Customer Reviews for

Such a Rush

Average Rating 4.5
( 63 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(44)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This is a must read!! If you haven't purchased this book you n

    This is a must read!!

    If you haven't purchased this book you need to. RIGHT.AWAY. No seriously, go buy it now. It's worth it. Jennifer Echols has done it again. To start, Leah as a pilot...awesome. The title...perfect. Just reading the book is a rush. Then again that's almost to be expected with anything Jennifer writes.

    Leah wants to do more with herself than living in a trailer park with her mom. So she starts taking flying lessons after saving up the money. I enjoyed the fact that Leah did what she dreamed of doing despite the difficulties that she faced. That's what made her a strong character. Grayson is a bad boy. You know, the one we all want to be around because he's fun and daring. Ahh but he can be a jerk too. There were times I wanted to choke him and times I wanted Grayson to wrap me up in a hug. Alec was the knight-in-shining-armor at times, but others it was awkward between him and Leah. That not only added to the tension, but the intrigue. With each page I had to see how things were going to play out. Grayson and Alec both had their difficult moments, and I didn't always love them. But there's goodness under all the trouble on top. Jennifer Echol's does an amazing job getting their and showing us the journey.

    Jennifer's secondary characters added to the story, rather than detracting like I've seen them do in other books (none of Jennifer's though). They certainly didn't take center stage, but it wouldn't have been the same without them. Mr. Hall reminded me of a grumpy old man with a big heart buried underneath it all. Molly was...well...entertaining.

    Put another mark in the win column for SUCH A RUSH. I'd recommend it for sure.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Jennifer Echols Doesn't Let Her Readers Down!!

    I've always been a fan of Jennifer Echols' novels and while I certainly enjoyed Such a Rush, I can't say that I favor it over her previous dramatic romances. Leah becoming a teen pilot is the most unique part of the plot. I wasn't captured by the 'love-triangle', but I did feel my heart race from the sizzling chemistry between Grayson and Leah.

    Telling the story from the beginning of Leah's interest in flying is really what sold the story to me. I was getting the depth of Leah's dreams and insecurities and not just being told how she feels about her life. I was seeing the impact of her mother's neglect and their style of living on Leah. The first few chapters were all I needed to gradually make up my mind about Leah's character. The final verdict? She has a strong will and her ability to make up her mind about her future at a rebellious and tender age makes her stand out among many contemporary female leads.

    I wasn't particularly happy with the main cause of tension during the story. Grayson feels that in order to keep his twin brother, Alec, from making the biggest mistake of his life, he needs to enlist Leah to date Alec. There are so many complications that arise because of his plan that one would expect for a big blowout towards the end, but when every lie and secret comes out in the open the story feels rushed and the drama anti-climatic. The fact that Leah doesn't really want to go along with the plan casts a dark cloud over the parts of the story that I would have otherwise enjoyed. The story line felt a little similar to Echols' romantic comedy, The One That I Want where the characters are in mismatched relationships, the most obvious difference being that Such a Rush is written for an older audience.

    The hope of a happy ending is strong while reading Such a Rush, and all in all, Jennifer Echols doesn't let her readers down. She brings on the heat and searing glances, giving Such a Rush just a touch more maturity than previous romantic novels.

    Originally posted on Lovey Dovey Books
    *ARC provided by author in exchange for an honest review*

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2013

    Wasn't sure about this one, but WOW!

    I started this book wanting to love it b/c I love Echols writing style & characters, but after reading only 2 chapters I put it down & thought "Oh this is not going to be a book I'd enjoy at all." About a week or 2 went by before I picked it up again deciding I'd give it another shot since I had no other unread books on my nook. I finished it in 2 days (alot of 2's I know) it was so good I hated to put it down! And to think I was so skeptical after only reading 2 chapters! Echols has done it yet again! I am in awe of her ability to write such a wonderful love story! I must say this author is simply brilliant!
    The story plot is original, the characters are great & easy to relate to with their lives & feelings. Grayson was came off as cocky & uncaring but I knew he had potential & I'd love him in the end. Leah was not the usual virginal character I'm getting tired of reading about (thankfully b/c not every main female character can be a virgin!) This story felt more real than most love stories even with the planes & flying. The addition of Mark's character was nice too even though he was strange he was realistic. All in all I am so glad I picked this one back up & gave it another shot! Donot hesitate buying this one or in my case reading it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2012

    Leah Jones is a girl from the wrong side of the tracks. Life ha

    Leah Jones is a girl from the wrong side of the tracks. Life has not come easily to her; she has been the person ensuring that there is a roof over her own head as her mother is missing most of the time. They have moved from trailer park to trailer park as her mother's boyfriends say they can get her mother a job. Leah has always been drawn to flying and when she arrives in the newest town she gets a job at the airport office and starts saving her pennies to be able to convince Mr. Hall, owner of Hall Aviation, to teach her how to fly. Mr. Hall's requirement is that Leah has her mother sign a permission slip, which Leah forges. The end result is Leah learning to fly and her mother never knowing and a new father figure in her life. Despite her relationship with Mr. Hall, Leah feels like an outsider whenever his sons come to visit and they help fly the banner planes that make up the majority of Hall Aviation's business. All are attractive young men but their personalities could not be more different. Leah stays back as a silent observer, secretly crushing on Grayson, even going to the point of telling her mother that she is spending time with him (as her boyfriend) to cover her flying time. It's a shock and a blow when Mr. Hall dies unexpectedly, just a short time after his oldest son dies in the war. Leah figures that the business will be sold and that she has lost her spring break and summer job of flying the banners and she looks for other employment, which she thinks she finds with a local crop duster's nephew. When Grayson and Alec show up to run the business, Leah doesn't think it'll last for long, and Leah has no intention risking not having a job. Somehow Grayson uncovers the forged note and blackmails her to stay on to help fly the banners. Not only that, he wants Leah to persuade Alec to date her. Grayson threatens Leah's hopes of flying so she has no choice but to cooperate with his scheme. What makes it even worse he refused to tell her why.
    I was immediately drawn to Leah and her drive for life. It would have been so simple for her to give into her situation and just get by, but she doesn't she takes on the rigors of keeping a roof over her head and mothering herself while setting strong goals for herself. What I was surprised by is how Leah was so unaware of how her appearance and personality affected those around her. She is so focused on surviving that she misses who she really is. That and she is so passionate about flying, she puts the boys to shame in this arena, I think because she had to earn it and the boys just expected to learn to fly.
    There were some limited interactions with Alec but I did not feel like I really got to know him as a character other than how Grayson tries to use Leah to date him and why. Grayson, on the other hand, I was really frustrated with in the beginning. This bad boy seemed like all kinds of trouble and I really wanted to not like him at first, but he grew on me. Page after page, I wanted to be able to understand him and when all the pieces fell together, I found that I really liked him and understood why he was the way he was.
    The only thing that I disliked about this book was how sex was portrayed. Leah had only had sex once and she was made to be this "hooker" just because she was an attractive girl who lived in the trailer park. I just had a hard time with this portion of the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2012

    How far would you go to escape the dreaded Plague? Would you tak

    How far would you go to escape the dreaded Plague? Would you take the
    blood of an innocent? In this dystopic world, the only survivors or
    hopeful survivors are the ones who are immune or who have the ability to
    access that immunity. Aboriginal blood is found to offer hope against
    the Plague and is highly valued. Cassandra, the main character, might
    feel that she is safe against the Plague, but she has to worry about the
    government and people hunting her down to harvest her precious
    blood...not necessarily a common worry for a teenager. The more
    Cassandra's family is threatened the more they desperately search for a
    way to protect themselves. When they come across the Island, they think
    they may have hope, but is the Island as safe as it seems? Cassandra
    isn't the easiest character to identify with or connect to, but her
    voice in the story is not typical or boring. She is brave, smart, and
    protective of her family. She does not back down and is amazingly
    resourceful, a character to look up to. The other characters are
    interesting to get to know, they all have a reason for being in the
    story, the author limited the extraneous characters. Cassandra is by far
    the most focused upon character. Her connection to the spirit world and
    her understanding of the world around her will likely be interesting to
    the reader. The plot is not the most unusual, but the twist
    concerning aboriginal blood is an interesting take on a dystopian world.
    The author plays out the fear and tension created by a blood-hungry
    world very well, the reader will likely feel chills up his/her spine
    when reading certain excerpts. Overall, this book is recommended to
    young adult/teen readers.

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2012

    Good book

    It was a little slow at the start but it got alot better. Such a cute ending!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1