Customer Reviews for

Sugar Daddy

Average Rating 4.5
( 378 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(249)

4 Star

(86)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Stop Raising ebook prices

This ebook should not cost the same as the regular paperback. Other Nook owners please fight back.

posted by Daniela34 on April 4, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

The love story that could.

The story started out really nice but somewhere in the middle the autor lost the plot. The sugar daddy part was undeveloped and the author spent so much time developing Hardy and Liberty's story that it was such a let down how she didn't follow through. What was the lov...
The story started out really nice but somewhere in the middle the autor lost the plot. The sugar daddy part was undeveloped and the author spent so much time developing Hardy and Liberty's story that it was such a let down how she didn't follow through. What was the love story, we would never forget. I think the author was the first person to forget the love story.

posted by Anonymous on March 12, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 379 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 19
  • Posted April 4, 2010

    Stop Raising ebook prices

    This ebook should not cost the same as the regular paperback. Other Nook owners please fight back.

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Good Book/Good Series

    I loved this book. I enjoyed it very much. I thought the characters were well rounded. I loved the rest of the series, "Blue Eyed Devil" and "Smooth Talking Stranger". I love the way the characters are carried over into the rest of the books. They have a chance to grow and become more well rounded. Hoping there is a book for "Joe". I have recommended these to my niece and she enjoyed them as much as I did. Will re-read all of them.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Sugar Daddy is the first of Lisa's contemporary novels staring the Travis Family of Texas.

    First of all I have to admit that this is my first foray into the wonderful world created by Lisa Kleypas, it was only by way of a bet between my friend Melanie Murray a talented author in her own right and myself that I even took up the gauntlet, one I'm so glad I did. So thanks Melanie, I owe you yet another thanks for introducing me to yet another incredible author.
    Liberty Jones has from childhood taken a can do attitude which has helped her a great deal with her less then wonderful life. Her father, the love of her mother's life died in a tragic accident on an oil rig. Since then her mother has tried to comfort herself by quantity and not quality of boyfriends none of who seem to stay around. But there's a lot that momma's not telling her and it will follow her all her life. Her one solid thing through the whole of it is Hardy Cates. Hardy has not got an easy life either, but he's convinced that Liberty is someone who needs caring for and he's going to do it, the only thing wrong with this is that as soon as Hardy can get out of Welcome Texas he's gone so the one think he doesn't want Liberty to do is to count on him indefinitely.
    Ms Kleypas gives us a unique modern day Cinderella story, one where the heroine has a lot of spunk, wit and panache and the fact that Cinderella only wants to take care of herself and not rely on some rich "Sugar Daddy" for her livelihood. The dialogue is a mix of urban sophistication and Texas twang, interspersed with common man slang and it's a great fit for the diversity of the characters. And let's talk about the characters which are all tremendously important to the story no matter their standing in the story line, they all fill a certain role and do it wonderfully. Her heroine Liberty is unequalled in the ranks of heroines, she's got everything in life going against her and yet just like the little engine that could, she did and she does it with style, grace and that Unsinkable Molly Brown attitude. She share the stage with multiple heros that all stand out for their various reasons and some of them more than others. Ms. Kleypas doesn't introduce us to all of them in the beginning so I'll just say they're great and let the reader find out who, what, when and where for themselves. The romance is novel worthy, it's met with constant sink holes and pit falls and she really makes her couple work hard for their Happy Ever After. Her love scenes are sensual and spicy and descriptive without being too risqué, but believe me when I tell you that romance lovers like me who love their baser love scenes, we will not be cheated.
    So if like me you've never had the pleasure of reading Lisa Kleypas, what are you waiting for. For those who love a great contemporary romance with a lot of heart and soul, this one's for you. Don't forget to read the other two volumes dedicated to the Travis Family. I know I'm on my way to get the next one now.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Book and a Series too!

    Enjoyed this quick read. I loved the powerful and the wealthy characters that live in Texas. The storyline is fast paced and full of life. As always lisa kleypas keeps you wanting more. There is love, lust and heartbreak. And the 2 books that follow are just as good.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Not your typical romance

    SUGAR DADDY is the story or Liberty Jones, following her life from the time she and her mama move to the Bluebonnet Ranch mobile home park in Welcome, Texas, through her teenage years and into adulthood. Liberty loves Hardy Cates but he is unwilling to give up his dream of getting out of Welcome and making something of himself. Soon after he leaves, tragedy strikes. With the odds stacked against her, Liberty doesn't cave under pressure. When she becomes good friends with billionaire tycoon, Churchill Travis, he makes her an offer she can't refuse. With his son Gage, she discovers a passion that she never thought to experience. Just as everything seems to be falling into place, Hardy enters back into Liberty's life, forcing her to choose between the two men, Hardy, who she has loved forever and Gage, who she is just discovering. Who will she choose?
    SUGAR DADDY is not your typical romance, it was nothing like I had expected and I found it a refreshing change. First person is not my favorite perspective to read, in fact I usually avoid it, but Lisa Kleypas made it work for me. Her storyline and characters captivated me from the start. While at first I was leary of where the story was going, soon I was so enthralled, I just couldn't wait to see how it all unfolded!
    I really liked Liberty, she was a strong person, that no matter what obstacle came up, she was able to overcome it. I liked that she had friends who helped her through difficult times, and she wasn't to stubborn to accept it when it was truly needed. I thought she was doing the best to raise her sister. I could understand Hardy's determination to make something of himself. His leaving to chase his dreams, while hurtful to Liberty was the right choice. There was a heat between that had me wanting to see them get together, at least until she met Gage. Gage was a strong man with a great sense of integrity. He knew what he wanted, but he was smart enough not to give Liberty and ultimatum. The chemistry between Gage and Liberty was intense.

    NightOwlReviews.com

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2009

    Cutesy story

    First, I HATED the narrator. It took me 5 discs into it to stop cringeing everytime she did a male voice.
    Second, there were so many stupid things said about Texans and Houstonians that I wish no one who wasn't one could read this book. I live in Houston, Texas and while I was entertained by her generalizations, they were just that -- NOT ALL PEOPLE THAT LIVE IN TEXAS WEAR COWBOY HATS AND HAVE HORSES.
    Third, it was a cute book though and GREAT to escape with. I listened to it for the past few days as I drove all over Texas visiting friends and the hours sitting in the car just *flew* by. I thought the ending was a little hurried and VeRy hokey in the last few minutes but oh well, anything else wouldn't have fit. I definitely recommend this book as a read but maybe not to listen to unless they reproduce it with a better narrator.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    Great Book!

    One of my favorite books in my library of 500! Wow what a great name for a character...Liberty... A character trying to break through her stuggles in her childhood years, raising her younger sister from a baby, as if her own child. Loved that she meets a strong, wealthy, well connected Texac billionaire, Churchilll, who see's her inate strength of character, and helps try to silently nurture it and help her grow more confident. All her childhood she loved Hardy Cates, but he was poor like her and searching for a better more fulfilling life and promised to return. Liberty waited, and waited. When opportunites arose to go on with her life she tried to change her life for her and her sister even through many struggles, and men who didnt want the excess baggage and no sparks anyway. Churchill proposes a new opportunity for her and when she accepts, his sons introduce an eye opening epiphany in regards to her old love Hardy Cates. The rest...well its definitely a wonderful modern day Cinderella story you will love and like I have, mark it as your very favorite story. Read it and enjoy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2007

    Not a romance

    I like Lisa but this book is not her best. Her writing is good and in no way we feel that this is her first contemporary but half way along the book she lost track of the story. The character of Hardy was so much developed in the first part that you would be disappointed at the ending of the book (IMO). I am not disappointed at the ending but the way it was narrated was little disappointing. On the whole it was not a satisfactory read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2007

    The love story that could.

    The story started out really nice but somewhere in the middle the autor lost the plot. The sugar daddy part was undeveloped and the author spent so much time developing Hardy and Liberty's story that it was such a let down how she didn't follow through. What was the love story, we would never forget. I think the author was the first person to forget the love story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2014

    Lacy walks in

    Finds the boys starts to pole dance and strip

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2014

    Izzy

    Walks in naked

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2014

    Madi

    Walks in

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2014

    Stupid

    Stupiid

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2014

    One of my favorites

    Loved every minute

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2013

    No-go.

    This book was long drawn out. Boring, I skipped page after page. Last three chapters had some interest, some romance. What a waste of time!
    S.A.K.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2013

    Sugar Daddy

    Wow, its really hard to read Lisa Kleypas books and try to find a favorite because she always has a another book just as good as the first. This book takes all because it has so many characters from the poorest poor, sleazy, ambitious, annoying, to the down right sexy. The characters and social situations were realistic. Liberty and her love life problems are faced by women everywhere. I loved her and imagined her looking like the doomed singer Selena. But the male characters made me drool. Gage and Hardy it was so hard to choose between the two. However, I just loved Gage and the way his character thought things through. This book is a multidimensional must read that will appeal to a wide audience. Sidebar - Lisa Kleypas please write a book about the last child Joe and a book about the father when he was younger, he is one sexy old lion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2013

    I really like this book. I was detailed and wasn't a whole novel

    I really like this book. I was detailed and wasn't a whole novel about two weeks in a person's life. I really liked the characters and the series. Good read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2013

    Diana to austin

    Something happened to my nook nd i got locked out of every book i evr chatted on..i have no idea how.....but i lost all my freinds...its killin me...

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2013

    This is where it all began

    I like how Lisa Kleypas started the story. Sure, its a bit slow at first but it really gets interesting in the middle and juicier in the end. Kleypas really got me guessing. Looking forward for the second book: "Blue-Eyed Devil".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2013

    Wonderful book

    I enjoyed this book and the two that follow

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 379 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 19