Customer Reviews for

Suite Scarlett

Average Rating 4
( 187 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(83)

4 Star

(56)

3 Star

(29)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Liv's Book Reviews

I've never been a huge fan of Maureen Johnson's. I know, it's a crime. It's just that none of the books of hers that I've read have made much of an impression on me. I do admit that she's a good writer and has some great story ideas, but out of the books I've read so fa...
I've never been a huge fan of Maureen Johnson's. I know, it's a crime. It's just that none of the books of hers that I've read have made much of an impression on me. I do admit that she's a good writer and has some great story ideas, but out of the books I've read so far, I didn't really like them enough to say that she's one of my favorite authors. But, I think that may have changed after I read this book. While reading I thought to myself this must be the kind of Maureen Johnson writing that has made people fall in love with her. It's really good! She's witty, precise, clever, funny, and her whole writing style made this book completely enjoyable to read. It's got nice flow and has enough little quirky things to it that nothing ever gets boring. I'm definitely understanding what people like so much about Maureen. I'm a fan now. Besides the writing, there were, of course, other elements that I liked about the book. I really liked the reality of it all. Maybe not the reality of the plot, because I have a feeling that that part was meant to be not so real and more funny and captivating, but I really liked how the author was able to write about the setting and the characters so that it felt as if you were there and you knew them. I've been to New York once, like five years ago so I don't really remember a ton, but from reading this book I was able to understand the whole dynamic and feel of the city which was cool. I'd love to be able to go and spend a week or two among the crazy hecticness of New York. It seems like it would be a really cool place to live. And besides the setting, the characters were completely awesome. They each had some interesting personality trait that made them unique. I also liked how the cute guy in this story had things wrong with him! Yay! Cheers for realistic and screwed up guys. Sure, I'm not as fond of Eric as I am of more unflawed guy leads, but I do admire him for having the strength to defy the character mold. Ha. Overall, I think Suite Scarlett was a super great book. I loved every part of it and am looking forward to the next Scarlett book with tons of anticipation.

posted by Anonymous on August 15, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Very good

Suite Scarlett is a very good read. The climax took a little while to get there, but the author did not want to make it a nonunderstandable. I started to like Eric in the beginning but later in this book and the next kind of changed for the worse. He was there, but agai...
Suite Scarlett is a very good read. The climax took a little while to get there, but the author did not want to make it a nonunderstandable. I started to like Eric in the beginning but later in this book and the next kind of changed for the worse. He was there, but again his character seemed to change in every scene. Also, Mrs.Amberson is hilarious! I loved her charecter! She always made me laugh with all of her crazy antics! All in all it was an ok read. I do reccomend it.

posted by booksrgr8_teen258 on April 24, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 83 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2008

    Liv's Book Reviews

    I've never been a huge fan of Maureen Johnson's. I know, it's a crime. It's just that none of the books of hers that I've read have made much of an impression on me. I do admit that she's a good writer and has some great story ideas, but out of the books I've read so far, I didn't really like them enough to say that she's one of my favorite authors. But, I think that may have changed after I read this book. While reading I thought to myself this must be the kind of Maureen Johnson writing that has made people fall in love with her. It's really good! She's witty, precise, clever, funny, and her whole writing style made this book completely enjoyable to read. It's got nice flow and has enough little quirky things to it that nothing ever gets boring. I'm definitely understanding what people like so much about Maureen. I'm a fan now. Besides the writing, there were, of course, other elements that I liked about the book. I really liked the reality of it all. Maybe not the reality of the plot, because I have a feeling that that part was meant to be not so real and more funny and captivating, but I really liked how the author was able to write about the setting and the characters so that it felt as if you were there and you knew them. I've been to New York once, like five years ago so I don't really remember a ton, but from reading this book I was able to understand the whole dynamic and feel of the city which was cool. I'd love to be able to go and spend a week or two among the crazy hecticness of New York. It seems like it would be a really cool place to live. And besides the setting, the characters were completely awesome. They each had some interesting personality trait that made them unique. I also liked how the cute guy in this story had things wrong with him! Yay! Cheers for realistic and screwed up guys. Sure, I'm not as fond of Eric as I am of more unflawed guy leads, but I do admire him for having the strength to defy the character mold. Ha. Overall, I think Suite Scarlett was a super great book. I loved every part of it and am looking forward to the next Scarlett book with tons of anticipation.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2012

    So funny and hard to put down.

    So funny and hard to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2012

    Loved it.

    :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2012

    Loved it!

    The book was awesome! Loved the ending. :)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    from missprint.wordpress.com

    Maureen Johnson's novel Suite Scarlett (2008) focuses on Scarlett Martin and her family who live in the Hopewell Hotel in the heart of New York City. That might sound like a dream come true but just ask Scarlett about her fifteenth birthday and it's easy to see the sometimes harsh realities that owning and running a hotel can really entail.

    The Hopewell hotel has been around since 1929 and has belonged to the Hopewell family for just as long. While the hotel can't compete with some of its ritzier neighbors in terms of luxuries on offer, the Hopewell does have some unique benefits including custom furnishings by a prestigious (fictional) Jazz Age designer, connections to the history of the city and its ever-glamorous theater life. In order to lower maintenance costs for the hotel, the Martins have come up with a unique tradition. On their fifteenth birthday every child receives a hotel suite thereby also inheriting the housekeeping duties and guest services connected to said suite.

    Scarlett is pretty sure such duties will not do much to alleviate the dullness of her summer vacation since the Hopewell is always chronically under-booked. Unlike Scarlett, her siblings have a lot to manage this summer: Eighteen-year-old Lola is busy juggling family obligations, a job she loves, and a high maintenance boyfriend with an equally high balance in his bank account; eleven-year-old Marlene, the youngest Martin, does not share Scarlett's summer doldrums since her survivor's club keep her social calendar plenty full (have you been on a morning TV show yet?); meanwhile nineteen-year-old Spencer, a talented actor with a fondness for physical comedy is face with an ultimatum that could end his acting career before its even started.

    Everything changes when the larger-than-life Mrs. Amberson checks into the Empire Suite (Scarlett's suite) and takes her on an assistant in everything from running errands to getting reacquainted with the City and writing the biography of her life. Already swept up in Mrs. Amberson's whirlwind, Scarlett also finds herself swept off her feet when she meets Eric the gorgeous fellow actor in a production of Hamlet that might just save Spencer's career--if the show ever opens.

    Suite Scarlett holds a lot of appeal for a variety of readers. Being a book by Maureen Johnson it is, of course, very funny. It also has many tidbits about New York that will interest anyone who has a special place for that big apple in their hearts. Most of all, this book has a lot of appeal for theater lovers. Before becoming a published novelist Johnson worked as a dramaturg in the theater world (a dramaturg basically being the person who makes sure every single aspect of a show runs smoothly while directors and other theater types focus less on the big picture). Johnson brings all of that knowledge to this book to really bring the theatrical world that Spencer and, by extension, Scarlett come to inhabit as the plot progresses.

    While this story has a bit of romance and humor and excitement, it is really a novel about family, specifically siblings. Each of the Martin children are vibrantly described on the page. Spencer in particular is a character that readers will love to love. In fact, the only problem with Suite Scarlett is that with such an awesome brother as Spencer, Scarlett's love interest Eric pales by comparison. All the same, this book has something for everyone and is sure to leave readers with a smile on their face.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    Fantastic!

    Fantastic! Great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2011

    The review seem very good on this

    I think i might buy this. Is it worth the money?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Fantastic

    This book was very well written it had many twist and turns. The beginig of the book was a little slow but then once it reached chapter ten it became more thatn i ever expected it to be. In this book it has family love, romance, completly crazy hotel guests, and many other twists and turns. This book is excellent for any one around the age of fifteen. It was absolutly fantastic. : )

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    suite scarlet is really sweet

    This book is great for teenagers who are lookin for excitement and looking to find what a first love feels like. It's a book that will keep you flipping the pages never wanting to put down the book to see what happens next. Maureen Johnson knows how to write a book perfect for a teenager, it helps you realize never to let go of your dream and fight for it, also life isnt fair and you got to deal with it. I recomend this book to everybody because its great to read and rewarding for your mind.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    absolutely amazing!!!!!

    OMG!!! I absolutely loved this book. I recently went on a long road trip and needed something to do besides looking at bare land. I had picked up this book a month ago and brought it along with me thinkin that i might get bored. Sure enough i did so i started reading and the book just captured me!! I even stayed up late to read it. I was really sad that i finished the book cus it was SOOOO good, but i passed it on to a friend who might like it. I really hope that you read this book.... trust me you'll love it... if you like love stories. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Fantastic book

    Great coming of age story about a girl growing up in New York in the hotel her parents own. Her assigned guest for the summer is a very eccentric former actress. Her brother is an actor and Scarlett has a big crush on one of his co-stars. But there is a catch. There is always a catch. The hotel is on the verge of going out of business, her crush is sending her mixed signals, and her guest is trying to help out but only ever seems to make things worse for Scarlett. Well written, a great alternative for someone who is sick of all the gossip laden, she stole my boyfriend so now she must die, even if only socially, novels that dominate the teen market.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fabulous

    Excellent read for all ages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2010

    Sweet

    An enjoyable, quick-read book about Scarlett and her adventures living in her family's hotel. It's the first book I read on my new Nook and of the series. I plan to read the rest of the series, eventually.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2010

    Liked it

    This was a good, entertaining story. I can't wait for Scarlett Fever!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2010

    Great story!

    What a creative, witty story! Loads of 'situations' arise that make you laugh, even though you can predict a disaster is lurking just around the next page. I liked the way the author included real life drama to the characters and storyline (serious illness easily ruins finances and treating sick kids like they are super-special can turn them into monster-brats). But most of all I liked the message of hope - that if you stick together and love and help each other, amazing things can happen.

    This is the first book I've read by Maureen Johnson. Can't wait to read the sequel!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    WOW!(written by an 11 year old)

    This book was a great! It was a very thrilling book. I think you should red this book.The writing was very excelent. It had great discription and it made me feel like i was in a movie watching it. I could not put down this book. I reccomend this book for ages 9-14.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2009

    A Great Book

    Suite Scarlett is a great book. 15 year old Scarlett spends the summer in her family's New York City bed and breakfast type hotel taking care of a strange guest and helping her brother and an acting group preform Hamlet. In the process she falls in love with a college student, gets caught for shoplifting canned tuna and takes part in an elaborate scheme to get back at someone for a past wrong. This book portrays deep, complex characters, witty humor and the value of family. I would reccommend this book to anyone looking for a fun and meaningful summer (or during the school year) read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Made. Of. Awesome.

    Another great book by Maureen Johnson! Suite Scarlett is funny, addicting, and well-written.

    It has an intriguing plot, sexy characters, and is just overflowing with awesomeness.

    You can feel the awesome emanating from it. It's impossible to hold in your bare hands. The sparkly gleam of the book's awesome is visible from miles away. Even looking at it on a website for too long has been known to cause temporary blindness.

    Great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2009

    Scarlett Steals the Stage

    Maureen Johnson throws readers into a journey across New York City following a slighty deranged Mrs. Amberson, a cute southern boy, a close-knit family, a show destined for failure, and the lovable protagonist, Scarlett.
    When Scarlett turns 15, she is given the key to a suite in the family hotel, The Hopewell. Guests have been coming in at snail-pace, and Scarlett dreads a summer bound to The Hopewell with her older sister Lola (your classic NYC beauty with a braggart of a boyfriend), her demanding little sister Marlene (with quite the past), and big bro Spencer (whose antics will keep you laughing until the last page). Then a peculiar and witty guest struts in. Meet Mrs. Amberson. Through a series of off-beat and occasionally destructive plans, she reveals to Scarlett a side of herself that she never knew she posessed.
    Before summer closes, will Scarlett snag the cutie with the southern twang, elude an angry actress with a vengeance, save her brother's show, and salvage hope for the Hopewell?
    With a little help from eccentric Mrs. Amberson, the NYC taxi system, and a charming cast of characters, Scarlett can conquer anything.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2009

    Excellent Book

    I enjoyed this book very much. I bought it on a whim, but I ended up loving it so much that I bought copies for my friends. It's got a charming plot, lovable characters, and the best setting in the world, New York. Definitely read it if you can.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 83 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5