Customer Reviews for

Such a Pretty Fat: One Narcissist's Quest to Discover If Her Life Makes Her Ass Look Big, or Why Pie Is Not the Answer

Average Rating 4.5
( 160 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(90)

4 Star

(45)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Highly Recommend

Anyone who has ever dealt with being fat will appreciate this. Jen hits the nail on the head with her great wit and sarcastic style. Even though I am old enough to be her mom, I could relate to many parts of this book. It is a laugh out loud read. It also is inspirin...
Anyone who has ever dealt with being fat will appreciate this. Jen hits the nail on the head with her great wit and sarcastic style. Even though I am old enough to be her mom, I could relate to many parts of this book. It is a laugh out loud read. It also is inspiring and helped me take a long hard look at why my dieting always fails and has given me incentive to change my life! Thanks, Jen!!!

posted by Subteach52 on October 25, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing ...

I've read Jen Lancaster's books in order. It's interesting that another reviewer mentioned buying her other 'novels.' They are supposedly memoirs, although the conversations read like things Lancaster wishes that everyone had said, and the final encounter with a heroi...
I've read Jen Lancaster's books in order. It's interesting that another reviewer mentioned buying her other 'novels.' They are supposedly memoirs, although the conversations read like things Lancaster wishes that everyone had said, and the final encounter with a heroin addict-type near the pool feels especially bogus. I found the self-referential nature of this book distracting: It's a book about getting a book deal and writing a book about losing weight, in addition to being about the process of losing weight, with cliche observations about Jenny Craig, Weight Watchers, and working out. How much did the size 24 Lancaster initially weigh? Exactly how much did she lose before gaining back 12 pounds? We don't know. The only photograph is from her first book, and I think it's her wedding picture. She's still bigger than, say, Camryn Manheim, right? Finally, I wonder how the thin-skinned Lancaster would like it if someone were as mean to her as she is to others. She feels superior to the Jenny Craig and Weight Watchers staff members and refers to one counselor with a birthmark as 'Birthmarkie Mark,' 'Princess Big Birthmark,' 'Miss Melanoma,' 'Gorbachev,' 'Little Miss Birthmark,' and 'Senorita Carcinoma.' It isn't even funny.

posted by Anonymous on August 7, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 161 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2008

    Disappointing ...

    I've read Jen Lancaster's books in order. It's interesting that another reviewer mentioned buying her other 'novels.' They are supposedly memoirs, although the conversations read like things Lancaster wishes that everyone had said, and the final encounter with a heroin addict-type near the pool feels especially bogus. I found the self-referential nature of this book distracting: It's a book about getting a book deal and writing a book about losing weight, in addition to being about the process of losing weight, with cliche observations about Jenny Craig, Weight Watchers, and working out. How much did the size 24 Lancaster initially weigh? Exactly how much did she lose before gaining back 12 pounds? We don't know. The only photograph is from her first book, and I think it's her wedding picture. She's still bigger than, say, Camryn Manheim, right? Finally, I wonder how the thin-skinned Lancaster would like it if someone were as mean to her as she is to others. She feels superior to the Jenny Craig and Weight Watchers staff members and refers to one counselor with a birthmark as 'Birthmarkie Mark,' 'Princess Big Birthmark,' 'Miss Melanoma,' 'Gorbachev,' 'Little Miss Birthmark,' and 'Senorita Carcinoma.' It isn't even funny.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2010

    Highly Recommend

    Anyone who has ever dealt with being fat will appreciate this. Jen hits the nail on the head with her great wit and sarcastic style. Even though I am old enough to be her mom, I could relate to many parts of this book. It is a laugh out loud read. It also is inspiring and helped me take a long hard look at why my dieting always fails and has given me incentive to change my life! Thanks, Jen!!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2009

    Another weigh to lose pounds

    Though some of the prose is entertaining, it gets repetative. It was highly recommended to me, and thus somewhat disappointing.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2012

    Entertaining book - horrible editing

    I love to read and spend a large chunk of my disposable income on books. This was a very entertaining book but the editing on the nook book is awful! Why the hell am I paying so much money for these books if you can't bother to edit them properly? Would you put out a print book wirh so many errors? Get it together BN. I reccomend this book if you can get past all the typos and broken sentences.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Hilarious!

    I found this book hilarious and a nice easy read. As someone that is on a similar journey, it was inspirational to see her get over some of her hangups and fears and make some really great lifestyle changes.

    I read when I'm on the stationary bike and while reading this book one day I went 2 hours straight without noticing.

    If you're skeptical about buying it just rent it from the library or a friend. Hope you like it as well!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    Great

    This was another fun one by Jen

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2011

    Laugh out loud funny!

    Jen Lancaster does it again with her sharp wit and even sharper tongue. This hilarious book for every woman who has ever said "Does this make me look fat?"

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2011

    Highly recommend.

    Jen Lancaster is "laugh out loud" funny.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2011

    My favorite of her books to date

    Way too funny... Read it in a day!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2011

    love it!

    so funny

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Such a Pretty Fat

    This was my first book by this author. I read about 1/2 way through and found it seemed a chore - not enjoyable. I didn't think this was particularly funny and finally decided there's too many books to wade through one like this book. I will not buy any other books by this author!

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2011

    LOVED IT!

    Read this one!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2010

    JEN'S BEST BOOK!

    I love Jen Lancaster... but this BY FAR was her best book! It went like wildfire through everyone at work, and everyone found something to love about it! AMAZING, FUNNY, INSPIRING!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I didn't know Jen Lancaster knew me!

    I didn't read Jen's books in order. I chose to read this one first. Jen is witty and honest. Her dieting endeavors match mine, how did she know? This book is an easy and fun read while sitting by the pool or on a rainy Saturday. Other than you super skinny chicks, most women will enjoy this book and appreciate the difficulties with dieting and the temptations. When she added exercising to the mix, her relationship with her personal trainer brought tears to my eyes with laughter. I'm glad her "Barbie" trainer was kind and didn't flaunt her trim physique. I've already started another one of Jen's books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2010

    Pretty Fabulous

    Everyone else can you give you a synopsis, so I'm just gonna give you my advice: Get it today. I'm so serious - I've never laughed so much or related so hard with a book, ever.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2010

    Easy Laughs

    Lancaster's wit kept me reading all four of her memoirs in a row. SUCH A PRETTY FAT stands out for me because I recognize the author's growth; she is maturing. Not to worry, the sass and humor as well as cultural references are not lost. She relays her inner thinking and everyday happenings as honestly as if she's telling her very best friend or husband. No holding back the embarrassing, the indelicate, or the profane. I enjoyed the conversational style of writing. She also uses a stand-up comedy approach bringing stories full circle in a not so predictable way. Definitely looking forward to memoir #5 soon to be published.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2014

    A Turtle, Not A Hare

    I have seen a lot of reviews on Goodreads from people who did not like this book because of the writing style or humor. I seem to come from a different vantage point. I thought this was a slow starter but it got better at the end. I relate to the character in the book and found I wanted to read more the longer it went on. If you ever struggled over a period of time with weight-loss (and you can find the humor in it), this might be a good book for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2012

    Dew to Toms

    A pretty longhaired shecat sat on a stump. Her white fur was like snow. On her pelt though, she had grey and black speckles.that looked like dew. Her eyes were blue. I need a mate and i dont mind $ex

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2012

    Funny book

    This is the first Jen Lancaster book to read - I thought it was funny. I would recommend this book if you like her and her writing style. It was just ok to me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2012

    This was my first Jen Lancaster book. I loved it so much I have

    This was my first Jen Lancaster book. I loved it so much I have read everything else that she has written. Her wit, insight and footnotes are hysterical! My favorite part involves Jabba the Hutt with pearls....This book was an encouragement to get healthy and also to love myself for all of the things I can do on my way to getting there. Read it. Enjoy it & read the rest of her books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 161 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9