Customer Reviews for

Such a Pretty Girl

Average Rating 4.5
( 170 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(113)

4 Star

(31)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Interesting, well written read.

Laura Wiess has written a compelling novel that deals with a painful subject. Meredith was sexually abused by her father, who has recently been released from prison. She is an anguished, wounded character struggling to overcome. And as the reader, I could feel the confl...
Laura Wiess has written a compelling novel that deals with a painful subject. Meredith was sexually abused by her father, who has recently been released from prison. She is an anguished, wounded character struggling to overcome. And as the reader, I could feel the conflict inside her; would she ultimately be victim or victor?
Meredith was wise beyond her years, forced to grow up too early by her father's iniquities. Still, she felt unable to protect herself from her father, who had clearly not been successfully rehabilitated.
I think a talented writer not only creates characters for the reader to fall in love with, but often also gives us one or two to despise. Wiess created a truly loathsome character in Meredith's mother. She was ignorant and insipid and from the father's first day back home, repeatedly violated the court order not to leave him alone with Meredith. She was nearly as despicable as her pedophilic husband.
The system failed to protect Meredith just as abysmally as her mother did. Meredith seemed to fall between the cracks, leaving her frightened and vulnerable. Redemption would be her own doing, and that of a few people, her maternal grandmother, a caring neighbor, who were willing to get involved instead of merely looking the other way.
Besides being very well-written, Such a Pretty Girl is thought-provoking. Topics to be considered; can pedophiles be successfully rehabilitated? How effective is the sex-offender registry in its current format? Is it appropriate to take matters into our own hands when we see the system is failing to protect children? Are we even willing to?

posted by 148617 on November 25, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Donita

Hey guys

posted by Anonymous on March 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 113 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Interesting, well written read.

    Laura Wiess has written a compelling novel that deals with a painful subject. Meredith was sexually abused by her father, who has recently been released from prison. She is an anguished, wounded character struggling to overcome. And as the reader, I could feel the conflict inside her; would she ultimately be victim or victor?<BR/>Meredith was wise beyond her years, forced to grow up too early by her father's iniquities. Still, she felt unable to protect herself from her father, who had clearly not been successfully rehabilitated.<BR/>I think a talented writer not only creates characters for the reader to fall in love with, but often also gives us one or two to despise. Wiess created a truly loathsome character in Meredith's mother. She was ignorant and insipid and from the father's first day back home, repeatedly violated the court order not to leave him alone with Meredith. She was nearly as despicable as her pedophilic husband.<BR/>The system failed to protect Meredith just as abysmally as her mother did. Meredith seemed to fall between the cracks, leaving her frightened and vulnerable. Redemption would be her own doing, and that of a few people, her maternal grandmother, a caring neighbor, who were willing to get involved instead of merely looking the other way.<BR/>Besides being very well-written, Such a Pretty Girl is thought-provoking. Topics to be considered; can pedophiles be successfully rehabilitated? How effective is the sex-offender registry in its current format? Is it appropriate to take matters into our own hands when we see the system is failing to protect children? Are we even willing to?

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2009

    Amazing.

    This book is amazing.
    Me and my girlfriend stayed up all night reading it.
    We didn't put it down once, couldn't put it down.
    keeps you on the end of your seat.
    I recommend it, definitely!

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Jocelyn Pearce for TeensReadToo.com

    In SUCH A PRETTY GIRL, Laura Wiess grabbed and held my attention from the first page to the last. New Jersey teenager Meredith was supposed to have nine years of safety from her father, so she'd be eighteen and out of the house when he was released from prison. But three years later, when Meredith is fifteen, her father gets out for good behavior. No matter what he did to Meredith and to other children before her, Meredith's mother is more than ready to take him back. <BR/><BR/>Meredith isn't alone, though. She has her grandmother, the mayor of the town, who wants Meredith to move in with her to escape her father. She has Andy, her best friend, the guy she is in love with, who was also scarred by Meredith's father as a child. She has Andy's mother, who moved across the street from Meredith's family just to keep other children from the horror from which she couldn't protect Andy. She has Nigel, a retired policemen who has a plan to get Meredith's father back in jail and away from children. Even though Meredith is far from alone, she still feels that way when she can't even count on the people every kid is supposed to be able to count on: her parents. <BR/><BR/>Meredith wants to get her father back in prison. She wants her mother to go back to visiting him instead of having him in their house. She wants to be able to go into her own home without fear. She wants other kids to be safe, too. She doesn't know what that's going to take, and she's certainly not unafraid, but she isn't going to let him hurt her, or any other kids, again. <BR/><BR/>This moving, powerful novel is one that should not be missed. Once you start reading it, you won't be able to put this book down. I wasn't! It's an emotional book that is beautifully, powerfully written and unique, and it'll stay with you long past the last word. <BR/><BR/>Laura Wiess's characters are as well-written as the rest of the book, very realistic (in some cases, scarily so). They're three-dimensional characters in an equally (and, again, scarily) believable story that will certainly be a favorite of anyone who reads it. I know it's one of mine now! Don't miss this book.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2012

    Couldn't put it down!!

    This book was captivating, so raw and emotional . I felt myself fully invested and screaming out during intense parts of the novel... it was amazing a MUST read

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2011

    HIGHLY RECOMMENDED - This book is great!

    * This is the first book I read from Laura Weiss and it was amazing. I couldn't put the book down, this book was great and I want to tell you so much but I don't want to spoil anything for anyone. But this book is just AMAZING!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2014

    I was walking around Barnes & Noble looking for a short read

    I was walking around Barnes &amp; Noble looking for a short read and though I'm very picky, the simple cover intrigued me. I finished the book in just 2 days! I got sucked into the characters. Meredith reminds me a lot of myself at 15. I was actually scared myself and shaking a little whenever she was near her father. Her mother of course made me shake my head with disgust. Laura very much captured the &quot;never leave me&quot; type of woman that unfortunately still walk this Earth. I picked up this book every chance I got every day. You'll want to as well when you get near the suspenseful ending!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2013

    So good!

    Excellent book. Lots of symbolism and great character development.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2013

    After having this book on my tbr pile for a whole year I finally

    After having this book on my tbr pile for a whole year I finally got a chance to read it and I'm really glad I did. This book can be a difficult read because it deals with a difficult subject. Meredith, the heroine of the novel is faced with the horrors of having her sexually abusive father back in the picture 3 years after he was sent to prison. The legal system failed Meredith once and now she, not the people who are supposed to protect the victims must face her new reality with more courage than you can imagine.

    I absolutely loved Such a Pretty Girl. It's a great book about an ugly subject but the author handled the subject matter with a lot of grace. Not many authors will touch this subject and even fewer who do it properly but Laura Wiess is one of those who was able to tell her story remarkably well.

    While Such a Pretty Girl is a very short read at only 212 pages it certainly packs an emotional punch. I found myself cheering Meredith on through out the whole novel and was happy with the outcome at the end but I also found myself in somewhat of a murderous rage when it came to her parents. It's not every day that I actually find a character let alone two that I would mind putting in a tiger's pen and hoping for the worst. Harsh? Maybe. But completely deserved. Meredith's idiot of a mother failed her even more than her abusive father did. She turned a blind eye to Meredith's horrors for years and she should be in jail just as much as her husband.

    However, Meredith does have a small cluster of people around her that do love, support, cherish and are willing to protect her but they all have their own lives as well so I could understand much of Meredith's frustrations in the book of feeling alone.

    I thought that the story line of Such a Pretty Girl was perfectly paced and I'm glad it wasn't overly long. 212 pages was the perfect length for this story and I'm afraid that if it were longer it wouldn't have packed as much punch as it did. The characters were though provoking albeit sometimes I had violent thoughts towards some but other I loved.

    I would recommend this to people who enjoy contemporary young adult fiction especially novels that deal with the darker subjects. It's one that will make you feel a bevy of different emotions and send you on a roller coaster ride you won't forget. Laura Wiess should be applauded for handling this subject the way she did and I can't wait to read more of her novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Ace to to Ace

    Next result

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Golden

    Ya.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2012

    Beautifully written. Heart wrenching and emotional, this book i

    Beautifully written.
    Heart wrenching and emotional, this book is one that you can't possibly put down and find yourself reading in one sitting.
    Absolutely loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2012

    Although I read this book about a year ago, I've decided to writ

    Although I read this book about a year ago, I've decided to write a review anyway. I actually bought this book by accident on my kindle. It was the first book that I bought on it so I was a little confused on how to work it. I hadn't actually even read what it was about. I thought it was a little slow in the beginning but picked up about 1/3 the way through. I ended up loving it and actually crying at some parts. I would definitely recommend this book(:

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    Oh my god!

    I absolutely love this book! Its so well crafted and it keeps you on the edge of your seat. With its gripping topic, it pulls you in automatically and keeps you in suspense! Read itttt

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2012

    Great book!!

    Really great story. I could not put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2012

    this was an amazing book i couldnt put it down i highly recommen

    this was an amazing book i couldnt put it down i highly recommend it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    Amazing

    This book was absolutley amazkng . Hands down .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2012

    Perfect.

    The way she writes is amazing, this is my favorite line from her book.

    "My front teeth throb as the memory of the charm bangs against them."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2011

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2011

    AMAZING

    I've re-read this book so many times, it hooks you by the first chapter. you'll never want to put it down!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2010

    the awsomest book that keeps you reading all night!!!!!

    the specific detail given with emotion that drips out of every word written!! the suspense and mystery might just make this book perfect, this book makes the basic conflict (good vs. evil) different and great!!this is a good read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 113 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6