Customer Reviews for

The Sugar Queen

Average Rating 4.5
( 712 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(384)

4 Star

(203)

3 Star

(89)

2 Star

(19)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Absolutely one of my very favorite books - this book has it all!

At times funny and at others, touching, this book has between its covers something to please every reader - it is part drama, family saga, romance, thriller and certainly comedy -and it has certainly vaulted onto my top ten list of favorite books. In fact, after readin...
At times funny and at others, touching, this book has between its covers something to please every reader - it is part drama, family saga, romance, thriller and certainly comedy -and it has certainly vaulted onto my top ten list of favorite books. In fact, after reading a borrowed copy (suggested to me by a friend), I rushed out and bought two other copies, as though I want it to be part of my permanent library, I also want to loan it out to others - it is that good! I absolutely fell in love with the characters in this story, and when I was forced to put it down, I found myself rushing back to it as soon as I could. The characters came alive, and I looked forward to reading it the way I would anticipate getting together with good friends for a great gossip session. It is charming, enchanting, entertaining - and is escapism at its very best. For anyone who hasn't read this book, but is about to - I am a little envious, as you are in for one of the greatest reading experiences ever!

posted by kimmier on May 11, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Quirky and charming

Allen's story set in the Southern areas of America is all absorbing, dramatic, and very original. Her language completely captivates the reader in the environment, and everything, even the magical and slightly offbeat happenings (which are absoultely thrilling, by the w...
Allen's story set in the Southern areas of America is all absorbing, dramatic, and very original. Her language completely captivates the reader in the environment, and everything, even the magical and slightly offbeat happenings (which are absoultely thrilling, by the way) are completely believable and charming. You find yourself rooting for the main character, crying for the main character, and on the edge of your seat. In a quiet, calm sort of way, Allen sets the mood for another kind of lifestyle and mood--one that you will be feeling days after you finish the book. Slightly dark because of the character's struggles, yet uplifting and quirky so that nothing is bogged down with emotion. Just the right bit of everything in here! Absolute winner!
I found this book even better that her first, Garden Spells, and I absoultely LOVED garden spells!!

posted by Perpetualkid on July 31, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 89 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2012

    Recommended

    Good light reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2011

    Good Quick Read!

    Found the book entertaining and thoughtful. I loved the story and felt the characters were likeable. I am a hard critic. I read a new book almost everyday, I am ill and I have read more books than I can even fathom. I felt the book lacked some depth, perhaps a little more length would have allowed for more emotional attachment to the characters. All in all a good read!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2009

    Quirky and charming

    Allen's story set in the Southern areas of America is all absorbing, dramatic, and very original. Her language completely captivates the reader in the environment, and everything, even the magical and slightly offbeat happenings (which are absoultely thrilling, by the way) are completely believable and charming. You find yourself rooting for the main character, crying for the main character, and on the edge of your seat. In a quiet, calm sort of way, Allen sets the mood for another kind of lifestyle and mood--one that you will be feeling days after you finish the book. Slightly dark because of the character's struggles, yet uplifting and quirky so that nothing is bogged down with emotion. Just the right bit of everything in here! Absolute winner!
    I found this book even better that her first, Garden Spells, and I absoultely LOVED garden spells!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2013

    Highly Recommend

    Excellent read. Couldn't put it down. I love the way SAA spins a bit of fantasy into her books. And love the happy endings.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2012

    Dapplestar

    Advertise in the warrior books, and you'll get a mate. One mate. And another thing, just put where this clan (Swiftclan) is and say that there are both toms and shecats that need mates. I promise you'll get a mate.

    0 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2011

    test

    test

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2010

    Okay, but her first book was better!

    I felt that this book was very hard to get into, the characters where so, so and the story didn't seem to flow as well as Garden Spells did, but it was diffinitely interesting and I did like the twist at the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Sugary Hits & Sugary Misses.

    Hands-down, Garden Spells was an enchanting read and so I quickly delved into Allen's next book. The follow-up anticipation slightly fell short in comparison. The first half of the book dragged on, sprinkled with sudden poorly-timed moments thrown in that didn't quite mesh. Or scenes/characters that needed more time to develop and cultivate but instead abruptly ended and switched gears before the reader can get emotionally invested. Ultimately these inconsistencies and slow (or lack of) story development(s) didn't quite have me sold. Sugary savviness would probably be one of the few saving graces of this read. Although if you do happen to stick around til the last 70 pages, things do pick up and get more interesting. But be warned. You will be left with less magical enchantments, less southern charm, and less likely to get lost in this world than the world of Garden Spells.*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2008

    Quite original

    Though I thought this book could have been given some more spice and excitement to its plot, it still managed to be pretty interesting and definitely touching. Its theme is original, and the setting believable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2008

    So I eat and gain weight. What's it to you!

    What do you do when you spend your entire adult life trying to make amends to your mother who refuses to acknowledge those amends and you don¿t know why? You follow the advice of your older sister Della Lee. Della Lee recognizes the conundrum Josey¿s life has become and decides it¿s time for Josey to learn the truth that will set her free. That truth is the father she adored had been a hard man for her mother to contend with. Though Josey¿s father had died, Josey was a constant reminder of the man, a reminder that her mother finds nearly impossible to deal with because Josey looks just like him. In the meantime, Josey and Della Lee¿s other sister Chloe needs help coping with life. Della Lee wants to get on with the fate of her life but can¿t until she¿s sure her sisters will be all right without her. Readers who like light reading with no challenge will enjoy this book.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2008

    I EXPECTED MORE.

    After my tryst with Garden Spells, I had high hopes for this book as well. It was a bit predictable and teenager friendly (childish). But, I will read her next book to see if it lives up to Garden Spells.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 89 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5