Customer Reviews for

Sugar Detox for Beginners: Your Guide to Starting a 21-Day Sugar Detox

Average Rating 4
( 51 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Opened my eyes about my addiction to sugar and sugary products.

Opened my eyes about my addiction to sugar and sugary products. All the factual details in the book lead me to believe that trying the sugar detox would not only benefit me but also my family. The recipes are very easy and after trying two or three i can vouch for their...
Opened my eyes about my addiction to sugar and sugary products. All the factual details in the book lead me to believe that trying the sugar detox would not only benefit me but also my family. The recipes are very easy and after trying two or three i can vouch for their tastiness too. The 21 day plan will surely help with getting rid of the sugar craving and the extra weight i have been trying to cut off

posted by zainabkashif on January 19, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Aside from the healthy and delightful recipes, I did not find th

Aside from the healthy and delightful recipes, I did not find this book very helpful in terms of nutrition research information. It feels very blasé about sugar detoxing – though it puts together an interesting regime of meals for the detox. I prefer a more based-in-res...
Aside from the healthy and delightful recipes, I did not find this book very helpful in terms of nutrition research information. It feels very blasé about sugar detoxing – though it puts together an interesting regime of meals for the detox. I prefer a more based-in-research approach than a this-is-bad-for-you rant. 

posted by jinya824 on January 21, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 19, 2014

    Opened my eyes about my addiction to sugar and sugary products.

    Opened my eyes about my addiction to sugar and sugary products. All the factual details in the book lead me to believe that trying the sugar detox would not only benefit me but also my family. The recipes are very easy and after trying two or three i can vouch for their tastiness too. The 21 day plan will surely help with getting rid of the sugar craving and the extra weight i have been trying to cut off

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2014

    K

    Lots of good information, well presented. There are so many foods with a high sugar content I never would have guessed. I am not going to the extreme and completely eliminating sugar altogether, I will still enjoy the occasional treat. This book helped me to make better food choices based on sugar content in my daily diet.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2014

    If you don¿t know the effects that sugar can have on your body,

    If you don’t know the effects that sugar can have on your body, you should definitely read this book.  It will spell out everything you need to know about what sugar can do to your body, how you know you have a sugar addiction problem, how to detox your body, and how to avoid sugar consumption in the future by following these really easy recipes. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2014

    The negative effects of sugar on our bodies is astounding! Thank

    The negative effects of sugar on our bodies is astounding! Thanks to 'Sugar Detox for Beginners', we are taken through a step by step program to "detox" and cleanse our bodies; feeling and looking younger and healthier! The recipes in this book are a must have for you and the family!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2014

    As hard-core sugar addict, if someone would have told me that I'

    As hard-core sugar addict, if someone would have told me that I'd choose to give it up for 2014,I'd laugh at them. But after taking a look at Sugar Detox for Beginners from Hayward Press, the joke is on   me. Filled with helpful hints, recipes, meal plans, and a quiz to zero in on your own personal issues with the sweet powdery white substance, this book is more than just diet how-to. I hope to say that 2014 will be my last sugar-high ride, and with this book- it just might be.  

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2014

    I learned so many things about how to rid my body of sugar. I w

    I learned so many things about how to rid my body of sugar. I was surprised to learn how many foods contain sugar and how I should avoid them I loved the day by day menus to help you detox. The recipes look yummy and I can't wait to try some.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2014

    Sugar Detox for Beginners, complete with shopping lists, kitchen

    Sugar Detox for Beginners, complete with shopping lists, kitchen equipment requirements and detailed recipes I can actually make? I'm in! All the recipes are adaptable to specific dietary needs which I very much appreciate being a vegetarian. There are even sections advising on how to survive the more difficult situations such as traveling, eating out, or attending a celebration or event. The sections on the pros and cons of organic produce and farmed raised vs. wild fish were both very insightful, and the emphasis placed on the importance of label reading was also dually noted. While I found all of the recipes to be well selected, I really enjoyed that most featured were somewhat on trend, though still out of the box. I will definitely attempt the soba stir fry, homemade falafel, and mock pasta and breaded eggplant recipes. Yum!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2014

    This book is quite informative for curbing sugar addiction. Too

    This book is quite informative for curbing sugar addiction. Too much sugar can be addictive and the goal of Sugar Detox for Beginners: Your Guide to Starting a 21-Day Sugar Detox is to inform the read of more sugar conscious choices in order to regulate with optimal performance. Not only will you learn to curb cravings but a quiz is provided to help understand how much sugar or how addicted you are without knowing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2014

    So far, this is the best book on sugar detox that I¿ve come acro

    So far, this is the best book on sugar detox that I’ve come across. Not only does it explain why sugar can be so toxic, but it includes full detox plans. My heart broke a little bit when I saw all of the foods that I wouldn’t be able to eat during detox, but the daily meal plans look tasty. I’m glad to finally have a solid sugar detox plan. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2014

    This book gives great ideas for how to kick the habit of sugar f

    This book gives great ideas for how to kick the habit of sugar foods. I am going to recommend this book to my friends and family with diabetes and the ones who have a sweet tooth! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2014

    Sugar Detox for Beginners simply and skillfully helped you throu

    Sugar Detox for Beginners simply and skillfully helped you through the process of cutting your sugar intake. It really details how and why sugar is hurting you and walks you through the process of replacing your old sugary foods with much healthier alternatives. All without skimping on taste!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2014

    I always thought sugar was ok, except for the calories.  This bo

    I always thought sugar was ok, except for the calories.  This book was a real eye opener for me.  I appreciate the straightforward approach to reading labels, the explanation on organic foods and the 2 detox programs.  I’m going to give it a try!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2014

    Sugar is irrefutably fattening because of its high fructose cont

    Sugar is irrefutably fattening because of its high fructose content which can be deleterious to your health. The 21-Day Sugar Detox text explains the addictive potential of sugar and brings forth suggestions to overcome your sugar cravings. The all-inclusive meal plan in part two of the book chronicles a sugar detox program and offers suggestions to steer clear of foods with high sugar content and for including foods with a low glycemic index.




    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2014

    So happy that I purchased this book! It has made such a differen

    So happy that I purchased this book! It has made such a difference in my eating habits and my work outs. I was taught that when working out, carbs were your best option. After reading this and testing out new ideas, I've been able to really amp up my workouts! So happy about this book, it's really helping me take my weight-loss to the next level.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2014

    Helpful for those about to embark on a healthier lifestyle. Ther

    Helpful for those about to embark on a healthier lifestyle. Theres a meal plan for gradually detoxing from sugar as well as informative quips that help reinforce why you want to abolish sugar from your life to begin with (although there are honestly plenty of reasons the book does not cover or even begin to graze)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2014

    Sugar Detox for Beginners is cook book that can help you with on

    Sugar Detox for Beginners is cook book that can help you with one of the most difficult dietary things to do: cut out sugar.  This book covers different meals of the day and also gives helpful tips on how to avoid sugar.  The task of a sugar detox becomes a lot easier when you have a guide to help you go through the steps of a sugar detox.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2014

    Sugar Detox for Beginners is a simplified and totally do-able gu

    Sugar Detox for Beginners is a simplified and totally do-able guide to detoxing from sugar - something so many of us need in the new year after the holidays.  The three day detox and the 21 day plan are just what you need to clean out your body and start feeling better.  I also really like how they have specific recipes for gradual detoxers.  The best part is of course the recipes - an extensive collection that will please everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2014

    This book is written in a relatable manner that most ¿diet¿ book

    This book is written in a relatable manner that most “diet” books lack. You’ll find useful information whether you’re looking to completely cut out sugar or just modify your intake. In the meal plan section there are links to the corresponding recipes embedded into the menu of the digital copy. This can definitely help you meet your resolutions this year.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2014

    This book is a great source for understanding the dangers of sug

    This book is a great source for understanding the dangers of sugar consumption and the role it plays in our diets.  “Sugar Detox for Beginners” is filled with information and research on sugar’s addictive qualities and the health concerns that overconsumption can lead to.  According to the book, hunger and inadequate nutrition are the main causes of sugar cravings.  In order to avoid missing key nutrients, there are 30 days of meals plans created to help you get started on your sugar detox journey.  The book also provides several easy recipes that will keep you full and satisfied.  Overall, this book is very informative and helpful.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2014

    Sugar Detox for Beginners is very straightforward and detailed i

    Sugar Detox for Beginners is very straightforward and detailed information about following the 21-day Sugar Detox Plan.  The book
    provides helpful tips and a brief, no fail quiz that helps make reading the book fun.  The recipes included are easy to make, nutritious,
    healthy and leave you feeling full and satisfied.  Their suggestions for the meal plan and making the meals visually appetizing as
    well as tasteful help to make the Detox enjoyable instead of a chore.
    I have shared some of these recipes with friends and family and they had no idea how healthy they were eating and complimented
     the meal and my cooking!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2