Customer Reviews for

Suddenly Royal

Average Rating 4.5
( 245 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(140)

4 Star

(70)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

25 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

I have so much that I want to say about this book, but I am sure

I have so much that I want to say about this book, but I am sure I will never be able to do it justice. I stayed up to the wee hours of the morning trying to finish it. I didn't want it to end. I fell asleep with it still in my hands and when I woke, it was the first th...
I have so much that I want to say about this book, but I am sure I will never be able to do it justice. I stayed up to the wee hours of the morning trying to finish it. I didn't want it to end. I fell asleep with it still in my hands and when I woke, it was the first thing I wanted to see. (My poor hubby lol) Nichole has been one of my favorite authors since she first started and published Mortal Obligation, but with this book it boosted her even more and now has a permanent place on my top favorite-have to read everything-I must own all her books-kinda author for the rest of her entire writing career.
Suddenly Royal is amazing! It was a story that I wanted to climb into and be the character, I wanted to live the life she let me have a glimpse at. Stories like these are where dreams are made. I wanted to a part of the story and I ached that it wasn't real and it had to end. Prince Yummy was incredible and I Royally wished he were real!

posted by MRPolish on April 28, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

I decided to take a risk on this one and boy was I sorely disapp

I decided to take a risk on this one and boy was I sorely disappointed with this book! It contained way too much inappropriate romance in it. This was my first romance novel and I think I will be scared off of them for a while. Maybe I am naive about what romance author...
I decided to take a risk on this one and boy was I sorely disappointed with this book! It contained way too much inappropriate romance in it. This was my first romance novel and I think I will be scared off of them for a while. Maybe I am naive about what romance authors do write about (I was hoping it would be similar to the maturity level of Selection by Kierra Cass) but I do not plan to purchase any other books from this author. 

posted by 13631110 on January 17, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2014

    xxxxcccccccxccffgvvv nnnnn.,ooolloqk2,qqkkkkqkkkkkk1kqk1kkkqk1

    k1oqpoppppaawpaaq,aqqpq1pll,k,qqkq,kkqkkl1ll1kqllqlqlqllqq1lqllqlllqq1q!okqk,,q1,1kqkkqq1ooqqkoqkkqoooooqoqooooooqoooqkqkqqwawzcczcxc%%"%##22#4$33$"""%fao

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2014

    Okay

    It was a good book at first until I got to a certain chapter. It was inappropriate and its definitely not a book under age 18. If your into this sorta thing then go ahead but I didnt like it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2014

    Eh

    This book was predictable

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2014

    Every girl (or thirty-something woman - whatever) loves a good p

    Every girl (or thirty-something woman - whatever) loves a good princessy, royal story, right? You know, like Princess Diaries or The Prince and Me...those types in which an average girl learns she's from descended nobility or a handsome young Prince falls in love with her and spirits her away to a far away land in which she awkwardly learns the royal ropes while charming the masses. Though I've never been a Princess type, I've always liked that sort of story. In fact, I nearly wore out my Princess Diaries DVD when I was pregnant with my oldest.

    My point is, I was looking forward to Suddenly Royal. A lot of my friends enjoyed it, the cover is cute, and I like a lot of Avon books. (Which, by the way, I don't think I've read an Avon book with such a sweet and mostly innocent tone.) I think I've become broken over the last few years, because it seems I'm just not into the sweet-long-lost nobility-story anymore. I was surprised, but I just didn't get into Suddenly Royal like I anticipated.

    I liked that Sam was a wildlife biology major. My husband is a wildlife biologist -specifically, a fish biologist by profession (sexy, right? Stand back, he's mine), so I thought I might relate to that in a way because I should have an honorary degree by osmosis and tag-along field trips. It seems that this angle was covered pretty well, though I could have honestly done with more royalty and less raptor talk. And let me just stop to say that if me talking about birds and hawks and such is confusing you, because -shouldn't I be talking about cute princes? - I'm going on and on about this because all of this is in the book a lot. A lot.

    And now that I think about it, I think I focused on the realities and science *shudder* because I couldn't focus on the royal aspect. Now, I can get down with vampires (BDB!) and some really unrealistic plots, in my paranormal, but in reality, I like for details to make sense. It bugged me that the home country is fictional (but I get why) and that it's smack in the middle of Europe, on top or underneath of Germany or something. It reminded me of that episode of Saved by the Bell when Jessie's dad was marrying that woman from Lichtenberg. I'm just...I get cranky about geography, okay? I worked really hard on memorizing all those teeny tiny countries and I need for that to make sense. I'm sorry. I won't even bore you with my thoughts on the feudal-type system going on in Lilaria or why it took sooooo many years to locate Sam's family.

    You know what? I'll just say this: If you are into modern day, super sweet fairy tales, you'll probably enjoy Suddenly Royal a lot. It was a charming story, with very little friction, besides the awkward-ish love scenes that came out of nowhere. (I'm sorry! ) Because this was very reminiscent of other Surprise-You're-A- Royal stories, I pretty much knew what was coming the entire time. Every character was perfectly pleasant and everything pretty much went according to plan. I know I've had a crankypants tone throughout this review and it honestly wasn't intentional. I honestly thought I was still into this trope and I guess I'm not, at least not without more drama or in a different category. This book is very popular, and I can see why, for those who enjoy this type of story. Suddenly Royal was a nice story, in my opinion, which results in my overall good rating.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2014

    Cute

    thoroughly ejoyed this story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2014

    Enjoyed it.

    Enjoyed it and I'm looking forward to reading the follow-up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2014

    Very nice story, I was expecting a little more and i felt like there just was not enough to keep my really wanting to finish this book¿ i wont be purchasing the next book because this one was just okay

    !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2014

    Have not rread the book hant and will not tell an one will tell me good things about the book and bad things about the book:)

    I have not read this book hant but i what to rille bad i ban reading the comes and it semmed.like most of them are goooooooooooooooooood comes abote the book and if an one whats to tell me things bad about the book you can and the thing that i should not by the book becuse just tell me by not by the book than write me back to cat

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2014

    L

    Vg

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1