Customer Reviews for

Sudden Death (F.B.I. Trilogy Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 47 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Thrilling, exciting!

This author is outstanding ~ each time I read on of her books, I think she can't get better but each book is better than the one before. I can't wait for her next book. Definite reading for mystery fans!

posted by Elisabeth77 on June 6, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Bad match

This is just another example of the reader not matching the material. It is very distracting to me. All the characters sound alike. Needs a stronger voice.

posted by picky1 on March 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted August 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great!!!

    Awesome book. Brennan does romance and suspense equally well. Add in the "OMG, I can't believe that just happened" angle and you have a book that you can't put down.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Thrilling, exciting!

    This author is outstanding ~ each time I read on of her books, I think she can't get better but each book is better than the one before. I can't wait for her next book. Definite reading for mystery fans!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Sudden Death hits the mark!

    I have read each of Allison Brennan's novels and each one keeps getting better. I like the way that she incorporates the Kincade Family in the story lines giving the reader an insight into the family. This helps to bring something special to each of the stories. The suspense builds while you read how she has the characters interact and solve the mystery. I would recomend this book to those readers who enjoy the mysteries of Nora Roberts and Catherine Coulter.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This was a first time read for this author and sub-genre for me

    This was a first time read for this author and sub-genre for me and I can honestly say that I really enjoyed it. I won't hesitate to pick up
    another book from Allison Brennan nor will I hesitate to read another cozy romantic mystery!

    I listened to the audio version and at first thought that it was a little awkward listening to the narrator, Ann Marie Lee, for the character
    that she was playing. However, once I got into listening to the story, it didn't seem to bother me, it just struck me as odd at first. I think
    the narrator did the story great justice.

    As for the characters, I felt like they were in depth and to the core. I was interested in reading about them and learning more about
    them as the story progressed. I felt like all the characters blended together nicely to create a great story.

    I thought that the storyline ran smoothly without any delay. I really enjoyed the romance with a serious mystery. The romance part was
    not overdone, but a perfect fit with the story just to give it that extra spice. I do think that it would have been nice to have received a little
    more background on the characters, but for the most part, the story was easy to follow.

    Overall, I enjoyed listening to this story, and will certainly continue reading with Allison Brennan in mind.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2011

    Bad match

    This is just another example of the reader not matching the material. It is very distracting to me. All the characters sound alike. Needs a stronger voice.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent romantic suspense

    The killer murdered vets in Austin and Las Vegas before the third victim appeared in a Sacramento alley. Each was single, between thirty five and forty five years old, and former Delta Force soldiers; they were tortured with their hamstrings cut so they could not escape. FBI special agent Megan Elliot knows she has a serial killer to contend with, but who and why remains out of reach. She turns to the military to learn more about the Delta Force, but the Pentagon refuses to cooperate; going so far as claiming a corpse due to national security.

    Ex-Army Ranger Jack Kincaid runs a mercenary team in Texas. When someone tortures and murders one of his associates, a Delta Force vet, he vows justice for his fallen brother in arms. His breaking the rules leads him to frustrated by the book Megan.

    Readers meet the two killers and the motive before Megan investigates the Sacramento crime scene so the tense story line is more a cat and mouse contest with death being the most likely outcome. Jack and Megan are opposites as he flaunts the rules while she embraces them. They are a wonderful pairing, but the prime reason fans will enjoy this exhilarating FBI romantic suspense is the chilling serial killing duo Karin and Ethan, but especially her.

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    1/18/13

    1/18/13 My introduction to this author...not impressed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2012

    Amazing

    Another awesome read!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2009

    She is a great author

    I've read alot of her books and have never been dissapointed

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I am a great fan of Allison Brennan

    I am a huge fan of romantic suspense novels but I think there should be a balance between a thrilling edge-of-the-seat plot and the development of a realistic romantic relationship, especially given the darkness/evil acts of the criminals involved in many suspense plots. Ms. Brennan has been able to find the correct balance that has made reading her novels such a wonderful expereience. I thought Sudden Death was quickly paced, showed attention to detail without getting boring and had great character development of all the characters including the supporting characters. As for the actual romance between the two primary characters, the reader is able to get invested in characters as individuals before the romance actually kicks in, which makes the culmination of the relationship that much more satisfying. I look forward to the remaining two books in the trilogy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Another great Brennan book

    Ms. Brennan does it again and ratchets up the tension, thrills, and danger. There were several nice surprises that I won't ruin by revealing and if you've read her books all along, several special people make an appearance. If you haven't read all of her books, this is still a nice stand-alone book and the beginning of the FBI trilogy.

    Jack Kincaid and Megan Elliot are a great pairing. She is by the book and he is burn the book, who needs rules. The romance between the two is gritty and realistic for the life Jack has led as a mercenary.

    The story of war veterans being victims of a serial killer is revelent and as timely as the front page news.

    Can't wait for the next two in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3