Customer Reviews for

The Sugar Queen

Average Rating 4.5
( 720 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(386)

4 Star

(207)

3 Star

(90)

2 Star

(19)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Absolutely one of my very favorite books - this book has it all!

At times funny and at others, touching, this book has between its covers something to please every reader - it is part drama, family saga, romance, thriller and certainly comedy -and it has certainly vaulted onto my top ten list of favorite books. In fact, after readin...
At times funny and at others, touching, this book has between its covers something to please every reader - it is part drama, family saga, romance, thriller and certainly comedy -and it has certainly vaulted onto my top ten list of favorite books. In fact, after reading a borrowed copy (suggested to me by a friend), I rushed out and bought two other copies, as though I want it to be part of my permanent library, I also want to loan it out to others - it is that good! I absolutely fell in love with the characters in this story, and when I was forced to put it down, I found myself rushing back to it as soon as I could. The characters came alive, and I looked forward to reading it the way I would anticipate getting together with good friends for a great gossip session. It is charming, enchanting, entertaining - and is escapism at its very best. For anyone who hasn't read this book, but is about to - I am a little envious, as you are in for one of the greatest reading experiences ever!

posted by kimmier on May 11, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Quirky and charming

Allen's story set in the Southern areas of America is all absorbing, dramatic, and very original. Her language completely captivates the reader in the environment, and everything, even the magical and slightly offbeat happenings (which are absoultely thrilling, by the w...
Allen's story set in the Southern areas of America is all absorbing, dramatic, and very original. Her language completely captivates the reader in the environment, and everything, even the magical and slightly offbeat happenings (which are absoultely thrilling, by the way) are completely believable and charming. You find yourself rooting for the main character, crying for the main character, and on the edge of your seat. In a quiet, calm sort of way, Allen sets the mood for another kind of lifestyle and mood--one that you will be feeling days after you finish the book. Slightly dark because of the character's struggles, yet uplifting and quirky so that nothing is bogged down with emotion. Just the right bit of everything in here! Absolute winner!
I found this book even better that her first, Garden Spells, and I absoultely LOVED garden spells!!

posted by Perpetualkid on July 31, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 725 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 37
  • Posted May 11, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Absolutely one of my very favorite books - this book has it all!

    At times funny and at others, touching, this book has between its covers something to please every reader - it is part drama, family saga, romance, thriller and certainly comedy -and it has certainly vaulted onto my top ten list of favorite books. In fact, after reading a borrowed copy (suggested to me by a friend), I rushed out and bought two other copies, as though I want it to be part of my permanent library, I also want to loan it out to others - it is that good! I absolutely fell in love with the characters in this story, and when I was forced to put it down, I found myself rushing back to it as soon as I could. The characters came alive, and I looked forward to reading it the way I would anticipate getting together with good friends for a great gossip session. It is charming, enchanting, entertaining - and is escapism at its very best. For anyone who hasn't read this book, but is about to - I am a little envious, as you are in for one of the greatest reading experiences ever!

    17 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Another Hit by Sarah A. Allen

    "The Sugar Queen" is a wonderful story about the lives of three women: Josey, Della Lee, and Chloe. As the book progresses, you learn how their lives intersect and how much they need each other. Love, fear, danger, heartache, and hope are woven into the story, keeping the reading interesting. Some of the questions you will find answers to are: Will Josey ever find her true self? What happened to Della Lee? Will Chloe listen to the books? How do Adam, Jake, Rawley, and Julian affect the story?

    I really enjoyed this book! The chapters are all named after candies which made it fun (although it had my sweet tooth going too!). The story is easy to read and the twists and turns kept me turning the pages. This is a great book for reading during a snowstorm, or while sitting by a stream on a summer day. Enjoy!

    13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    Sarah Addison Allen has such an excellent ability to blend magic

    Sarah Addison Allen has such an excellent ability to blend magic realism with realism. Her characters are well etched, well developed, leaving you to exalt the underdogs and chide the villains. Be careful though as all of Ms. Allen's characters have potential for both. Her prose is lovely. And her setting in the NC ski town left me breathless from description.Josey Cirrini is the daughter of one of the founding families of Bald Slope, North Carolina, and at 27 her duties consist entirely of being her mother's chaffeur and errand runner. She also enjoys hiding in her closet with romance novels and candy she's purchased and snuck into the house. When she comes home one day to a mysterious woman in the closet, Josey is shocked, but that's just the beginning. Josey's life is about to be shaken up and reinvigorated. Della Lee forces her to get out and socialize including with the mailman she's had a crush on for years and encourages her to make a close girl friend to spend time with. All of a sudden, Josey is beginning to see that she wasn't really living at all.  Love Sarah Addison Allen's books - such a special quality to them. They contain just enough 'wonder' and possibility to make them stand apart from other novels.  

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Brilliant and enchanting! ENJOYED!

    I fell in love with the characters. This is magical realism, town gossip, ghosts, the potion's of a neighborhood "witch doctor," a few strange books and a twist at the end that you won't see coming. Brilliant and enchanting!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Just Lovely

    This book was a surprising read for me. I was looking around on the B&N website and liked the cover most of all and put it on my "wish list" for later. I found myself in the B&N bookstore and saw it on sale so I picked it up and never PUT IT DOWN until I was done!
    This author is superb! The development of the story, quick and stays that way. The characters were well written and I had an immidiate connection with the 3 women in this book. It was a great read and I cannot wait to read more from this author.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    whimsical charming romantic fairy tale

    Affluent semi southern belle Josey Cirrini has one big problem. She is THE SUGAR QUEEN of the south unable to resist candy and cakes. Since her mom the great dictator demands she must stop eating sugar, twenty-seven year old Josey feels like a kid as she hides her stash in a secret compartment inside her closet. ---- Battered Eat and Run greasy spoon waitress Della Lee Baker takes refuge in Josey¿s hideaway. Worried about her uninvited guest, Josey tries to make the haven a bit more comfortable for her soaking wet unwanted guest who explains she took a dip in the nearby cold river. Meanwhile Josey relooks her lifestyle starting with her philandering father Marco, developer of Bald Slope Ski Resort, and her secret attraction for the mailman Adam Boswell while Della Lee becomes her streets wise fairy godmother helping Josey with her insecurities starting with the best grilled cheese sandwich in town and ending she hopes with Adam. --- This whimsical charming romantic fairy tale is an engaging tale as tough Della Lee harangues, bullies, and coaxes Josey to go out and get him in spite of her mom¿s objection to a working class son-in-law. The story line is driven by the relationship between Josey and Della Lee though the other key players are complete especially how they connect to and from the titled character. On top of all that is the mystery of Della Lee. Readers will appreciate this engaging tale and seek and want to read Sarah Addison Allen¿s magical previous novel (see GARDEN SPELLS). --- Harriet Klausner

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    avid reader

    This is a great book. I have read all of this authors novels and have enjoyed them all. Great characters. I love this authors imagination and will continue reading her novels. She is definitely one of my favorite authors.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2010

    Accidental Discovery

    I loved this book. Allen's writing captures you and makes you fall into the story. She is inventive and fun to read. All in all this book was hard to put down.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2009

    The Sugar Queen

    I really liked the first book I read by Sarah Addison Allen, "Garden Spells". I found it to be easy reading and entertaining. This book was just as good and I would love to read more by her.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Sweet Like Candy!!

    I absolutely loved this book!! The chapters are named after different candies, which I loved. I also loved the characters and felt for the main character, as well as all of the characters! I didn't put this book down and with a, 2 1/2 month old (at the time), that's hard to do! I love the different twists and turns and everything becomes interrelated, almost like magic! Definitely buy this book, read it, and put it in your library to keep!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I have read every book by this author. This is the first one an

    I have read every book by this author. This is the first one and it is the last one I read. I absolutely love this book and all of her others. I read this quickly as it was so absorbing that I had to read more and more until it was done. She writes in such a beautiful way that you get absorbed. She is possibly my favorite writer just behind Fannie Flagg. Bad part is, I won't have anything to read from either author until they produce another book. Highly recommended. She is so good.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2014

    Wonderful

    Absolutely a wonderful read. This is the 3rd bk I've read from this author so far. I sooo recommend this bk. What a great read. Sad to be finished.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2012

    After reading Allen┬┐s The Girl Who Chased the Moon, I was anxiou

    After reading Allen’s The Girl Who Chased the Moon, I was anxious to see how her other books would compare. I thought it was great!

    This is a story about Josey, Della Lee, and Chloe. Josey is the main character of this book, and she is a closet candy-lover in the most literal sense. Accustomed to feeling like a massive disappointment to her mother, she hides an enormous stash of sweets and romance novels in her closet. Her closet is her escape, but she dreams of leaving home to travel. Della Lee is a thirty-year-old bad girl, who is frequently found in the local court thanks to domestic violence issues and solicitation. Nothing could have surprised Josey more than to open her closet for a MoonPie, only to find Della Lee hiding there and refusing to leave. Chloe Finley has an interesting relationship with books; they FIND her. If she doesn’t pick them up and read them, the books become more persistent. They move from room to room in her house, and even follow her to work. Each of these girls has a little bit of magic about them, and they all have more in common than they know.

    This book was a quick and fun read. Allen names each chapter after a type of candy. I absolutely love Allen’s writing style. She is funny and warm, and you feel like you really know the characters. The NC setting was fantastic – she describes the growth of a little ski resort town near Asheville. Just like The Girl Who Chased the Moon, Allen has a lovely, descriptive way of making her characters come alive.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2012

    Recommended

    Good light reading.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    As ALWAYS Sarah Addison Allen Impresses!

    I thought this book was wonderful. A sweet tale of finding yourself and the having courage to be yourself. READ IT!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2011

    Good Quick Read!

    Found the book entertaining and thoughtful. I loved the story and felt the characters were likeable. I am a hard critic. I read a new book almost everyday, I am ill and I have read more books than I can even fathom. I felt the book lacked some depth, perhaps a little more length would have allowed for more emotional attachment to the characters. All in all a good read!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A wonderful tale

    Heartwarming,funny,sad and simply wonderful. Allen can spin a tale like no other. The characters come alive in her story with just a touch of magic. I didn't want it to end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2010

    Again....loved it!

    I adore all her books! She is a brilliant writer! Such an imagination this one! :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2009

    Quirky and charming

    Allen's story set in the Southern areas of America is all absorbing, dramatic, and very original. Her language completely captivates the reader in the environment, and everything, even the magical and slightly offbeat happenings (which are absoultely thrilling, by the way) are completely believable and charming. You find yourself rooting for the main character, crying for the main character, and on the edge of your seat. In a quiet, calm sort of way, Allen sets the mood for another kind of lifestyle and mood--one that you will be feeling days after you finish the book. Slightly dark because of the character's struggles, yet uplifting and quirky so that nothing is bogged down with emotion. Just the right bit of everything in here! Absolute winner!
    I found this book even better that her first, Garden Spells, and I absoultely LOVED garden spells!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    As sweet as it's title

    This story totally drew me in - the characters were delightful! Filled with warmth and compassion.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 725 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 37