Customer Reviews for

Suite Scarlett

Average Rating 4
( 188 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(84)

4 Star

(56)

3 Star

(29)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Liv's Book Reviews

I've never been a huge fan of Maureen Johnson's. I know, it's a crime. It's just that none of the books of hers that I've read have made much of an impression on me. I do admit that she's a good writer and has some great story ideas, but out of the books I've read so fa...
I've never been a huge fan of Maureen Johnson's. I know, it's a crime. It's just that none of the books of hers that I've read have made much of an impression on me. I do admit that she's a good writer and has some great story ideas, but out of the books I've read so far, I didn't really like them enough to say that she's one of my favorite authors. But, I think that may have changed after I read this book. While reading I thought to myself this must be the kind of Maureen Johnson writing that has made people fall in love with her. It's really good! She's witty, precise, clever, funny, and her whole writing style made this book completely enjoyable to read. It's got nice flow and has enough little quirky things to it that nothing ever gets boring. I'm definitely understanding what people like so much about Maureen. I'm a fan now. Besides the writing, there were, of course, other elements that I liked about the book. I really liked the reality of it all. Maybe not the reality of the plot, because I have a feeling that that part was meant to be not so real and more funny and captivating, but I really liked how the author was able to write about the setting and the characters so that it felt as if you were there and you knew them. I've been to New York once, like five years ago so I don't really remember a ton, but from reading this book I was able to understand the whole dynamic and feel of the city which was cool. I'd love to be able to go and spend a week or two among the crazy hecticness of New York. It seems like it would be a really cool place to live. And besides the setting, the characters were completely awesome. They each had some interesting personality trait that made them unique. I also liked how the cute guy in this story had things wrong with him! Yay! Cheers for realistic and screwed up guys. Sure, I'm not as fond of Eric as I am of more unflawed guy leads, but I do admire him for having the strength to defy the character mold. Ha. Overall, I think Suite Scarlett was a super great book. I loved every part of it and am looking forward to the next Scarlett book with tons of anticipation.

posted by Anonymous on August 15, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Very good

Suite Scarlett is a very good read. The climax took a little while to get there, but the author did not want to make it a nonunderstandable. I started to like Eric in the beginning but later in this book and the next kind of changed for the worse. He was there, but agai...
Suite Scarlett is a very good read. The climax took a little while to get there, but the author did not want to make it a nonunderstandable. I started to like Eric in the beginning but later in this book and the next kind of changed for the worse. He was there, but again his character seemed to change in every scene. Also, Mrs.Amberson is hilarious! I loved her charecter! She always made me laugh with all of her crazy antics! All in all it was an ok read. I do reccomend it.

posted by booksrgr8_teen258 on April 24, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted November 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    SUITE SCARLETT

    Suite Scarlett is a great book for tennage girls. Also, for young adult. This book is a great romance, comedy.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2008

    Suite Book!!!!!

    Okay im one of those readers who when i read a book it HAS to be VERY INTERRESTING from the start!!! This one was!!! I think this book is one that teens can really relate too!! It has the annoying get everything-anything she wants little sister Marlene. The older sister and her rich boyfriend..the older brother who wants to act but has a culinary scholarship! And scarlett who is the main person!!! You will like this book...its pretty good!!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2010

    cute story

    This was a surprisingly cute story! There were several moments when I found myself laughing out loud!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2013

    A cute book for girls from 14-17 (there is boy interest)

    This was a different setting, a run-down hotel that had once been fabulous, owned by a family with very clever kids ranging from 11 to college age. They do a lot of the work because as the book opens the chef quits and that was the last of the hired help. While the protagonist is not the oldest child she is close her brother the talented actor/dancer and is his sounding board for all the parental pressure he contends with; the parents want him to quit acting and go to culinary school for the sake of the hotel. Can the kids pull off the ill-fated Hamlet in New York show, keep the rich boyfriend of the older sister involved, and put up with the spoiled younger sister who had cancer and is now recovered but firmly entrenched as the center of her own universe--and everyone else's. All this pales when our heroine falls for her brothers' specialty acting partner. Is he a good guy, she thinks so, or is he a bad guy for her as her brother thinks?

    This book is by turns serious and funny, well-written and the plot held my interest as any good teen book should. I think there is a sequel coming too. I would buy this for my granddaughter who is 14.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    Loved it

    Loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Maureen Johnson could write about the history of dresser drawers

    Maureen Johnson could write about the history of dresser drawers and I would read it.

    I haven't encountered an author that makes me laugh more than Johnson does. It doesn't matter what she's writing about -- ghosts, hotels, 140-character count of her escapades in real life on Twitter -- I love it. She makes me laugh in a way that no other author really does.

    Which suits her stories well.

    Despite the near absurdity of the things that happen, her characters are realistic and understandable; there's not a single one that isn't fleshed out and made real, even if they're only on the page for a half a second.

    The only thing I didn't really enjoy was the romantic plotline -- though realistic, it felt kind of forced at times, and I prefer my books to have no romance and be great then have a romance and be adequate. However, Johnson managed to pull it together at the end so that it tied in wonderfully with the rest of the plot.

    Honestly, though, the thing that stands out most about Suite Scarlett is the writing style itself; no matter what I want to say about the characters and the plot and how fun everything was, it wouldn't have been able to pull it off without Johnson's distinctive writing style and her ability to get into a character's head and pull the personality right out of them. Without a doubt, Suite Scarlett is one of the funniest books I've read in a long time.

    I'll definitley be picking up the sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Great summer read

    I bought this book for my summer reading collection. It was super funny and engaging. Scarlette was in a way like me and it made the book more interesting. I would definitely recommend this book to girls look for a good laid back, summer read! Now I need to get "Scarlette Fever".

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2011

    its worth it

    a very good book. worth giving it a shot

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2010

    The Suite Scarlett by Maureen Johnson

    the book has its ups and downs. some parts are really good and just plainly amazing. others have a touch that was insipid. overall its a really great book. i recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    WOW

    This book is soooooooo good ! Johnson captures me in her amazing writing and I will remember this book forever ! It is definitly the kind that you share with your friends and reread over and over again... I love Eric and I think that their relationship is beautiful and sweet. I really want Spencer for an older brother. Also, Marlene was anoying but I think she came around... WOW

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2009

    Interesting read

    I enjoyed the book. Scarlett has an interesting life. The hotel is an old one and scarlett's parents are out of money. They don't have too many people staying at the hotel and so in order to help with the expense of the hotel, there are no hotel workers, except for the family. Scarlet is given a room for her 15th birthday. This is suppose to be a great day, however it starts with the breakfast- the cook is let go. Scarlett has a interesting summer working for a movie star who is living at their hotel. YOu will have to read it. It was fun and a bit of romance is added in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2009

    Scarlett = Made of Awesome

    I read this book a little while back, and I loved it right away. It's very easy to get into, and it keeps you interested the whole way through. it has the perfect balance of romance and adventure <333

    It is set in the perfect place for a story like this...and I immediately simultaneously wished I was scarlett, and was so glad that i wasn't.

    All I gotta say, is if you are a teenager...and you like books (or eveen if you don't) this is a great book for you!
    GET IT.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3