Customer Reviews for

Suddenly One Summer (Angel's Bay Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 134 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(82)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 135 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2011

    Love this series!

    Stumbled upon this author by accident and glad I did! I am reading them all and am on the third one. You need to read these in order. There are so many sub stories going on at the same time that it keeps the book moving very nicely. Once you read one you will want to read them all. You will not be disappointed.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Good Read

    my first book by B. Freethy and since then I just can't get enough of her books.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2011

    Enjoyed....

    Enjoyed every single minute. Its a good read for romance lovers with a bit of mystery. Love how author left bedroom scenes for the reader's imagination .

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    this is a warm lighthearted romp that fans will enjoy and look forward to apparently future angelic sagas

    What makes Angel's Bay different than the rest of California is a belief that angels exist. There is proof as a video of sightings has gotten around, but reporter Reid Tanner assumes a clever fraud by the townsfolk. He plans to prove the whole thing is a fake.

    Tanner meets another newcomer Jenna Davies who saved a pregnant girl from suicide. He is attracted to her because she avoids the publicity her rescue warrants. Meanwhile, enigmatic etchings appear on a cliff that is nearly impossible to climb let alone stop to carve symbols. Soon Tanner begins to wonder if the legends are true as someone unseen seems to help people there and glimpses of what appears to be previous lives occur. Either that or someone is pulling off quite a fraud with no obvious motive.

    The premise is intriguing as the townsfolk fully believe angels reside with them leading to a fun paranormal romance between the ultimate skeptic seeking the scam and the somewhat doubting but hopeful other newcomer. They are a solid lead couple as each separately and together struggle to navigate the nuances of Angel's Bay although the numerous appearances of the zillion townsfolk at times overwhelms their prime plot. Still this is a warm lighthearted romp that fans will enjoy and look forward to apparently future angelic sagas.

    Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2011

    Loving Angel's Bay

    I just discovered this series and I got hooked with this first book. Am halfway through On Shadow Beach and I love it as well. Beautiful coastal town with interesting people, legends, romance and mystery. Fun story line. Loved the main characters and all the side characters, too. Good read!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2011

    Terrific!

    I just discovered this new series and I'm hooked. Lots of legends and stories in Angel's Bay, interesting characters, and plenty of plot. Emotion, humor, a little suspense. I enjoyed it all!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2013

    Highly Recommend

    This book was the best read. I loved the detail of the town, the story kept going and never got dull. I hated to put the book down when it was time.
    I have read the rest of the series, can't wait to read more of Barbara Freethy's books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2012

    Easy read

    Enjoyed this book. Easy read but keeps you interested in the characters.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2011

    Great start to rhe Angel Bay series

    I read later books before i realized that this was a series. This was a good start and the later books only get better... I loved Jason and Brenna's story. My favorite so far is Shane and Lauren's. I can't wait for Charlotte and Joe. For the record Shane Murray is my favorite.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2009

    I love Angel's Bay!

    I was in love with Angel's Bay from page one! There is such a wonderful mix of romance and emotion with just the right touch of suspense. This is the perfect summer read. I could see this place so clearly! Ms. Freethy has crafted these characters in such a way that you feel as if you know them personally. You really care about them as the story takes turn after fascinating turn. I couldn't put this book down, and I'm so glad I found this amazing new series right from the start. Can't wait for the next book! Reading about Angel's Bay is like taking your heart on an exciting vacation.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2014

    Patrol Den

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2014

    I Recommend

    Very good enjoyed the book, I read the 3rd book first I recommend reading the first one and so on, it helps you understand the rest of the people in the other books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    Great Read

    Great read, it has suspense,humor,legend,and great characters. This author is now on my favorites list.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2013

    great book

    i have read most of freethy;s books and love all of them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    Recommend it.

    Loved it! Read most of her books. Have enjoyed every one of them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2013

    Keeps you coming back for more

    I love this series and the characters. I'm on book number 5 in the Angels Bay Series and I am going to miss this town when I'm done! Definitely a great summer and all year round read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    Very, very good!

    I enjoyed this book and am excited to read the rest of the series. It had romance, suspense, and was also touching! I would highly recommend to others,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    Bet

    Please barnes and noble ban harriet from reviewing. She tells the whole plot of the book. Every one pleaseflag her rewiews as a plot spoiler.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Good but choppy

    This is a good book the first in the series. It is writen with several plots going on within a more main plot. It can be difficult to figure out what you are reading about in each chapter as it seems as it was written chapter be chapter and then put togeather. Interesting main plot of angels watching a town and leaving clues they are there. Could be a very good story it flowed better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2012

    Loved it

    Loved it and can't wait to read the other in the series. Wish they were lendable though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 135 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7