Customer Reviews for

Such a Pretty Fat: One Narcissist's Quest to Discover If Her Life Makes Her Ass Look Big, or Why Pie Is Not the Answer

Average Rating 4.5
( 160 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(90)

4 Star

(45)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Highly Recommend

Anyone who has ever dealt with being fat will appreciate this. Jen hits the nail on the head with her great wit and sarcastic style. Even though I am old enough to be her mom, I could relate to many parts of this book. It is a laugh out loud read. It also is inspirin...
Anyone who has ever dealt with being fat will appreciate this. Jen hits the nail on the head with her great wit and sarcastic style. Even though I am old enough to be her mom, I could relate to many parts of this book. It is a laugh out loud read. It also is inspiring and helped me take a long hard look at why my dieting always fails and has given me incentive to change my life! Thanks, Jen!!!

posted by Subteach52 on October 25, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing ...

I've read Jen Lancaster's books in order. It's interesting that another reviewer mentioned buying her other 'novels.' They are supposedly memoirs, although the conversations read like things Lancaster wishes that everyone had said, and the final encounter with a heroi...
I've read Jen Lancaster's books in order. It's interesting that another reviewer mentioned buying her other 'novels.' They are supposedly memoirs, although the conversations read like things Lancaster wishes that everyone had said, and the final encounter with a heroin addict-type near the pool feels especially bogus. I found the self-referential nature of this book distracting: It's a book about getting a book deal and writing a book about losing weight, in addition to being about the process of losing weight, with cliche observations about Jenny Craig, Weight Watchers, and working out. How much did the size 24 Lancaster initially weigh? Exactly how much did she lose before gaining back 12 pounds? We don't know. The only photograph is from her first book, and I think it's her wedding picture. She's still bigger than, say, Camryn Manheim, right? Finally, I wonder how the thin-skinned Lancaster would like it if someone were as mean to her as she is to others. She feels superior to the Jenny Craig and Weight Watchers staff members and refers to one counselor with a birthmark as 'Birthmarkie Mark,' 'Princess Big Birthmark,' 'Miss Melanoma,' 'Gorbachev,' 'Little Miss Birthmark,' and 'Senorita Carcinoma.' It isn't even funny.

posted by Anonymous on August 7, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 161 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 9
  • Posted March 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Such a Pretty Fat - Good, but not as good as the others...

    Although I did enjoy reading this latest book in the Jen Lancaster series, I didn't love it as much as I did Bitter Is The New Black or Bright Lights, Big Ass. Yes, there were places that I did laugh out loud, but I laughed more reading the other two. I think it's because that "fat girl needs to lose weight" premise has been overdone, especially recently. Don't get me wrong, Jen is an awesome writer and I have pre-ordered her new book ~ My Fair Lazy ~ because I want to see what she's going to come up with next. I would suggest reading the other two books first, before reading this one; because if you read this one first, you might not read the others and that would be a mistake!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2010

    Love it!

    I have enjoyed all of Jen Lancaster's books. They are relevant to my life and very entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Such an Interesting Take on Dieting...

    I love all of Jen Lancaster's books, but this one was a little different because it was about something that we all struggle with...our weight. Jen is so relate-able that you feel like you're dieting along with her. I definitely recommend!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2009

    Instant hit!

    This is the first book I've read by Jen Lancaster and I have never laughed so hard. Being from Chicago and in need of a workout I completely related to all of it. Very funny, very engaging. Can't wait to read the rest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent

    Jen is extremely hilarious, in a perfectly dry sort of way! I would recommend any of her books to someone looking for a funny read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2009

    Hysterical!

    Jenn Lancaster never fails to crack me up. A fun read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2009

    Best of the three!

    I liked this book the best of the first three so far. It was sincere and hilarious. I LOVED the whole snark of the book. The ending was perfect. I just ordered the next book! I could totally go to dinner with Jen. My friends and I loved the 80's dish on her blog. We actually identified some of the prom dresses as our own!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2009

    LOVED IT!!!!!

    LOVED IT!!!! Of course I'm very bias. I'm a huge Jen Lancaster fan!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2009

    great read

    very entertaining. Would recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    ADORABLE!

    Ms. Lancaster has an irresistible personality. I am sucker for anyone who can see their flaws, own them, but, not use them as a tool to abuse themselves. Yes, she is sarcastic, but, hilarious. Yes, she drives her husband mad, but, she clearly adores him. Yes, she is flawed, but, she sees these things as quirks in her personality not something to shame and belittle herself for. We could all use that lesson and grow from it. (But not in our thighs just our souls!!!)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    Funny

    I am still reading this book but every time I pick it up to read it, I end up laughing. The author reminds me of myself. I cant waite to read her other books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2009

    On a diet???

    This book is a good read for those who resolve to lose weight, even if their heart is not in it yet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    I laughed out loud reading this book

    Jen Lancaster says everything that you were thinking but were afraid to say...she has a sarcastic wit about her that makes you laugh out loud while reading this book...all of the situations that she finds herself in I could so see myself experiencing...This book had been recommended to me and I have in turn recommended it to everyone that I know...I enjoy her wit so much that I have purchased her other two books (Bitter is the New Black and Bright Lights, Big Ass) and am looking forward to her latest which is due in May 2009...I also have enjoyed reading her books so much that I have started to follow her blog (jennsylvania.com)on a regular basis...If I could rate this book with more than five stars I would...It is that good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    have I said enough..?

    seriously by now you should know that I adore Jen Lancaster - she is the funniest person I don't really know that well. however if your like me and you just can't wait till "pretty in plaid" comes out...visit her blog <BR/>www.jennslyvania.com<BR/><BR/>you will be hooked like I am

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    HILARIOUS

    I bought this book on a whim after back surgery and I am now reading the rest of Lancaster's books as well. She writes like we talk with our girlfriends and uses imagery and lines that literally made me laugh out loud in the doctor's office. I noticed this was in the weight loss section near strategy books online and well, it is not any of those things, it's a real biography of a real woman struggling with her weight in all the truth and glory that is weight loss while also balancing LIFE. I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys laughing and to all those who have struggled with any aspect of getting pieces of their life together, not just weight. I also recommend her other books, Bitter is the New Black & Bright Lights Big Ass. Enjoy!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Another Great Book

    I love Jen Lancaster. She is so funny and since I lived in Chicago years ago...I love to live vicariously through her while reading the book. She has a very funny sarcastic view about everything and this book was hard to put down as were the other two. Can't wait for more by her!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Very funny read!

    I enjoyed this book quite a book. There were many times I found myself laughing outloud, which I rarely do while reading. And I'm not sure if it's just a "big girl thing" but there were so many points in the book where she said or thought the same thing that I would! I would recommend this to anyone who's carrying (or has carried) a little extra weight and has a healthy sense of humor.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2008

    Funniest book ever

    I absolutely love Jen Lancaster. This book is not to be missed if you enjoy sarcastic humor and laughing out loud - very loudly and a lot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2008

    just a nice, quick, funny read

    I just randomly picked this book up in the library. Great book! I was laughing out loud almost every other page if not every page. Once you start reading it, you'll have a hard time putting it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2008

    The Funniest Book Ever!

    I laugh just remembering how much I laughed while reading this book. This book literally took my breath away because I was laughing so hard I couldn't breathe and tears were streaming down my face from the hilarity of it all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 161 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 9