over two days. And I re-read them constantly. I absolutely love Georgina. I loved all the characters. I loved the twists and turns and mystery. It is a bit sexually explict, but we're all adults here, age wise that is. The main characters attitude and spark keep you entertained and wanting more, naturally. Richelle Mead is a fantastic writer. I connected amazingly with this entire series.
    If you like paranormal romance than I recommend this series, highly. Definitely an adult book though. If you've read this series and want more books like it, I've found that I love Kelley Armstrong (Women of the Otherworld series), Patrica Briggs (Mercy Thompson series), Keri Arthur (Riley Jenson Guardian series), and if you like historical paranormal romance with a twist read the Colleen Gleason (Gardella Vampire Chronicles series). All of these books are a *must* have for PR readers.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2007

    A fun read.

    A fun read. Simple and straight forward, Mead's debut will entice you from beginning to end. A must read for fantasy fans everywhere.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Love this series!!!

    Richelle Mead's Succubus series is great. Plenty of unexpected twists in the plot to keep you sucked in and not wanting to go to sleep without finishing the book as well as some extremely steamy sceens. Not to mention a good dose of humor thrown in just for good measure.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2012

    Great series!

    I absolutley love RM! Has great imagination, i'm a fan of all her series (i also read Vampire Academy & Bloodline.....a fan of them all) enjoying the Succubus series

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2012

    ...

    I just read the entire series in 3 days. Yeah, I'm a fast reader, but it was mostly because I couldn't put the books down. If you like books like Twilight and The Fever Series by Karen Marie Moning, this series is worth the time to read

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    Just perfect!

    I love this series. It was laugh out loud funny, witty, romantic, thrilling, and heart warming. Georgina and Seth are wonderfully multidimensional as characters and Richelle does a fantastic job fleshing them out. The side characters are equally loveable and I am so sad to see the series end. Thank you for creating a love interest out of a nerdy, yet amazingly sexy writer andI can't wait to read the rest of your books.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2011

    Completely sucked in!

    This is an absolutely fantastic series and I was stuck in my Nook for 6 straight books. From page 1 of Succubus Blues all the way through Succubus Revealed, I felt the passion and empathized with everything Georgina Kincaid felt. After finishing the series, I was so disappointed that it ended! :)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2011

    A good, fun read.

    Well written, fast paced, fun read. I wasn't bored with it in the least. I loved the intermix of Greek Mythology along with the paranormal community making this a very unique series. I recommened this for all of the Kim Harrison "Hallows" fans who are going through withdraw inbetween book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2009

    Succubus

    Loved it. A fun read with great characters.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Slow

    Not great, just O.K. A little slow for me, the author takes a while before she gets to the point. The story was good.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Definitely a Richelle Mead fan!

    I first read the "Vampire Academy" series and loved it so much that I decided to check out the "Georgina Kincaid" series as well. I was not dissapointed! Richelle Mead does a great job with the characters, I really felt like I knew them and felt their emotions, all of the angst, joy, love, lust, etc. I really enjoyed the whole series and cannot wait until the next book comes out. Just like "Vampire Academy" I count down the days until the next release!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I LOVE IT!!

    A friend of mine actually was the one who reccomended the book to me. I gladly read it. On Facebook me and my friend Role Play. We take some original ideas and put our own twists on them. After reading this book, we made a character each. Mine a Succbus and Hers a Incubus. Anyways, I can say, sadly that, I liked Roman, he was a smooth, suave individual and I liked him. Carter is pretty awesome, a little bad and mysterious but, what angel isn't? Cody was the cute, adorable one and I love that whole innocent vampire persona. Georgina is just amazing. Her whole story is vivid and it draws you in with every page. I hope, even though I'm sure Georgina doesn't, that Roman will make a future appearance. He was my favorite.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2007

    'A witty, sexy, & engaging paranormal read'

    Succubus Blues is the first in the Georgina Kincaid series. Georgina is a succubus, an alluring, shape- shifting demon who seduces and pleasures mortal men. And she's good at her job - really good. But after having sold her soul nearly a millennia ago, she's tired. Tired of not being able to go on a decent date without having to worry as to whether or not she'll end up sucking the guy's soul out in one kiss - literally. Talk about putting a damper on a first date. But there is an upside in Georgina's life. Her job. She's an assistant manager at a local bookstore and has access to all the free books she can get her hands on - what more could a girl want? Aside from the aforementioned decent date, and well, getting her hands on her oh-so-favorite author, Seth Mortensen. However, those are things that will have to wait because someone or something is taking out Seattle's immortal residents and Georgina and her immortal friends don't know who'll be next. And when all eyes start turning to her, she decides to do a bit of snooping of her own. I whole-heartedly enjoyed reading this book. It was hot, sexy and a very entertaining read. I thoroughly enjoyed the worlds that Richelle Mead created around Georgina -- both the mortal and immortal. Georgina still has enough of her humanity to make the reader feel connected to her. She wants what most people want in life -- to be able to love and be loved in return. Succubus Blues also has a great supporting cast: Hugh, her friend and professional imp Jerome, her demon boss who looks to have a John Cusak fetish and Carter, the grungy angel who lives to torment Georgina, as well as a host of other equally engaging and likable characters. If you're looking for a hot new author and an equally hilarious and steamy mystery, I'd definitely check out Succubus Blues.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2014

    A Succubus in Love?? What on Earth is Hell Up To Now?

    A Succubus in Love?? What on Earth is Hell Up To Now?
    <blockquote>When it comes to jobs in hell, being a succubus seems pretty glamorous. A girl can be anything she wants, the wardrobe is killer, and mortal men will do anything just for a touch. Granted, they often pay with their souls, but why get technical?

    But Seattle succubus Georgina Kincaid's life is far less exotic. At least there's her day job at a local bookstore--free books; all the white chocolate mochas she can drink; and easy access to bestselling, sexy writer, Seth Mortensen, aka He Whom She Would Give Anything to Touch but Can't.

    But dreaming about Seth will have to wait. Something wicked is at work in Seattle's demon underground. And for once, all of her hot charms and drop-dead one-liners won't help because Georgina's about to discover there are some creatures out there that both heaven and hell want to deny.
    </blockquote>


    A creative take on the various denizens of Heaven and Hell as they walk the earth, this book entertains without fail. An Imp, a demon, vampires, a variety of angels, nephilim, and a succubus all living out their eternal lives in the mortal realm of Seattle - and none of them seem to fit the pattern we've been trained to expect by modern media. The loose knit group of beings from Hell are oddly close for their kind. Even more bizarre is the apparent friendship between their local archdemon and the local angel. In fact, you rarely see one without the other.

    Georgina Kincaid, a powerful succubus who hates what she is, longs only to be allowed a real relationship with someone that she loves and who loves her. A relationship where she is free to express her love without risking harm to the one she loves. One mistake made ages ago has had her punishing herself ever since, trapping her in the endless cycle of punishment until the end of days.

    This story is sweet, entertaining, and sad all at once. The one thing Georgie wants finally becomes possible, yet she is unable to accept it given the cost. So she rejects it only to find that what she has set in motion was no longer necessary as the threat was removed as a gift to her. So she destroys her chance for happiness by once again trying to do the right thing. Will her choice come back to haunt her, since all she did was remain true to who she was? Her behavior here was the same thing that drew attention to her in the first place.

    Georgina is one complicated, yet oddly endearing, character, and very difficult to dislike. A succubus with a heart of gold - it should be trite but Ms. Mead pulls it off with panache. It should be very interesting to see how her life progresses throughout this series, and to see if the promise that Carter alludes to ever comes to pass for Georgina.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This book was not even on my radar until recently thanks to Nere

    This book was not even on my radar until recently thanks to Nereyda at Mostly YA Book Obsessed. OH MY GOSH!! I am HOOKED!! I am a HUGE Richelle Mead fangirl. I devoured her Vampire Academy and Bloodlines series like they were book candy. I can't get enough. I love her writing style and the worlds she creates. So when Nereyda raved and gushed about this series, I knew I had to get on the Georgina Kincaid train.

    One of Richelle Mead's strong points are her characters. In every book of hers that I have read, there is ALWAYS at least one character that I really enjoyed. In the Vampire Academy series, I loved Rose. I am obsessed with Adrian from the Bloodlines series. Most recently, Mae in Gameboard of the Gods was rather intriguing. In Succubus Blues, I fell in SERIOUS LOVE with Georgina &quot;Georgie&quot; Kincaid. Georgie is a succubus. I'm not up on my Greek or Roman mythology, so I had no idea what a succubus is until I read this book. A succubus is an immortal temptress and seductress who must sleep with mortals to steal their life force. Without this life force, they feel weak and drained.

    Georgie is not like the other succubi. She has a conscience and doesn't do what normal succubi do. Instead of using her alluring looks and shapeshifting powers to seduce the most attractive men and steal their life force - the ones with the most life, she goes after men who are scum. As a general rule, she doesn't date because dating will lead to to kisses, which leads to sex which can awaken her succubus powers. Despite having supernatural powers and abilities, she tries to be human as possible. She uses the occasional shapeshifting powers, for the most part she does most things on her own. Unnecessarily using her shapeshifting powers felt like cheating. She wants to blend in with the rest of the world.

    Georgie has a lot of interesting quirks that made me adore her. She has a sharp wits. The arguments and mini-fights she has with her best friends are hilarious. Her friends dish out the insults and she spits it right back at them. She is also a voracious reader. She loves reading so much that she works in a bookstore and lives right around the corner. Georgie is a major fangirl of author Seth Mortensen. When she meets him for the first time, it is so endearing. It was this scene that made me fall in love with her. She loves Seth's books so much that she only allows her to read 5 pages a night of his book.

    Georgie had a couple of male suitors in Succubus Blues. Roman is the epitome of tall, dark and handsome - just the kind of guy that she tries to stay away from. From the beginning he comes on strong and is very persistent. Georgie is well-versed in saying no and setting up boundaries, but Roman is different. Roman is extremely sexy and I thought they were a hot couple, but from from the beginning I was all the way on Team Seth. If you follow my Goodreads updates, you would have seen that I wanted Roman out of the way from the first &quot;Hello, my name is Roman.&quot;

    &quot;My instincts drove me to seek sex out, and looking at him, I realized that urge might be strong independence of any sort of succubus need to feed.&quot;

    Seth Mortensen is a bestselling author of Georgie's favorite book series. Seth was a different male love interest. In fact, he wasn't much of a love interest, as there wasn't any &quot;loving&quot; going on between these two in this book. But the connection between Georgie and Seth grabbed my attention. Seth was quiet and didn't have much to say in person, but boy could this guy write an email! All of the things he could say - and didn't want to say - to Georgie he wrote in these verbose and eloquently written emails. It made my heart sing. I couldn't wait for them to talk and &quot;not have coffee&quot; together. Seth was too good of a person that Georgie new he had a lot of life force. She had to stay away. Selfishly, Georgie was concerned with what would happen if she stole too much of his life force.

    &quot;Sleep with Seth Mortensen? Good grief. It was the most preposterous thing I'd ever heard. It was appealing. If I absorbed his life force, there was no telling how long it'd be until his next book came out.&quot;

    Part of what made this book so great was the smooth storyline. Richelle Mead includes many different paranormal creatures in this book as well as elements of mythology. I also loved hearing about Georgina's life before she became a succubus. It provided this great character depth and gave an explanation as to why she is so guilt-ridden and cautious. The secondary characters were phenomenal. I enjoyed bickering between Jerome, the archdemon of the Seattle hierarchy, and his unlikely friend, Carter, an angel and loved seeing Georgie interact with them.

    I can't say enough good things about this book. I am looking forward to continuing the series as soon as I read some of my other books. I've heard they only get more addicting and crazy. Guys, I am on board the Georgie Kincaid train! Hop on board with me and join me as I root for Seth and Georgie because ROMAN SUCKS (He actually does suck that bad, I just like Seth more.)!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 651 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 33