Customer Reviews for

Sugar Daddy

Average Rating 4.5
( 377 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(248)

4 Star

(86)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Stop Raising ebook prices

This ebook should not cost the same as the regular paperback. Other Nook owners please fight back.

posted by Daniela34 on April 4, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

The love story that could.

The story started out really nice but somewhere in the middle the autor lost the plot. The sugar daddy part was undeveloped and the author spent so much time developing Hardy and Liberty's story that it was such a let down how she didn't follow through. What was the lov...
The story started out really nice but somewhere in the middle the autor lost the plot. The sugar daddy part was undeveloped and the author spent so much time developing Hardy and Liberty's story that it was such a let down how she didn't follow through. What was the love story, we would never forget. I think the author was the first person to forget the love story.

posted by Anonymous on March 12, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 86 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted February 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Book and a Series too!

    Enjoyed this quick read. I loved the powerful and the wealthy characters that live in Texas. The storyline is fast paced and full of life. As always lisa kleypas keeps you wanting more. There is love, lust and heartbreak. And the 2 books that follow are just as good.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2009

    Cutesy story

    First, I HATED the narrator. It took me 5 discs into it to stop cringeing everytime she did a male voice.
    Second, there were so many stupid things said about Texans and Houstonians that I wish no one who wasn't one could read this book. I live in Houston, Texas and while I was entertained by her generalizations, they were just that -- NOT ALL PEOPLE THAT LIVE IN TEXAS WEAR COWBOY HATS AND HAVE HORSES.
    Third, it was a cute book though and GREAT to escape with. I listened to it for the past few days as I drove all over Texas visiting friends and the hours sitting in the car just *flew* by. I thought the ending was a little hurried and VeRy hokey in the last few minutes but oh well, anything else wouldn't have fit. I definitely recommend this book as a read but maybe not to listen to unless they reproduce it with a better narrator.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2013

    This is where it all began

    I like how Lisa Kleypas started the story. Sure, its a bit slow at first but it really gets interesting in the middle and juicier in the end. Kleypas really got me guessing. Looking forward for the second book: "Blue-Eyed Devil".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2013

    Wonderful book

    I enjoyed this book and the two that follow

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2012

    Ok

    Fight back how exactly?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2011

    Dont be fooled by the title or cowboys!

    This book was amazing. It lingers here and there but it is worth it. It is a page turner and compelling to read. You will never guess the ending. Its romantic, tragic, steamy and hott!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2011

    Good story, but a bit of a downer

    This was a good book, but if you're looking for a light romance, this is not it. It left me a little bummed-out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2011

    Omg! Awesome !!

    The beginning was a little slow to take off but it was sooo worth the wait . It was unpredictable and had your heart ripped in two. One of my all time faves

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Lovely story

    I really enjoyed this story. We have the opportunity to be a part of Liberty Jones' journey from her adolescence to becoming a young woman. Her story is told without drama and pity, allowing us to take in her experiences through her perspective. Liberty's disappointments and struggles do not put her in despair. She makes the best of her situations and immediately starts to develop solutions.

    You know early on that Liberty is going to be heading for heartache with Hardy Cates as he declares at the onset he has no intention of staying in the trailer park or the town of Welcome. The triangle formed with Gage Travis when he returns years later was inevitable but you always have the sense that Liberty is going to know what is right for her and her sister.

    This is an extremely well written story complete with humor, sadness and romance. I wasn't always certain in which direction it was headed but I liked being along for the ride and trusted that the story would continue to be honest and realistic. Liberty is a wonderful character.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Loved it

    I really loved this story. I listed to it on cd in my car for a week. I found myself making excuses to jump in the car so that I could find out what happens next. If you like Urban Cowboys then this is a great book for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great Author!!

    Loved the book...great read and explicit love scenes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2010

    Traditional Romance But a Great Read

    [The nook edition has a sloppy format-lots of misplaced hyphens and one section where all the letters are lower case except for the letter W. Pretty bad even at $2.99.]

    I hadn't read a book by Lisa Kleypas for maybe 20 years, and now I wonder why I stopped. This page-turner will keep you riveted despite its traditional and predictable plot. Liberty is a great heroine, a lovable underdog who makes a commitment to raise her infant sister despite her lack of a job or training. Raised in a trailer park by her immature, emotionally fragile widowed mother, she becomes deeply attached to Hardy, a bad boy with a good heart. Hardy returns her affections, but refuses to enter into a relationship that he knows would keep him in Welcome, Texas, and the trailer park. He leaves Welcome to seek his fortune, leaving Liberty to wonder whether she can ever love anyone else.

    When Liberty manages to receive financial aid for beauty school, she aces the course, scoring a job at an upscale salon for the wealthy in Houston. There she meets Churchill Travis, a zillionaire in his golden years who takes a fatherly interest in her. He opens the door for Liberty to a position in his home as a personal assistant, much to the dismay of his gorgeous eldest son, Gage, who mistrusts and dislikes her. You know the rest--they begin a relationship. But there is an added wrinkle with the return of Hardy into the picture--a new Hardy, ambitious as ever but with a good deal of financial success under his belt. Kleypas does a great job of conveying a credible return of the passion and dear familiarity Liberty still feels for Hardy and her confusion in choosing between Hardy and Gage.

    What sets this novel apart are the supporting characters--the sadder-but-wiser Churchill Travis; Miss Marva, a colorful old lady who offers Liberty emotional support; a Portuguese family who stand by to help; Carrington, the beloved and feisty baby sister; and even Anita, the hairstylist friend who introduces Liberty to the world of sugar daddies and sugar babies (you've met the other male principal characters before). Another plus is the background material on Texas and life in Houston. Since I rarely read novels about the super-rich, I found the details of their lives very interesting. (If you tend toward this genre, you may be more familiar with these points.) You really see all this through Liberty's eyes as a strange and unreal new world.

    Although I would have liked to see Liberty achieve more in her own right, this is a masterful handling of a very familiar plot and well worth a read. I was at home sick with a virus and finished it way too fast--I was sorry it ended. If this book appeals to you, try Trophy Wife by Ginna Gray.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2010

    Great rainy day read!

    My first read by Llisa Kleypas and I would highly recommend this book. I would like to read more by her also! In the begining when the characters are introduced you think you know what the outcome will be but I was pleasantly suprised! A romantic read with a great female character with a tough background. Give this book a try, you wont be disappointed:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2009

    Must buy!

    This is a really good follow up after Blue eyed devil. Both books are great reads and the characters keep things interesting. A definite buy!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2009

    Great book to read on vacation

    Fun, easy read. I could not put this book down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2008

    First Lisa Kleypas book

    This was my first LK book. Although I've read just about everyone else in the genre's work, I'd never tried a Kleypas work. Glad I did. This book was cute, funny, maddening and filled with guts, determination and love. Definitely a keeper for my personal library. Can't wait to read Blue Eyed Devil!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2008

    Great

    Great book. Kept me clenched to it until the very last page!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2008

    Well written

    Being a big fan of Lisa Kleypas and her historical romances, I automatically reached for this book on the shelf but was pleasantly suprised by it. One, because it wasn't a historical romance and two, I was captivated from the first page. It's been a long time since I've read anything so well written. Beyond that, the story took me to a whole other place that I didn't want to leave. In summary - lovely and superb.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2007

    Enjoyed it !!

    Enjoyed the book, I like that it was not like all the others -- of her books. Looking forward to 'Blue-eyed Devil'!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2007

    Lisa's first contemporary so worth the read!

    I love Lisa Kleypas as a historical romance author. She is one of the best. That being said, I had my doubts about her transition into the world of contemporary romantic fiction. Other of my favorite authors have ventured there, and the results were not always pretty. However, kudos to Lisa. 'Sugar Daddy,' is a wonderful introduction to her talent in this genre. My only hope is that she does not totally abandon the historical romance field where she shines so brilliantly. Her first person narrative approach to 'Sugar Daddy' is interesting, and grows on the reader as the story progresses. I find this author a master at creating characters that prolong reader involvement long after the book's ending. The only reason preventing me from giving 'Sugar Daddy' a five, is that it ended too soon. The relationship between Liberty Jones and Gage Travis was not fully explored to this reader's satisfaction. Gage Travis, an incredibly complex character, and his attraction, and subsequent involvement with Liberty had volumes more to reveal, yet the process was expedited while loose ends neatly tied up. Lisa doesn't apply this writing technique to her historical romances, so hopefully she won't apply it to her future contemporary works. She is too good a storyteller to short change her characters' individual stories. She is a brilliant writer, and 'Sugar Daddy,' is ALMOST flawless. I so recommend it to her fans, and newcomers alike.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 86 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5