Customer Reviews for

Suddenly You

Average Rating 4
( 344 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(165)

4 Star

(105)

3 Star

(48)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 347 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 18
  • Posted February 7, 2011

    Wonderful story.

    I have read eveyone of Lisa's historical books. Each is wonderful in its own way but tops on my list is this story. Amanda is celebrating her 30th birthday when she meets Jack. Both characters are wonderfully written, are true partners in their relationship and the sex scenes are very steamy - even for Lisa. Great story. A must read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Not the Conventional Romance Book

    This novel has a readable style compared to most romance novels, but what makes it stand out are the plot and characterizations which are about as far away from the conventional historical romance as you can get--in good ways. The heroine, Amanda Briars, is a women of independent means in Victorian England who makes her living as a novelist. She arranges for a male prostitute to come to her on her 30th birthday because she's tired of being a spinster virgin. Except what the madame sends is a man she thinks might be Amanda's match--Jack Devlin, a young publisher. And that's about as much I can tell you without it being a spoiler, except this breaks other romance conventions--which is the reason this was among my favorite reads on a romance reading list I recently worked through. I also think I find Jack just about the most appealing hero among the romance books I've read--he's a real entrepreneur, an ambitious self-made man and I for one find that a thousand times more attractive than a title.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    REMARKABLY DELICIOUS EROTIC RENDEZVOUS!!

    Scoundrels, Rakes, Rogues, galore when reformed they become MAGNANIMOUS MEN, & ENTICINGLY APPETIZING HUSBANDS. This novel, Lady Sophia's Lover, & Devil in Winter, are by far the greatest erotic novels written by Lisa Kleypas, I've read thus far. Yes, it can be overwhelming explicit at times. And yes, I did blush & became embarassed; however, the revelation discoverd at the conclusion by Jack & Amanda is GROUNDBREAKINGLY EXQUISITE, well worth the read.

    Every single novel written by Lisa Kleypas, is overwhelmingly surprising, and I'm intensely infacuated with them. All the characters within in LK's series are basicly interlaced with each other, therefore, to fully comprehend them you should start with the first novels that were written. Don't do as I have, I started with Mine Until Midnight. And, I've been working backwards since; however, I'm extremely enthused with discovering the triumphs of the characters who have been mentioned. AS USUAL LK DESERVES A 5 STAR & BEYOND RATING!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2012

    Great Book

    One of my favorite Lisa Kleypas books!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2010

    I love Mr. Devlin

    I loved this book. I loved how the characters could not get it together and then finally find that peace. I also loved how modern thinking Jack Devlin was and how he pushed Amanda to do more. My very favorite part was that Jack was 5 years young than her. Love it, since my husband is younger than me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2014

    Loved loved it!

    This book had everything...i loved the characters..loved the wit, love and a little sadness thrown in. Perfect...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2014

    Her best Novel! A MUST READ! I love everything I have ever read

    Her best Novel! A MUST READ!
    I love everything I have ever read by her. And don't have to read the back cover , to decide if I want to buy it.
    Now, as much as I enjoy them all & keep them in my nook or library to read again. The Hathaways Series being
    my favorite... followed by the Wallflowers Series. And as great as I think every novel she writes is. I still stand by
    the previous being the best! Well I stand corrected! This has now become my FAVORITE! I don't have one
    complaint... I loved the entire novel from the beginning to end & could not put it down!
    Loved the characters, the story & the interactions between them. I LOVED the rapport between Amanda & Jack...
    I could go on & on & be saying the same thing!
    You just can't go wrong with a Lisa Kleypas Novel!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2014

    Beta's Den

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2014

    One of the Best Romantic Novels I've Read

    A well written romance novel. The main and most side characters are fully developed and interesting. Unlike a lot of romantic novels I've read, the couple are completely developed before everything gets hot and heavy in their relationship. There's a lot of sexual tension between the main couple, but it's not thrown in your face constantly and they get to know each other for half of the book before anything really happens between them. We see why they want each other, which has rarely happened in romantic novels I've read. It's usually sex for the sake of sex. No real reason why they want or need that person. But in this novel, it is made completely clear.

    My issue with the novel is the last third of it. After such a wonderful set up of the relationship, the writer decides to make this wonderful novel into something ordinary. Once the couple finally does the deed, we literally hear of nothing else. The sex scenes became so numerous and so monotonous, that I ended up skipping over most of them to get to the end.

    I also felt that once the couple "found" each other, the story puttered out. It seemed a bit thrown together, which was surprising since the rest of the book is so good.

    Other than that, I would recommend this novel because the writing and the character development in the first half of it is so wonderful and surprising for a romantic novel. It's completely all around predictable but a definite feel good read, even with it's flaws.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    This Lisa's best work; it's the epitome of all things that make

    This Lisa's best work; it's the epitome of all things that make romance great: 
    anxiety; attraction; lust; friendship and ultimately love as one person has to release
    his fear to embrace joy while the other has to be brave enough to risk everything
    for a great passion and love. The fact that Jack is younger then Amanda, and that 
    he supports her dreams and pushes her to be successful in a man's world well ...it just doesn't get any better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    Great

    This was a really good love story. Very sexual and not for under 18. Jack is one of the most romantic and sexy heros ever and it was a wonderful period romance with a wonderful ending. I will read more by this author. Phyl p

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2013

    Fun

    This was a different slant on the manners and morals of the days of old. Interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2012

    Loved it!

    Kleypas never disappoints! From the unique beginning to the age old dance of love, hate jealousy this book has it all. Loved the fact that the heroine was an independant successful author! Sexy, sensual and crackling with sexual tension!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2012

    It's good

    I like the MC! She was a normal person

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2012

    Great

    Jack Devlin is the perfect man. I think he is my favorite hero of all of Lisa Kleypas. This book is sexy and unconventional, yet mostly within the realm of possibility. I love the way he brings out the best in her. This is a theme LK has developed in many of her novels from her very first rough book. How one plus one is greater than two.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2012

    Great read

    Loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2012

    Recommended

    I read most of Lisa Kleypas books and this one is also a good story to read. I found the characters to be really like able and their build up for their romance to have just the right amount of drama. The story is not slow placed and their are some real memorable squeal worthy scenes. Not my all time favorite but if your like me and have read a bunch of Romance novels for the actual romance, then this is a good story to have under your belt.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    Read and re-read

    Love this book. Kleypas in good form!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2012

    Not as engaging as her most recent ones but it was a quick and e

    Not as engaging as her most recent ones but it was a quick and easy read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    very good

    started out a little slow for me but after a couple of pages it really really picked up its pace. this is my first time reading a book by this author. i only picked it because the female lead wasn't the usual size two. she reminded me a lot of myself. i just really like it plus its very very hottttt. get it if you like it hotttt.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 347 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 18