Customer Reviews for

Sugar Detox for Beginners: Your Guide to Starting a 21-Day Sugar Detox

Average Rating 4
( 51 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Opened my eyes about my addiction to sugar and sugary products.

Opened my eyes about my addiction to sugar and sugary products. All the factual details in the book lead me to believe that trying the sugar detox would not only benefit me but also my family. The recipes are very easy and after trying two or three i can vouch for their...
Opened my eyes about my addiction to sugar and sugary products. All the factual details in the book lead me to believe that trying the sugar detox would not only benefit me but also my family. The recipes are very easy and after trying two or three i can vouch for their tastiness too. The 21 day plan will surely help with getting rid of the sugar craving and the extra weight i have been trying to cut off

posted by zainabkashif on January 19, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Aside from the healthy and delightful recipes, I did not find th

Aside from the healthy and delightful recipes, I did not find this book very helpful in terms of nutrition research information. It feels very blasé about sugar detoxing – though it puts together an interesting regime of meals for the detox. I prefer a more based-in-res...
Aside from the healthy and delightful recipes, I did not find this book very helpful in terms of nutrition research information. It feels very blasé about sugar detoxing – though it puts together an interesting regime of meals for the detox. I prefer a more based-in-research approach than a this-is-bad-for-you rant. 

posted by jinya824 on January 21, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted January 24, 2014

    Diabetes is ¿an emerging global epidemic¿. Wow! I eat and crave

    Diabetes is “an emerging global epidemic”. Wow! I eat and crave sugar every day in food, drinks, hard candy and more. Learning about what sugar does to our bodies was so eye-opening for me. Having the choice to either do the 21-day gradual detox or the 3-day detox (cold turkey) is perfect for me. The flexibility, substitution suggestions and real-life application tips for me are just what I need. 

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2014

    Opened my eyes about my addiction to sugar and sugary products.

    Opened my eyes about my addiction to sugar and sugary products. All the factual details in the book lead me to believe that trying the sugar detox would not only benefit me but also my family. The recipes are very easy and after trying two or three i can vouch for their tastiness too. The 21 day plan will surely help with getting rid of the sugar craving and the extra weight i have been trying to cut off

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2014

    K

    Lots of good information, well presented. There are so many foods with a high sugar content I never would have guessed. I am not going to the extreme and completely eliminating sugar altogether, I will still enjoy the occasional treat. This book helped me to make better food choices based on sugar content in my daily diet.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2014

    Aside from the healthy and delightful recipes, I did not find th

    Aside from the healthy and delightful recipes, I did not find this book very helpful in terms of nutrition research information. It feels very blasé about sugar detoxing – though it puts together an interesting regime of meals for the detox. I prefer a more based-in-research approach than a this-is-bad-for-you rant. 

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2014

    This challenging book offers terrific ideas on how to stop the s

    This challenging book offers terrific ideas on how to stop the sugar habit. As the book notes, it’s in almost all processed foods, as well as even fruits, milk, and other foods that people may not think of. Sugar is addictive and stopping is hard. That’s why a detox is necessary. The author suggests a “cold turkey” option, as well as a gradual one. Perhaps the gradual one is easiest for most people. Regardless, sugar is over-consumed and needs to be primarily removed from the diets of people around the world. This is an excellent book that’s very informative. I highly recommend it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2014

    Lousy sample

    You are going go have to include more in the sample than the table of contents to get me interested enough to buy.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2014

    If you don¿t know the effects that sugar can have on your body,

    If you don’t know the effects that sugar can have on your body, you should definitely read this book.  It will spell out everything you need to know about what sugar can do to your body, how you know you have a sugar addiction problem, how to detox your body, and how to avoid sugar consumption in the future by following these really easy recipes. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2014

    The negative effects of sugar on our bodies is astounding! Thank

    The negative effects of sugar on our bodies is astounding! Thanks to 'Sugar Detox for Beginners', we are taken through a step by step program to "detox" and cleanse our bodies; feeling and looking younger and healthier! The recipes in this book are a must have for you and the family!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2014

    As hard-core sugar addict, if someone would have told me that I'

    As hard-core sugar addict, if someone would have told me that I'd choose to give it up for 2014,I'd laugh at them. But after taking a look at Sugar Detox for Beginners from Hayward Press, the joke is on   me. Filled with helpful hints, recipes, meal plans, and a quiz to zero in on your own personal issues with the sweet powdery white substance, this book is more than just diet how-to. I hope to say that 2014 will be my last sugar-high ride, and with this book- it just might be.  

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2014

    I learned so many things about how to rid my body of sugar. I w

    I learned so many things about how to rid my body of sugar. I was surprised to learn how many foods contain sugar and how I should avoid them I loved the day by day menus to help you detox. The recipes look yummy and I can't wait to try some.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2014

    Sugar Detox for Beginners is a concise, yet very informative lit

    Sugar Detox for Beginners is a concise, yet very informative little tome for the sugar-battler.  Complete with not only cooking solutions, but also tips for shopping, travelling, even saying no to the seemingly endless parade of people that seem always to tempt us with the sweets.
     
    With this book in your arsenal you’ll no longer have any excuses: You’ll know every place that sugar hides, as well as its every ramification.
     
    There’s no better time to start your sugar education than right now, so step to it. 

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2014

    Sugar Detox for Beginners, complete with shopping lists, kitchen

    Sugar Detox for Beginners, complete with shopping lists, kitchen equipment requirements and detailed recipes I can actually make? I'm in! All the recipes are adaptable to specific dietary needs which I very much appreciate being a vegetarian. There are even sections advising on how to survive the more difficult situations such as traveling, eating out, or attending a celebration or event. The sections on the pros and cons of organic produce and farmed raised vs. wild fish were both very insightful, and the emphasis placed on the importance of label reading was also dually noted. While I found all of the recipes to be well selected, I really enjoyed that most featured were somewhat on trend, though still out of the box. I will definitely attempt the soba stir fry, homemade falafel, and mock pasta and breaded eggplant recipes. Yum!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2014

    This book is quite informative for curbing sugar addiction. Too

    This book is quite informative for curbing sugar addiction. Too much sugar can be addictive and the goal of Sugar Detox for Beginners: Your Guide to Starting a 21-Day Sugar Detox is to inform the read of more sugar conscious choices in order to regulate with optimal performance. Not only will you learn to curb cravings but a quiz is provided to help understand how much sugar or how addicted you are without knowing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2014

    So far, this is the best book on sugar detox that I¿ve come acro

    So far, this is the best book on sugar detox that I’ve come across. Not only does it explain why sugar can be so toxic, but it includes full detox plans. My heart broke a little bit when I saw all of the foods that I wouldn’t be able to eat during detox, but the daily meal plans look tasty. I’m glad to finally have a solid sugar detox plan. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2014

    Diabetes runs in my family so sugar is a big factor for me. I've

    Diabetes runs in my family so sugar is a big factor for me. I've noticed over the years that people who eat a lot of sugar are prone to diabetes and since that disease runs in my family I need to start doing something about it. 
    Good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2014

    I love this book! It makes cutting sugar from my diet so easy,  

    I love this book! It makes cutting sugar from my diet so easy,  and I found it easy to stick to a no sugar regimen.
    Thanks for an easy to follow, easy to stick to way to detox sugar from my diet! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2014

    This book gives great ideas for how to kick the habit of sugar f

    This book gives great ideas for how to kick the habit of sugar foods. I am going to recommend this book to my friends and family with diabetes and the ones who have a sweet tooth! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2014

    Sugar Detox for Beginners simply and skillfully helped you throu

    Sugar Detox for Beginners simply and skillfully helped you through the process of cutting your sugar intake. It really details how and why sugar is hurting you and walks you through the process of replacing your old sugary foods with much healthier alternatives. All without skimping on taste!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2014

    With Type 2 Diabetes on the rise in both children and adults wor

    With Type 2 Diabetes on the rise in both children and adults worldwide, ‘sweets’ are not the only thing that contains sugar. It is amazing the number of foods, both natural and per-packaged foods that contain hidden sugars.  Sugar Detox for Beginners by Hayward Press is a great place to start your sugar detox, and provides tips for beating your sugar cravings.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2014

    I always thought sugar was ok, except for the calories.  This bo

    I always thought sugar was ok, except for the calories.  This book was a real eye opener for me.  I appreciate the straightforward approach to reading labels, the explanation on organic foods and the 2 detox programs.  I’m going to give it a try!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3