Customer Reviews for

Such a Pretty Fat: One Narcissist's Quest to Discover If Her Life Makes Her Ass Look Big, or Why Pie Is Not the Answer

Average Rating 4.5
( 160 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(90)

4 Star

(45)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Highly Recommend

Anyone who has ever dealt with being fat will appreciate this. Jen hits the nail on the head with her great wit and sarcastic style. Even though I am old enough to be her mom, I could relate to many parts of this book. It is a laugh out loud read. It also is inspirin...
Anyone who has ever dealt with being fat will appreciate this. Jen hits the nail on the head with her great wit and sarcastic style. Even though I am old enough to be her mom, I could relate to many parts of this book. It is a laugh out loud read. It also is inspiring and helped me take a long hard look at why my dieting always fails and has given me incentive to change my life! Thanks, Jen!!!

posted by Subteach52 on October 25, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing ...

I've read Jen Lancaster's books in order. It's interesting that another reviewer mentioned buying her other 'novels.' They are supposedly memoirs, although the conversations read like things Lancaster wishes that everyone had said, and the final encounter with a heroi...
I've read Jen Lancaster's books in order. It's interesting that another reviewer mentioned buying her other 'novels.' They are supposedly memoirs, although the conversations read like things Lancaster wishes that everyone had said, and the final encounter with a heroin addict-type near the pool feels especially bogus. I found the self-referential nature of this book distracting: It's a book about getting a book deal and writing a book about losing weight, in addition to being about the process of losing weight, with cliche observations about Jenny Craig, Weight Watchers, and working out. How much did the size 24 Lancaster initially weigh? Exactly how much did she lose before gaining back 12 pounds? We don't know. The only photograph is from her first book, and I think it's her wedding picture. She's still bigger than, say, Camryn Manheim, right? Finally, I wonder how the thin-skinned Lancaster would like it if someone were as mean to her as she is to others. She feels superior to the Jenny Craig and Weight Watchers staff members and refers to one counselor with a birthmark as 'Birthmarkie Mark,' 'Princess Big Birthmark,' 'Miss Melanoma,' 'Gorbachev,' 'Little Miss Birthmark,' and 'Senorita Carcinoma.' It isn't even funny.

posted by Anonymous on August 7, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 90 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 5
  • Posted January 17, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    HILARIOUS

    I bought this book on a whim after back surgery and I am now reading the rest of Lancaster's books as well. She writes like we talk with our girlfriends and uses imagery and lines that literally made me laugh out loud in the doctor's office. I noticed this was in the weight loss section near strategy books online and well, it is not any of those things, it's a real biography of a real woman struggling with her weight in all the truth and glory that is weight loss while also balancing LIFE. I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys laughing and to all those who have struggled with any aspect of getting pieces of their life together, not just weight. I also recommend her other books, Bitter is the New Black & Bright Lights Big Ass. Enjoy!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Another Great Book

    I love Jen Lancaster. She is so funny and since I lived in Chicago years ago...I love to live vicariously through her while reading the book. She has a very funny sarcastic view about everything and this book was hard to put down as were the other two. Can't wait for more by her!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Very funny read!

    I enjoyed this book quite a book. There were many times I found myself laughing outloud, which I rarely do while reading. And I'm not sure if it's just a "big girl thing" but there were so many points in the book where she said or thought the same thing that I would! I would recommend this to anyone who's carrying (or has carried) a little extra weight and has a healthy sense of humor.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2008

    Funniest book ever

    I absolutely love Jen Lancaster. This book is not to be missed if you enjoy sarcastic humor and laughing out loud - very loudly and a lot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2008

    just a nice, quick, funny read

    I just randomly picked this book up in the library. Great book! I was laughing out loud almost every other page if not every page. Once you start reading it, you'll have a hard time putting it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2008

    The Funniest Book Ever!

    I laugh just remembering how much I laughed while reading this book. This book literally took my breath away because I was laughing so hard I couldn't breathe and tears were streaming down my face from the hilarity of it all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2008

    Laugh Out Loud Funny

    I picked up this book knowing nothing about the author or the background of her books. I found it to be one of the best books I've read this year. Not only do I love the pop culture references, I really find her outlook on life refreshing and humorous. I can't tell you how many times I laughed out loud and my husband said, 'what are you laughing at?' The fact that she still loves herself and can laugh at the things in her life that may not be so pleasant shows you that sometimes it's better to laugh and take things day by day than linger on the bad. I even passed this book on to my sister and she is loving it as much as me. She is passing it on to another friend. I've purchased her other two novels and read through them in less than a week. I can't wait for her next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2008

    AWESOME!!!

    You want someone who is blunt and spunky at the same time. You want Jen Lancaster. I found her book while reading a fitness magazine and bought it on a whim. I'll tell you what after reading this book I am a true follower. There has been times reading this book where I have busted out loud laughing because she does things I would say or do. I believe to some extent every woman struggling with her weight can relate to Jen in some aspect. Don't miss out on this fabulous memoir! I also had to go out and buy her other two books!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2008

    The Truth is finally told

    What a fantastic book! I was laughing so hard from reading the book jacket in the store that I knew I had to buy it. This is the most honest book on weight loss and getting old that I have ever read. My favorite line so far from the book 'I love food. I love movement a whole lot less.'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2008

    Laugh out loud funny!

    If you haven't read her first book, 'Bitter is the New Black', please do. Jen writes for every woman who needs to appreciate the humor in everyday life. Be warned, she can be mean. But in a funny way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2008

    For those struggling with weight...

    This is a great book if anyone out there has struggled losing weight. As usual Jen Lancaster has put her sharp wit to great use in discussing her adventures in trying to get heathly. I've been to those WeightWatchers meetings that she describes, and couldn't stop laughing at how they were exactly the same. Extremely funny, couldn't put it down, and I already have 5 friends demanding to read it, as they heard my laughter!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 90 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 5