Customer Reviews for

Succubus Blues (Georgina Kincaid Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 652 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(362)

4 Star

(165)

3 Star

(88)

2 Star

(26)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

26 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

A great series!

This series hooked me from the first chapter! I just finished the Twilight series and was looking for something else. Succubus Blues was recommended on one of the websites and I am so grateful to have found it! I feel cheated when a writer ends a series because ...
This series hooked me from the first chapter! I just finished the Twilight series and was looking for something else. Succubus Blues was recommended on one of the websites and I am so grateful to have found it! I feel cheated when a writer ends a series because you are left wondering what will happen next, especially since immortals live forever. This series does not disappoint, it has action, romance, comedy and even some well written love scenes! I cannot wait to read more books, Richelle Mead, you have made a fan out of me! I hope soon someone realizes just how good these books would translate into GREAT movies! Twilight is great for YA but for a little more mature audience... read this series!

posted by Anonymous on October 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Good, but sexually explicit

I enjoyed this book and the sequel Succubus Dreams, but I was very dissapointed in the sexual content. I felt that there could have been far less desciption of the sex scenes and you could still enjoy the book just as much. I have read the teen fiction written by this a...
I enjoyed this book and the sequel Succubus Dreams, but I was very dissapointed in the sexual content. I felt that there could have been far less desciption of the sex scenes and you could still enjoy the book just as much. I have read the teen fiction written by this author, and I loved it. I know this is not listed under teen fiction, but I did not relaize just how much more adult content would be in this book. However, this is a very interesting story line. Very campy and off beat. The characters are well developed. If you are fan of vampires, and other mystical beings and are not worried about gratuitous sex scenes, this is the book for you.

posted by leechloverqueen on March 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 88 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Good, but sexually explicit

    I enjoyed this book and the sequel Succubus Dreams, but I was very dissapointed in the sexual content. I felt that there could have been far less desciption of the sex scenes and you could still enjoy the book just as much. I have read the teen fiction written by this author, and I loved it. I know this is not listed under teen fiction, but I did not relaize just how much more adult content would be in this book. However, this is a very interesting story line. Very campy and off beat. The characters are well developed. If you are fan of vampires, and other mystical beings and are not worried about gratuitous sex scenes, this is the book for you.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Slow

    Not great, just O.K. A little slow for me, the author takes a while before she gets to the point. The story was good.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    A Succubus in Love?? What on Earth is Hell Up To Now?

    A Succubus in Love?? What on Earth is Hell Up To Now?
    <blockquote>When it comes to jobs in hell, being a succubus seems pretty glamorous. A girl can be anything she wants, the wardrobe is killer, and mortal men will do anything just for a touch. Granted, they often pay with their souls, but why get technical?

    But Seattle succubus Georgina Kincaid's life is far less exotic. At least there's her day job at a local bookstore--free books; all the white chocolate mochas she can drink; and easy access to bestselling, sexy writer, Seth Mortensen, aka He Whom She Would Give Anything to Touch but Can't.

    But dreaming about Seth will have to wait. Something wicked is at work in Seattle's demon underground. And for once, all of her hot charms and drop-dead one-liners won't help because Georgina's about to discover there are some creatures out there that both heaven and hell want to deny.
    </blockquote>


    A creative take on the various denizens of Heaven and Hell as they walk the earth, this book entertains without fail. An Imp, a demon, vampires, a variety of angels, nephilim, and a succubus all living out their eternal lives in the mortal realm of Seattle - and none of them seem to fit the pattern we've been trained to expect by modern media. The loose knit group of beings from Hell are oddly close for their kind. Even more bizarre is the apparent friendship between their local archdemon and the local angel. In fact, you rarely see one without the other.

    Georgina Kincaid, a powerful succubus who hates what she is, longs only to be allowed a real relationship with someone that she loves and who loves her. A relationship where she is free to express her love without risking harm to the one she loves. One mistake made ages ago has had her punishing herself ever since, trapping her in the endless cycle of punishment until the end of days.

    This story is sweet, entertaining, and sad all at once. The one thing Georgie wants finally becomes possible, yet she is unable to accept it given the cost. So she rejects it only to find that what she has set in motion was no longer necessary as the threat was removed as a gift to her. So she destroys her chance for happiness by once again trying to do the right thing. Will her choice come back to haunt her, since all she did was remain true to who she was? Her behavior here was the same thing that drew attention to her in the first place.

    Georgina is one complicated, yet oddly endearing, character, and very difficult to dislike. A succubus with a heart of gold - it should be trite but Ms. Mead pulls it off with panache. It should be very interesting to see how her life progresses throughout this series, and to see if the promise that Carter alludes to ever comes to pass for Georgina.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2013

    Not my favorite, but not bad

    I had trouble relating to the main character, which meant that much of the book was me giving her a major side-eye. However, I enjoyed the interplay between the side characters and the bickering. I did like the writer, and I'd be interested in seeing more of him, but I didn't really "get" the draw between them. Maybe if I was fonder of Georgia? Hard to say.

    As a representative of the paranormal romance genre, it's fine.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2011

    An exellent rainy day book.

    Succubus Blues is definitely adds a new perspective to the rapidly expanding dark fantasy/romance genre. Georgina Kincaid is a charming character with a quick wit and humor that really made this a very enjoyable read. I can't wait to see what Mead comes up with next.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    Sab

    Thts cuz you did it to megan what?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2011

    Just the right mix of humor and action . . .

    I found this series to be very entertaining. Even though the plot was a much simpler one than I usually read, (I figured out who Seth was very early on,) I found Georgina to be a character developed enough to keep me reading. The supporting characters were fleshed out enough to make them 'believe-able' as well. I found Richelle Mead's interpretation of heaven and hell to be fresh and interesting as well as funny and entertaining. However, by the time I got to the last couple of books, I found myself wishing there had been a little less detail in the sex scenes. They became a bit repetitive in description and a bit too long. I get that Georgina is a succubus. I get that she has to have sex to stay alive. By the last two books, if the description had been cut in half, I wouldn't have skimmed past two or three pages several times. There are also a few life lessons tucked away in the story line that I think she presented very nicely as well. I agree if we spend all our time beating ourselves up about how we failed at something instead of learning from it, the lesson will likely repeat itself. I also agree that something that seems to be impossible, isn't always. If you're looking for a light, fairly fast paced read filled with humor, wit, fairly graphic sex, a bit of wisdom and suspense, then this is the series for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Save your money go to the library.

    I feel like im betraying Richelle Mead. I love the VA series but this book was hard to get into. I HATE TO SAY IT BUT I WONT BE BUYING THE NEXT BOOK.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2011

    Over-rated - but okay for a Saturday afternoon quickie.

    I'd have to say the book is highly over-rated compared to what folks are saying here. It's not a bad book. But I can think of some paranormal romance authors ten times better (and no, I am NOT referring to Twilight-trash). ANYTHING is better than that ilk. *Shrug* I've read worse, I've read better - this book is just kinda...mediocre.

    Technically, she's okay. The entire thing though very much has the feel of a Mary Sue. Author would have done better to write actual flashbacks rather then narratives when the character is remembering her past. After all, they are MEMORIES. There's no real connection to the events for the reader otherwise. The main character seems a little immature for her supposed great age; of which we never really get any indication except in very broad generalities. And the universe itself seems a little thin and weakly propped up. A thin facade of evil to go against the status-quo of vampires or angels fic -- but it comes off as a pretty weak evil. If they represent the bad side between the fight of good/evil, angels/demons, I don't think anyone has anything to worry about. Author seemed afraid to make her character more evil, afraid it would make the character unlikable or alienate her readers. But she CHOSE to make the main character a demon. So in the end, it feels like she cheapened, or water-downed the whole demon/side of Satan premise. The sex is a little lack-luster; especially seeing how it's all with anyone BUT the guy she has an real emotional connection with. Instead, she goes with lust. And yeah, she's a succubus. But as it is, the sex comes off a little....sleezy. Quickies to satisfy a little lust or hunger; not very fulfilling and anything to write home about.

    I'd pick up this book for a Saturday quickie if you're between books of some of the more prolific paranormal romance authors -- it'll pass the time. But don't expect to be blown away.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2011

    Love me some Georgia!

    Georgia freaking rocks - shes feisty, sexy and lovable all at the same time. I can't wait for Richelle Mead to come out with her next Succubus book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Good..

    I have to say that i really liked this book but i do have to mention that i didn't like the fact that she really doesn't have any supernatural abilities besides changing how she looks, which she doesn't really take full advantage of, she isn't "bad-ass" in any way but if your looking for a good sci-fi romance mystery book, without the super cool supernatural abilities (i.e. super strength/speed/hearing/smelling/sensing ect...)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Enjoyed it ....ALOT

    Okay, I must say i didn't expect much from this book. I have enjoyed Richelle Mead's other books, so to pass the time until Spirit Bound comes out i figured I read this. It started out slow, nothing dramatic happened that made it like WOW... I must finish this tonight, but some of the characters were interesting enough to keep me with the story. Some stuff didn't make since, like Georgie (succubus) investigating a murder of a vampire she didn't like. Her Nancy Drew way seemed very forced, but the rest of the story was a very natural progression.I don't know what kind of supernatural bomb is going to drop so that her & her possible "boyfriend" Seth can touch intimately, but it will be interesting to see how that plays out. I'm happy I stayed with it, I really did enjoy this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 88 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5